• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

如何设置WiFi

仅通过物理连接调制解调器的计算机访问网络的想法已经过时。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

如今,互联网连接应当是无处不在的,而且在本文中,我们将教您如何设置家庭WiFi才能告别有线连接并从任何地方访问您的在线内容。

设置WiFi需要做些什么?


想要设置家庭WiFi,您需要互联网连接。电讯公司通常会提供数字用户线路(DSL)连接,而有线公司会提供有线互联网连接,两者都是宽带网络连接,其所提供的网速完全足以支持现代用户的各种使用需求。

无论您选择哪一公司作为您的ISP(网络服务供应商),您应当都会使用到一个连接墙壁插座的互联网调制解调器来作为您的网络信号的接收器。部分ISP会为其用户提供可同时用作无线路由器的互联网调制解调器,在这种情况下他们可以为您妥善设置WiFi,您可以跳过本文的下一节内容。

但是如果您的互联网调制解调器无法设置WiFi,那么您将需要购买并连接专门的无线路由器。

跳到...


如何设置WiFi路由器


市面上有很多不同类型的无线路由器,从专门用作日常用途的价格便宜的家庭路由器到搭载多根天线和应用最先进技术的多功能游戏路由器。好消息是WiFi设置过程实际上往往都是一样的。

1. 拔掉您的互联网调制解调器的电源插头。
2. 使用以太网线连接您的无线路由器和互联网调制解调器。
3. 同时为您的互联网调制解调器和无线路由器接通电源。
4. 等待您的无线路由器前面的指示灯亮起,这表示已经建立起了互联网连接。这可能需要几分钟的时间。

5. 前往本文的下一章来了解如何配置您的无线路由器。

如何配置WiFi路由器

在您的无线路由器连接到互联网之后,打开网页浏览器并在地址栏输入您的路由器的默认IP地址,然后按回车键。我们建议您查询使用手册来查明该地址,但是您同时也可以尝试输入一些最常见的地址,包括192.168.0.1, 192.168.1.1,和192.168.2.1。

接下来您应当会看到您的路由器的登陆界面。再次查阅您的路由器的使用手册来找到默认的登陆名称和密码。在您登陆之后,您的路由器的设置页面将会出现,允许您更改您的WiFi网络的名称(也被称为SSID)并对一系列不同的安全设置进行配置。

至关重要的一点在于您应当使用最新形式的无线加密,也即WPA2,来防止陌生人窃取您的私人信息。很多老式无线路由器仅支持WEP加密,此协议已被IEEE(美国电气和电子工程师协会)废弃,本身存在一系列安全漏洞。如果您的无线路由器如上所述仅支持WEP加密,请购买新型号路由器。

您应当将WiFi路由器放在什么位置?

既然您已经了解了如何设置家庭WiFi,那么是时候来了解一下如何放置您的无线路由器了。一般来说,尽量将您的无线路由器放在距离您的住宅中心最近的位置,从而为整个区域覆盖均匀的WiFi信号。

同时保证您的无线路由器远离像墙壁或笨重家具这样的大型障碍物也非常重要。各种电子设备,包括您的微波炉和家庭影音系统,可能会造成电磁波干扰并降低您的无线路由器的表现。

NetSpot,作为一款适用于macOS和Windows的无线现场勘测,WiFi分析,和故障排查的专业应用,使您能够对您的WiFi网络的潜在空间进行评估,这归功于其 WiFi网络规划功能。

  1. 在NetSpot打开一个新项目并将您的无线路由器放在靠近您的住宅中心的位置。
  2. 取几个样本,然后将它移至下一处位置来采集新的数据点。
  3. 您在测量完整个空间之后,您可以点击工具栏右侧的加号(+)图标来合并全部快照集。

WiFi网络规划
WiFi网络规划

使用NetSpot提供的信息,选择看起来最适合您的无线路由器的位置并跳至本文的下一章内容。

如何查看我的WiFi信号覆盖范围?

就像您可以使用NetSpot来确定您的无线路由器的最优放置位置一样,您之后还可以用它来检查 您的WiFi信号覆盖范围。

1. 启动NetSpot并选择NetSpot窗口左上方的“发现”,等待几秒钟完成数据载入。
2. 无线网络列表将会出现,您的WiFi应当在此列表之上。

3. NetSpot所显示的一个参量被称为层级,它会显示您的WiFi网络的信噪比,数字越高越好。


  • 10-15dB是建立不稳定的连接所能接受的最低值。
  • 16-24dBis通常被视为信号差。
  • 25-40dB代表信号很好。
  • 41dB或更高值被视为信号非常好。

信噪比
信噪比

如果您的信噪比很低,那么您可以采取一系列不同的措施来改善这种情况。您可以切换至不同的WiFi信道来最大限度地降低由您所在区域内的其他WiFi网络所引起的干扰。您可以从2.4 Ghz频带切换到5 GHz频带,如果您的路由器支持的话。您还可以购买一台 WiFi扩展器

如何设置WiFi扩展器

WiFI扩展器相对来说价格并不贵,它能够有效提取您的路由器现有的WiFi信号,增强之后重新予以发送,从而改善您的WiFi信号差的现状。

1. 使用NetSpot提供的信息,找到信号最弱的点并在弱信号区域和您的无线路由器之间的中间位置安装WiFi扩展器。
2. 将WiFi扩展器连接到您现有的WiFi网络。

3. 将您的电子设备连接到由您的扩展器所创建的新的WiFi网络。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

结语

有了像NetSpot这样的适用于macOS和Windows的无线现场勘测,WiFi分析,和故障排查的专业应用,WiFi网络的设置变得轻松无比。NetSpot能够帮助您优化您的WiFi表现,确保您的所有设备均可以获取高速互联网连接,无论您身在何处。访问 NetSpot官网 并立即免费下载。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

How to Set Up WiFi

The idea of accessing the internet only from a computer that’s physically connected to a modem is outdated. These days, internet access should be omnipresent, and, in this article, we’ll teach you how to set up WiFi at home so you can say goodbye to cables and enjoy online content from anywhere.

headAllAboutWiFi

What Do I Need to Set Up WiFi?


