• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

扩展您的WiFi信号覆盖范围的最佳方法

毫无疑问,家庭或办公室网络的创建为您的连接互联网或内网的成员提供了极大的便利。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

无线网络在呈现出种种优势之余也确实存在一系列有线网络配置所不需要考虑的问题。设置无线网络时需要予以解决的一大重要因素在于WiFi信号的覆盖范围。

您的理想信号覆盖范围内是否均可以高质量地使用WiFi是构建WiFi网络首先需要考虑的问题。如果该区域内信号比较弱或完全没有信号的话,那么您的WiFi网络是需要进行调整的。解决这个问题的一个主要方法就是增强WiFi信号。

您为什么需要拓展WiFi信号覆盖范围?

您可能或需要拓展您目前所实现的WiFi信号覆盖范围的原因有很多。

  • 规划欠佳 – 未经充分规划所创建的WiFi网络可能在信号覆盖方面出现问题,对您的用户带来负面影响。全部用户需要接收到强烈的WiFi信号才能使您的网络成功运营。在本文末尾,我们将一起来看一下NetSpot这款WiFi工具,它可以帮助您解决此类问题。

  • 新的要求 – 这个问题主要出现在办公场所,可能开辟了用于接纳新员工的其他空间。不管您之前付出了多少努力来准确规制您的WiFi网络,但是您现在面临的问题可能是需要弄清楚如何扩展WiFi信号覆盖范围才能容纳新用户的涌入。

  • 信号不充足 – 无论您的WiFi网络是用于办公还是简单的家用,您可能都会面临这个问题。您在家中的某个房间可能会碰到WiFi连接困难的问题。使用您的咖啡馆所提供的 免费WiFi上网的顾客可能需要避开您的店内的某些器件。

如何扩展WiFi

在面临扩展您的WiFi信号覆盖范围的需求时,您拥有一系列不同的选择。部分选择非常简单,不需要购买任何额外的设备。在其他情况下,您可能需要花费一笔额外的开支才能为您的用户提供所需的WiFi信号覆盖范围。

免费扩展WiFi

以下是不需要花一分钱即可能拓展您的WiFi信号覆盖范围的 几种方法

移动您的路由器
在某些情况下,只需要为您的 无线路由器找一个新地方即可极大地改善您的WiFi信号。您应当努力找到一个尽可能免受像墙或门这样的物理障碍物干扰的中心位置。如果您希望释放您的路由器在发送信号方面的真实潜力的话,请不要将路由器放在壁橱或抽屉内。

尽可能将路由器放在高处,所有连接设备尽可能与之处在同一水平线上。尽管这并非总是那么容易做到,但是您可以尽可能地以之为目标来进行布置,这同样将帮助您拓展您的WiFi路由器的信号覆盖范围。
分析您的WiFi网络
当您使用像NetSpot这样的 WiFi分析仪时,您可以对自己的网络以及其他网络进行勘测,确认哪些网络的信号与您的网络信号发生了重叠。对于无线网络而言,它们的信号可能会与 附近的WiFi 装置所发出信号发生冲突。您通过NetSpot可以确认您的邻居家的路由器是否正在与您竞争同一信道。更改您的路由器设置来使用不同的信道可以扩展您的WiFi信号并提升网络的整体表现。
升级您的路由器的固件
保持您的设备固件的实时更新可以帮助您获得路由器可以提供的最佳WiFi信号。根据制造商的不同,固件升级所需使用的方法不尽相同。部分路由器可设置为自动更新固件。如果您的路由器属于此类的话,我们强烈建议您将其设为自动更新。
转换路由器频率
双频路由器为您提供了两种频带的选择:5.0GHz和2.4GHz。您可能会发现切换到5.0GHz的频带会提升您的WiFi信号覆盖范围,因为该频率使用的没有那么频繁,周围其他电子设备对其造成的干扰较少。

