使用NetSpot提升WiFi速度

了解您的无线网络速度是管理Wi-Fi网络的一个重要部分。如今的智能手机和平板电脑使得WiFi速度的监测更具挑战,因为人们期待能够随时随地连接到网络。当您需要完成某项任务却又找不到任何可靠的信号源,可能没有什么比这个更加糟糕的情形了。

如何使用NetSpot提升WiFi速度


找出您的无线网络内的连接较慢区域并对其进行故障排除可能是一项冗长乏味的工作。当然,您可以在个别设备上进行WiFi速度测试,但是那样十分耗时。您不止需要在每一设备上测试WiFi速度,同时还需要在不同的位置运行多次。

对无线网络速度进行故障排除

如何检测WiFi速度


首先理解WiFi速度检测服务的工作原理是必要的。他们通过向您的计算机发送样本二进制文件,然后再将相关数据送回的方式来计算上传和下载速度。部分服务在下载和上传速度之外还会提供“ping”速度。“Ping”速度本质上是对延迟的测试,由发送至速度测试服务器的HTTP请求予以确定。

全部结果用于执行“真正的”WiFi速度测试 – 既然您已经大概了解您的连接有多快,您在10秒内可以下载的最大数量的数据的更加准确的测试会予以执行,确保不要永远也完不成这样的WiFi速度测试。

影响测试结果并导致出现不一致性的参数

1. 不存在完美的测试

测试是通过样本文件执行的,这些样本文件可能与您通常使用的大不相同。 如长时间观看《权利的游戏》对于您的调制解调器造成的载荷远胜于发送样本文件。而且如果同时运行多项WiFi速度测试,那么这可能会对测试结果产生影响。

2. 位置

WiFi速度测试包括发送和接收计算机和测试服务器之间的数据。服务器的位置可能对信息读数产生重大影响,当然,离服务器越近,速度越快。通常您可以选择服务器位置,或测试服务将自动选择离您最近的服务器。

3. Wi-Fi速度测试期间的其他网络活动

连接到待测试WiFi的设备上的其他活动也会产生影响。您可能在您的笔记本电脑上运行测试时正在通过您的iPad观看电影。所有加载活动会对测试结果产生重大影响,所以欲获得最准确的数据,我们建议在您开始WiFi速度检测之前关闭可能会大幅占用带宽的其他应用。

4. 尖峰时间 vs. 停机时间

您本地区域的在线用户越多,其对速度产生影响的可能性就越大,例如将略微减缓速度。高峰时间互联网连接不会像3 a.m.时的速度那样快。

5. 您正在使用的装备差异

您的家庭网络的安装质量以及所使用的设备类型都是无线速度测试的重要影响因素。陈旧的计算机设备相比更新潮的设备会产生截然不同的测试结果。如果设备是通过WiFi,而不是硬线连接调制解调器来进行测试,那么结果也将会不同。

如何使用NetSpot来测试WiFi速度


NetSpot是面向Mac和Windows的无线网络现场勘测应用,其使得各项测试工作变得轻松无比。NetSpot的 主动扫描功能使您能够快速测试您的WLAN速度并生成您的整个网络区域的详细的 WiFi热图。其测试内容包括上传速度,下载速度和无线传输速度。

想要同时进行WiFi速度测试,下载免费的NetSpot,打开此应用并开始一项新的现场勘测。当您进入主动扫描界面时,只需选择您想要测试速度的某特定无线网络即可。请记住,您只能够在您有权访问的网络上(要么是公开网络,要么是您拥有WiFi密码的网络)进行主动扫描。选定此选项后,NetSpot将通过向随机服务器发送查询并计算其发送和接收所耗时间的方式来测试每一数据采样点的无线网络速度。对您想要测试的每一网络重复此过程。一旦完成勘测,您即可检查您的WiFi速度的可视化数据。

对您的无线速度进行故障排除


当您的勘测完成时,您将能够查看您的勘测区域的直观热图,包括上传速度,下载速度和无线传输速度。热图将重点突显最佳和最劣WLAN速度区域。一旦您找到了问题区域,您可以开始对造成WiFi速度迟缓的原因进行故障排除。其中可能问及的问题包括:

  • 是否是因为连接较慢的接入点压倒了连接较快的接入点?
  • 是否是因为接入点超载,太多用户想要同时接入网络?
  • 对于您的特殊情况,您是否正在使用最优802.11协议和带宽?
  • 您的无线适配器是否过载或过时?
  • 您是否使用无线扩展器或中继器?
  • 信号干扰是否是问题产生的原因?

