• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

增强您的WiFi的10大方法

如果您的WiFi网络的表现达不到您预期的效果,您在订购一台新的路由器之前还可以通过很多不同的方法来改变这种状况。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
本文中,我们将为您介绍10种方法,帮助您增强WiFi信号,提升您的WiFi网络的表现。

1。为你的路由器选一个好地方




并非所有地方都同样适合您的路由器。首先,您要避免将路由器放置在靠近会发射电磁波的金属物体和设备附近。金属是WiFi信号的最大破坏者,如果将它放在靠近WiFi路由器的位置的话,那么很容易会造成大片信号盲区的出现。

其他材料,包括玻璃,木材,塑料,泡沫和纸板,也会破坏WiFi信号,但是相比之下,它们对WiFi信号强度的影响并没有金属那样严重。请记住,许多建筑物都使用金属钉(而不是2x4的木头)来安装刨花板,而将路由器靠近它们放置并不是一种好的做法。如果您对此感到怀疑的话,请通过您的智能手机上的手持金属钉探测器或任意一款金属钉探测器应用检测一下即可。

严格来说,所有家用电器都会发出某种程度的电磁波,甚至是荧光灯,断路器和电动剃须刀。电磁波的最大发射器通常存在于厨房内,包括炉灶,微波炉和洗碗机。

其他容易引发问题的电器是洗衣机,干衣机,电视,无绳电话和辐射加热器。如果您家里有这些设备,请使WiFi路由器尽可能远离它们,以增强WiFi信号。

为你的路由器选一个好地方

想要使整个区域均匀地覆盖WiFi信号,你应该将你的WiFi路由器放在中央位置。将路由器放在地板以上的高度也可以稍微增强你的无线信号。

WiFi信号会沿各个方向向外辐射,不仅只是水平方向。当您的路由器放在地板上的时候,其发射强信号的能力会受到严重的限制。出于相同的原因,如果您生活在复式住宅内,那么您应当将Wi-Fi路由器放在靠近一楼天花板的位置。这样一来,即使是二楼也将会接收到稳定的信号。

2。保持你的路由器处于最新状态

如果你经常看这方面的新闻,你肯定听说过数量不断增长的大规模恶意软件的攻击每年为企业和个人带来的损失达到了几十亿美元。如果其中所有的路由器都保持最新状态,那么很多此类攻击将无机可乘。一旦某恶意软件侵染了路由器,它可以窃取带宽,并在你的网络间进行传播。




但是即便没有危险的恶意软件的出现,旧式固件支撑的路由器的表现相比经过适当更新的路由器依然有太多无法令人满意的地方。

保持你的路由器处于最新状态

欲检查您的路由器是否运行最新的可用硬件:

  1. 打开您的计算机或移动设备上的网页浏览器并连接到您的路由器的网络。
  2. 将路由器的IP地址输入到网页浏览器。
    • 如果您不知道IP地址是什么,请检查路由器上的标签信息。
  3. 使用管理员用户名和密码登录。
    • 再次重申,如果您不知道正确的管理员密码是什么,请查看您的路由器底部或背面的标签信息。
  4. 选择名为固件更新或路由器更新的选项。
    • 由于有很多不同的路由器,您可能需要做一些功课才能找到正确的选项。
  5. 等待直至您的路由器找到并安装最新的固件。
    • 切勿中断更新。如果固件更新花了很长时间并且路由器似乎仍没有响应,那么请再等几分钟,然后再断开路由器电源并重新打开。

3。购买更强大的天线

大多数WiFi路由器 自带的都是小型天线。这并不是制造商想要节省开支,而且因为强力的WiFi天线体积通常比较大。你的路由器天线很可能只有几英寸高,大约4 dB的增益,而相比之下,10-dB的天线最起码也要在10 - 15英寸。但是如果你并不介意体积,那么购买一根新的,强力的WiFi天线是增强家庭或办公室WiFi信号的好办法,无需购买一个新的路由器。



