您需要了解的有关 WiFi 路由器以及如何充分利用它的所有信息

WiFi路由器无处不在,很难想象这个世界没有了它们会变成什么样子。 尽管它们的应用十分广泛,但是大多数人或多或少总在抱怨无线路由器的欠佳表现。

Wireless Router

确实,即便是最好的无线路由器也无法在整个家中或办公室内覆以稳定的WiFi信号。这也是为什么我们应当了解如何最大限度地利用WiFi路由器并选择适合的工具来增强其表现。

TP-Link Archer C2300

TP-Link Archer C2300

查看详情
Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

查看详情
Logo ASUS GT AC5300

Asus ROG Rapture GT

查看详情
Logo Mesh Google WiFi

Google WiFi

查看详情
Logo NETGEAR Orbi Satellite Outdoor Mesh WiFi-System

NETGEAR Orbi

查看详情
作为亚马逊伙伴计划的一部分,我们可以通过此页面的“从亚马逊购买”完成购买以获得收益。
NetSpot WiFi勘测软件
轻松测试和查看您的无线路由器的信号强度。
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

在我们开始之前

NetSpot就是这样的工具,其已经得到了不计其数的IT专业人士和业余家庭用户的认可和信赖。NetSpot的专长在于 WiFi网络分析, 现场勘测, 和网络故障排除



NetSpot的专长在于WiFi网络分析, 现场勘测,和网络故障排除

有了NetSpot,您甚至可以使那些价格低廉的WiFi路由器发挥出高档路由器那般的性能,您同样也可以用它来将您的高档路由器充分发挥出其潜力。

NetSpot Discover Mode

NetSpot简单,强力,同时可免费获取。

什么是WiFi路由器?

简单来说,WiFi路由器是一种将接收自网线的数据发送到其他设备的电子装置。它同时还可以充当无线接入点,通过无线电信号的使用从中进行数据分享。该路由器将您的互联网连接所传递的数据流转换成无线电信号。这些信号可由支持WiFi的设备予以接收,如智能手机,笔记本电脑,和平板电脑。

选择最好的无线路由器

如果您认为所有的路由器都是一样的,您就错了。出于很多必要的原因,有时候您不得不考虑将您从您的网路服务供应商处获得的路由器搁在一旁,然后购买一个新的,更好的路由器。

之前的网络路由器只是简单地将一台计算机连接至网络。现代网络路由器则不同。它们同时为智能手机,平板,智能手表,具有网络连接功能的家电提供无线网络接入。它们高度安全,包含能够进行文件共享的USB端口,支持所有最新的无线标准,如802.11ac,它所提供的带宽相比老的802.11n标准高出了3倍。



大多数现代 WiFi 路由器已经支持最新版本的 WiFi 标准,即 802.11ax 又名 WiFi-6,它是对先前标准 802.11ac (WiFi-5) 的升级。

部分路由器甚至能够同时传播两个频率。此类路由器被称为双频路由器,而且它们同时支持2.4 GHz和5 GHz的波段。为什么那很重要?因为2.4 GHz波段相对比较凌乱。在部分居民区或公寓大楼,很多无线路由器可能在同一频道传播无线信号,这就造成电子设备在所有这些噪声中收集准确的数据包的困难。

路由器的信号范围也是有差异的。您可能见过有些路由器看起来像网络蜘蛛一样,其天线朝各个方向凸起。您应当相信这类路由器的信号范围肯定优于搭载内置天线的小型路由器。仅支持802.11n标准的旧式路由器只能容纳30个并行客户机。更新的802.11ac路由器几乎支持100个并行客户机,使之更加适合人员密集的办公空间和面向公众的企业。


对于无线路由器而言,软件更新可谓是至关重要。网络攻击者每天发布390,000多种新的恶意程序,老式的,未更新补充程式的路由器就是他们的主要目标之一。路由器制造商如所有其他公司一样也许作出同类商业决策,他们无法负担无限期支持旧产品的成本。

您的网络服务供应商在5年前为您提供的路由器非常容易受到一系列不同的危险的网络攻击,您的隐私或银行账户可能因此而遭到泄露。既然您可以购买一个新路由器并保持安全状态,那么为什么要冒这种风险呢?

