• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

预测勘测

即使设计的WiFi网络并没有十分复杂,其中仍然会涉及到诸多变量,如接入点的最优数量,位置,和配置必须予以慎重考量。评估这些变量的一大技术被称为预测现场勘测。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
在很多情况下,预测勘测可完全通过物理现场勘测予
以替换。

什么是预测现场勘测?

假设您肩负着为一间小型办公建筑楼设计WiFi的职责。那么您该如何行使职责以实现快速且稳定的WiFi呢?

预测现场勘测
可显著减少安
装麻烦

当然,您可以安装一个WiFi接入点,测试它的覆盖范围和能力并使用收集的信息来安装其他必要的接入点或将初始接入点移至不同的位置。根据您对WiFi设备的访问方式和建筑自身特性的不同,这将极大地增加您完成WiFi网络安装的时间。而预测现场勘测在预测现场勘测软件的帮助下可以通过设施蓝图和其他信息来确认无线接入点 理想的位置,以此降低接入点安装的麻烦。

预测现场勘测的优势和劣势

预测现场勘测不需要对待勘测区域进行物理访问。这在限制访问待勘测区域的情形下可以展现出巨大的优势,例如,部分企业在施工期间是严禁访问的,因为它们的工期非常紧张,而且预算极为严苛。

由于预测现场勘测可以随时随地地予以执行,它们相比物理现场勘测更具效率,同时性价比也比较高,因为时间就是金钱。

现代化WiFi预测勘测工具的勘测结果尤为准确

现代化WiFi预测勘测工具勘测结果的准确度非常高,误差通常不会超过10%。但是,最好的WiFi预测勘测工具也完全依赖于为其所提供的数据。蓝图的数据可能无法完全准确地反映待勘测区域的真实状态,这可能会导致较大误差的出现。

预测现场勘测最大的劣势可能是需要进行最终的物理勘测来确认待安装接入点的位置,数量,和配置。但是,也有可能跳过这一步骤,等待用户自行提供反馈。如果用户没有发现任何问题并且对其无线连接的表现感到满意的话,那么物理勘测是没有必要的。

预测无线现场勘测的先决条件

欲成功进行预测现场勘测,有必要提供某些基本信息:

  • 楼层平面图或区域地图:预测无线现场勘测模拟无线电波在勘测区域从个别接入点传播信号的方式,在楼层平面图或区域地图上覆以结果。无法代表真实位置的平面图或地图可能会毁掉整个勘测。

使用NetSpot的WiFi热图
  • 建筑材料:无线信号会被不同的建筑材料以不同的速率吸收。例如,通过重混凝土的2.4 GHz WiFi信号可能会遭受约23 dB的传输损耗,而通过同一墙壁的5 GHz WiFi信号可能会发生高达45 dB的传输损耗。砖和木材对无线信号的影响不大,但其影响仍然不容忽视,应在每次预测无线现场勘测中加以考虑。

信号电平
  • 电器和其他RF干扰源除了墙壁和其他坚固障碍物之外,无线信号还会受到各种射频干扰源的影响,例如蓝牙设备,无绳电话,远程鼠标和幻灯片推进器,无线门铃,婴儿监视器,微波炉和带开关的负载高于2A的电子设备。
  • 无线用户的数量:进行任何类型的WiFi勘测时,重要的是要切实估计有多少无线客户端将会同时访问WiFi网络,并确保提供充足的无线接入点来保障供应。与普通建筑物相比,有许多地方,例如学校和医院,这里的无线设备的集中度要高得多。
  • 计划覆盖范围:有时候并没有必要为整个区域覆以强WiFi信号。出于安全原因,企业可能会希望将其主WiFi网络限制在主要的办公地点或为不同的部门设置多个无线网络,最大限度降低信道重合情形的发生,以减少同信道和相邻信道干扰

WiFi预测现场勘测软件工具

WiFi预测现场勘测软件工具可以简化预测现场勘测的过程,但并不是所有的勘测软件工具都具有同样的效果。大多数同类软件工具的功能十分有限,因为它们都已经过时了,而且用户界面非常粗糙,不仅不够直观,而且难以使用。

NetSpot 3将增加预测现场勘测支持

好消息是NetSpot 3将提供预测现场勘测支持,将其简单易用的特性与在任何环境下都能准确预测WiFi信号传播的能力结合起来,为专业人士和业余用户传递理想的完整WiFi现场勘测解决方案。

除全新的预测现场勘测模式之外,NetSpot 3将隆重推出两大核心模式的增强版本,这两大模式分别是勘测模式和发现模式。

NetSpot发现模式

在勘测模式下,深度物理现场勘测可以轻松予以执行,收集的数据可以转化到交互式颜色编码热图中。发现模式能够立刻收集有关周围WiFi网络的热图信息并以交互式表格的形式呈现无线数据。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

结语

预测现场勘测通过提供有关无线信号在待勘测环境中预期传播的相关准确信息来为物理现场勘测提供有益补充。它们对于那些在实际安装无线设备之前无法亲自到场的场合尤为适用。凭借像NetSpot 3这样的WiFi预测现场勘测软件工具,任何用户都可以轻松进行预测现场勘测。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。
免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

Predictive Survey

Designing even a moderately complex WiFi network involves a lot of variables that must be accounted for to determine the most optimal number, placement, and configuration of access points. One technique used to account for these variables is called a predictive site survey.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
In many cases, a predictive survey can entirely replace a physical site survey.

