• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

如何更改WiFi名称和密码

如今的WIFi网络可谓是随处可见,碰到两个彼此相邻,名称完全相同的网络也并非是什么新鲜事儿。有时候,不仅是WiFi网络名称相同,甚至密码也相差无几,因为很多用户不知道如何更改默认WiFi密码以增强网络安全。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论
在本文中,我们将为您解释如何更改WiFi名称和密码,无论您的WiFi路由器是什么品牌。

如何更改您的WiFi名称

欲更改您的WiFi网络的名称(也称为SSID或服务集标识符),您需要进入您的路由器的管理页面。

  1. 在您的网页浏览器中输入路由器的IP地址。
  2. 以管理员身份登录。
  3. 转到设置并查找标题为“WiFi名称”或“SSID”的选项。
  4. 输入新的WiFi名称。
  5. 使用NetSpot验证更改,这是一款面向Windows和macOS计算机的WiFi分析仪应用。

发现模式
发现模式

如何更改您的WiFi密码

欲更改您的WiFi密码,您需要:

  1. 在您的网页浏览器中输入路由器的IP地址。
  2. 以管理员身份登录。
  3. 转到设置并查找标题为“安全”的选项。
  4. 确保您的路由器设置为WPA2。
  5. 输入强密码。


输入新密码后,可能需要重新启动路由器。 请记住,之前连接该路由器的全部设备可能需要重新连接。

优秀的WiFi名称的特征

许多人认为WiFi名称并不重要,这就解释了为什么会有这么多有趣的WiFi名称,例如“hack me”或“WillUmarryMe?”或“Top secret network”或“Drop it like to Hotspot”。当然,WiFi名称肯定不如WiFi密码重要,但一个WiFi名称的好与坏仍然可能产生巨大的差异,这里教您如何选择正确的WiFi名称:

  • 不要泄露任何个人信息:也许您的某位邻居是以其地址或姓氏来为WiFI网络命名的。具有个人信息的WiFi名称可以很容易地被识别,但是它们使得执行目标攻击变得非常容易。人们不需要特别精通技术就可以使用从互联网上下载的软件应用程序来破坏某人的互联网连接。与邻居不睦的感觉是很糟糕的,不要让别人通过选择包含有关您的个人信息的WiFi名称来轻松以您的WiFi网络作为目标发动攻击。

  • 不要冒充公共热点:出于某些原因,有人经常会用流行的公共热点名称来为他们的WiFi网络命名,如“McDonald’s WiFi”或“T-Mobile Hotspot”。这样做当然可以让您的邻居们难易辨认出您的WiFi网络究竟是哪一个,但是这同样也可能会造成下载和上传速度的下降。因为很多进入您的WiFi网络信号覆盖区域的人们都会试图搜索免费的网络接入。由于您的路由器必须对这样的连接尝试逐一作出响应,因此它可能没有足够的能力来处理来自于您的数据下载或上传请求。

  • 一定要有常识: 有一些WiFi名称生成器只需按一下按钮即可快速生成若干WiFi名称。它同样还可以为您生成一系列非常有趣的WiFi网络名称,您可以通过这些名称来寻找灵感。但是,您在其中选择一个恰当的WiFi名称时必须要有常识,否则可能会造成一系列不必要的麻烦。如2016年有个人在乘坐澳洲国际航空时将其网络命名成“移动爆炸装置”,正式由于这样的命名方式,飞机在完成彻底的审查之前不得起飞,这件事也上了当年的头条新闻。您可能并不赞同,但我们认为WiFi名称最好是由自己来起。

可靠的WiFi密码的特征

您的WiFi网络的安全性取决于您的WiFi密码的强度。虽然选择一个非常容易记住的简单密码很方便,但是安全性的优先级始终是高于便捷性的,这一点毋庸置疑。以下是有关如何选择强WiFi密码的一些提示,这些密码可以确保黑客远离您的网络:

  • 使用字母,符号和数字的组合:简单的单词不宜设定为密码,因为黑客只需要几分钟就可以尝试无数的单词和单词组合。至少,用字母替换掉某些字符,然后再在其中添加一些特殊字符。