在您购买新的路由器之前,始终确保查阅相应的无线路由器测评以了解其他人的用户体验。您只能从产品规格和描述中了解一些基本信息。稳定性和真实的产品表现还需要花一些时间去评估。

不要责备您的WiFi路由器

在您作出“我的WiFi路由器不好用”这类结论之前,请认真考虑能够影响到您的WiFi信号质量和您的网络速度的其他因素。

首先,仔细检查您的无线网络是否处于加密状态。有时候如果路由器长时间未使用,那么其会恢复到出厂状态。您对于这种情形的发生很可能完全不知情,如此便造成了任何人都可以随意使用您的WiFi网络。当很多邻居都在盗用您的无线网络时,您的网络速度受到影响是必然的。相比旧式的,相对不够安全的WEP而言,现在的WPA2(Wi-Fi保护访问2)更值得推荐。

其次,确保您的下载和上传速度与您的网络服务供应商的描述一致。尽管您的合同上写明了您应当享有20 Mbps的下载速度,这并不意味着您的实际下载速度与之相符。NetSpot的主动扫描功能使您能够快速且准确地测试您的网络连接速度。

欲使用此功能:

  • 开始一项新的网络勘测项目

  • 加载您的区域地图或创建一份新地图

Netspot — New Survey
  • 扫描您的区域

  • 查找蓝色主动扫描指示器

NetSpot active scan
  • 认真查阅可用视图以了解您的上传速度,下载速度,无线传输速率,和其他有用的指标。

最后但同样重要的是,确保您用于测试的计算机处于正常的运转状态。您的网络速度较慢的原因可能是安装了恶意软件或某些后台进程。简单的重启通常会奏效,但是很多严重的问题只能通过彻底的重装您的操作系统予以解决。

设置WiFi路由器的建议

以下是可以帮助您对无线路由器进行设置的部分建议。根据您想要通过您的WiFi信号覆盖的区域的大小,您可能只需要一台路由器即可完成此项工作。路由器的正确设置是实现信号强度最大化必不可少的一步。

正确放置您的路由器 — 将您的路由器放到一个免受物理障碍物干扰的位置对于从您的路由器接收最佳信号至关重要。将路由器尽可能地放在高处,同时远离那些可能会产生无线干扰的其他来源,如微波炉和无线电话。

Select a Good Place for Your Router

保护您的网络安全 — 一定要进入您的路由器的管理界面并更改设备的默认密码。将您的路由器的安全等级设为最高,WPA2是保护您的网络和用户的最低标准。

Secure your network

保持固件的实时更新 — 为了保证您的设备以最佳状态运行,您应当充分利用您的路由器制造商所提供的固件更新。我们建议您将路由器设置为自动安装任何可用固件更新。

Keep Your Router Updated

尽可能缩短路由器和已连接设备之间的距离 — 如果您发现您的无线设备出现了WiFi信号问题,那么您可能必须要将它们移近路由器,从而达到理想的信号强度。如果仍然存在严重的信号问题,那么您可能需要考虑安装网状网络。

Make Your Router the Center of Attention

什么是网状网络?

我们已经期望在世界任何地方都能够实现网络连接,我们同时对于WiFi网络也有同样的期许。但是,普通的WiFi路由器往往只能为一个房间覆盖强大且稳定的信号,如果您想要更大的信号覆盖范围,那么您需要了解一下网状网络。

从外面看,网状WiFi网络的运作就像任意一款传统的单路由WiFi网络一样:其用户可以通过它的单一SSID(服务集标识符)来确认相应的网状网络,而且此网络可能需要用户输入密码。

Employing mesh network

但是二者之间存在一个显著的不同之处:住宅或大型办公空间内的网状WiFi网络的信号强度在不同的房间不会出现很大的差异。这是因为网状WiFi网络实际包含以网状拓扑结构组织的多个网状WiFi路由器,这些路由器通常被称为节点。

尽管设立网状WiFi网络的成本相比单路由WiFi网络的成本仍然要高,但是其所获得的益处使之物有所值 — 至少在配置正确的时候。了解更多有关 网状WiFi网络及其配置的内容。

