有关WiFi路由器您所需要了解的一切


如果您仍然对WiFi路由器感到陌生和恐惧,那么请阅读本文并下载NetSpot,这是能够在macOS和Windows上进行无线现场勘测,Wi-Fi分析,和故障排查的唯一一款专业应用,能够帮助您让一切变得清晰起来!

什么是WiFi路由器?



简单来说,WiFi路由器是一种将接收自网线的数据发送到其他设备的电子装置。它同时还可以充当无线接入点,通过无线电信号的使用从中进行数据分享。该路由器将您的互联网连接所传递的数据流转换成无线电信号。这些信号可由支持WiFi的设备予以接收,如智能手机,笔记本电脑,和平板电脑。您的路由器是您的WiFi网络必不可少的组件。

如何选择WiFi路由器?


互联网在过去二十年间发生了翻天覆地的变化,WiFi路由器也是如此。第一代WiFi路由器采用的是1998年的入门级WiFi技术,仅能提供不超过2 Mbps的速度。而反观如今,以25帧每秒的速度播放的全高清YouTube 视频的码率即达到了8 Mbps。

如您所见,老式WiFi路由器在如今的互联网环境下是不可能发挥应有的功用的。幸运的是,WiFi路由器自1998年以来也发生了巨大的进步。


大多数现代化的WiFi路由器支持最新的802.11ac WiFi标准,它使用的是5 GHz专属频带,多站式吞吐量至少有1 Gbps,单站式吞吐量至少有500 Mbps,这在理论上能够满足同时播放60部YouTube视频的需要。

除了速度更快之外,现代无线路由器还更加智能化。它们支持像波束成形这样的技术,能够将您的WiFi信号聚集在您最需要的某个点上,而且它们伴随有很多安全和隐私主导型的功能,保护您的上网安全。当然,其中部分功能仅限于几款表现最为出色的WiFi路由器,预留给那些愿意为此支付的用户。

一般来说,支持最新802.11ac WiFi标准的任意一款品牌路由器应该能够满足您的需求。但是如果您想要了解更多有关最佳无线路由器和普通无线路由器之间的差别的内容,那么我们建议您阅读 如何选择一款WiFi路由器

设置WiFi路由器的建议


以下是可以帮助您对无线路由器进行设置的部分建议。根据您想要通过您的WiFi信号覆盖的区域的大小,您可能只需要一台路由器即可完成此项工作。路由器的正确设置是实现信号强度最大化必不可少的一步。

正确放置您的路由器 – 将您的路由器放到一个免受物理障碍物干扰的位置对于从您的路由器接收最佳信号至关重要。将路由器尽可能地放在高处,同时远离那些可能会产生无线干扰的其他来源,如微波炉和无线电话。

保护您的网络安全 – 一定要进入您的路由器的管理界面并更改设备的默认密码。将您的路由器的安全等级设为最高,WPA2是保护您的网络和用户的最低标准。

保持固件的实时更新 – 为了保证您的设备以最佳状态运行,您应当充分利用您的路由器制造商所提供的固件更新。我们建议您将路由器设置为自动安装任何可用固件更新。

尽可能缩短路由器和已连接设备之间的距离 – 如果您发现您的无线设备出现了WiFi信号问题,那么您可能必须要将它们移近路由器,从而达到理想的信号强度。如果仍然存在严重的信号问题,那么您可能需要考虑安装网状网络。

什么是网状网络?


我们已经期望在世界任何地方都能够实现网络连接,我们同时对于WiFi网络也有同样的期许。但是,普通的WiFi路由器往往只能为一个房间覆盖强大且稳定的信号,如果您想要更大的信号覆盖范围,那么您需要了解一下网状网络。

从外面看,网状WiFi网络的运作就像任意一款传统的单路由WiFi网络一样:其用户可以通过它的单一SSID(服务集标识符)来确认相应的网状网络,而且此网络可能需要用户输入密码。

但是二者之间存在一个显著的不同之处:住宅或大型办公空间内的网状WiFi网络的信号强度在不同的房间不会出现很大的差异。这是因为网状WiFi网络实际包含以网状拓扑结构组织的多个网状WiFi路由器,这些路由器通常被称为节点。

尽管设立网状WiFi网络的成本相比单路由WiFi网络的成本仍然要高,但是其所获得的益处使之物有所值 — 至少在配置正确的时候。了解更多有关 网状WiFi网络及其配置的内容。

