• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

使用NetSpot创建WiFi热图

用户通过NetSpot创建的热图可帮助其轻松完成对WiFi的故障排查,以及信号盲区的优化,NetSpot是一款能够帮助您修复任何速度慢,不稳定的无线网络的适用于Windows和macOS的WiFi热图软件应用程序。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
欲使用NetSpot创建WiFi热图,您将需要激活这三个付费版本中的任何一个:家庭版,专业版,或企业版。

什么是WiFi热图?

WiFi热图将WiFi信号强度的图形描述覆于一些真实的物理空间地图之上,如您的住宅或办公室。当您查看WiFi热图时,您可以立即找到其中WiFi信号最强的地方,同时也能找到那些导致您连发送电子邮件信息这样的简单任务都几乎无法执行的信号薄弱区域。

如您可能想见的那样,手边拥有准确的WiFi热图是规划和设置WiFi网络所必需的。如果您无法找到强信号级和弱信号级的分界点,那么您就不可能为无线路由器选择一个最佳的放置位置来确保整个区域覆盖均匀的WiFi信号。

WiFi热图听起来可能有些复杂,难以理解和创建,但事实并非如此。凭借像NetSpot这样的先进WiFi热图绘制仪应用,任何人都可以在几分钟内创建出简单易懂且信息详尽的WiFi热图。

如何阅读WiFi热图?


WiFi热点图

上图显示的是由NetSpot生成的WiFi热图。请注意地图不同部位是如何呈现不同的颜色的。红色表示信号非常强(热),绿色表示信号中等,蓝色表示信号弱(冷)。这三种主颜色创建了可能出现的颜色梯度的无穷阵列,描述了信号级的上升或下降。

更具体的说,上图显示的是信噪比 (SNR),它将WiFi信号等级与背景噪音等级进行了对比,而这些噪音可能是由微波炉,无绳电话,无线游戏控制器,无线摄像机以及当今大多数家庭中可以找到的许多其他电子设备引起的。

SNR不包括来自于其他无线电发射器的同信道干扰,这是信干比(SIR)的内容。SIR在NetSpot的专业版或企业版中将以高级视图的形式为用户呈现。

信干比

NetSpot专业版里的其他可用视图包括信号级,接入点数量,噪音级,频带覆盖,PHY模式覆盖。

信号级对应的是您的WiFi信号的强度,帮助您更好地理解您的信噪比(SNR)。接入点数量显示的是在地图上每个测试点所检测到的接入点的数量。噪音级是在每个测试点检测到的外部干扰的数量,这在与信噪比的对比中最容易理解。

频带覆盖为您显示勘测区域内存在哪些频带。最后,PHY模式覆盖为您显示您的扫描区域内存在哪些802.11协议,包括协议重叠。

如何使用NetSpot创建WiFi热图?

NetSpot是一款简单易用的WiFi测绘仪工具,旨在尽可能简化WiFi热图的创建过程。欲使用NetSpot创建WiFi热图,您首先需要使用位于主窗口顶部的滑块来激活勘测模式。

然后,点击“开始一项新的勘测”按钮并为您的WiFi热图命名。系统将要求您选择分区类型,这将帮助NetSpot为您在项目内创建的第一个分区配置默认的样本设置。

如果您有一张想要勘测区域的地图,现在就是加载它的时候。如果您没有,您可以使用NetSpot的内置工具来创建一张。

WiFi热点图

当您准备好开始热图测绘过程时,点击“继续”,然后携带您的笔记本电脑从地图上的一个点移动到另一个点,直至整个区域被绿色重叠的圆圈覆盖。您然后点击“停止扫描”按钮并查看结果。

WiFi热点图

默认视图显示信噪比,但是您可以通过点击当前选定的视图,然后从列表中选择一个不同的视图的方式切换到NetSpot支持的其他视图,如信干比或频带覆盖。

WiFi热点图

如何修复信号薄弱点?

修复信号薄弱点的最简单的方法是将路由器放置到更好的位置。避免将路由器放置在机柜内,窗户附近,家具后面或难以触及的角落。理想情况下,路由器应位于房屋,公寓或办公室的中心。

如果您无法将您的路由器放到您的空间内的中心位置,您可能会想要购买一台WiFi扩展器,这是一种能够重复传播来自于您的路由器的无线信号以扩展其信号覆盖范围的电子设备。WiFi扩展器价格相对较为便宜,它们唯一的不便之处在于它们会创建一个单独的WiFi网络。

为了避免总是要在两个不同的WiFi网络之间切换,您还可以选择购买一台全新的WiFi路由器,最好是同时支持2.4 GHz和5 GHz WiFi频带。高端WiFi路由器搭载多根天线,它们能够通过一种被称为光束成形的技术使WiFi信号聚焦于连接的设备。

当然,即使是市面上最好的WiFi路由器也无法修复所有的信号薄弱点,除非您对它进行正确的配置并且使用不太拥挤的WIFi信道。

NetSpot的发现模式

NetSpot的发现模式能够拍摄附近WiFi网络的快照并以交互式表格的形式显示无线数据,使您能够即时查看2.4 GHz和5 GHz频带内的哪些WiFi信道占用率最高。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。
免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

WiFi Heatmaps with NetSpot

Created to make WiFi troubleshooting and optimization dead simple, NetSpot is a WiFi heatmap software application for Windows, and macOS that can help you fix any slow, unreliable wireless network.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
To create WiFi heatmaps with NetSpot, you’ll need to activate any of the three paid editions: Home, PRO, or Enterprise.

