• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

什么是WiFi信号强度以及它为什么应当引起重视?

让我们深度了解一下WiFi信号以及它们是如何影响您的无线网络使用的。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

越来越多的家庭和企业转向WiFi网络作为其首选的互联网接入的提供方式。无线网络对于终端用户更为便捷,使每个人都能够充分利用其移动设备的优势。无线网络相比传统的有线网络而言,也免除了线接的烦扰和限制。

从管理员的角度来说,WiFi网络虽然有很多的优势,但同时也伴随有一系列必须予以解决的其他挑战。这不仅仅只是为您的所有用户提供充足的连接的问题。您还需要了解您的网络的其他方面,如覆盖区域和信道重叠。

对于我们部分使用家庭WiFi网络的用户而言,我们就是自己的网络管理员。如果您是这样的情况或只是一位具有好奇心的终端用户,您需要了解的您的网络的其中一大特性就是WiFi信号强度。这个值对于您的网络活动效率是一个决定性的因素。让我们深度了解一下WiFi信号以及它们是如何影响您的无线网络使用的。

什么是WiFi信号?

WiFi网络使用无线电波来在不同的设备之间建立通信。这些设备可能包括计算机,移动手机,平板电脑或网络路由器。无线网络路由器是互联网或其他以太网络有线连接和无线连接设备之间的接口。

路由器对从WiFi网络用户那里接收来的无线电信号进行解码并将它们传至互联网。反过来,路由器会将从互联网接收的数据由二进位数据转换成无线电波,传送至使用同一网络的设备。

产生WiFi信号的无线电波使用的2.4 GHz和5 GHz的频带。这些频率要高于电视或手机所使用的频率,相对较低频率能够传递更多的数据。

WiFi信号在传输数据时使用的是802.11网络标准。WiFi网络采用了一系列不同协议的变体。您将会了解到的部分最常见的协议包括2.4GHz频带所使用的802.11n以及5GHz频带主要使用的802.11ac。其他协议您可能还会看到802.11b,它与802.11g是最慢标准。

良好的WiFi信号强度是怎样的?

整个网络覆盖区域内的WiFi信号强度直接影响着用户高效处理各种网络活动的能力。在深入探析怎样的信号强度才适合您进行相应的WiFi网络活动之前,让我们讨论一下 WiFi信号强度是如何测量的

信号强度是以dBm为单位的。它指的是分贝毫瓦,以从0到-100内的负值表示。因此,-40的信号相比-80的信号更强,因为-80距离0更远,因此是一个更小的数字。

dBm是一个对数性的,而不是线性的,这意味着信号强度之间的变化并不是平滑渐进式的。从这个层面来说,3 dBm的不同会使之前的信号强度减半或提升一倍。

能够影响到您的WiFi表现的背景噪音等级也是用dBm表示的。对于噪音等级而言,数值越接近0,就表示噪音等级越高。经测量的-10 dBm的噪音要高于-40 dBm的噪音。

下表揭示了您应当努力实现的最低信号强度,只有达到才能将您的WiFi网络用于各种不同目的。

信号强度 限定符 适合用途
-30 dBm 极好 这是可实现的最大信号强度,适用于任何一种使用情景。
-50 dBm 极好 此极好的信号强度适于各种网络使用情形。
-65 dBm 非常好 建议为智能手机和平板电脑提供支持。
-67 dBm 非常好 此信号强度对于网络电话和流媒体视频的使用是足够的。
-70 dBm 可接受 该等级是确保实现稳定的数据包传输的最低信号强度要求,对于网页冲浪和收发邮件的使用是足够的。
-80 dBm 不良 实现基本连接,但数据包传输不稳定。
-90 dBm 非常差 大多都是噪音,抑制大多数功能的实现。
-100 dBm 最差 全是噪音。

哪些因素会影响到WiFi信号强度?

