• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

WiFi配置完全指南

如果您之前有WiFi配置经验的话,那么您至少对于在这个过程中可能会碰到的困难不会感到陌生,如干扰,信号覆盖,性能表现。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
为了克服这些挑战以及其他未知挑战,您需要掌握一种有条不紊的WiFi配置方法,该方法应考虑到每种WiFi部署方案的独特性。根据本WiFi配置指南,您都将能够从零开始构建一个全新的网络并满足您的要求,无论它有多复杂。

WiFi配置阶段

所有的WiFi配置都可以分成三个基础阶段:

1. 收集要求

尽管本质上不是技术性问题,但需求收集可能是配置WiFi网络最困难的部分。当涉及多个利益相关者时,非常容易发生彼此之间的冲突,尤其是很多要求都比较模糊的时候。

一定要正常记录下所有的要求,这样您之后在有需要的时候才能轻松予以更改。获取平面图或自己创建一张并尽可能多地收集有关需要WiFi的建筑物或区域的信息。

2. 解决方案设计

收集到所有的要求和支持文件后即可提出最适合的解决方案。设计WiFi网络时最需要考虑的部分因素包括物理位置的大小,意图使用的WiFI网络,连接设备的预计数量,建造年限和建筑材质,以及网络性能表现。

热图视图
NetSpot提供15种以上的热图视图来帮助管理WiFi配置

我们始终建议执行WiFi现场勘测并通过有关所有已勘测无线网络的信息创建交互式热图来对潜在的WiFi信号覆盖范围进行合理的评估并完美规划解决方案。

NetSpot提供了15种以上的热图视图来帮助管理WiFi配置,包括信噪比,信号等级,噪音等级,频带模式,无线传输速率,等等。

3. 配置

规划良好的WiFi解决方案的配置相对来说是比较简单的事情。我们建议在进行WiFi配置之前开会讨论,有关的利益相关者可以对规划进行审核,项目经理可以分配相关目标。

配置进程应当定期予以总结报告,显示规划内容与实际因素之间的对比情况。如果WiFi配置过程中出现问题,最好是安排技术会议,将最专业的的技术人士汇聚到一起尽快解决问题。WiFi配置完成后应当进行WiFi分析以确保所有的要件均得到满足。

常见的WiFi配置挑战

无论您是要配置旨在为数千名用户同时提供快速,可靠的Internet访问的校园范围内的WiFi网络,还是只为数十名员工提供范围相对较小的办公网络,您始终都要面对某些WiFi配置挑战。

干扰

WiFi在90年代首次出现在人们面前时,没有人能够预见到它可以像今天这样普及。如今的WiFi网络可谓是无处不在,很多用户都在共享相同的无线电频率,该频率同时也被很多其他技术所使用,干扰已经成为一个巨大的威胁,成为影响网络表现的一个重大因素。

WiFi干扰的症状包括WiFi连接间歇性中断,信号即使距离WiFi发射设备较近仍然很差,无法通过WiFi达到最大的下载和上传速度。

在人口密集的市区,WiFi干扰通常都是由其他网络和设备所引起的。像婴儿监控器,无绳电话,地库门的启动设备,甚至是助听器都有可能产生WiFi干扰。

想要避免WiFi干扰,找出所有附近的WiFi网络并弄清楚它们各自在哪些频率和信道上传输信号以及哪些信道的占用率最低是必要的。

信号覆盖

这是想要为较大型区域覆以强WiFi信号的任何人都会面对的最显著的挑战。WiFi网络的信号覆盖范围受很多不同因素的影响,如 WiFi路由器的定位,来自于其他设备的干扰,所覆盖建筑的布局,甚至是建筑物本身。

不同材质对于WiFi信号的阻挡程度是不同的,砖头和金属对于WiFi信号的影响最严重。 钢筋混凝土墙壁甚至可以切断强WiFi信号, 需要配置额外的WiFi路由器才能解决。

另一方面,WiFi网络通常都不想使信号超范围覆盖,所以过大的覆盖范围是糟糕的。 无论您对信号的覆盖范围有什么要求,您还可以 使用NetSpot来执行WiFi现场勘测来创建WiFi覆盖地图以准确了解您的WiFi网络的信号覆盖。

容量

很多WiFi配置过多强调WiFi网络的信号覆盖范围,而对于其容量却没有充分的关注,其容量可大致定义为网络可处理的WiFi设备的最大数量。

大多数WiFi路由器理论上可同时连接255台设备,这很大超出了大多数家庭用户的需求,但可能无法满足组织机构和企业用户的需求。

实际上,性能表现问题在到达最大理论上限之前通常就会开始出现问题,所以,假设只有50个人连接到同一路由器,可能都很难获得稳定的互联网连接。

幸运的是,容量问题通常可以通过增加某个区域内的接入点的密度来轻松解决。再次重申,WiFi现场勘测可揭示有问题的区域并提供必要的信息来解决相关问题。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

结语

WiFi配置并没有那么复杂,最重要的是要找到方法,克服所有常见的和不常见的WiFi配置困难及挑战。此WiFi配置指南总结了各个配置阶段并解释了WiFi网络分析仪在确保每个阶段成功推进方面的重要作用。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。
免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

Complete Guide to WiFi Deployment

If you have previous experience with WiFi deployment, you’re familiar with at least some of the challenges that one may encounter, such as interference, coverage, and capacity.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
Overcoming these and other challenges requires a methodical approach to WiFi deployment that takes into consideration the unique nature of each and every WiFi deployment scenario. By following this WiFi deployment guide, you will be able to build a new network from scratch and satisfy all your requirements regardless of their complexity.