设置网状网络的建议

网状网络的设置伴随有一系列必须予以克服的挑战。以下是网状网络的部分设置建议。

规划您的网状网络 — 只有对您的信号覆盖区域进行良好的勘测从而准确地规划节点的位置才能很好地为网络提供接入点。根据它们各自的位置,您可能需要选择究竟是以有线还是无线连接节点的方式来构建您的网状网络。

考虑某些设备的有线连接 — 像电视和游戏控制台这样的娱乐器材直接以有线的方式连接网状网络节点较为有利。

最好的WiFi路由器优化策略

NetSpot的“调查模式”使您可以创建无线强度的可视化地图

优化您的路由器表现的最有效的方法是找到最理想的安放它的位置。NetSpot的勘测模式使您能够创建您所在区域的 无线强度视觉图并查看信号最强和最弱的区域。使用此信息来确定是否应当将路由器放到其他地方

Wifi Heatmap

有了NetSpot,您可以快速验证结果并调整您的行动方案。

最佳WiFi路由器

市面上可用的WiFi路由器为数众多,本文所列的只是其中部分优秀的机型。本文内容有限,是不可能完全覆盖市面上的全部优秀机型的。我们所提供的机型列表仅供您参考,只是为您指明一个选择市面上的最佳路由器的方向,您可以据此根据您的个人需求进行有的放矢的搜索。

选择 #1
LOGO TP-LINK
TP-Link Archer C2300

这款高性能路由器体积虽小,但是功能却非常强大。它是一款三频路由器,支持802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz)和802.11ac (5GHz)。

TP-Link Archer C2300

该设备搭配了四个千兆位元的以太网端口,另有USB 2和USB 3端口各一个。它的功能十分强大,其信号能够穿透墙壁和天花板,同时还安装了反病毒防护软件。它对于家庭WiFi网络而言是一个非常棒的选择。

选择 #2
Logo Linksys
Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

这款三频Linksys路由器支持802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz), 802.11ac (5GHz)标准,同时设置较为灵活,通过自定义设置可以进一步优化您的设备表现。

Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

该路由器同时提供软件支持,您可以使用您的桌面浏览器或专门的手机应用程式来实现很多不同的功能,如监控网络使用,数据优先分配,以及平衡三大无线频带之间的数据传输。它包括4个以太网端口和1个USB 3接口。

选择 #3
Logo ASUS
Asus ROG Rapture GT

这款路由器相对比较昂贵,功能十分出色,是对于网络性能有着极高要求的硬核游戏玩家的完美之选。它同样也是一款三频路由器,用户可以在802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz)和802.11ac (5GHz)标准之间进行选择。这款路由器提供了一对饱受游戏玩家追捧的以太网端口,确保了游戏控制台可以获得足够的带宽资源。它可以通过ROG游戏中心网页控制台轻松进行配置和管理。

Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

本文不可能述及市面上值得推荐的每一款WiFi路由器。请在这里查看2022年度最佳WiFi路由器列表

最佳网状WiFi路由器

这其中包含了如今市面上部分最佳网状WiFi的替代产品。

选择 #1
Logo Google WiFi
Google WiFi

这款口碑超赞的系统被认为是管理性最好,设置最容易的网状网络之一。该系统虽然使用简单,但是性能和设计却毫不逊色。 Google WiFi网状系统由三大核心元件组成,进一步提高了网络安装效率。

Google Wi-Fi Router

您可以通过直观的Google WiFi应用来操控您的系统,凭借该应用还可以对您的网络以及您的连接点的健康性进行监测。该应用包括一项网速测试功能,使您能够优先分配您所选定的设备的流量。

选择 #2
Logo Netgear
Netgear Orbi AC2200 RBK23

这款Netgear路由器完美适用于想要在自己家中布局网状网络的用户。其套件包含一个路由器和两个随体来扩展您家中的WiFi信号强度。它的各个组件的外观设计深具时髦的现代化气息,放在客厅里绝对不会显得突兀。Orbi提供了出色的性能,而且设置非常简单。它的定价非常高,但是一定会解决您家中信号覆盖差的问题。

