如何使用NetSpot对Wi-Fi干扰进行故障排除

Wi-Fi是一项十分先进,神奇的科技。当然,它并没有什么魔力,只是对无线波的一种合理运用方式。当您的设备使用WiFi来连接互联网时,信号通过无线波予以发送,这个过程中不可避免地会遇到无线干扰的阻碍。这样一来,您的无线连接信号可能会变得薄弱且不稳定。

无线干扰解读


您的无线网络在出现如下征兆的时候很可能是受到了无线干扰的影响:间断连通性或意外断开连接,连接和数据传输延迟,网速迟缓,以及信号强度差。

Wi-Fi干扰的常见来源是无线频率干扰。其中的一系列原因是不同的:

  • 无线路由器的放置方式
  • 物理障碍物,如墙壁和地板
  • 任何其他无线电器(婴儿监视器,车库开门机,等等。)
  • 厨房电器,如微波炉或电冰箱
  • 相同空间内的其他Wi-Fi网络

无线路由器的位置


您的无线路由器的放置位置很明显将会对您的覆盖区域和WiFi信号强度产生影响。

如何进行故障排查

  • 将路由器放到网络区域中心位置。如果路由器未放在中心位置,那么信号将不会均匀分布。
  • 确保路由器天线是垂直的。很多天线都是可调节的,可与地面平行,但是通常调到垂直位置才能最大限度的提高信号强度
  • 将您的路由器放到一个抬高的位置。相比地板而言,放到桌面上信号接受度会更好

物理障碍物


建筑物的空间(住宅或办公室)影响无线通信范围和速度。建筑所使用的材料也很重要,例如,木材或玻璃的影响最小,而混凝土,砖头和金属会严重影响连接的建立并造成网络速度迟缓。所以不要忘记关注一下路由器所处位置的材料类型。

查看物理障碍物列表以及无线信号可能的影响因素。

障碍物类型 干扰等级
木材
建筑石膏
合成材料
玻璃
砖头
大理石
混凝土
金属
镜子 非常高

如何进行故障排除

  • 试着将无线设备移至不同的位置。即使只移动两三英尺可能也会显著增强WiFi信号强度。像Wi-Fi路由器或无线电话这样的无线设备都具有可调式天线。试着将天线指向不同的方位来确认是否也能够降低WiFi干扰。
  • 为您的网络添加Wi-Fi扩展器。这些设备能够重新发送来自于您的路由器的信号,即使位于一个不同的房间,以此为信号接收非常弱或完全收不到信号的设备提供更好的连接。
  • 您同时还可以考虑电线适配器。它们十分适于墙坚壁厚的较大型空间。这些适配器使用的是您现有的以太电线,无需购买价格昂贵的全新电线。将电线适配器连接到Wi-Fi扩展器是将WiFi连接扩展至您所在区域的最远空间的有效方法。

频率干扰(其他无线电器)


即使设备不支持Wi-Fi,但是它们可能也以相同的2.4GHz或5GHz的频率工作。蓝牙设备,无线电话,婴儿监视器就是这样的示例。而且像微波炉这样的电器可能会产生射频噪声,这样一来网络可能会变得更慢,甚至断开连接。查看如下包含可能出现的信号干扰源的列表。

  • 微波炉 — 路由器离微波炉越近,那么微波炉在工作的时候对您的网络就可能会产生更多的干扰。这对于更早的那些与微波炉同在2.4 GHz频谱上运行的无线路由器来说更是如此。
  • 无线电话 — 仍然是2.4 GHz的频谱。与之前的设备一样,这些电话可能引起巨大的信号干扰。Wi-Fi干扰将会在主动呼叫时间产生。
  • 质量低劣的卫星天线 — 如果卫星天线布线不当或旧线质量退化,那么这可能会造成明显的信号干扰。
  • 其他无线设备 — 理论上来说,任何无线设备都可能会成为信号干扰的原因。这些设备包括无线扬声器,婴儿监视器,车库开门机等等。还有部分以2.4 GHz或5 GHz频谱运行的其他无线设备,包括微波炉发射器,无线摄像头也可能会产生无线干扰。
  • 电力来源 — 距离比较近的电轨或电力线也可能会造成WiFi干扰。如果可以的话,请尽可能不要将您的Wi-Fi路由器放到墙壁的电力线或开关箱附近。
  • 质量低劣的屏蔽缆线 — 如果您怀疑某部设备是造成干扰的原因,请尽量将它断开连接并使用一根不同的缆线。
  • 部分外部监视器和LCD显示屏 — 这些设备对于信道11和14之间的2.4GHz的频带的影响尤为明显。如果您的监视器是与一台关闭的笔记本电脑相连接的,那么干扰甚至会更加强烈。请对您的接入点进行设置,让它使用5 GHz或更低的2.4 GHz信道。
  • 邻居的WiFi — 发生重叠的WiFi网络可能会相互发生干扰。

