理解最重要的WiFi设置


对于很多人来说,WiFi网络的复杂程度似乎超乎想象。其中的很多设置涉及大量晦涩难懂的缩略词,难怪只有少数勇敢的,具有技术背景的人士才敢打开WiFi设置进行设定。但是事实并非必然如此,本文旨在弄清楚WiFi网络最重要的方面并帮助您正确地设置WiFi网络。

哪些WiFi设置是最重要的?



无线路由器 制造商知道大多数用户不知道如何设置家庭WiFi网络。为了简化这个过程,这些制造商创建了便捷的安装应用程式和管理控制台,通过漂亮的用户界面和简明的语言将这个过程化繁为简。

但是有一些WiFi设置非常重要,而且理解起来并不困难,所以我们认为您是有必要来了解一下的。

  • SSID: SSID代表的是服务集标识符,它是WiFi网络的主要名称。SSID的长度不超过32个字符,而且字符必须仅限使用美国信息交换标准码(ASCII),这是一种进行电子通信的字符译码标准。所有的路由器都有某一默认SSID,通常与制造商名称相对应。作为用户,您可以自由更改您的WiFi网络的SSID,次数不限,而且您还可以使它隐藏以避免其他人轻松连接到您的网络。


  • 安全模式: 为了提供堪比传统有线网络的数据保密性,无线网络已经开发出了若干 安全标准 ,有线等效加密(WEP)是其中最早的标准,其作为初始802.11标准的一部分于1997年被引入。由于其本身存在缺陷,WEP相继被Wi-Fi保护接入(WPA)和之后的Wi-Fi保护接入(WPA2)所取代。一般来说,您一定要使用您的路由器所支持的最新的无线网络安全标准。如果只支持WEP,我们强烈建议您购买一台新的路由器。

  • 密码: 如果您使用了强度较低的密码的话,即使是最强大的无线网络标准最终也是派不上用场的。如果您所设定的密码会被别人轻松猜到,那么它的强度就是有问题的。最低强度的密码是以姓名,日期,或简单的词句设定的。随机短密码强度稍微大一些。真正理想的密码一定要很长,以致于它无法在任何合理的时间范围内被暴力破解。如果您记忆包含字母和数字的随机字符串有困难,请考虑使用一个非常长的句子,最好是完全随机且不符合语法规则的。如果您对于如何设置一个能够经受得住时间考验的密码仍然感到困惑,那么为什么不使用一个随机密码生成器来帮助您呢?

  • 信道: 2.4 GHz频带被分成若干信道,北美共分为11个信道。这些信道有点像游泳池内的泳道。当游泳远动员在某一泳道游泳时,他或她所造成的波浪会影响到相邻泳道内的远动员。这对于WiFi网络而言同样如此。当两个网络位于同一信道上时,干扰就可能会发生。出于此种原因,您应当配置您的WiFi路由器,使其在使用率最低的信道上传送信号。

  • NAT: 网络地址转换(NAT)是一种将某一IP地址空间重新映射到另一个地址空间的方法。凭借NAT,公共IP地址可隐藏很多私人IP地址。很多WiFi用户在玩网络游戏时都遇到过与NAT相关的问题,修复它们需要进行端口转送或端口触发,这通过大多数WiFi路由器管理控制台均可实现。

  • QoS: 服务质量(QoS)是很多较新的WiFi路由器的有用功能。从根本上说,QoS提供了区分不同的应用程式,用户,或数据流的优先级的能力,从而保证某一级别的表现。通常来说,WiFi用户相比文件下载和视频流媒体会优先处理语音通信或在线游戏。

如何正确设置WiFi?


想要正确设置WiFi,您需要理解您所在区域内其他WiFi网络所表现的信息。此类信息可以使用WiFi分析工具来获取。最重要的是,您需要知道哪些信道的占用率最高,这样您就可以选择不会发生 干扰 问题的信道。

如果您发现2.4 GHz上的全部信道均被占用,您应当考虑切换到5 GHz频带,这其中包含了23个非重叠信道,而不只是3个。很多现代WiFi路由器都同时支持2.4 GHz和5 GHz频谱,所以您甚至可能根本不需要购买新的硬件设备。

最后,您应当弄清楚您的WiFi路由器的最佳安放位置。再次重申,这是WiFi分析应用应当发挥作用的地方。在下一节当中,我们会为您介绍几款流行的 WiFi分析仪应用,其中每一款都具备各自独特的功能性。

设置WiFi网络的最佳软件应用


1. NetSpot

NetSpot是一款适用于在Mac OS X和Windows上进行无线现场勘测,Wi-Fi分析,和 故障排查 的应用程式。NetSpot能够快速收集有关 附近无线网络 的全部重要信息并进行深度无线勘测。

NetSpot

与其他具有类似功能的应用程式不同,NetSpot专门为普通的家庭用户而设计,尽管它能够充分满足对准确性有着最高要求的网络专业人士的需求。


2. inSSIDer

inSSIDer是一款适用于Windows和Mac OS X的WiFi扫描仪。它取代了流行的Windows WiFi扫描仪NetStumbler,引入了一系列全新的功能和经过改进的用户界面。

inSSIDer

inSSIDer具有一系列不同的功能,包括收集无线设备的信息,执行路由器定点检查以确保最优信道选择,等等。


3. WiFi Analyzer

WiFi Analyzer是一款适用于Windows的非常简单的WiFi分析仪。它的主要优势在于能够直接从Windows Store下载。

WiFi Analyzer

相比之前的两大应用程式,WiFi分析仪要简单地多,但是这并不必然是坏事,除非您想要某些非常具体的功能。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot是一款简单易用的无线网络探测器,能够对您周围的WiFi网络进行深度勘测。
获取免费的WiFi扫描仪应用

接下来全部有关Wi-Fi


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).
★★★★
4.8分,969位用户参与评分
版本2.11 • 提交您的评论

Understanding the Most Important WiFi Settings

To many people, WiFi networks seem impossibly complex. Reading about them is like navigating a huge maze of unintelligible acronyms, and it’s no wonder that only a few brave, and typically technically inclined, individuals dare to open WiFi settings and play with them. But things don’t have to be like this, and this article aims to demystify the most important aspects of WiFi networks and help you set up WiFi correctly.

headAllAboutWiFi

What WiFi Settings Are the Most Important?