Netgear Orbi AC2200 RBK23

GoogleNetgear Orbi并非没有竞争对手,很多其他大公司已经发布了十分抢眼的网状WiFi解决方案,包括Comcast,其正试图通过xFi频带全面提升它的Xfinity家庭网络服务。 xFi Pods,这是Comcast推出的一款网状WiFi扩展设备,可以与xFi网关进行配对以创建一个网状WiFi网络并消除WiFi丢包或信号薄弱的问题。

您在这里可以查看 2022年度最佳网状WiFi路由器

结语

无论您是决定选择符合您的需求的单一WiFi路由器解决方案还是网状网络,您都应当考虑使用像NetSpot这样的高品质的WiFi分析仪来对您的网络进行规划,维护,和优化。无论您最终选择部署何种类型的硬件,您都应当尽力优化网络信号的表现。

NetSpot是一款功能全面的WiFi分析仪应用,可同时在Windows和macOS上运行。您可以免费下载并测试该应用,以了解它如何帮助您规划和改善您的WiFi网络表现。这是一款功能十分强大的工具,设计非常亮眼,同时又足够直观,哪怕是普通的计算机用户也可以轻松上手,优化和提升您的WiFi路由器的表现。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot

WiFi分析仪应用运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax无线网络适配器的MacBook(macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10/11)。

获取NetSpot
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论
用户评价
接下来阅读有关Wi-Fi路由器的内容

如果您想要获取更多有关Wi-Fi的信息,请查看如下有关Wi-Fi路由器,设置无线网络的最佳应用,WiFi信号等等文章。

WiFi速度慢?
NetSpot帮助您对常见的网络问题进行故障排查并发现可能的干扰源。
NetSpot Wifi Heatmap

Everything You Need to Know About a WiFi Router and How to Get the Most Out of It

WiFi routers are everywhere, and it’s hard to imagine the world without them. Despite their widespread use; however, most people have complained about the performance of their wireless router at one point or another.

Wireless Router

Indeed, even the best wireless router can have trouble covering an entire house or office with a reliable WiFi signal. That’s why it’s essential to know how to get the most out of a WiFi router and have the right tools for the job.

TP-Link Archer C2300

TP-Link Archer C2300

See Details Buy on Amazon
Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

See Details Buy on Amazon
Logo ASUS GT AC5300

Asus ROG Rapture GT

See Details Buy on Amazon
Logo Mesh Google WiFi

Google WiFi

See Details Buy on Amazon
Logo NETGEAR Orbi Satellite Outdoor Mesh WiFi-System

NETGEAR Orbi

See Details Buy on Amazon
As an Amazon Associate, we may earn from qualifying purchases made using the "Buy from Amazon" links on this page.
NetSpot WiFi Survey Software
Measure and visualize the strength of your wireless router at ease.
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

Before we start

Trusted by countless IT professionals and casual home users alike, NetSpot is one such tool. NetSpot’s forte are WiFi network analysis, site surveys, and network troubleshooting.



NetSpot’s forte are WiFi network analysis, site surveys, and network troubleshooting

With NetSpot, you can make even a budget WiFi router perform just as well as routers way above its price range, just like you can use it to make a high-end router perform to its fullest potential.

NetSpot Discover Mode

NetSpot is simple, powerful, and available for free.

What is a WiFi Router?

Simply put, a WiFi router is an electronic device that sends data received from an Internet cable to other devices. It also acts as a wireless access point from which it shares data through the use of radio signals. The router converts the data stream delivered by your Internet connection into radio signals. These signals are received by WiFi-capable devices such as smartphones, laptops, and tablets.

Selecting the Best Wi-Fi Router

If you believe that all routers are the same, you’re wrong. There are many good reasons why you should consider leaving the router you got from your internet service provider behind and buying a new, better one instead.

It used to be that internet routers did almost nothing else besides connecting a single computer to the internet. Modern internet routers are different. They provide wireless internet access to smartphones, tablets, smartwatches, and internet-connected home appliances. They are highly secure, feature USB ports for file sharing, and support all the latest wireless standards, such as 802.11ac, which offers about 3x the bandwidth of the older 802.11n standard.