设置网状网络的建议


网状网络的设置伴随有一系列必须予以克服的挑战。以下是网状网络的部分设置建议。

规划您的网状网络 – 只有对您的信号覆盖区域进行良好的勘测从而准确地规划节点的位置才能很好地为网络提供接入点。根据它们各自的位置,您可能需要选择究竟是以有线还是无线连接节点的方式来构建您的网状网络。

考虑某些设备的有线连接 – 像电视和游戏控制台这样的娱乐器材直接以有线的方式连接网状网络节点较为有利。

最佳WiFi路由器


市面上可用的WiFi路由器为数众多,本文所列的只是其中部分优秀的机型。本文内容有限,是不可能完全覆盖市面上的全部优秀机型的。我们所提供的机型列表仅供您参考,只是为您指明一个选择市面上的最佳路由器的方向,您可以据此根据您的个人需求进行有的放矢的搜索。


TP-Link Archer C2300

这款高性能路由器体积虽小,但是功能却非常强大。它是一款三频路由器,支持802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz)和802.11ac (5GHz)。该设备搭配了四个千兆位元的以太网端口,另有USB 2和USB 3端口各一个。它的功能十分强大,其信号能够穿透墙壁和天花板,同时还安装了反病毒防护软件。它对于家庭WiFi网络而言是一个非常棒的选择。

TP-Link Archer C2300

Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

这款三频Linksys路由器支持802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz), 802.11ac (5GHz)标准,同时设置较为灵活,通过自定义设置可以进一步优化您的设备表现。该路由器同时提供软件支持,您可以使用您的桌面浏览器或专门的手机应用程式来实现很多不同的功能,如监控网络使用,数据优先分配,以及平衡三大无线频带之间的数据传输。它包括4个以太网端口和1个USB 3接口。

Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

这款路由器相对比较昂贵,功能十分出色,是对于网络性能有着极高要求的硬核游戏玩家的完美之选。它同样也是一款三频路由器,用户可以在802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz)和802.11ac (5GHz)标准之间进行选择。这款路由器提供了一对饱受游戏玩家追捧的以太网端口,确保了游戏控制台可以获得足够的带宽资源。它可以通过ROG游戏中心网页控制台轻松进行配置和管理。

Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

本文不可能述及市面上值得推荐的每一款WiFi路由器。请在这里查看 2019年度最佳WiFi路由器列表

最佳网状WiFi路由器


这其中包含了如今市面上部分最佳网状WiFi的替代产品。


Google WiFi

这款口碑超赞的系统被认为是管理性最好,设置最容易的网状网络之一。该系统虽然使用简单,但是性能和设计却毫不逊色。 Google WiFi网状系统由三大核心元件组成,进一步提高了网络安装效率。您可以通过直观的Google WiFi应用来操控您的系统,凭借该应用还可以对您的网络以及您的连接点的健康性进行监测。该应用包括一项网速测试功能,使您能够优先分配您所选定的设备的流量。

Google WiFi

Netgear Orbi AC2200 RBK23

这款Netgear路由器完美适用于想要在自己家中布局网状网络的用户。其套件包含一个路由器和两个随体来扩展您家中的WiFi信号强度。它的各个组件的外观设计深具时髦的现代化气息,放在客厅里绝对不会显得突兀。Orbi提供了出色的性能,而且设置非常简单。它的定价非常高,但是一定会解决您家中信号覆盖差的问题。

Netgear Orbi AC2200 RBK23

Google和Netgear Orbi并非没有竞争对手,很多其他大公司已经发布了十分抢眼的网状WiFi解决方案,包括Comcast,其正试图通过xFi频带全面提升它的Xfinity家庭网络服务。 xFi Pods,这是Comcast推出的一款网状WiFi扩展设备,可以与xFi网关进行配对以创建一个网状WiFi网络并消除WiFi丢包或信号薄弱的问题。

您在这里可以查看 2019年度最佳网状WiFi路由器

结语


无论您是决定选择符合您的需求的单一WiFi路由器解决方案还是网状网络,您都应当考虑使用像NetSpot这样的高品质的WiFi分析仪来对您的网络进行规划,维护,和优化。无论您最终选择部署何种类型的硬件,您都应当尽力优化网络信号的表现。

