如何免费获得更快的WiFi



让我们面对这样一个现实:您的WiFi速度总是难以达到预期。获得快速WiFi是每一个人的梦想,但是否存在将梦想转化为现实的可能性呢?而且,更为重要的一点是,是否有可能在零花费的情况下实现这样的梦想呢?



NetSpot在线WiFi速度测试

检查您的网络速度

运行网络速度测试来确定您获得最佳WiFi速度。
NetSpot

使用NetSpot获得完美的WiFi速度

不要满足于还不错的网络连接速度,NetSpot能够为您确保始终如一的WiFi速度。

我的WiFi速度应当有多快?



在您提出提升WiFi速度的要求时,您应当首先弄清楚您的WiFi究竟应当有多快。您可能会发现您目前所面对的WiFi速度实际上正是您合理预期能够获得的最大速度。

首先,您应当弄清楚您的家庭网络速度。如果您不确定,请联系您的互联网服务供应商询问一下。让我们假设您的家庭网络连接速度是100 Mbps,也即每秒100 megaBITS。鉴于ISP不会以兆比特为单位,所以这个数字应当是兆字节每秒,也即为我们提供每秒12.5兆字节的速度。


换句话说,您在理想情况下从互联网下载一个12.5兆字节的文件大约耗时1秒。

但是这个假设仅适用于有线连接,而非无线网络。当您通过WiFi下载文件时,您引入了若干重要变量,其中 无线路由器 是最重要的一个变量。

WiFi路由器是在两大主频率上传输信号的,也即2.4 GHz和5 GHz,其中每一个频率又分为若干信道。而且,WiFi路由器采用了若干不同的IEEE802.11协议,这是无线网络使用WiFi频带生成信号的基础。

通常仍然在使用的最老的WiFi协议是802.11g,它仅支持54 Mbps的传输速度,大约相当于每秒6.75兆字节。如果您的路由器仅支持802.11g WiFi协议,同时您又向互联网服务供应商购买了100 Mbps的网络连接权限,那么您是不可能发挥其最大性能的。在那种情况下,您唯一的选择是升级到较新型的路由器,当然,这种选择并非免费的。

但是如果您有一台较新型的路由器,让我们假设它支持802.11ac WiFi协议,此协议支持至少1 Gbps的多站吞吐量和至少500 Mbps的单链接吞吐量,这时候该怎么办呢?如果是这种情况的话,应该说您是幸运的,因为您应当能够充分发挥您的网络连接速度,甚至是通过WiFi。

我的WiFi有多快?


想要测试您的WiFi究竟有多快,我们建议使用 NetSpot,这是一款适用于WiFi分析和勘测的行业领先型Mac OS X和Windows应用。与通常只能测试延迟,下载速度,和上传速度的在线 速度测试 不同,NetSpot能够为您提供有关您的无线网络状态的深度数据,帮助您理解它的全天候以及在不同位置的波动情况。

NetSpot有两大不同的WiFi分析模式:勘测模式和发现模式。前一种模式能够使您在地图上勾勒出您的WiFi网络并以可视化视图的形式为您显示器强度和其他参数。后一种模式能够收集有关周围的WiFi网络的各种信息详情并以交互式表格的形式为您呈现这些无线数据。

NetSpot Discover Mode

NetSpot还有一种被称为主动扫描的功能,它使您能够弄清楚您的家中各个位置的WiFi速度。欲使用NetSpot的主动扫描功能来立即测试WiFi速度,请创建一个新项目。加载您现有的区域地图或创建一张新的地图。

NetSpot Active Scan

在主动扫描界面,选择您的无线网络并点击“启动已选定网络的主动扫描”来执行扫描。一旦勘测完成,您将能够分析您的结果并根据具体的扫描配置查看您的上传速度,下载速度,无线传输速度,以及其他参数。

我如何能够使我的WiFi速度变快?


WiFi信号强度随着距离的增加而递减。如果您站的位置离路由器很近的话,您应当能够体验到最大性能的网络连接。但是如果您走到另一间房间的话,您的WiFi速度很可能会降低。根据您的住宅的建造材质的不同,有时候对速度的影响会十分明显。

这就是为什么您应当尽可能将您的路由器放在您的住宅的中央位置的原因。有了NetSpot,您可以查看信号薄弱区域并找到您的路由器的最优安放位置。作为首要原则,请避免将您的路由器放到靠近那些发射大量电磁干扰的大型电器的位置。

您还可以通过切换到使用率最低的WiFi信道的方式来提升您的WiFi速度。如果您生活在人口密集的市中心区域而且您周围区域有很多其他无线网络的话,这种方式尤为有用。如果您与其他人同时在同一信道上传输信号的话,您的速度可能会受到很大的影响,因为这种现象就是所谓的WiFi堵塞。

使用NetSpot的发现模式,您可以轻松生成您周围的所有无线网络的便捷图表来查看它们传输信号所搭载的信道。只需打开NetSpot应用并点击发现。点击“2.4 GHz信道”或“5 GHz信道”来查看哪些WiFi信道的使用率最低。非重叠信道(1,6和11)应当始终是您的首选。

NetSpot Channels

通过这些简单的窍门,您应当能够享受快速的 WiFi热点 ,即使使用的是较老的无线路由器。当然,这些也可以通过过时的技术来达成,尤其是您居住在更大的住宅或您的WiFi需求更高。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot是一款简单易用的无线网络探测器,能够对您周围的WiFi网络进行深度勘测。
获取免费的WiFi扫描仪应用

接下来全部有关Wi-Fi


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).
★★★★
4.8分,957位用户参与评分
版本2.10 • 提交您的评论

How to Get Faster WiFi for Free

Let’s face it: your WiFi speeds are not nearly as impressive as you would like them to be. Fast WiFi is everyone’s dream, but is it also possible to turn that dream into reality? And, more importantly, is it possible to make it all happen without spending a single dollar?