如何进行故障排除

暂时关闭并拔下电子设备的电源插头始终是确认其是否造成无线干扰问题的好方法。另一个选项是移动无线设备。如果您认为存在某特定的无线设备造成干扰问题,那么请检查他是否提供切换WiFi信道的选项。请尝试切换到稳定的5GHz频率。如果仍然不起作用,那么您可以尝试具备更出色的射频噪声防护的更新机型。

频率干扰同时还可以通过更改WiFi路由器的信道来修复。信道通常可以在1-11之间进行选择。价格相对较为昂贵且先进的路由器可以在5 GHz的频带上传输信号,这可以有效避免重复信道造成的信号拥堵问题。

来自于竞争性Wi-Fi网络的干扰


如果附近的Wi-Fi网络正在使用同一频谱信道,那么它们可能也会造成干扰。北美常规的WiFi网络共有11个信道,而其他国家则有13个信道。所以如果多个网络同时使用相同信道的话,那么相互之间势必会出现争夺带宽的情况。城市和大型公寓建筑尤其容易出现干扰问题,这是因为其中有更多的网络发生重叠,而且很可能使用的是相同的信道。

如何进行故障排除

通常来说,最新的WiFi路由器都提供了找出最不繁忙的Wi-Fi信道的选项。查看一下用户手册来了解如何启用这一选项并进行适当的设置。如果您启用了自动切换,但是网速仍然比较慢,那么请尝试手动设置信道并进行速度测试以确认哪个信道速度最快。请使用NetSpot作为您的Wi-Fi信道扫描仪。

其他障碍


可能影响WiFi表现的其他问题可能无法归入传统类别,但是仍然需要予以考虑:

  • 助听器距离非常近的时候可能会造成一定程度的信号中断。
  • 电力线,发电站,路轨可能不是造成干扰的原因,但是如果您感觉它们可能影响到了您的网络,请同样按照如上方法进行测试。
  • 爆破区域。例如矿场。
  • 您的手。是的,您握住手机的方式也可能会对网络信号造成干扰。改变您的握姿来确认是否能够获得更好的WiFi信号

如何使用NetSpot来消除Wi-Fi干扰


无论何时,只要您遭遇无线信号干扰问题,NetSpot将帮助您确认无线干扰的来源。NetSpot可以为您显示附近网络正在使用哪些无线信道并且为您推荐最适合您的网络使用的信道。凭借NetSpot,您可以沿边界走动并确认您的WiFi信号最薄弱以及最强劲的点。

WiFi表现对于受干扰网络而言总是难以发挥的,但是通过有效测试可以逐渐得到改善,而且二者之间的差距会越来越小。

双频802.11ac路由器在正确安放的情况下会为您提供最佳WiFi表现。对于不同级别的建筑,您可以在桥接模式中对多个路由器进行设置以进一步增强WiFi信号


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot是获取更好的无线信号并降低WiFi网络干扰的出色应用。
获取免费的WiFi分析仪应用

接下来是WiFi故障排除


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).

How to troubleshoot Wi-Fi Interference with NetSpot

Wi-Fi is a very advanced technology, a magic of its kind. Although it is not magic of course but a logically explainable effect of radio waves. When your devices use WiFi to connect to Internet the signals are sent with radio waves and despite of all advanced features wireless interference can happen. As a result your wireless connection may become weak and unreliable.

Wireless interference explained


Your wireless network is most probably affected by wireless interference when the following symptoms occur: an intermittent connectivity or unexpected disconnections, delays in connection and data transfer, slow network speeds, and poor signal strength.

The usual source for Wi-Fi interference is something that causes radio frequency interference. The reasons can be different:

  • The way wireless router is positioned
  • Physical obstacles, like walls and floors
  • Any other wireless appliances (baby monitors, garage door openers, etc.)
  • Kitchen appliances, such as microwave or fridge
  • Other Wi-Fi networks in the same space

Positioning of a Wireless Router


Obviously the way you position your wireless router will have effect on your coverage area and WiFi signal strength.

How to troubleshoot

  • Put the router in the middle of the space where network is. If the router is placed off the middle, then the signal won't be even
  • Make sure the router antenna is vertical. Many antennas are adjustable and can be horizontal, but the straight up is usually the best position
  • Put your router on an elevated surface. The reception will be better on the desk rather than on the floor

Physical obstacles


The building of the space (be it a home or an office) affects wireless communication range and speed. The materials used in the construction also matter, e.g. wood or glass will have the minimal impact, while concrete, brick and metal can make the connection more difficult to establish and cause slow network speeds. So don't forget to pay attention to the type of materials the router is placed by.

Have a look at the list of physical obstacles and what effect they may have on the wireless signal.