To set up WiFi at home, you need an internet connection. Telephone companies typically provide Digital Subscriber Line (DSL) connections, while cable companies provide cable internet connections, both of which are broadband internet connections and should offer speeds that are high enough to support all modern use cases.

Regardless of who you choose as your ISP (Internet Service Provider), you should end up with an internet modem connected to a jack in a wall and acting as the receiver for your internet signal. Some ISPs provide their customers with internet modems that double as wireless routers, in which case you’re all set and can skip to the next section of this article.

But if your internet modem is unable to set up WiFi, you’ll also need to purchase and connect a dedicated wireless router.


How to Setup WiFi Router

There are many different types of wireless routers, from inexpensive home routers designed for casual use to feature-packed gaming routers with multiple antennas and state-of-the-art technologies. The good news is that the WiFi setup process is virtually always the same.

  1. Unplug your internet modem from power.
  2. Connect your wireless router to your internet modem using an Ethernet cable.
  3. Plug in the power cable for both the internet modem and the wireless router.
  4. Wait for the light on the front of your wireless router to indicate that it has established an internet connection. This can take several minutes.
  5. Proceed to the next chapter of this article to learn how to configure your wireless router.


How to Configure WiFi Router

With your wireless router connected to the internet, open a web browser and enter your router’s default IP address into the address bar, then press Enter. We recommend you consult the manual to find out what the address is, but you can also try some of the most common addresses, including 192.168.0.1, 192.168.1.1, and 192.168.2.1.

Your router’s sign in page should appear. Again, consult your router’s instructions to find out what the default login name and password are. After you log in, your router’s settings page will appear, allowing you to change the name (also known as SSID) of your WiFi network and configure various security settings.

It’s paramount that you use the latest form of wireless encryption, WPA2, to prevent strangers from stealing your personal information. Many older wireless routers only support WEP encryption, which has been deprecated by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and is no longer considered safe. If your wireless router is among them, replace it with a newer model.


Where Should I Place My WiFi Router?

Now that you’ve learned how to set up WiFi at home, it’s time to learn about wireless router placement. As a rule of thumb, do your best to place your wireless router as close to the center of your home as possible to evenly cover the entire place with WiFi signal.

It’s also important to place your wireless router away from large obstacles such as walls or heavy furniture. Various electronic devices, including your microwave and home entertainment system, may cause electronic interference and decrease the performance of your wireless router as well.

NetSpot, a professional app for wireless site surveys, WiFi analysis, and troubleshooting on macOS and Windows, allows you to evaluate the potential space for your WiFi network thanks to its WiFi Network Planning feature.

  1. Start a new project in NetSpot and place your wireless router close to the center of your home.
  2. Take a few samples, and then move it to the next location to take new data points.
  3. Once you have measured the entire space, you can merge all snapshots by clicking the Plus (+) icon at the right end of the bar.

Using the information provided by NetSpot, choose a place that seems most suitable for your wireless router and move on to the next chapter of this article.

WiFi Network Planning

How Can I Check My WiFi Coverage?

Just like you can use NetSpot to determine the optimal place for your wireless router, you can also use it later to check your WiFi coverage.

  1. Launch NetSpot and Discover on the top-left of the NetSpot window and wait a few seconds for the data to start coming in.
  2. A list of wireless networks will appear,and your WiFi should be on it.
  3. One parameter displayed by NetSpot is called Level, and it tells you the signal-to-noise ratio of your WiFi network, with higher numbers being better.

  • A ratio of 10-15dB is the accepted minimum to establish an unreliable connection.
  • 16-24dBis usually considered poor.
  • 25-40dB is good.
  • And a ratio of 41dB or higher is considered excellent.

If your signal-to-noise ratio is poor, there are a few things you can do to improve it. You can switch to a different WiFi channel to minimize interference caused by other WiFi networks in your area. You can switch from the 2.4 GHz band to the 5 GHz band, if your router supports it. And you can also purchase a WiFi extender.

Signal-to-noise ratio

How to Setup WiFi Extender

A WiFi extender is a relatively inexpensive device that takes your router’s existing WiFi signal, boosts it, and rebroadcasts it to fill in all the unconnected nooks and crannies in your home.

  1. Using the information provided by NetSpot, locate where your signal is the weakest and install your WiFi extender halfway between the area of signal weakness and your wireless router.
  2. Connect the WiFi extender to your existing WiFi network.
  3. Connect your electronic devices to the new WiFi network created by your extender.

Conclusion


With a professional app for wireless site surveys, WiFi analysis, and troubleshooting on macOS and Windows such as NetSpot, setting up a WiFi network is effortless. NetSpot can help you optimize your WiFi for best performance to ensure that you can enjoy fast internet access from all your devices regardless of where you are. Visit NetSpot’s official website and download it for free right now.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi planning tool helps in analysis, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi site survey app

Next in All about Wi-Fi


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.