WiFi Deployment Stages

All WiFi deployments can be divided into three basic stages:

1. Gathering Requirements

Despite not being technical in nature, requirements gathering may be the most difficult part of deploying WiFi networks. When multiple stakeholders are involved, it doesn’t take much for requirements to start conflicting with one another, especially if they are vague.

Make sure to properly document all requirements so you can come back to them later and easily change them if needed. Request a floor plan or create one yourself and gather as much documentation about the building or area that requires WiFi.

2. Solution Design

With all requirements and supporting documentation gathered, it’s time to come up with the most suitable solution. Some of the most important considerations that need to be made when designing a WiFi network include the size of the physical location, intended use of the WiFi network, expected number of connected devices, building age and construction material, and network performance.

Heatmap visualizations

It’s always recommended to conduct a WiFi site survey and create interactive heatmaps with detailed information about all surveyed wireless networks to reliably asset a potential WiFi coverage and plan the solution perfectly.

NetSpot offers more than 15 heatmap visualizations

NetSpot offers more than 15 heatmap visualizations that help manage WiFi deployment, including signal-to-noise ratio, signal level, noise level, frequency band mode, wireless transmit rate, and others.

3. Deployment

The deployment of a well-planned WiFi solution should be a relatively straightforward affair. It’s recommended to start all WiFi deployments with a kick-off meeting during which stakeholders review the plan and the project manager assigns objectives.

Deployment progress should be summarized at regular intervals in progress reports to show a comparison between planned and actual elements. In case a problem arises during WiFi deployment, it’s best to schedule a technical interchange meeting to so that the most competent people can solve it as quickly as possible. The deployment should be followed up by a detailed WiFi analysis to confirm that all requirements have been met.

Common WiFi Deployment Challenges

It doesn’t matter if you’re deploying a campus-wide WiFi network intended to provide fast, reliable internet access to thousands of users at the same time or a relatively small office network for just a few dozen of employees — you will always face certain WiFi deployment challenges.

Interference

When WiFi was first released to consumers in the 90s, a few people dared to imagine that it would be as widespread as it is today. Now that WiFi networks are everywhere, sharing the same few radio frequencies, which are also used by many other technologies, interference has become a huge issue and a major cause of network slowdowns.

The symptoms of WiFi interference include WiFi connections dropping intermittently, low signal strength even when near a WiFi broadcast device, and the inability to reach the maximum download and upload speed over WiFi.

In densely populated urban areas, WiFi interference is most commonly caused by other WiFi networks and devices. However, they're other wireless devices, such as baby monitors, cordless phones, garage door openers, and even hearing aids may also cause WiFi interference.

To avoid WiFi interference, it’s necessary to discover all nearby WiFi networks and find out which frequencies and channels they broadcast on and which are occupied the least.

Coverage

This is the most obvious challenge faced by anyone who wants to cover a larger area with a strong WiFi signal. The coverage of a WiFi network is affected by many different variables, such as WiFi router positioning, interference from other devices, the layout of the covered building, and even the building itself.

Different materials block WiFi signals at different rates, with brick and metal being the top disrupters of WiFi signals. A single reinforced concrete wall can cut off users from an otherwise strong WiFi signal, requiring the deployment of an additional WiFi router to make up for the loss.

On the other hand, it’s often undesirable for a WiFi network to cover more than a certain perimeter, so too much coverage can also be a bad thing. Regardless of what your coverage requirements are, you can also use NetSpot to conduct a WiFi site survey to create a WiFi coverage map visualizing the exact coverage of your WiFi network.

Capacity

Many WiFi deployments place too much emphasis on WiFi network coverage and not enough emphasis on capacity, which can be roughly defined as the maximum number of WiFi devices a network can handle.

Most WiFi routers can theoretically have 255 devices connected to them at the same time, which greatly exceeds the needs of most home users but may not meet the needs of large organizations and enterprise users.

In reality, performance problems typically start occurring a long time before the maximum theoretical limit is reached, so even, let’s say, just 50 people connected to the same router could struggle to reliably access the internet.

Fortunately, capacity problems can usually be solved simply be increasing the density of access points in certain areas. Again, a WiFi site survey can reveal underserved areas and provide the necessary information to remedy the situation.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

Conclusion

WiFi deployments don’t have to be a struggle, but it’s important to approach them methodically to overcome all common and not-so-common WiFi deployment challenges. This WiFi deployment guide summarized the individual deployment stages and explained the role a WiFi network analyzer plays in ensuring that each stage ends successfully.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.