如果使用另一台路由器或其他设备来拓展WiFi信号覆盖范围

如果上述免费方法均无法有效扩展您的WiFi信号覆盖范围的话,那么是时候考虑购买一些额外的设备来 增强您的WiFi信号覆盖范围。对此您也有几种不同的方法可以选择。在此为您列出三种方法:

使用另一台路由器
您可以使用 第二台路由器作为一个中继器来帮助您将信号覆盖到之前的盲区。在某些情况下,您将需要使用一条网线来连接这两台设备,尽管部分配置可以无线完成。从根本上说,您使用第二台路由器来捕获WiFi信号,然后推送到您的住宅或办公场所之前并未覆盖到的地方。
与使用第二台路由器类似,WiFi中继器或加速器 也可以接受初始信号,然后予以放大扩展。它们有各种不同的形态,有的扩展器即插即用,轻松解决WiFi信号覆盖不足的问题。
部署网状网络
大型无线网络适于安装 网状网络 来替代当前传统的WiFi配置。它们所提供的信号覆盖范围可达1,000平方英尺以上,单层或多层建筑均适用。网状网络配置简单,而且其设计根据情况可增可减,因为每一个基站均可视为一个节点。

预测并优化您的WiFi网络的范围

利用像 NetSpot 这样的高品质WiFi分析仪能够帮助您调整您的WiFi网络并确认信号强度是否足以覆盖您之前的规划区域。让我们来了解一下如何在安装您的无线网络之前使用此功能强大的工具提前进行优化。

您应当在为您的WiFi网络购买任何设备之前 使用此工具进行现场勘测。勘测结果会提醒您所规划的信号覆盖范围内存在的潜在问题并帮助您选定符合您的需求的适当的设备。在不进行现场勘测的情况直接安装WiFi网络可能会产生很多问题。

NetSpot – 故障排查工具

您还可以将NetSpot用作故障排查工具来解决WiFi网络所出现的问题。该应用还能帮助您确认像信号强度,重叠信道,和网络连接速度这样的因素。它能够精准地找到信噪比问题,这些问题可能需要通过重新配置您的网络或移动其他产生干扰的设备的方法予以解决。阶段性地对您的WiFi网络进行分析对于其维护和优化非常重要。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

这会使您免于遭受WiFi信号弱的问题。我们所述及的补救措施应当能够帮助您实现您的家庭或办公室内每一台设备的良好信号覆盖。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

The Best Ways to Extend Your WiFi Range

There is no denying that implementing a WiFi network in a home or office creates the most flexible and convenient means for your users to connect to the Internet or internal network.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

The advantages of a wireless network do come with some additional considerations that are absent in a wired network configuration.

One of the most important factors that need to be addressed when setting up a wireless network is the range of the WiFi signal. The ability of the signal to reach and adequately serve your users is the reason that a WiFi network was constructed in the first place. If the signal is weak or non-existent in portions of your intended coverage area your WiFi network needs to be tweaked. One of the primary ways to address this problem is to boost the WiFi signal.

Why Would You Need to Extend the WiFi Range?

There are several reasons that you might want or need to extend the WiFi range that you currently are achieving.

  • Poor planning – Creating a WiFi network without adequate planning can result in poor coverage and can negatively impact your users. All users need access to a strong WiFi signal in order for your network to operate successfully. Later in this article, we will look at how a WiFi tool like NetSpot can help alleviate this type of problem.

  • New requirements – This issue can arise in a business setting where additional space is used to house new employees. Despite your best previous efforts in sizing your WiFi network correctly, you now may be faced with the problem of figuring out how to extend the WiFi range to accommodate the influx of new users.

  • Inadequate signal – You can be faced with this issue no matter if the WiFi network is used for business or simply for home use. You might have issues connecting to the WiFi from certain rooms in your home. Customers taking advantage of the free WiFi offered by your coffee shop may need to avoid certain parts of your establishment.

