• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

如何进行WiFi现场勘测

如果您想要最大限度地利用您的互联网连接,那么您需要了解如何进行WiFi现场勘测,这样您就能够评估您的WiFi网络的表现并采取必要的措施来改善它。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
WiFi网络无处不在,虽然您肉眼看不到它们。您早晨醒来后,可以通过您的家庭WiFi网络来查看最新的社交媒体回帖和早高峰路况。您在乘火车或地铁上下班通勤的过程中也会连接到另一个不同的WiFi网络,同时大型企业级WiFi网络也使您得以在抵达公司的第一时间快速回复来自于同事的邮件。

至少这是WiFi网络承诺实现的一大便利。实际上,影响WiFi信号强度的因素有很多,它们可能使得WiFi网络变得非常不稳定。

阻碍您的WiFi信号的因素有哪些?

与电流不同,WiFi信号无法在屏蔽式电缆线中传播。相反,它们是通过空气传播的,使之容易遭受很多种不同的信号干扰。

建筑物,树木,和其他实物对WiFi信号而言可谓是一大挑战,想要穿透这些密度较大的材料而又不损失过多的能量委实比较困难。尽管2.4 GHz WiFi信号穿透固态物体的能力还不错,但是通过现代化5 GHz WiFi路由器传送的信号却不能。

有些物体之所以有碍您的WiFi信号的传送,不仅是因为它们具备障碍物的属性,同时还因为它们能够发射电磁干扰。您的家里势必也会有这些东西,如微波炉,无绳电话,婴儿监视器,或短波收音机。

将您的WiFi路由器放到远离这些发射电磁干扰的家用设备的地方并不会费多大功夫,但是想要避免由其他WiFi网络造成的干扰却困难的多。如果您居住在人口密集的市区,而不是乡村或郊区的话,那它们对您的WiFi信号的影响尤为显著。

WiFi现场勘测救援

此时,您很可能已经理解到了WiFi勘测的必要性。因为能够对您的WiFi网络表现造成负面影响的因素非常多,它们可能会造成您浏览网页困难,无法正常观看在线视频,或发送电子邮件。

除非您不介意浪费大量的时间不断尝试不同的路由器放置位置和设置,否则您最好进行WiFi现场勘测并即时查看哪些地方WiFi信号最强,哪些地方WiFi信号最弱。

通常来说,WiFi现场勘测是使用能够收集各种不同的WiFi信号指标并对其予以分析的WiFi现场勘测软件应用程序来执行的。在勘测前,您需要将区域地图导入到软件应用程序内,之后收集的数据会在此地图上对应显示。在勘测期间,用户在勘测区域四周移动并收集WiFi信号指标。完成后,WiFi现场勘测软件应用程序会对结果进行分析并将分析数据呈现到用户的面前。

由于整个过程大多都是自动完成的,所以即便是WiFi网络和无线现场勘测领域的小白也不会遇到任何问题。当然,并不是所有的WiFi现场勘测软件应用都同样地简单易用— 或功能性同样的出色 — 这也是为什么选择一款将易用性和功能性完美结合到一起的软件应用是如此重要的原因,而NetSpot则完美适合上述描述。

使用NetSpot进行WiFi现场勘测

NetSpot是一款适用于macOS和Windows的专业无线现场勘测软件应用。它有两大模式—发现模式和勘测模式 — 这两大模式可用于轻松以视图方式查看信号覆盖,管理附近网络,对不同的WiFi相关问题进行故障排查,检查无线路由器,规划现场勘测项目,以及部署无线网络

发现模式提供附近WiFi网络的快照,它在不需要全局性WiFi现场勘测的情形下非常有用。第二种模式,勘测模式可以一键激活,您可以通过此模式来进行全面的WiFi现场勘测。

第1步:下载NetSpot并激活它

NetSpot能够满足专业网络管理员的需求,可用于macOS,和Windows系统(Android目前仅适用于发现模式)。

想要开始使用的话,下载免费版NetSpot并安装它。欲进行WiFi现场勘测,您将需要付费激活NetSpot的高级版本(家庭版,专业版,或企业版)。欲了解更多有关许可证的详细信息,请查看这里

NetSpot的发现模式

第2步:启动NetSpot并切换到勘测模式

接下来,启动NetSpot,主窗口顶部有一个明显的按键,按下它切换到勘测模式。

NetSpot — 开始新的勘测

第3步:开始新的勘测

想要开始新的勘测,您必须首先为您的WiFi现场勘测项目命名并导入您想要勘测区域的地图。如果您没有的话,您可以在NetSpot中绘制一张。您将被要求在地图上选择两个点并输入这两个点之间的实际距离。

NetSpot —新调查

第4步:扫描勘测区域

现在是有趣的部分:从一个位置移至另一个位置,直至您覆盖到整个区域并收集到足够的信息以便使NetSpot创建一份WiFi现场勘测报告。完成时点击左下方的停止扫描按钮即可。

NetSpot停止扫描

第5步:分析结果

由于NetSpot的用户界面非常友好,您应当可以立即查看信号薄弱的任何区域。接下来您可以决定是否需要采取必要的措施来消除它们,而此类措施可能只不过是将您的WiFi路由器换下位置而已。