能够影响到您的网络WiFi信号的有 一系列不同因素。其中部分因素有:

路由器位置

路由器位置的各个不同方面会影响到良好信号的传输表现。这些包括:

  • 路由器的高度 – 您应当将您的路由器尽可能放到高处。将它放在地板或较低的搁板上将影响到其提供强烈信号的能力。

  • 中心位置 – 如果您的路由器放在您的住宅或办公室的中心位置,那么您将获得 最佳WiFi信号覆盖。将路由器放在家里的角落将会导致WiFi信号泄漏并降低您的信号覆盖区域内的信号强度。

  • 来自其他设备的干扰 – 微波炉和无线电话可能使用的是与您的 WiFi路由器相同的频率,能够产生对信号等级造成影响的背景噪音。

  • 墙壁和地板 – 如果在连接设备的位置可以清楚地看到路由器的位置,那么您将会获得最佳WiFi信号。穿越 墙壁和地板进行传输的信号的强度会大打折扣。

保持您的路由器的更新

将您的路由器的设置改成自动固件升级以保持其处于高效运作状态。阶段性地重启您的路由器也是一个比较好的做法,有利于实现良好的信号覆盖。

距离路由器的距离

需要较强信号的设备,如那些用于玩游戏或观看视频的设备,将它们放在靠近路由器的位置可能会获得更好的信号表现。在一些情况下,您可能需要通过使用像路由器这样的附加设备来 扩展您的WiFi信号范围以增强WiFi信号强度。

如何测试您的WiFi信号强度

为了确认您的WiFi信号强度,您最好的做法是使用像 NetSpot这样的WiFi信号强度测试应用。在笔记本电脑或移动设备上安装这款出色的 WiFi分析仪将使您能够 测试您的整个覆盖区域内的WiFi信号强度。操作指南如下。

  1. 在您的Windows笔记本电脑,安卓设备或MacBook上下载并安装NetSpot应用程式。免费版即可对您的WiFi信号强度进行测试。

  2. 启动应用,选择应用主窗口顶部的发现模式。

NetSpot的发现模式
  1. 从该应用探测到的网络中找到您的WiFi网络。

  2. 然后您将看到与您的网络有关的一系列数据,其中就包括信号强度。

  3. 请注意您当前位置的强度,然后携带运行NetSpot的设备在您的信号覆盖区域内走动。

  4. 在对您的覆盖区域进行系统性的勘测的同时注意是否存在信号薄弱的位置,对此您可能需要解决相应的问题才能使您的网络最大限度地发挥其作用。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

您的WiFi信号强度是影响到您对网络的使用的重要元素。监测信号强度并在必要时予以调整将会帮助您长时间保持您的网络用户应当享有的WiFi网络的良好表现。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

What is WiFI Signal Strength and Why Should I Care?

Let’s take a deeper look at WiFi signals and how they can impact your wireless network usage.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

More and more households and businesses are moving to WiFi networks as their preferred method of providing Internet access. Wireless networks are more convenient for end users and enable everyone to take full advantage of their mobile devices. They also eliminate the cabling necessary to implement a more traditional wired network.

The benefits of WiFi networks are accompanied by some additional concerns that must be addressed from an administrator’s point of view. It’s not just a matter of supplying enough connections for all of your users. You need to be aware of aspects of your network such as coverage area and channel overlap.

For those of us with home WiFi networks, we are our own network admins. If you are in this situation or are just a curious end user, one of the characteristics of your network that you need to understand is the WiFi signal strength. This value will be a determining factor in the activities for which your network can be used. Let’s take a deeper look at WiFi signals and how they can impact your wireless network usage.

What is a WiFi Signal?

A WiFi network employs radio waves to establish communication between devices. These devices may include computers, mobile phones, tablets or network routers. The wireless network router is the interface between a wired connection to the Internet or other Ethernet network and the wirelessly connected devices.

The router decodes radio signals received from the users of the WiFi network and transmits them to the Internet. Conversely, data received from the Internet is converted from binary data into radio waves for distribution to the devices that are using the network.

The radio waves which comprise WiFi signals make use of the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequency bands. These are higher than the frequencies used for televisions or cell phones and allow more data to be carried than do the lower frequencies.

WiFi signals use the 802.11 networking standards when transmitting data. There are a number of different varieties of the protocol that are used in WiFi networking. Some of the more common ones you will see are 802.11n which is used on the 2.4GHz band and 802.11ac primarily used for 5GHz transmission. Others you might see are 802.11b which is the slowest standard and 802.11g.