一旦您成功使您的网络按照正确的方式运行,那么接下来的挑战便是如何将这样的状态保持下去。NetSpot可以帮助您进行监测。只需每个月执行一次扫描即可在问题出现之前找到无线网络速度的任何变化。访问 NetSpot知识库e了解更多。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot是一款提升您的WiFi速度并增强您的WiFi信号的完美应用。
获取免费应用来测试网络速度

接下来的 WiFi可视化


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于使用标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac
无线网络适配器 (兼容AirPort)的MacBook。

Increase WiFi Speed with NetSpot

Knowing your wireless network speed is a critical part of managing a Wi-Fi network. Today's smartphones and tablets make monitoring WiFi speed even more of a challenge, since people expect to be able to access the network anywhere at any time. And there's nothing worse than a slow or nonexistent signal when you need to get something accomplished.

How to increase WiFi Speed with NetSpot


Identifying and troubleshooting areas of slow connection within your wireless network can be a tedious job. Sure, you could do a WiFi speed test on individual devices, but that's time-consuming. Not only would you have to test WiFi speed on each device, but you would need to run it multiple times in different locations.

Troubleshooting Wireless Network Speed

How to Check WiFi Speed


Firstly it’s good to understand the way WiFi speed check services work. They calculate an upload and a download speed by sending sample binary files to your computer, which are then sent back. Some of them also offer "ping" speed additionally to the download and upload speeds. "Ping" speed is basically a measure of latency and is determined with HTTP requests sent to the speed test server.

All of the results are used to conduct the “real" speed test of your WiFi – now that you have the rough idea of how fast your connection is, the more accurate measurements of the maximum amount of data you can download in 10 seconds are taken, making sure it won't take forever to complete your WiFi speed test.

The parameters that can affect the results of the test and cause the inconsistency

1. There is no such thing as a perfect test

Tests are conducted with sample files, and they can be very different from those you may typically use Internet for. Binge-watching Game of Thrones will load your modem way more than sending sample files. Also if there are multiple WiFi speed tests running at the same time, it can affect the results.

2. Location

Testing the WiFi speed involves sending and receiving data between a computer and a test server. The location of the server can influence the reading of information considerably, of course the closer the server is, the faster the speed. Usually you can select the server location or the test service will automatically select the closest server to you.

3. Other online activities during Wi-Fi speed test

What else is active on your devices connected to the tested Wi-Fi also matters. You may be watching a movie on your iPad while running a test on your laptop. All the load makes a big difference in results, so for the most accurate data it is recommended to close other apps that may be competing for the bandwidth before you start the WiFi speed check.

4. Rush hour vs. downtime

The more users are online in your local area, the more likely it will affect the speed, i.e. will slow it down slightly. Peak time Internet connection wouldn't be as fast as at 3 a.m.

5. The gear you are using

The quality of the setup for your home network and the types of devices used are important factors for wireless speed tests. An old computer can give different results than a newer one. If the device is tested via WiFi instead of a hard wire to modem, the results will vary too.

How to Test WiFi Speed with NetSpot


NetSpot is a wireless network site survey application for Mac and Windows that makes this job much easier. NetSpot's Active Scanning feature allows you to measure your WLAN speed quickly and produce detailed heatmaps of your entire network area. It measures upload speed, download speed and wireless transmit speed.

To go with WiFi speed test, download Free NetSpot, open the app and start a new site survey. When you get to the Active Scanning screen, simply select the particular wireless network you wish to test the speed of. Keep in mind that you can only run an active scan on a network you have access to (either an open network, or one that you have the password for saved on your laptop). With this option selected, NetSpot will measure wireless network speed at each data sampling point by sending queries to random servers and calculating the time it takes for them to be sent and received. Repeat this process with each network you need to test. Once you complete the survey, it's time to review your WiFi speed visualization data.

Troubleshooting Your Wireless Speed


When your survey is complete, you will be able to view heatmap visualizations of your survey area for upload speed, download speed and wireless transmit speed. The heatmaps will highlight areas of the best and worst WLAN speed. Once you have identified problem areas, you can then start to troubleshoot the cause of the poor WiFi speed. Some questions to ask:

  • Could slower APs be overpowering faster ones?
  • Are your APs overloaded, with too many trying to access the network at one time?
  • Are you using the best 802.11 protocols and bandwidth for your particular situation?
  • Are your wireless adapters overloaded or outdated?
  • Do you use wireless extenders or repeaters?
  • Could signal interference be causing problems?

Once you've got your network running the way you want it, the next challenge is to keep it that way. NetSpot can help you monitor it. Just perform a scan once a month or so and spot wireless network speed changes before they become problems. Visit NetSpot knowledgebase to learn more.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot is a great app to improve your WiFi speed and to boost your WiFi signal.
Get the free app to test network speed

Next in Wi-Fi Visualization


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.