NetSpot WiFi SpeedTest online

Check your Internet speed

Run the Internet speed test to make sure you are getting the best WiFi speed.

Get a perfect WiFi speed with NetSpot

Don't settle for a decent Internet connection, NetSpot ensures a consistent WiFi speed.

How Fast Should My WiFi Be?


Before you embark on the quest for faster WiFi, you should first figure out how fast your WiFi is supposed to be. You might find out that the speeds you’re currently getting are actually the maximum speeds you can reasonably expect to get.

To start with, you should find out how fast your home internet is. If you’re not sure, contact your internet provider and ask. Let’s say you have a 100 Mbps connection going into your house — that’s 100 megaBITS per second. Since nobody except for ISPs thinks in megabits, it’s useful to convert the number to megabytes per second, which gives us 12.5 megaBYTES per second.

In other words, it should take you approximately 1 second to download a 12.5 megabytes-large file from the internet under ideal conditions, of course.

But that assumption is only applicable for hard-wired connections and not for wireless networks. When you download a file over WiFi, you introduce several important variables, with your wireless router being the most important one.

WiFi routers broadcast on two main frequencies — 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz — and each of these frequencies is divided into several channels. What’s more, WiFi routers use several different IEEE 802.11 protocols, which provide the basis for wireless network products using the WiFi brand.

The oldest still commonly used WiFi protocol is 802.11g, and it supports transmissions speeds of only 54 Mbps, or roughly 6.75 megabytes per second. If you have an older wireless router that only supports the 802.11g WiFi protocol, and you pay for a 100 Mbps internet connection, it’s impossible for you to utilize your connection to its maximum capacity. In that case, your only option is to upgrade to a newer router, which, of course, isn’t free.

But what if you have a newer router, let’s say one that supports the 802.11ac WiFi protocol, which has a multi-station throughput of at least 1 Gbps and single-link throughput of at least 500 Mbps? If that’s the case, consider yourself lucky because you should be able to utilize your internet connection to its maximum capacity even over WiFi.

How Fast Is My WiFi?


To test how fast your WiFi is, we recommend NetSpot, an industry-leading Mac OS X and Windows application for WiFi analysis and surveys. Unlike online speed tests, which typically measure only latency, download speed, and upload speed, NetSpot can provide you deep insights into the state of your wireless network and help you understand how it fluctuates throughout the day and how it changes from room to room.

NetSpot has two distinct WiFi analysis modes: Survey and Discover. The former mode makes it possible to outline your WiFi network on a map and visualize its strength and other parameters. The latter mode collects every detail about surrounding WiFi networks and presents wireless data as an interactive table.

NetSpot Discover Mode

NetSpot also has the so-called Active Scanning feature, which allows you to find out exactly how fast your WiFi is across your house. To use NetSpot’s Active Scanning feature to test WiFi speed in an instant, start a new project. Load an existing map of your area or create a new one.

NetSpot Active Scan

On the Active Scan screen, select your wireless network and click on “Enable active scanning of the selected network(s).” Perform the scan. Once your survey is complete, you will be able to analyze your results and see your upload speed, download speed, wireless transmit rate, as well as other metrics depending on the exact configuration of the scan.

How Can I Make My WiFi Faster?


WiFi signal strength reduces with distance. If you stand just a few feet away from your router, you should be able to enjoy fast WiFi and utilize your internet connection to its maximum capacity. But walk to another room, and your WiFi speeds are most likely going to drop. Depending on the materials used to build your home, the drop could be fairly sharp.

That’s why you should always place your router as close to the center of your house as possible. With NetSpot, you can check for signal weak spots and find the most optimum location for your router. As a rule of thumb, avoid placing your router close to large appliances that are likely to emit a lot of electromagnetic interference.

You can also make your WiFi faster by switching to the least used WiFi channel. This is especially important if you live in a densely populated urban area and have a lot of other wireless networks in your vicinity. If you were to broadcast on the same channel as everyone else, your speeds would suffer because of a phenomenon known as WiFi congestion.

Using NetSpot’s Discover Mode, you can easily generate a convenient table of all wireless networks around you and see which channels they broadcast on. Simply open NetSpot app and click Discover. Click either on “Channels 2.4 GHz” or “Channels 5 GHz” to see which WiFi channels are used the least. You should always prefer non-overlapping channels (1, 6, and 11).

NetSpot Channels

With these simple tips, you should be able to enjoy a fast WiFi hotspot even with an older wireless router. Of course, there is only so much you can accomplish with outdated technology, especially if you live in a larger home and your WiFi requirements are high.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot is an easy-to-use wireless network detector for in-depth surveying of WiFi networks around you.
Get the free WiFi scanner app

Next in All about Wi-Fi


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.