Most modern WiFi routers already support the newest version of WiFi standards, which is 802.11ax a.k.a. WiFi-6, it is an upgrade over the previous standard, which is 802.11ac (WiFi-5).

These routers broadcast on two frequencies simultaneously. Such routers are called dual-band routers, and they support both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. Why’s that important? Because the 2.4 GHz band tends to be very cluttered. In some residential areas or apartment blocks, dozens of wireless routers may broadcast a wireless signal on the same channel, making it difficult for electronic devices to collect the right data packets amidst all the noise.

Routers also offer different ranges. You may have seen routers that look like scary cyber-spiders, with antennas protruding in all directions. You better believe that routers like this have a better range than much smaller routers with built-in antennas.

Older routers that support only the 802.11n standard can accommodate only 30 concurrent clients. Newer, 802.11ac routers support almost 100 simultaneous connections, making them much more suitable for crowded office spaces and public-facing businesses.


Software updates are vital when it comes to wireless routers. Cyber attackers release over 390,000 new malicious programs every day, and old, unpatched routers are one of their prime targets. Router manufacturers have to make the same kind of business decisions as all other companies, and they can’t afford to support old products indefinitely.

That router your internet service provider gave you 5 years ago could be vulnerable to a wide range of dangerous cyber attacks, many of which could cost you your privacy or a bank account. Why risk so much when you can purchase a new router and stay safe?

Before you purchase a new router, always make sure to check wireless router reviews to see what others have to say about it. There’s only so much you can learn about a product from specifications and product descriptions. Reliability and real-world performance take some time to evaluate.

Don’t Blame Your WiFi Router

Before you say “my WiFi router is no good,” consider what else could be affecting the quality of your WiFi signal and your internet speeds.

First of all, double-check that your wireless network is encrypted. Sometimes a router loses power for a long time and restores to factory defaults. This can happen without your knowledge, leaving your WiFi network accessible to anyone. It goes without saying that your internet speeds will be abysmal when the whole neighborhood is leeching off you.

These days, the WPA2 (Wi-Fi Protected Access 2) is recommended as a much safer alternative to the older and much less secure WEP.

Second, make sure that your internet service provider is delivering the advertised download and upload speeds. Just because your contract says that you should be getting 20 Mbps download speeds, it doesn’t mean that you actually are. NetSpot’s Active Scanning feature allows you to quickly and accurately test your network’s connection speeds.

To use the feature:

  • Start a new network survey project

  • Load a map of your area or create a new one

Netspot — New Survey
  • Scan your area

  • Look for a blue Active Scan indicator

NetSpot active scan
  • Go through the available visualizations to see your upload speed, download speed, wireless transmit rate, and other useful metrics.

Last but not least, make sure the computer you’re using for the testing is in a good working order. The cause of your slow internet speeds could be a malware infestation or some background processes. A simple restart often does the trick, but many serious issues can only be solved by a complete reinstall of your operating system.

Tips for Setting Up a WiFi Router

Here are some tips that can help you set up a wireless router. Based on the area you are intending to cover with your WiFi signal, you may only need one router to do the job. Properly setting up the router is essential in obtaining maximum performance from the equipment.

Properly locate your router — Placing your router in a location that is free from physical obstructions is key to getting the best signal from your router. Place it as high as you can and keep it away from other sources that may produce wireless interference such as microwaves and cordless phones.

Select a Good Place for Your Router

Secure your network — Make sure you access your router’s administration panel and change the device’s default password. Set your router to the highest degree of security with WPA2 as a minimum to protect your network and users.

Secure your network

Keep your firmware up to date — To ensure your device is operating optimally you should take advantage of firmware upgrades offered by your router’s manufacturer. We recommend you configure the router to automatically install any available firmware upgrades.

Keep Your Router Updated

Minimize the distance between the router and connected devices — If you find that your wireless devices are experiencing issues with the WiFi signal you may have to move them closer to the router in order to achieve the performance you desire. If this becomes a major problem, you may be a candidate for a mesh network installation.

Make Your Router the Center of Attention

What Is Mesh Networking?