NetSpot是一款功能全面的WiFi分析仪应用,可同时在Windows和macOS上运行。您可以免费下载并测试该应用,以了解它如何帮助您规划和改善您的WiFi网络表现。这是一款功能十分强大的工具,设计非常亮眼,同时又足够直观,哪怕是普通的计算机用户也可以轻松上手,优化和提升您的WiFi路由器的表现。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
NetSpot WiFi planning tool

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot WiFi规划工具帮助轻松实现WiFi网络的分析,
配置和部署。
获取免费的WiFi现场勘测应用

接下来全部有关Wi-Fi


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).
★★★★
4.8分,957位用户参与评分
版本2.10 • 提交您的评论

Everything You Need to Know About WiFi Routers


If you are still intimidated by WiFi routers, please read this article and download NetSpot, the only professional app for wireless site surveys, Wi-Fi analysis, and troubleshooting on macOS and Windows, to make everything clear!

What is a WiFi Router?



Simply put, a WiFi router is an electronic device that sends data received from an Internet cable to other devices. It also acts as a wireless access point from which it shares data through the use of radio signals. The router converts the data stream delivered by your Internet connection into radio signals. These signals are received by WiFi capable devices such as smartphones, laptops, and tablets. Your router is an essential component of your WiFi network.

How to Choose a WiFi Router?


The internet has changed dramatically over the last two decades, and so did WiFi routers. The first generation of WiFi routers followed the introduction of WiFi technology in 1998 and offered speeds of only up to 2 Mbps. To put that number into perspective, consider that the average video bitrate of a Full HD YouTube video playing at 25 frames per second is 8 Mbps.

As you can see, it would be impossible to enjoy the internet the way we do today with an old WiFi router. Fortunately, WiFi routers have improved significantly since 1998.


Most modern WiFi routers support the latest 802.11ac WiFi standard, which uses the 5 GHz band exclusively and is capable of multi-station throughput of at least 1 Gbps, and a single-station throughput of at least 500 Mbps, which is theoretically enough for over 60 YouTube videos playing simultaneously.

Besides being a lot faster, modern wireless routers are also a lot smarter. They support technologies such as beamforming to focus your WiFi signal where it’s needed the most, and they come with a host of security- and privacy-oriented features to keep you safe online. Of course, some features are reserved for the best WiFi routers and those who are willing to pay for them.

Generally, you should be satisfied with any brand-name router that supports the latest 802.11ac WiFi standard. But if you’d like to learn more about what separates best wireless routers from wireless routers that are merely average, we recommend you read about how to choose a WiFi router.

Tips for Setting Up a WiFi Router


Here are some tips that can help you set up a wireless router. Based on the area you are intending to cover with your WiFi signal, you may only need one router to do the job. Properly setting up the router is essential in obtaining the maximum performance from the equipment.

Properly locate your router – Placing your router in a location that is free from physical obstructions is key to getting the best signal from your router. Place it as high as you can and keep it away from other sources that may produce wireless interference such as microwaves and cordless phones.

Secure your network – Make sure you access your router’s administration panel and change the device’s default password. Set your router to the highest degree of security with WPA2 as a minimum to protect your network and users.

Keep your firmware up to date – To ensure your device is operating optimally you should take advantage of firmware upgrades offered by your router’s manufacturer. We recommend you configure the router to automatically install any available firmware upgrades.

Minimize the distance between the router and connected devices – If you find that your wireless devices are experiencing issues with the WiFi signal you may have to move them closer to the router in order to achieve the performance you desire. If this becomes a major problem, you may be a candidate for a mesh network installation.

What Is Mesh Networking?


We’ve come to expect internet access to be available everywhere, and we have the same expectation even for WiFi networks. However, the average WiFi router can seldom cover more than a single room with a strong and stable signal, which is where mesh networking comes in.

From the outside, a mesh WiFi network works just like any traditional single-router WiFi network does: the network identifies itself to clients with a single SSID (service set identifier), and it may request clients to enter a password.

But there’s one major difference: the strength of a mesh WiFi network in a house or large office space doesn’t vary too much from room to room. That’s because a mesh WiFi network actually consists of multiple mesh WiFi routers, typically called nodes, organized in a mesh topology.

While it’s still more expensive to set up a mesh WiFi network compared with the cost of a single-router WiFi network, the benefits make it worth every penny — at least when configured correctly. Learn more about mesh WiFi networks and their configuration.