WiFi天线有若干不同的类型,但是您需要关心的唯一一种类型是常见的“橡皮鸭”天线,这是一种短电单极天线,由细螺旋形的弹性线组成,并密封在橡胶或塑料保护壳内。

此类天线使用相同的RP-SMA连接器,您在亚马逊和其他在线商店中可以买到很多不同的型号。有些甚至配有便捷的延长线,使您可以将天线放置在距离路由器较远的地方,以实现最佳的信号分配。

购买更强大的天线

为了增强WiFi信号强度,您需要购买一条增益效果更加显著的天线。天线系统在射频上相对于各向同性辐射器的增益以dBi或相对于各向同性的分贝表示。大多数家用路由器均搭配小型天线,其增益效果在4–5 dBi之间。将此类天线替换成9 dBi的天线应当会明显增强信号强度。

4。切断WiF寄生虫

对WiFi设定密码予以加密保护在如今这个时代是必需的。如今人们的生活几乎离不开WiFi,这种情况是前所未有的,对于开放,快速WiFi网络的巨大需求也是显而易见的。不要以为您的邻居有他们自己的网络就不会使用您的WiFi网络—他们会的。

您应当对您的WiFi进行加密处理,通过不会轻易被别人猜出的强密码予以保护。强密码应当:

  • 包括大写和小写字母,符号,和数字的组合。
  • 不要使用常用密码,如123456, qwerty 等等。您可以在这里找到最常用的密码列表。
  • 确保密码至少包含8个字符。短密码通常可以被简单粗暴地破解。
  • 密码中不要包含任何个人信息,例如您的名字,宠物的名字或电话号码。
  • 使用独一无二的密码,请勿将其写在纸上。如果您担心会忘记密码,请使用密码管理器。
切断WiF寄生虫

如果您有很多访客,请创建一个单独的访客网络并严格限定它的范围或者使用一个不同的密码予以保护,同时还需要定期更改此密码。

5。购买一个WiFi中继器/增强器/扩展器

尽管它们的名称各异,如WiFi加速器,中继器,或者扩展器,但所起到的效果基本上是一致的。

WiFi中继器是一种相对简单的设备,能够从您的WiFi路由器获取现有信号并将之作为一个新网络重新播送信号。这个新网络只是您的主网络的扩展,经过它的全部数据同时也都会经过主网络。

WiFi加速器和扩展器非常类似,但它们在重新播送信号以创建副网络之前会对现有信号进行放大处理。由于WiFi加速器相比WiFi中继器的范围通常都要大,所以它们一般在初始信号非常弱的情况下予以使用。

扩展器

一款好的中继器或加速器的价格通常低于$100,而且任何人只需几分钟就可以完成安装,因为整个安装过程一般只需要按WPS按钮即可。

如果您希望在使用WiFi中继器或加速器时实现最佳效果,那么您最好选择一款WiFi加速器应用对现有WiFi信号覆盖情况进行分析并确认扩展现有WiFi网络的最优方法。

6。切换一个不同的WiFi信道

就像高速公路线一样,WiFi路由器也是在多个WiFi信道上进行信号传递的。尽管大多数国家都有6条不重叠的信道(1, 6, 11, 和 14),但是很多用户只是将他们的路由器设置在了默认信道上,通常不是信道1就是信道6。这就造成了WiFi信号的拥堵,因为太多的数据包都试图通过同一条线路。解决方案很简单,找到占用率最低的那条信道,然后切换到这条信道上来。这可以在NetSpot的帮助下完成,NetSpot是一款专业的,简单易用的WiFi分析和监测工具。

切换一个不同的WiFi信道

在选定一个新信道之后,您需要告诉您的WiFi路由器来使用它:

  1. 以管理员身份登录您的路由器。
  2. 进入设置并找到无线设置。
  3. 您应当会看到一个名为“信道”的选项。这个选项大概率被设定成了自动。
  4. 选择想要使用的信道。
  5. 保存新设置并等待您的路由器重启。