We’ve come to expect internet access to be available everywhere, and we have the same expectation even for WiFi networks. However, the average WiFi router can seldom cover more than a single room with a strong and stable signal, which is where mesh networking comes in.

From the outside, a mesh WiFi network works just like any traditional single-router WiFi network does: the network identifies itself to clients with a single SSID (service set identifier), and it may request clients to enter a password.

Employing mesh network

But there’s one major difference: the strength of a mesh WiFi network in a house or large office space doesn’t vary too much from room to room. That’s because a mesh WiFi network actually consists of multiple mesh WiFi routers, typically called nodes, organized in a mesh topology.

While it’s still more expensive to set up a mesh WiFi network compared with the cost of a single-router WiFi network, the benefits make it worth every penny — at least when configured correctly. Learn more about mesh WiFi networks and their configuration.

Tips for Setting Up a Mesh Network

Setting up a mesh network comes with its own set of challenges that must be addressed. Here are some tips for setting up a mesh network.

Plan your mesh network — A survey of your coverage area is in order to plan the location of the nodes that provide access points into the network. Based on their locations you might opt for a mesh network that offers either a wired or wireless means of connecting the nodes.

Consider wired connections to certain devices — Entertainment components like televisions and gaming consoles can benefit from being directly wired into a node on the mesh network.

Best WiFi Router Optimization Strategy

NetSpot’s Survey Mode allows you to create a visual map of the wireless strength

The most effective way how to optimize the performance of your router is to find out the ideal spot where to place it. NetSpot’s Survey Mode allows you to create a visual map of the wireless strength in your area and see where the signal is the strongest and weakest. Use this information to decide whether it wouldn’t be best to place the router elsewhere.

Wifi Heatmap

With NetSpot, you can quickly verify the result and adjust your course of action. Even though NetSpot is loaded with useful wireless troubleshooting features, it doesn’t take long even for someone with limited computer experience to learn how to use it. Download NetSpot right now to optimize your router and increase your internet speeds.

The Best WiFi Routers

We do not propose that this is an exhaustive list of the WiFi routers that are available. That is beyond the scope of this article and would encompass hundreds of devices. The list we provide is designed to point you in the direction of some of the best routers on the market today from which to begin your search for the best router for your individual situation.

CHOICE #1
LOGO TP-LINK
TP-Link Archer C2300
Buy on Amazon

Here is a high-performance router whose compact size belies its power. It is a tri-band router providing 802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz) and 802.11ac (5GHz) support.

TP-Link Archer C2300

The device features four Gigabit Ethernet ports as well as a USB 2 and a USB 3 port. It is powerful enough to provide coverage through walls and ceilings and comes with installed anti-virus protection. It is a great choice for a home WiFi network.

CHOICE #2
Logo Linksys
Linksys EA8300 MaxStream
Buy on Amazon

This Linksys router offers tri-band support for the 802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz), 802.11ac (5GHz) standards and features flexibility that allows customization of your device to optimize performance.

Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

The software allows you to use your desktop browser or the dedicated phone application to perform many functions such as monitoring network usage, prioritizing data allotment, and balancing data transmission across the three wireless bands. It includes 4 Ethernet ports and a USB 3 interface.

CHOICE #3
Logo ASUS
Asus ROG Rapture GT
Buy on Amazon

This is an expensive and extremely powerful router that is perfect for the hard-core gamer who demands peak performance at all times. It is also a tri-band router that offers the user a choice between the 802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz) and 802.11ac (5GHz) standards. Gamers will love the dedicated pair of Ethernet ports that ensure your gaming console gets the bandwidth that it needs. The router is easily configured and managed through the ROG Gaming Center web console.

Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

It’s beyond the scope of this article to cover every WiFi router that deserves mention. Check the list of the best WiFi routers available in 2022 here.

Best Mesh WiFi Routers

This is a list of some of the best mesh WiFi alternatives on the market today.

CHOICE #1
Logo Google WiFi
Google WiFi
Buy on Amazon

This highly acclaimed system is considered one of the most manageable and easy-to-set-up mesh networks available. Its ease of use is complemented by its high performance and advanced design. The Google WiFi mesh system is comprised of three components which can each serve as the core of the system, streamlining the installation of the network.