What Is a Predictive Site Survey?

Let’s say you’re tasked with designing a WiFi network for a small office building. How would you approach this task to deliver on the promise of fast, stable WiFi?

A predictive site survey can significantly lower the installation effort

You could, of course, install a WiFi access point, measure its coverage and capacity and use the gathered information to install additional access points if needed or move the original access point to a different location. Depending on your access to WiFi equipment and the building itself, this could greatly prolong the time it takes you to complete the installation of the WiFi network. A predictive site survey can significantly lower the installation effort by using facility blueprints and other available information to determine the ideal placement of wireless access points with the help of predictive site survey software.

Pros and Cons of Predictive Site Surveys

Predictive site surveys don’t require physical access to the surveyed area. This can be a huge advantage in situations where access to the surveyed area is limited. For example, some businesses can’t afford any disruption to their operation because they have tight deadlines to meet and ambitious financial targets to hit.

Because predictive site surveys can be performed anywhere and at any time, they are usually much quicker than physical site surveys, and also far less expensive since time is money.

Modern WiFi predictive survey tools are surprisingly accurate

Modern WiFi predictive survey tools are surprisingly accurate, with their margin for error rarely exceeding 10 percent. That said, even the best WiFi predictive survey tool is only as accurate as the data it works with. Working with a blueprint that doesn’t accurately represent the present state of the surveyed area is guaranteed to lead to very bad results.

Perhaps the biggest downside of predictive site surveys is the need to perform a final physical survey to confirm the placement, number, and configuration of installed access points. However, it’s also possible to skip this step and wait for users to provide their feedback. If the users don’t find any issues with the setup and are satisfied with the performance of their wireless connections, a physical survey is not necessary.

Predictive Wireless Site Survey Prerequisites

To successfully perform a predictive site survey, it’s necessary to provide certain basic information:

  • Floor plan or area map: A predictive wireless site survey simulates how radio waves would propagate through the survey area from individual access points, overlaying the results on a floor plan or area map. A plan or map that doesn’t represent the real location can jeopardize the entire survey.

WiFi heat map with NetSpot
  • Construction materials: Wireless signals are absorbed by different building materials at various rates. For example, a 2.4 GHz WiFi signal passing through heavy concrete can experience a transmission loss of around 23 dB, while a 5 GHz WiFi signal passing through the same wall can lose up to 45 dB. Brick and lumber don’t affect wireless signals nearly as much, but their effect is still not negligible and should be accounted for during every predictive wireless site survey.

Signal level
  • Appliances and other sources of RF interference: In addition to walls and other solid obstacles, wireless signals are also affected by various sources of radio frequency interference, such as Bluetooth devices, cordless phones, remote mice and slide advancers, wireless doorbells, baby monitors, microwave ovens, and electronics with a switching load above 2 A.
  • The number of wireless users: When conducting any kind of WiFi survey, it’s important to realistically estimate how many wireless clients will be accessing the WiFi network simultaneously and provide sufficient capacity by ensuring a sufficient density of wireless access points. There are many places, such as schools and hospitals, where the concentration of wireless devices is much higher compared with the average building.
  • Desired coverage: It’s not always necessary or even desirable to cover the entire surveyed area with a strong signal. A business may want to limit its main WiFi network to its premises for security reasons or set up multiple wireless networks for different departments, minimizing their overlap to reduce co-channel and adjacent-channel interference.

WiFi Predictive Site Survey Software Tools

A WiFi predictive site survey software tool can make it much easier to complete a predictive site survey, but not all survey software tools are created equal. Most are severely limited in terms of usability because of their outdated, clunky user interfaces that make them unintuitive and difficult to use.

NetSpot 3 will feature support for predictive site surveys

The good news is that NetSpot 3 will feature support for predictive site surveys, combining its signature ease of use with the ability to accurately predict the propagation of WiFi signals in any environment to deliver a complete WiFi site survey solution intended for professionals and amateurs alike.

In addition to the new predictive site survey mode, NetSpot 3 will feature improved versions of its two signature modes: Survey and Discover.

NetSpot Discover Mode

With Survey mode, in-depth physical site surveys can be performed with absolute ease, and the gathered data can be transformed into interactive color-coded heatmaps. Discover mode instantly collects heaps of information about surrounding WiFi networks and presents wireless data as an interactive table.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

Conclusion

Predictive site surveys complement physical site surveys by providing accurate information about the expected propagation of wireless signals in the surveyed environment. They can be greatly beneficial in situations where it’s not feasible or practical to be physically present on the location prior to the actual installation of wireless equipment. With WiFi predictive site survey software tools like NetSpot 3, predictive site surveys are accessible to anyone.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.
Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.