您现在可以使用像NetSpot这样的WiFi网络分析仪来验证您的路由器是否在新的信道上播送信号。

7。控制带宽占用率高的应用和客户端

一个特别占用带宽的应用程序或客户端的使用就有可能使同一WiFi网络上的每一个人的下载和上传速度变为龟速。幸运的是,现代路由器支持像QoS(服务质量)这样的服务,该服务使用户可以设定某些应用程序的优先级。

有了QoS,你在玩网游的时候再也不会因为有人在YouTube上观看1440p视频或从网上下载大型Linux发行套件而受到干扰。

欲更改您的路由器的QoS设置:

  1. 以管理员身份登录您的路由器。
  2. 进入设置并打开无线设置标签。
  3. 找到QoS设置。
  4. 配置您的QoS规则。
  5. 保存新设置并等待您的路由器重启。
控制带宽占用率高的应用和客户端

部分路由器配置QoS非常简单,而其他路由器的相关设置则远没有这么直观。如果您有任何疑问,请咨询您的路由器的制造商。

8。使用最新的WiFi科技

最新的无线科技,IEEE 802.11ac,相比之前的WiFi技术,如IEEE 802.11b, g等,提供了更加出色的下载和上传速度并显著提升了信号覆盖范围。想要利用最新的WiFi科技来增强家庭WiFi信号,你需要确保 你的家庭路由器和你的支持WiFi的设备,如智能手机和笔记本电脑,均支持它们。

使用最新的WiFi科技

在选择支持IEEE 802.11ac的新WiFi路由器时,不要选择您可以找到的最便宜的型号。除非您的预算真的是非常有限,否则一定要多花一点钱购买一台信号覆盖出色且具备现代化功能的路由器,如MU-MIMO,高质量的服务,访客网络,千兆位以太网端口,和可替换外部天线。

9。切换到5 GHz

5 GHz无线频率在更短的距离提供更快的数据传输速率,而且通常没有2.4 GHz无线频率那样忙碌。如果你的路由器支持,考虑切换到 5 GHz,这样立即就能得到短程速度提升。

切换到5 GHz

如何通过将您的路由器切换到5 GHz来增强您的WiFi:

  1. 以管理员身份登录您的路由器。
  2. 进入设置并打开无线设置标签。
  3. 将802.11频带从2.4 GHz改为5 GHz。
  4. 点击应用。
  5. 重启您的路由器以应用新的设置。

10。不要忘记重启

永不过时的IT建议,“如果它不工作了,试着关机然后重启”,这同样适用于WiFi路由器。一次简单的重启通常足以显著提升你的WiFi速度。

不要忘记重启

重启能够清除路由器的缓存并允许安装更新。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

结语

有了这十条建议,你无需购买新的路由器应该就可以提升你的WiFi网络的表现。请确保安装 NetSpot以便确认我们的建议每次是否能够帮助到你。我们保证当你将这10个方法都试一遍的时候,你的WiFi一定会感觉比以前快很多。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。
免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

Top 10 Ways to Boost Your WiFi

If your WiFi network isn’t performing up to your expectations, there are many things that you can do to improve the situation before you order a new router.
In this article, we’re going over top 10 ways how to boost WiFi signal to improve the performance of your WiFi network.

1. Select a Good Place for Your Router




Not all places are equally suitable for your router. To start with, you want to avoid placing your router close to metal objects and appliances that emit electromagnetic waves. Metal is the top disrupter of a WiFi signal, and its presence close to a WiFi router can easily create a large dead zone.

Other materials, including glass, wood, plastics, foam, and cardboard, can also disrupt a WiFi signal but their influence of WiFi signal strength tends to less severe. Keep in mind that many buildings use metal studs (rather than 2x4 wood) for the particle board mounting, and placing your router close to them would be a bad idea. When in doubt, use a handheld stud finder or at least a stud finder app on your smartphone.

Strictly speaking, all household appliances emit electromagnetic waves to some degree, even fluorescent lightbulbs, circuit breakers, and electric razors. The biggest emitters of electromagnetic waves tend to be found in the kitchen, and they include stoves, microwave ovens, and dishwashers.

Other problematic appliances are washing machines, tumble dryers, televisions, cordless phones, and radiant heaters. If you have any of these appliances at home, keep your WiFi router as far away from them as possible to boost WiFi signal.

