• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

我是如何为我的WiFi提速的

我们总是期待自己的WiFI可以始终高效地工作。想要弄清楚如何为WiFi提速有时候是比较有挑战性的。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

高速WiFi诱惑是无线网络的卖点之一。用户如果可以高速访问互联网来聆听音乐,观看视频或玩网络游戏的话,那么这本身是非常有吸引力的。我们期待我们的WIFi始终可以高效地工作,就像是开启后的电灯泡那样。当WiFi的表现出现不稳定因素的时候,我们想要弄清楚究竟是什么原因导致其表现下滑有时候是非常困难的,而且届时您脑海中所想的唯一一件事就是如何让WiFi速度更快。

WiFi速度不稳定所带来的困扰

我的WiFi之前一直都非常稳定,但是自从12月下旬开始出现系统问题。首先对系统背景做一下介绍。我住的房子并不大,同一时间连接网络的设备数量也不多。我们使用互联网来观看YouTube TV以及进行其他线上活动。大多数时间里,使用WiFi的只有两个人而已。我们可能会同时通过四台设备连接网络,如果我们同时观看电视并使用计算机或iPad上网的话。

网络状况始终表现良好,直到12月份的一个星期日下午。我是一个运动爱好者,当时我正在观看NFL比赛,忽然之间YouTube TV照片中间开始的圆环开始旋转。这表明有应用正在尝试连接互联网,或由于网速原因而导致YouTube TV无法正常播放。这在我观看比赛的整个过程中偶尔会出现一次,导致比赛几乎无法观看。

由于我们之前从来没有碰到过任何问题,我完全不知道该如何解决这样的问题。我当时真的想要看完整个比赛,而且尝试过 重启路由器很多次,但完全没用。我甚至考虑过找一根旧的以太网线插到我的光缆调制解调器的背面,但是这样一来所使用的就不再试WiFi了。而且,我的iPad根本没有任何以太端口。你的呢?肯定也没有。

所以我只能想法设法地找出问题的根本原因,然后一劳永逸地解决它。我感觉我并不是唯一一个碰到类似问题的人,很多其他用户在家里或者办公室中可能也正在经历 WiFi速度迟缓的问题。

因此,为了能够将这个问题的解决方案传递给更多的人,我决定详细描述一下我所采取的步骤。我将会谈及如何使WiFi速度变得更快,同时也会探讨您无需花费一分钱就可以尝试的一系列可行性解决方案。

如何让您的WiFi速度变得更快

这些是我用于提升我的互联网速度的免费方法。

测试您的网络连接速度

我选择做的第一件事是 测试我的网络连接速度。问题是我的WiFi速度是多少。是不是我对家庭网络连接设备的期望值过高呢?难道是我的互联网服务供应商所提供的网络连接速度本身就很慢吗?有关的速度测试工具有很多,我选择了其中一款并对我的连接速度进行了测试。

结果显示我的下载速度是45Mbps,这对我来说显示是够用的。我同时也尝试在出现连接问题的过程中进行测试,但是当时完全无法连接互联网。所以,当连接问题消失的时候,我的网络连接速度是正常的。接下来是下一个步骤。

将路由器移至其他位置

我的房屋布局导致西北角对于 路由器来说是一个理想的安放位置。这是互联网服务供应商网线接口的安装点,可以最大限度地减少所需网线的长度。这时我所使用的是有线公司在安装网络时所提供的Arris组合式调制解调器/路由器。

我同时还试图消除一切对路由器可能产生的障碍或干扰,我花了一下午的时间不断试验各种最佳位置。遵循最佳做法,我将路由器放置在尽可能远离各种物理障碍物的位置并最大限度地减少诸如微波炉等设备可能对其所产生的干扰。运气不佳,WiFi仍然时不时地出现问题。

升级路由器固件

接下来,我进入到路由器的管理面板并进行了固件升级。我同时还设置了自动更新,这样我就不需要反复地进行手动升级。在固件升级之后,我的WiFi表现并没有发生明显的不同。

更改信道

我想要看一下我的WiFi是否遭受了邻居安装的WiFi的影响,所以使用NetSpot WiFi分析仪来搜索周围的 其他网络。该应用检测到了其他网络,而且它们使用的全部都是2.4 GHz频率内的1或11信道。我没有看到可能会对我的路由器产生影响的其他5GHz网络。

我以为我终于找打了问题的所在,于是我对路由器进行了升级,使用2.4 GHz频率内的6信道。其他网络均没有使用此信道,所以如果这是问题所在的话,我现在应当可以解决掉它。可惜的是,问题仍然存在。我顿时没了主意并且只能转换思路。

呼叫技术支持来解决这个问题

在我自行尝试各种WiFi连接修复方法均无果的情况下,我选择联系有线公司,让他们派一位技术人员上门服务。他看了一眼Arris设备,摇摇头说,我们已经不再支持这种老式设备了。他使用一系列测试设备对我的路由器进行了全方位的测试。结论是这台设备已经处在淘汰的边缘,很可能是我的WiFi问题产生的根源。

我们最终购买了一台Netgear光缆调制解调器和一台Linksys路由器,用它们替换掉了过时且机能失常的Arris调制解调器/路由器。在完成各种配置并改掉 默认密码后,我的WiFi速度终于火力全开,在安装好新的路由器和调制解调器之后再也没有出现过任何问题。

如果您也遭遇这样的问题该怎么办

如您所见,如何准确找出您的WiFi速度表现下滑的问题所在有时候会很困难。根据我的建议,如果您遇到了这样的问题,您可以一一尝试我们上面所提到的各个步骤以期解决您的问题。在大多数情况下,您在更改信道或移动您的路由器之后应当可以看到网速的提升效果。

可惜的是,并非所有的WiFi问题都可以免费解决。当面对持续存在的偶发性网络连接问题时,可能花几个美元可以轻松地解决其中的问题。我们的网络连接速度终于恢复到了正常的状态,无任何干扰。这难道不是我们真正想要的吗?