  • 不要使用常用密码::仅仅因为密码包含数字和除字母之外的特殊符号并不意味着密码强度很高。使用“12345qwerty”或“p455w0rd”并非好的选择。如果您的密码看起来可能太明显了,这就意味着它可能很容易被破解,您应该尽快予以更改。

  • 使用长度超过12个字符的密码:短密码无法保护您免受网络暴力攻击,这就是为什么您应该始终使用至少12个字符长的密码的原因。当然,密码的长度并不是决定其强度的唯一因素。如有疑问,请使用密码强度检查工具来帮助您。

  • 请使用一个独一无二的密码:对于多个不同的WiFi网络,请一定不要使用相同的密码。如果您认为您无法记住多个密码,请使用密码管理器,如Bitwarden

  • 不要与他人分享您的密码::分享是一种关怀,但这也会导致安全问题的出现。除非您准备好并且每次与他人共享后都愿意更改WiFi密码,否则我们建议您创建一个单独的访客网络。

结语

WiFi名称和密码比您想象的更重要。既然您知道如何更改它们,则应确保所有WiFi网络名称和密码的设定均符合本文中所述的准则。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

How to Change WiFi Name and Password

With so many WiFi networks everywhere, it’s not uncommon to see two networks with identical names right next to each other. Sometimes, it doesn’t even end with identical WiFi network names because many users don’t know how to change the default WiFi password to something more secure.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
In this article, we explain how to change WiFi name and password regardless of the brand of your WiFi router.

How to Change Your WiFi Name

To change the name of your WiFi network (also known as SSID, or Service Set Identifier), you need to enter your router’s admin page.

  1. Enter your router’s IP address into your favorite web browser.
  2. Log in as the administrator.
  3. Go to settings and look for an option titled “WiFi name” or “SSID”.
  4. Enter your new WiFi name.
  5. Verify the change using NetSpot, a WiFi analyzer for Windows and macOS computers.

Discover Mode
Discover Mode

How to Change Your WiFi Password

To change your WiFi password, you need to:

  1. Enter your router’s IP address into your favorite web browser.
  2. Log in as the administrator.
  3. Go to settings and look for an option titled “Security”.
  4. Make sure your router is set to WPA2.
  5. Enter a strong password.


After you’ve entered a new password, you may be required to restart your router. Keep in mind that you will have to reconnect to the network from all the devices that were previously connected to it.

Characteristics of Good WiFi Names

Many people believe that WiFi names don’t matter much, which explains why there are so many funny WiFi names, such as “hack me” or “WillUmarryMe?” or “Top secret network” or “Drop it like its Hotspot.” Yes, WiFi names are certainly not as important as WiFi passwords, but a good WiFi name can still make a huge difference, and here’s how to pick one:

  • Don’t give away any personal information: Perhaps you live next to someone whose WiFi network is named after their address or family name. WiFi names with personal information may be readily identifiable, but they make it very easy to execute targeted attacks. One doesn’t need to be particularly tech-savvy to use a software application downloaded from the internet to make someone’s internet connection useless. Conflicts with neighbors are unpleasant as they are, so don’t make it easy for someone to target your WiFi network by choosing a WiFi name that contains personal information about you.
  • WiFi name like “McDonald’s WiFi” leads to lower download and upload speeds
  • Don’t pretend to be a public hotspot: For some reason, people often name their WiFi networks after popular public hotspots, such as “McDonald’s WiFi” or “T-Mobile Hotspot.” It’s true that a fake name like this would certainly make it difficult for your neighbors to figure out which WiFi networks is yours, but it would also almost certainly lead to lower download and upload speeds. You can be sure that many people who enter within reach of your WiFi network will try to connect to it in search of free internet access. Because your router must respond to each such connection attempt, it won’t have as much processing power left to handle requests made by you.
  • Do use common sense: There are WiFi name generators that can spit out various clever WiFi names with a press of a button. There are also long lists of funny WiFi network names that you can read for inspiration. However, you must never forget to use common sense when choosing a WiFi name unless you want to make headlines like the person who named their network “Mobile Detonation Device” during a Qantas flight out of Melbourne Australia in 2016. Because of the unfortunate name, the airplane wasn’t allowed to take off until it was thoroughly searched. You may not think so, but the best WiFi names are those that you’ve come up with yourself.
  • Don’t use the same name for multiple networks: The name of your WiFi network is a unique identifier that distinguishes it from other networks in the same area and allows users to know exactly which network they’re connecting to. If you were to use the same name for multiple networks, users would find it very difficult to distinguish them from one another, which could lead to one network being overutilizes and other networks being underutilized.