Ideally, you also want to keep a safe distance from electric wires. To cover an area with an even WiFi signal, you should place your WiFi router roughly in the center. You can slightly boost your wireless signal by elevating the router above the floor level.

WiFi signals radiate outward in all directions, not just horizontally. When your router is on the floor, it’s ability to emit strong signals is severely limited. For the same reason, people who live in multi-store houses should always locate a Wi-Fi router near the ceiling on the first floor. This way, even the second floor will receive consistent coverage.

2. Keep Your Router Updated

If you follow the news, you’ve heard about the growing number of large-scale malware attacks that are costing businesses and individuals alike billions every year. Many of these attacks wouldn’t be possible if all routers were kept updated. Once a malware infects a router, it can steal bandwidth and spread itself across the network to other devices.




But even without a presence of a dangerous malware, routers with old firmware perform worse than routers that are properly updated.

To check if your router is running the newest firmware available:

  1. Launch a web browser on your computer or mobile device and connect to your router’s network.
  2. Enter the IP address of the router into the web browser.
    • If you don’t know what the IP address is, check if there is an information sticker somewhere on the router.
  3. Log in with admin username and password.
    • Again, if you don’t know what the right admin password is, look at the information sticker on the bottom or back of your router.
  4. Select an option called Firmware Update or Router Update.
    • Because there are many different routers, you may need to do some digging and detective work to find the right option.
  5. Wait until your router finds and installs the latest firmware.
    • Never interrupt the update. If it takes a long time and your router appears to be unresponsive, give it a few more minutes before you disconnect the router from power and turn it on again.

3. Get a Stronger Antenna

Most WiFi routers come with small, weak antennas. It’s not that manufacturers want to save every cent they can, but powerful WiFi antennas tend to be hideously large. Compared to the antenna that came with your router, which probably is just a few inches tall and has around 4 dB gain, a 10-dB antenna can be anywhere between 10 to 15 inches tall.

But if you don’t mind the size, a new, powerful WiFi antenna is a great way how you can boost WiFi at home or office without buying a new router.



There are several different types of WiFi antennas, but the only type you need to care about is the common “rubber duck” antenna, which is an electrically short monopole antenna that consists of a springy wire in the shape of a narrow helix, sealed in a rubber or plastic jacket to protect the antenna.

Such antennas use the same RP-SMA connector, and there are many different models available on Amazon and other online stores. Some even come with a handy extension cable that allows you to place the antenna farther away from your router to achieve optimal signal distribution.

To boost WiFi signal, you need to purchase an antenna with more gain than your current one. The gain of an antenna system relative to an isotropic radiator at radio frequencies is expressed in dBi, or decibels relative to isotropic. Most home routers come with small antennas, whose gain tends to be between 4–5 dBi. Replacing such antenna with a 9 dBi antenna should provide excellent signal boost.

4. Cut Off WiFi Leeches

An encrypted, password-protected WiFi is a must in this day and age. With more people than ever relying on WiFi, the hunger for open, fast WiFi networks is real. Don’t think that your neighbors won’t use your WiFi network just because they have their own — they will.

You should encrypt your WiFi and protect it with a strong password that can’t be easily guessed. A strong password should:

  • Include a combination of uppercase and lowercase letters, symbols, and numbers.
  • Don’t use common passwords, such as 123456, qwerty, and so on. You can find a list of the most common passwords here.
  • Make sure the password is at least 8 characters long. Short passwords can be easily guessed with brute force.
  • Don’t include any personal information in the password, such as your name, the name of your pet, or your telephone number.
  • Use a unique password and don’t write it on a piece of paper. If you can’t remember it, use a password manager.

If you have lots of guests, create a separate guest network and either significantly limit its range or protect it with a different password and change the password on a regular basis.

5. Buy a WiFi Repeater/ Booster/ Extender

Even though they are referred to by many names, WiFi boosters, repeaters, and extenders are basically the same thing.