测量模式NetSpot
所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

结语

对于WiFi信号差,频繁的掉线,迟缓的下载和上传速度,以及高延迟等情形,您没有理由加以容忍。有了像NetSpot这样的WiFi现场勘测软件应用程式,任何人都能够学会如何进行WiFi现场勘测以及如何快速解决常见的WiFi问题。如本文所述,想要充分发挥您的网络连接的潜力,您所需要的只是正确的工具和5个简单的步骤而已。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

How to Perform WiFi Site Surveys

If you want to get the most out of your internet connection, you need to learn how to perform WiFi site surveys so that you can evaluate how your WiFi network is performing and take the steps necessary to improve it.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
You don’t see them, but WiFi networks are everywhere. When you wake up in the morning, you use your home WiFi network to check the latest social media posts and the morning traffic. A different WiFi network keeps you connected to the internet during your train or subway commute to work, and a large enterprise-grade WiFi network allows you to reply to emails from coworkers as soon as you arrive.

At least that’s the convenience WiFi networks promise. In reality, there are many different factors that influence the strength of a WiFi signal and potentially make WiFi networks unreliable.

What Can Get in the Way of Your WiFi Signal?

Unlike electricity, WiFi signals don’t have the luxury of traveling through shielded cables. Instead, they travel through the atmosphere, making them susceptible to many different kinds of signal interference.

Buildings, trees, and other physical objects challenge the ability of WiFi signals to penetrate dense materials without losing too much power. While 2.4 GHz WiFi signals are fairly good at penetrating solid objects, the signals broadcasted by modern 5 GHz WiFi routers are not.

Some objects get in the way of your WiFi signals not just because they act as obstacles but also because they emit electromagnetic interference. You probably have at least a few objects like this at home, such as a microwave, cordless phone, baby monitor, or shortwave radio.

It doesn’t take much work to place your WiFi router far away from household objects that emit electromagnetic interference, but it’s much more difficult to avoid the interference caused by other WiFi networks. Their impact on the strength of your WiFi signal can be especially significant if you live in a densely populated urban area and not in the countryside.

WiFi Site Surveys to the Rescue

At this point, you probably understand why WiFi surveys are necessary. There are simply too many factors that can negatively affect the performance of your WiFi network and make it impossible for you to browse the web, watch online video, or send an email.

Unless you don’t mind wasting hours and hours of your life trying different router placements and settings, you’re much better off performing a WiFi site survey and instantly seeing where your WiFi signal is the strongest and where it’s the weakest.

Typically, WiFi site surveys are conducted using a WiFi site survey software application that collects various WiFi signal metrics and analyzes them. Before a survey, an area map is imported the software application, which then overlays the gathered data on top of it. During the survey, the user moves around the surveyed area and collects WiFi signal metrics. Once finished, the WiFi site survey software application analyzes the results and presents them to the user.

Since the entire process is largely automated, even users who have very limited prior experience with WiFi networks and wireless site surveys shouldn’t run into any problems. Of course, not all WiFi site survey software applications are equally easy to use — or equally capable — which is why it’s important to select one that combines ease of use with impressive capabilities, and NetSpot fits this description perfectly.

Performing a WiFi Site Survey with NetSpot

NetSpot is a professional wireless site survey software application for macOS and Windows. It has two modes — Discover and Survey — and these two modes can be used to easily visualize signal coverage, manage nearby networks, troubleshoot various WiFi-related issues, audit wireless routers, plan site survey projects, and deploy wireless networks .

The Discover mode provides a quick snapshot of nearby WiFi networks, and it’s useful in situations that don’t call for a comprehensive WiFi site survey. The second mode, Survey, can be activated with a single click, and this is the mode you want to use to perform a comprehensive WiFi site survey.

Step 1: Download NetSpot and Activate NetSpot

NetSpot meets the requirements of professional network administrators, and available on macOS, and Windows (Android is currently with the Discover mode only).

To get started, download the free edition of NetSpot and install it. To perform a WiFi Site survey you’ll need paid version of NetSpot to be activated (Home, PRO, or Enterprise). For more details about the licenses available, please check here.

Discover Mode NetSpot

Step 2: Launch NetSpot and Switch to the Survey Mode

Next, launch NetSpot and switch to the Survey mode using the prominent button at the top of the main window.

Step 3: Start a New Survey

To start a new survey, you must first give your WiFi site survey project a name and import a map of the area you want to survey. If you don’t have any, you can draw one right in NetSpot. You will be asked to select two points on the map and input the actual distance between them.

NetSpot — New survey

Step 4: Scan the Surveyed Area

Now the fun part: move from one place to another until you cover the whole area and gather enough data for NetSpot to create a WiFi site survey report. Click the Stop Scan button located in the bottom-left corner when you’re done.

NetSpot Stop Scan

Step 5: Analyze the Results

Thanks to NetSpot’s user-friendly nature, you should immediately see any areas of signal weakness. It’s then up to you to take the necessary steps to get rid of them, which may be as simple as moving your WiFi router a few feet to one side.

Survey mode NetSpot
SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

Conclusion

There’s no reason to live with a poor WiFi signal, frequent connection drops, slow download and upload speeds, and high latency. Thanks to WiFi site survey software applications like NetSpot, anyone can learn how to perform a WiFi site survey and quickly solve common WiFi problems. As we’ve explained in this article, all it takes to get the most out of your internet connection is the right tool and 5 simple steps.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.