Jump to...

What Are WiFi Heatmaps?

A WiFi heatmap overlays a graphical depiction of WiFi signal strength on top of a map of some real physical space, such as your home or office. When you look at a WiFi heatmap, you can instantly see where the WiFi signal is strongest and where it’s so weak that even tasks that don’t require too much bandwidth, such as sending email messages, are barely doable.

As you can probably imagine, having an accurate WiFi heatmap at hand is indispensable when planning and setting up a WiFi network. Without the ability to see where strong signal levels end and weak signal levels begin, it’s impossible to select the best place for the wireless router to ensure that the entire area is evenly covered.

WiFi heat maps may sound complicated and difficult to understand and create, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. Thanks to modern WiFi heatmappers like NetSpot, anyone can create a detailed WiFi heat maps in a matter of minutes and understand them at a glance.

How to Read WiFi Heatmaps?


WiFi Heatmap

The image above shows a WiFi heatmap generated by NetSpot. Notice how different parts of the map have different colors. The color red means that the signal is very strong (hot), green means that the signal is average, and blue means that the signal is weak (cold). These three main colors create an endless array of possible color gradients, depicting raising or falling signal levels.

More specifically, the map above displays the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), which compares the level of the WiFi signal to the level of background noise, which may be produced by microwave ovens, cordless phones, wireless game controllers, wireless video cameras, and many other electronic devices that can be found in most homes today.

SNR doesn’t include co-channel interference from other radio transmitters, which is where the signal-to-interference ratio (SIR) comes in. SIR is available as one of the premium visualizations in the PRO or Enterprise version of NetSpot.

Signal-to-interference ratio

Other visualizations available in the PRO version of NetSpot include signal level, quantity of access points, noise level, frequency band coverage, PHY mode coverage.

Signal level corresponds to the strength of your WiFi signal, and its purpose is to give you a better understanding of your signal-to-noise ratio (SNR). Quantity of access points shows the number of access points detectable at each measurement point on the map. Noise level is the amount of outside interference detected at each measurement point and it’s best understood in comparison to the signal-to-noise ratio.

Frequency band coverage shows you which frequency bands are present in the surveyed area. Finally, PHY mode coverage shows you which 802.11 protocols are present in your scanning area, including protocol overlap.

How to Create WiFi Heatmaps with NetSpot?

NetSpot is an easy-to-use WiFi mapper that was designed to simplify the process of creating WiFi heatmaps as much as possible. To create a WiFi heatmap with NetSpot, you first need to activate the Survey mode using the slider located at the top of the main window.

Then, click the "Start a new survey" button and name your WiFi heatmap. You will be asked to choose Zone Area Type, which helps NetSpot configure default sampling settings for the first zone you create within the project.

If you have a map of the area you would like to survey, now is the time to load it. If you don’t have any, you can create one using the tools that come with NetSpot.

WiFi heatmap

Once you’re ready to start the heat mapping process, click “Continue” and carry your laptop from one spot on the map to the next until the entire area is covered with green, overlapping circles. You can then click the “Stop scan” button and view the results.

WiFi heatmap

The default view shows the signal-to-noise ratio, but you can switch to other visualizations supported by NetSpot, such as signal-to-interference ratio or frequency band coverage, by clicking on the currently selected visualization and choosing a different one from the list.

WiFi heatmap

How to Fix Signal Weak Spots?

The easiest way how to fix signal weak spots is with better router placement. Avoid placing your router inside cabinets, near windows, behind furniture, or in hard-to-reach corners. Ideally, your router should be right in the center of your house, apartment, or office.

If you can’t place your router in the center of your space, you may want to consider purchasing a WiFi extender, which is an electronic device that repeats the wireless signal from your router to expand its coverage. WiFi extenders are relatively inexpensive, and their only inconvenience is the fact that they create a separate WiFi network.

To avoid constantly switching between two different WiFi networks, you can instead purchase a brand-new WiFi router, preferably one with support for the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz WiFi band. High-end WiFi routers are equipped with multiple antennas, and they are able to focus the WiFi signal to connected devices with a technique called beamforming.

Of course, even the best WiFi router on the market won’t fix all signal weak spots unless you configure it properly and use a WiFi channel that’s not occupied too much.

NetSpot’s Discover mode

NetSpot’s Discover mode takes a quick snapshot of nearby WiFi networks and presents wireless data as an interactive table, allowing you to instantly see which WiFi channels are used the most, both in the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz band.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.