Type of Barrier Interference Level
Wood Low
Plaster Low
Synthetic Material Low
Glass Low
Water Medium
Bricks Medium
Marble Medium
Concrete High
Metal High
Mirror Very High

How to troubleshoot

  • Try moving the wireless device to a different spot. Even a couple of feet can make a huge difference in WiFi signal strength. Some wireless devices, like Wi-Fi routers or cordless phones have adjustable antennas. Try and point that antenna in a different direction to see if it can reduce WiFi interference as well.
  • Add a Wi-Fi extender to your network. These devices re-transmit the signal from your router even if it is on a different room thus providing better connection to a device that was receiving a very poor signal or was cut off at all.
  • There are also Powerline adapters to consider. These are very good for larger spaces with thicker walls and floors. These adapters use your existing electrical Ethernet wires sparing you the need of buying new expensive wiring. Connecting a powerline adapter to a Wi-Fi extender is an efficient method of extending WiFi connection to the most remote spots in your space.

Frequency Interference (Other wireless appliances)


Even if the devices are not Wi-Fi related they may be working on the same 2.4GHz or 5GHz frequencies. Bluetooth devices, cordless phones, baby monitors are the examples. Also such appliance as microwave may be generating the radio frequency noise and as a result the network may be slower or disconnect. Have a look at the list below with the possible sources of signal interference.

  • Microwave — the closer the router is to microwave the more network interference you can expect to occur when the microwave is in action. That is especially true for older wireless routers that just like microwaves operate in the 2.4 GHz spectrum.
  • Cordless Phone — again 2.4 GHz spectrum. Just like previous item these phones can cause large signal interference. Wi-Fi Interference will occur during active call time.
  • Poorly Wired Satellite Dish — if a satellite dish is not properly wired or the old wires are deteriorating it can cause quite a signal interference.
  • Other Wireless Devices — any wireless device can technically be the reason for a signal interference. These can be wireless speakers, baby monitors, garage door openers, etc. Some other wireless devices operating in 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum, including microwave transmitters, wireless cameras can also contribute to wireless interference.
  • Power sources — electrical railroad tracks or power lines that are in close proximity can be causing WiFi interference. If you can try not to position your Wi-Fi router near power lines in the wall or close to the breaker box.
  • Poorly shielded cables — if you suspect that a certain device is the cause of interference, try to disconnect it and use a different cable for it.
  • Some external monitors and LCD displays — these can be specifically annoying on the 2.4GHz band between channels 11 and 14. If you are working with a monitor connected to a closed laptop the interference might be even stronger. Make your access point use 5 GHz or a lower 2.4 GHz channel.
  • Neighbors' WiFi — powerful WiFi networks that overlap can affect each other.

How to troubleshoot

It is always a good idea to turn off and unplug electronic devices temporarily to see how it affects the wireless interference issue. Another option is moving the wireless devices. If you feel like there is a specific wireless device causing the issue, check if it offers options to switch WiFi channels. Try switching to the robust 5GHz frequency. If it still doesn't really help you can try the updated models with better radio wave noise shielding.

Frequency interference can also be fixed by changing the channel for the WiFi router. The channel can be usually set from 1-11 for the broadcast frequency. The more expensive and advanced routers can broadcast at 5 Ghz frequency, which is great.

Interference from competing Wi-Fi networks


If the Wi-Fi networks around are using the same frequency channel they might be causing the interference as well. A regular WiFi network in North America can work on either of 11 channels, while other countries have 13. So if more than one network is using the same channel, there will always be a competition for the bandwidth. Cities and large apartment buildings are especially prone to interference issues because more WiFi networks are overlapping and probably using same channels.

How to troubleshoot

Often the latest WiFi routers offer an option to find the least busy Wi-Fi channel. Look into the user manual to see how to enable that option and set it up properly. If you have automatic switching enabled but still get the slow speed and a breaking connection try to set up the channel manually and do a speed test to see which one is the fastest. Use NetSpot as a Wi-Fi Channel Scanner.

Other Obstacles


Other issues that can influence the WiFi performance may not fall into any of traditional categories but still need to be considered:

  • Hearing aid can cause some signal disruption when very close.
  • Power lines, power stations, railway tracks may not be the cause of interference but if you have a feeling they may be affecting your network, try playing with that too.
  • Blasting area. For example a mine.
  • Your hand. Yes, the way you hold your phone may interfere with network signal as well. Change your grip and see if you can get a better WiFi signal.

How to beat Wi-Fi Interference with NetSpot


Whenever you are experiencing some issues with the wireless signal NetSpot will help you determine whether wireless interference is taking place. NetSpot can show you what wireless channels the networks around are using and can give you recommendation what channel is the best option for your network. With NetSpot you can walk the perimeter and determine the weakest spots in your WiFi and the strongest.

The WiFi performance will always stand down to that one of a wired network, however it keeps getting better each year and the gap becomes less and less between the two.

A dual band 802.11ac router can give you the best WiFi performance especially when positioned correctly. Set up multiple routers in bridge mode on different levels of a building to boost WiFi signal even more.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot is a great app to get a better wireless signal and reduce WiFi network interference.
Get the free WiFi analyzer app

Next in WiFi Troubleshooting


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac
wireless network adapter (AirPort compatible).