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

A Story About How I Made my WiFi Faster

We expect our WiFi to work all the time. It can be challenging to figure out how to make WiFi faster.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

The allure of fast WiFi is one of the selling points of wireless networks. One can very quickly get addicted to the effortless manner in which you can access the Internet to listen to music, stream video or engage in online gaming. We expect our WiFi to work all the time, just like turning on the lights. When it doesn’t work the way it should it can be challenging to figure out the reason for the degraded performance and the only thing on your mind is how to make WiFi faster.

A Sad Story of Inconsistent WiFi Speed

After enjoying years of trouble-free WiFi I began to have issues with the system in late December. First a little background on the system. I do not live in a huge house and there are not many devices that are connected at one time. We do use the Internet to stream YouTube TV as well as our other online activities. For the most part, there are only two people using WiFi. We might have four connections going simultaneously if we are both watching TV and on a computer or iPad at the same time.

All was fine until late one Sunday afternoon in December. I am a bit of a sports fan and was watching an NFL game when I was assaulted by the spinning circle in the middle of the YouTube TV picture. This indicates that the app is trying to connect to the Internet, or is experiencing such slow performance that it cannot keep up with the video stream. This would occur sporadically throughout the game, rendering it almost unwatchable.

Since we had not faced any issues like this previously, I was at a loss as to what to do to resolve the problem. I definitely wanted to see the end of the game and tried rebooting the router several times, to no avail. I even considered digging up an old Ethernet cable and plugging it into the back of my cable modem but then that’s not WiFi anymore. Oh, and my iPad doesn’t have an Ethernet port. Does yours? Exactly.

So I was forced to actually take the time to track down the culprit in the hope of returning the capability to enjoy my WiFI connected devices to its previous lofty state. I have a feeling that I am not alone in facing this dilemma and that others are afflicted with the scourge of slow WiFi in their home or office.

Therefore, in an attempt to pass on some hard-earned knowledge I am going to describe the steps I took to resolve my issue. I’m going to talk about how to make WiFi faster and we will discuss a number of possible remedies that you can try without spending a dime.

How to Make Your WiFi Faster

These are the no-cost methods that I used to try to improve my Internet speed.

Test the Speed of Your Internet Connection

The first thing I chose to do was to test my Internet connection. The question was how fast is my WiFi. Was I expecting too much of my in-home equipment when the problem was a slow connection to my ISP? There are many speed test tools out there, and I chose one and tested my connection.

The results showed that my download speed was well over 45Mbps which should be more than enough for the way we use it. I also tried testing during an occurrence of the connectivity issue, but could not connect to the Internet at all at that time. So when it was up, the speed of the connection was fine. On to the next step.

Relocate the Router

The way my house is laid out made the northwest corner of the house the logical place for the router. This is where the cable from the ISP enters the house and minimizes the amount of internal cabling required. At this time I was using an Arris modem/router combo that had been provided by the cable company when they installed the Internet connection in the house.

In an attempt to eliminate any obstructions or interference resulting from the router’s location, I spent an afternoon experimenting with various other, more centrally located places to house the router. Following best practices, I kept it away from physical objects and tried to minimize the exposure to other devices such as my microwave that might be causing interference. No luck, as the sporadic WiFi degradation continued.

Update the Router’s Firmware

Next, I went out to the router’s administration panel and updated the firmware. While I was there I also set it to update automatically so I would not have to think about this again. There was no noticeable difference in WiFi performance after updating the firmware.

Changing Channels

I wanted to see if I was being impacted by neighboring WiFi installations, so used the NetSpot WiFi analyzer to discover other nearby networks. There were other networks detected, and they all were using channel 1 or 11 in the 2.4GHz frequency. I did not see other 5GHz networks that might be affecting my router.

Thinking I had finally found the reason for the problem, I updated the router to use channel 6 for the 2.4 GHz frequency in my home. No other network was using this channel, so if that was the bottleneck it should now be resolved. Unfortunately, the issue persisted. I was out of ideas and had to take it to the next level.

Calling in Support to Resolve the Issue

After striking out with my own attempts at fixing my WiFi connection I resorted to contacting the cable company and having a tech sent to my home. He took one look at the Arris equipment, shook his head, and said they did not support that old device any longer. He did hook up to some testing equipment and ran the router through its paces. The verdict was that the device was on its last legs and was the most likely reason for my WiFi issues.

We ended up purchasing a Netgear cable modem and a Linksys router to replace the antiquated and malfunctioning Arris modem/router. After configuring the equipment and changing the default passwords we fired up the WiFi and have not had any issues since the new router and modem were installed.

What to Do If This Happens to You

As you can see, pinpointing the issue that is degrading your WiFi speed can be a challenge. I would suggest that if you are faced with this problem, you follow the steps discussed above to try and resolve the issue. In most cases, you will see an improvement by changing channels or moving your router.

Unfortunately, not all WiFi issues can be resolved at no cost. When faced with the prospect of continued sporadic Internet problems or spending a few dollars, the choice was easy. We are back to enjoying our WiFi without interruptions. Isn’t that what we all really want?

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.