Tips for Setting Up a Mesh Network


Setting up a mesh network comes with its own set of challenges that must be addressed. Here are some tips for setting up a mesh network.

Plan your mesh network – A survey of your coverage area is in order to plan the location of the nodes that provide access points into the network. Based on their locations you might opt for a mesh network that offers either a wired or wireless means of connecting the nodes.

Consider wired connections to certain devices – Entertainment components like televisions and gaming consoles can benefit from being directly wired into a node on the mesh network.

The Best WiFi Routers


We do not propose that this is an exhaustive list of the WiFi routers that are available. That is beyond the scope of this article and would encompass hundreds of devices. The list we provide is designed to point you in the direction of some of the best routers on the market today from which to begin your search for the best router for your individual situation.


TP-Link Archer C2300

Here is a high-performance router whose compact size belies its power. It is a tri-band router providing support for 802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz) and 802.11ac (5GHz). The device features four Gigabit Ethernet ports as well as a USB 2 and a USB 3 port. It is powerful enough to provide coverage through walls and ceilings and comes with installed anti-virus protection. It is a great choice for a home WiFi network.

TP-Link Archer C2300

Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

This Linksys router offers tri-band support for the 802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz), 802.11ac (5GHz) standards and features flexibility that allows customization of your device to optimize performance. The software allows you to use your desktop browser or the dedicated phone application to perform many functions such as monitoring network usage, prioritizing data allotment, and balancing data transmission across the three wireless bands. It includes 4 Ethernet ports and a USB 3 interface.

Linksys EA8300 MaxStream

ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

This is an expensive and extremely powerful router that is perfect for the hard-core gamer who demands peak performance at all times. It is also a tri-band router that offers the user a choice between the 802.11n (2.4GHz, 5GHz) and 802.11ac (5GHz) standards. Gamers will love the dedicated pair of Ethernet ports that ensure your gaming console gets the bandwidth that it needs. The router is easily configured and managed through the ROG Gaming Center web console.

Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

It’s beyond the scope of this article to cover every WiFi router that deserves mention.Check the list of the best WiFi routers available in 2019 here.

Best Mesh WiFi Routers


This is a list of some of the best mesh WiFi alternatives on the market today.


Google WiFi

This highly acclaimed system is considered one of the most manageable and easy to set up mesh networks available. Its ease of use is complemented by its high performance and advanced design. The Google WiFi mesh system is comprised of three components which can each serve as the core of the system, streamlining the installation of the network. You control your system with the intuitive Google WiFi app which includes the ability to monitor your network and the health of your connection points. The app includes an Internet speed test and allows you to prioritize traffic to the devices that you choose.

Google WiFi

Netgear Orbi AC2200 RBK23

Here is a Netgear router that is perfect for users who wish to implement a mesh network in their home. The kit comes with one router and two satellites to extend the WiFi signal throughout your home. The components feature a sleek and modern design that will not clash with your home’s decor. The Orbi offers great performance and is easy to set up. It is rather high-priced, but will definitely solve your issues with the lack of WiFi coverage in your home.

Netgear Orbi AC2200 RBK23

Google and Netgear Orbi aren’t without competition as many other large companies have also released compelling mesh WiFi solutions, including Comcast, which is trying to revamp its Xfinity home internet services under the xFi brand. The xFi Pods, as Comcast calls its mesh WiFi extender devices, can be paired with an xFi Gateway to create a mesh WiFi network and eliminate areas where WiFi coverage drops or is weak.

Here you can find out the best mesh WiFi routers for 2019.

Conclusion


Whether you decide that a single WiFi router solution will work for your needs or opt for a mesh network, you should make use of a quality WiFi analyzer such as Netspot to plan, maintain, and optimize your network. It can be instrumental in your ability to obtain the best performance out of your network no matter what type of hardware you choose to employ.

Netspot is a comprehensive WiFi analysis application that runs on both Windows and macOS. You can download and test the app for free to see how it can help you plan and tune your WiFi network. It is a powerful tool that looks good in any network administrator’s software toolbox, yet is intuitive enough for the general computer user to make use of to get the maximum performance from your WiFi router.


Have more questions? Submit a request.
NetSpot WiFi planning tool

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi planning tool helps in analysis, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi site survey app

Next in All about Wi-Fi


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
★★★★
4.8 rank, based on 969 user reviews
Version 2.11 • Submit your review