What is a Good Wifi Signal Strength?

The strength of the WiFi signal throughout the network’s coverage area directly impacts the ability of users to perform various activities in a timely manner. Before delving into which signal strengths are appropriate for certain uses of your WiFi network, let’s discuss how WiFi signals strengths are measured.

The most consistent method of indicating signal strength is with a quantity known as a dBm. This term stands for decibels relative to a milliwatt and is expressed as a negative number from 0 to -100. Therefore, a signal of -40 is more powerful than a signal of -80 since -80 is further from 0 and therefore a smaller number.

The dBm scale is logarithmic rather than linear, which means that the changes between signal strengths do not scale in a smooth and gradual manner. On this scale a difference of 3 dBm leads to a halving or doubling of the previous signal’s strength.

Background noise levels that can impact your WiFi performance are also expressed in dBms. In the case of noise levels, a value close to zero indicates high levels of noise. Noise measured at -10 is greater than that of -40.

The following table indicates the minimum signal strengths that you should strive for in order to use your WiFi network for various purposes.

Signal Strength Qualifier Suitable Uses
-30 dBm Excellent This is the maximum achievable signal strength and will be appropriate for any usage scenario.
-50 dBm Excellent This excellent signal level is suitable for all network uses.
-65 dBm Very Good Recommended for supporting smartphones and tablets.
-67 dBm Very Good This signal strength will be sufficient for voice over IP and streaming video.
-70 dBm Acceptable This level is the minimum signal strength required to ensure reliable packet delivery and will allow you to surf the web and exchange emails.
-80 dBm Bad Enables basic connectivity but packet delivery is unreliable.
-90 dBm Very bad Mostly noise that will inhibit most functionality.
-100 dBm Worst Total noise.

What Factors Can Impact WiFi Signal Strength?

There are a number of factors that can impact the strength of your network’s WiFi signal. Some of them are:

Router location

There are several different aspects of your router’s location that can impact its ability to deliver a good signal throughout your intended coverage area. These include:

  • The height of the router – You should locate your router as high as possible. Placing it on the floor or on low shelves will impede its ability to provide a strong signal.

  • Central location – You will obtain the best WiFi coverage if your router is located centrally in your home or office. Placing it in a corner of the house will result in WiFi leakage and reduced signal in your coverage area.

  • Interference from other devices – Microwaves and cordless phones may use the same frequency band as your WiFi router and contribute background noise that impacts the signal level.

  • Walls and floors – The best WiFi signal will be obtained if the devices that will be using the router have a clear line of sight to it. Signals that travel through walls and floors will have their strength negatively affected.

Keep Your Router up to Date

Configure your router for automatic firmware updates to keep it operating at peak efficiency. It is also a good practice to periodically reboot your router.

Distance From the Router

Devices that require strong signals such as those that will be used for gaming or streaming may obtain better performance by being located close to the router. In some cases, you may need to boost the WiFi signal by employing additional equipment such as routers to extend your WiFi’s range.

How to Test Your WiFi Signal Strength

In order to determine your WiFi signal strength, your best course of action is to use a WiFi signal strength app like NetSpot. Installing this excellent WiFi analyzer on a laptop or mobile device will allow you to test the strength of the WiFi signal throughout your coverage area. Here’s how to do it.

  1. Download and install the NetSpot application on your Windows laptop, Android device or MacBook. The free version is sufficient to get your WiFi signal strength.

  2. Launch the application and select Discover from the top of the app’s main window.

Discover Mode NetSpot
  1. Identify your WiFi network from among those that the app discovers.

  2. You will be presented with a number of statistics regarding your network and among them is the signal strength.

  3. Take note of the strength in your current location and proceed to move around your coverage area with the device that is running NetSpot.

  4. Perform a systematic survey of your coverage area while noting the WiFi signal strength to alert you to problem areas that may need to be addressed in order to use your network as you intended.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

The strength of your WiFi is a critical component of your network that impacts how you make use of it. Monitoring the signal strength and making adjustments when necessary will go a long way toward maintaining the type of WiFi network performance that your users deserve.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.