WiFi repeaters are relatively simple devices that take an existing signal from your WiFi router and rebroadcast it as a new network. This new network is just an extension of your main network, and all data that go through it also go through the main network.

WiFi boosters and extenders are very similar, but they also amplify the existing signal before rebroadcasting it to create a second network. Because WiFi boosters typically have greater range than WiFi repeaters, they make sense in situations where the original signal is very weak.

A good repeater or booster costs less than $100, and it can be installed in a few minutes by anyone since the installation process usually involves only the press of the WPS button.

To achieve the best performance when using a WiFi repeater or booster, it’s a good idea to use a WiFi booster app to analyze existing WiFi coverage and determine the optimal way how to extend the existing WiFi network.

6. Switch to a Different WiFi Channel

Just like lanes on the highway, there are multiple WiFi channels on which a WiFi router can broadcast. Even though most countries have six non-overlapping channels (1, 6, 11, and 14), many users leave their router set on the default channel, which is usually either Channel 1 or Channel 6.

This results in a WiFi traffic jam as too many packets are trying to drive on the same line. The solution is simple: find out which channel is occupied the least and switch to it. This can be done with the help of NetSpot, a professional and easy-to-use WiFi analysis and surveillance tool.

With a new channel selected, you need to tell your WiFi router to use it:

  1. Log in to your router as admin.
  2. Go to Settings and look for Wireless Settings.
  3. You should see an option called Channel. The chances are that it will be set to Auto.
  4. Select the desired channel.
  5. Save the new settings and wait for your router to restart.

You can now verify that your router is broadcasting on the new channel using a WiFi network analyzer like NetSpot.

7. Control Bandwidth-Hungry Applications and Clients

It takes just one bandwidth-hungry application or a client to make download and upload speeds come to a crawl for everyone else on the same WiFi network. Luckily, modern routers support services like QoS (Quality of Service), which allow users to prioritize certain applications over others. With QoS, your online gaming session won’t ever be interrupted again by a person watching a 1440p video on YouTube or downloading a huge Linux distribution from the Internet.

To change your router’s QoS settings:

  1. Log in to your router as admin.
  2. Go to Settings and open the Wireless Settings tab.
  3. Locate the QoS Settings.
  4. Configure your QoS rules.
  5. Save the new settings and wait for your router to restart.

Some routers make it very easy to configure QoS settings, while other routers are far from intuitive. When in doubt, consult the manufacturer of your router.

8. Use the Latest WiFi Technologies

The newest wireless technology, IEEE 802.11ac, offers superior download and upload speeds as well as improved range compared to older WiFi technologies, such as IEEE 802.11b, g, and others. To take advantage of the latest WiFi technologies to boost home WiFi, you need to make sure that both your home router and your WiFi-enabled devices, such as smartphones and laptops, support them.

When selecting a new WiFi router with support for IEEE 802.11ac, don’t pick the most affordable model you can find. Unless your budget is very strict, it’s always worth spending extra to purchase a router with excellent range and modern features such as MU-MIMO, Quality of Service, guest networks, gigabit Ethernet ports, and replaceable external antennas.

9. Switch to 5 GHz

The 5 GHz wireless frequency provides faster data rates at shorter distances and is typically much less busy than the 2.4 GHz wireless frequency. If your router supports it, consider switching to it for an instant short-range speed boost.

How to boost your WiFi by switching your router to 5 GHz:

  1. Log in to your router as admin.
  2. Go to Settings and open the Wireless Settings tab.
  3. Change the 802.11 band from 2.4 GHz to 5 GHz.
  4. Click apply.
  5. Restart your router to apply the new settings.

10. Don’t Forget to Reboot

The timeless IT advice, “If it doesn’t work, try switching it on and off", also applies to WiFi routers. A simple reboot is often enough to considerably improve your WiFi speeds. A reboot clears the router’s memory and allows updates to install.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

Conclusion

With these ten tips, you should have no problem boosting your WiFi network without buying a new router. Make sure to have NetSpot at hand to check whether our tips helped each time you try one. We guarantee that by the time you get to the number ten, your WiFi will feel faster than ever before.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.