Characteristics of Good WiFi Passwords

The security of your WiFi network rests on the strength of your WiFi password. While it’s convenient to pick a simple password that’s very easy to remember, it pays off to prioritize security over convenience. Here are some tips on how to choose a strong WiFi password that is guaranteed to keep hackers off your network:

  • Do use a combination of letters, symbols, and numbers: Simple words just don’t cut it because hackers need just a few minutes to try countless words and word combinations. At the very least, substitute certain characters with letters and throw a few special characters into the mix.

  • Don’t use common passwords: Just because a password contains numbers and special symbols in addition to letters doesn’t mean the password is strong. It doesn’t exactly take a genius to come with “12345qwerty” or “p455w0rd.” If your password seems like it might be too obvious, it probably is, and you should change it as soon as possible.

  • Short passwords don’t protect you against brute-force attacks
  • Do use a password longer than 12 characters: Short passwords don’t protect you against brute-force attacks, which is why you should always use a password that’s at least 12 characters long. Of course, the length of the password isn’t the only thing that determines its strength. When in doubt, use a password strength checker tool to guide you.

  • Do use a unique password: Never use the same password for multiple WiFi networks. If you think that you won’t be able to remember multiple passwords, use a password manager such as Bitwarden.

  • Don’t share your password: Sharing is caring, but sharing also leads to security problems down the road. Unless you’re ready and willing to change your WiFi password every time you share it with someone, we recommend you create a separate guest network instead.

Conclusion

WiFi names and passwords matter more than you might think. Now that you know how to change them, you should make sure that all your WiFi network names and passwords adhere to the guidelines described in this article.

FAQ

How do I change my WiFi network name?

Here’s how to change WiFi name: First, you need to access your router’s admin interface, which you can do by entering a specific IP address (typically printed on a sticker found on the bottom of the router). There, look for wireless options and go through them until you find one that lets you change your WiFi network name. Replace the existing WiFi network name with a new one and click Save.

How do I change my router name and password?

To change your router name and password, you need to know the current name and password (often admin/admin or admin/password). Log in to your router’s admin panel using the current name and password and look for security settings. There should be an option to change the current name and password to something else.

Why did my WiFi name change?

If your WiFi name has reverted back to what it was when you first installed the router, it could be that the router restarted itself due to a power outage or firmware upgrade. But if the name has changed to something funny or vulgar, then you may be dealing with a hacker, and you should change your router name and password as soon as possible.

How do I change my WiFi name and password on my phone?

Many modern routers can be remotely administered using a smartphone app. Such apps allow users to monitor network usage, create guest networks, and, of course, change their WiFi name and password. Older routers can usually be administered only from a desktop computer or laptop that’s connected directly with an Ethernet cable.

Should I change WiFi name?

There’s no reason to change your WiFi name on a regular basis, but there are many situations when coming up with a new name for your network is a good idea, such as when the current name is inappropriate, or when you know that someone is trying to steal your personal information.

How do I change my home WiFi password?

To change your home WiFi password, log in to your router’s admin interface and navigate to network security settings. Enter both your existing password and your new password and confirm. It’s likely that your router will restart for the change to take effect. As you can see, leaning how to change WiFi password is easy. But keep in mind that you’ll have to log in all your devices again using the new password.

Is it easy to change WiFi password?

Yes, it’s easy to change WiFi password. In fact, it’s so easy that anyone can do it because most modern routers simplify password changes by offering companion smartphone apps that make it possible for users to change passwords with a few taps.

How can I change my WiFi password from mobile?

To change the existing WiFi password from your mobile device, install the companion app for your router and launch it. Go to the settings section and look for WiFi security settings. The option to change your WiFI password should be right there. Keep in mind that you will most likely be asked to enter your existing password in addition to the new one.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.
Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.