How to Extend WiFi

When faced with the need to extend the range of your WiFi network there are a number of options from which to choose. Some are simple and do not involve the purchase of any additional equipment. In other cases, you may need to make a financial investment to provide the WiFi range that your users require.

Extending WiFi for Free

Here are some methods that may extend the WiFi range and coverage of your network without spending a dime.

Move your router – Simply finding a new location for your wireless router can have a dramatic impact on your WiFi signal for a variety of reasons. You should strive for a central location that is free from physical obstructions like walls and doors if possible. Don’t keep your router in a closet or a desk drawer if you hope to realize its true potential signals range.

Try to place it as high as possible, with a line of sight to all devices that will be connected to it. While this is not always totally feasible, getting as close as you can to this goal will help you extend the range of your WiFi router.

Analyze your WiFi network – When you use a WiFi analyzer such as NetSpot you can survey your own network as well as other networks whose signals may overlap with yours. It is a fact of life when dealing with wireless networks that their signals can cause issues with other, nearby WiFi installations. You may be able to determine that you are competing for the same channel with your neighbor’s router. Changing your router to make use of a different channel can extend your WiFi signal and improve performance throughout the network.

Update your router’s firmwareKeeping your device’s firmware current can help you obtain the best WiFi signal that the router can provide. Depending on the manufacturer there are different methods that need to be used to update your firmware. Some routers can be configured to automatically update the firmware. If your router is in that category, it is strongly recommended that you take advantage of the auto updates.

Switch router frequencies – Dual frequency routers offer you the choice of 5.0GHz and 2.4GHz bands. You might find that switching to the 5.0GHz band improves your WiFi range as it will incur less interference from other electronic devices since the frequency is used less often.

How to Extend WiFi Range with Another Router or Other Equipment

If you have exhausted the free methods of extending your WiFi range to no avail it might be time to consider purchasing some additional equipment in order to improve your WiFi coverage. There are a number of different ways you can do this. Here are three methods from which to choose.

Using another router – You can use a second router as a repeater to help reach WiFi dead spots in your coverage area. In some cases, you will need to connect the two devices with a cable, though some configurations can be accomplished wirelessly. Basically, you are using the second router to catch the WiFi signal and push it to previously unreachable parts of your home or office.

Using a WiFi extender – In a similar manner to a second router, a WiFi extender or booster also takes the original signal and repeats it to extend its reach. They come in a variety of styles including extenders that simply plug into a nearby electrical wall outlet and can solve the problems of an inadequate WiFi range.

Employing a mesh network – Large wireless networks may benefit from the installation of a mesh network to replace the traditional WiFi configuration currently in place. They are meant to provide coverage of areas of more than 1,000 square feet on either a single or multi-floor building. Mesh networks are easy to configure and offer resiliency by design as each base station is seen as a node.

Predicting and Optimizing the Range of Your WiFi Network

Making use of a quality WiFi analyzer like NetSpot can help you tune your WiFi network and determine if the signal is strong enough for your intended coverage area. Let’s take a look at how to use this powerful tool both prior to installing your wireless network and using it to optimize it once it is in place.

You should conduct a site survey using the tool before you purchase any equipment for your WiFi network. The survey can alert you to potential problem areas in your projected coverage area and help you decide on the proper equipment to serve your needs. Plunging ahead with a WiFi implementation without a site survey sets you up for issues that impact your network.

NetSpot – a troubleshooting tool

You can also use NetSpot as a troubleshooting tool to address issues encountered by WiFi networks. The app enables you to determine factors like signal strength, overlapping channels, and Internet connection speed. It can pinpoint signal-to-noise ratio problems that may need to be resolved by reconfiguring your network or moving other equipment that is interfering with its performance. Periodic analysis of your WiFi network is an important component in its maintenance and optimization.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

There is no reason that you need to suffer from the plague of a weak WiFi signal. One of the remedies we have covered should help you get that signal to each and every device in your home or office.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.