The manufacturers of wireless routers know that most users don’t know how to set up WiFi at home. To make things a bit easier, they have created convenient setup applications and management consoles that neatly hide all the technical complexity behind a pretty user interface and plain language.

But there are some WiFi settings that are so important and so easy to understand that it makes sense to make an effort to understand them.

  • SSID: An SSID stands for service set identifier, and it’s the primary name of a WiFi network. SSIDs are up to 32 characters long, and the characters must be ASCII-only, which is a character encoding standard for electronic communication. All routers have a certain default SSID, often corresponding to the name of the manufacturer. As a user, you’re free to change the SSID of your WiFi network as many times as you want to, and you can even make it invisible to prevent others from easily connecting to your network.

  • Security Mode: To provide data confidentiality comparable to that of a traditional wired network, several security standards for wireless networks have been developed, with Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) being the oldest among them, introduced as part of the original 802.11 standard ratified in 1997. Because of its shortcomings, WEP had been superseded by Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) and later Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA2). As a rule of thumb, always use the latest security standard for wireless networks your router supports. If it’s only WEP, strongly consider buying a new router.

  • Password: Even the strongest standard for wireless networks can be utterly useless if you use a weak password. A password is weak if it can be easily guessed. The weakest passwords are names, dates, or simple phrases. A step above them are passwords that are random but too short. An ideal password is so long that it can’t be brute-forced in any reasonable amount of time. If you have trouble remembering random strings consisting of letters and numbers, consider using a very long sentence instead, preferably something utterly random and ungrammatical. If you ever find yourself wondering how to set up WiFi password that can withstand the test of time as well as hackers, why not let a random password generator help you out?

  • Channel: The 2.4 GHz band is divided into several channels, 11 in North America. These channels are sort of like swimming pool lines. When a swimmer in one line swims, the waves he or she creates impact swimmers in adjacent lines.The same thing happens with WiFi networks. When two networks are on the same channel, interference may occur. For this reason, you should configure your WiFi router to broadcast on the least populated channel.

  • NAT: Network address translation (NAT)is a method of remapping one IP address space into another. With NAT, one public IP address can hide a number of private IP addresses. Many WiFi users encounter NAT-related issues when playing online games, and fixing them requires doing either Port Forwarding or Port Triggering, both of which can be accomplished in the NAT section of most WiFi router management consoles.

  • QoS: Quality of service (QoS) is a useful feature of many newer WiFi routers. Essentially, QoS provides the ability to prioritize different applications, users, or data flows to guarantee a certain level of performance. Typically, WiFi users prioritize voice communication or online gaming over file downloads and video streaming.

How to Set Up WiFi Correctly?


To set up WiFi correctly, you need to understand what other WiFi networks are present in your area. This information can be obtained using a WiFi analysis tool. Most importantly, you want to know which WiFi channels are occupied the most so you can select one where interference won’t be such an issue.

If you discover that all channels on the 2.4 GHz are occupied, you should consider switching to the 5 GHz band, which consists of 23 non-overlapping channels, instead of just 3. Many modern WiFi routers support both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz spectrum, so you may not even need to buy new hardware.

Finally, you should also figure out the best place for your WiFi router. Again, this is something a capable WiFi analysis application should be able to help you with. In the next section, we introduce popular WiFi analyzer applications, each offering a unique set of capabilities.

Best Software Applications for Setting Up WiFi Networks


1. NetSpot

NetSpot is an easy to use application for wireless site surveys, Wi-Fi analysis, and troubleshooting on Mac OS X and Windows. NetSpot can quickly gather all important information about nearby wireless networks and conduct in-depth wireless surveys.

NetSpot

Unlike other similarly capable applications, NetSpot has been designed for regular home users even though it’s fully capable of satisfying the needs of networking professionals who demand utmost accuracy.

Discover. Analyze. Compare.

Coming soon! Be the first to know about NetSpot WiFi analyzer for Android.


2. inSSIDer

inSSIDer is a WiFi scanner for Windows and Mac OS X. It’s a replacement for popular Windows WiFi scanner NetStumbler, introducing several new features and an improved user interface.

inSSIDer

Among the features of inSSIDer are the ability to gather information from wireless devices, the ability to perform a routine spot check to ensure optimal channel selection, and much more.


3. WiFi Analyzer

WiFi Analyzer is a very simply WiFi analyzer for Windows. Its main advantage is the fact that it can be downloaded directly from the Windows Store.

WiFi Analyzer

Compared to the previous two applications, WiFi Analyzer is much simpler, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing unless you want to do something very specific.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot is an easy-to-use wireless network detector for in-depth surveying of WiFi networks around you.
Get the free WiFi scanner app

Next in All about Wi-Fi


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.