Google Wi-Fi Router

You control your system with the intuitive Google WiFi app which includes the ability to monitor your network and the health of your connection points. The app includes an Internet speed test and allows you to prioritize traffic to the devices that you choose.

CHOICE #2
Logo Netgear
Netgear Orbi AC2200 RBK23
Buy on Amazon

Here is a Netgear router perfect for users who wish to implement a mesh network in their home. The kit comes with one router and two satellites to extend the WiFi signal throughout your home. The components feature a sleek and modern design that will not clash with your home’s decor. The Orbi offers great performance and is easy to set up. It is rather high-priced, but will definitely solve your issues with the lack of WiFi coverage in your home.

Netgear Orbi AC2200 RBK23

Google and Netgear Orbi aren’t without competition as many other large companies have also released compelling mesh WiFi solutions, including Comcast, which is trying to revamp its Xfinity home internet services under the xFi brand. The xFi Pods, as Comcast calls its mesh WiFi extender devices, can be paired with an xFi Gateway to create a mesh WiFi network and eliminate areas where WiFi coverage drops or is weak.

Here you can find out the best mesh WiFi routers for 2022.

Conclusion

Whether you decide that a single WiFi router solution will work for your needs or opt for a mesh network, you should make use of a quality WiFi analyzer such as Netspot to plan, maintain, and optimize your network. It can be instrumental in your ability to obtain the best performance out of your network no matter what type of hardware you choose to employ.

Netspot is a comprehensive WiFi analysis application that runs on both Windows and macOS. You can download and test the app for free to see how it can help you plan and tune your WiFi network. It is a powerful tool that looks good in any network administrator’s software toolbox, yet is intuitive enough for the general computer user to make use of to get the maximum performance from your WiFi router.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot

WiFi analyzer app runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10/11) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax wireless network adapter.

Get NetSpot
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews
What people say about us
WiFi router — FAQs
How to select the Best Wireless Router?

Modern Internet routers can handle a lot of tasks — they provide computers, smartphones, tablets, smartwatches, and even your car with wireless access to the Internet. High-quality routers of new generations have USB ports for secure file sharing and support the latest and fastest wireless standards. Dual-band routers offer even more versatility by broadcasting on 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequency bands simultaneously.

Modern 802.11ac routers can handle almost 100 simultaneous connections offering fast Internet connection to anyone who joins the network. On the market for a new router? Think how many people are going to use it and where. Read the reviews and specifications to find the most suitable option.

 

What can affect the quality of your WiFi signal and your internet speeds?

Is your network encrypted? Checking this from time to time is a good habit, because if for some reason your wireless router settings were restored to factory defaults it might just let anyone in to piggyback on your wireless network. Also make sure you are using at least the WPA2 security standard on your equipment.

You might want to test your Internet speed to make sure your service provider delivers what they advertised.

Lastly, make sure your computer is operating normally — if it is overloaded with background processes or got infected with malware it might also affect the Internet speed. And not just the Internet — you might want to reinstall your operating system to protect your data.

How to test your network’s connection speeds?

Use NetSpot’s Active Scan feature to test your network’s connection speeds accurately.

This quick test is quite easy:

  • In NetSpot start a new survey project;
  • Load a plan of your area or draw a new one;
  • Scan your area while moving through it and taking measurements;
  • Look for a blue Active Scan indicator;
  • Use the heatmap visualizations to analyze your upload speed, download speed, wireless transmit rate, etc.
What is the Best WiFi Router Optimization Strategy?

The best way to enhance the performance of your wireless router is to find the most optimal placement for it. Use the NetSpot app — its Survey Mode will visualize the wireless strength of your home or office network signal so you can clearly see where it is the strongest and where — the weakest. Repeat the survey with NetSpot for your router’s new location to verify the proper placement.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi Routers

If you want to get more information about Wi-Fi, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi routers, the best apps for wireless networking, WiFi signal, etc.

Issues with WiFi?
Eliminate dead spots with NetSpot - a top-notch wireless survey tool.
NetSpot Wifi Heatmap