使用NetSpot Wi-Fi现场勘测工具来规划您的Wi-Fi网络

我们使用诸如笔记本电脑,智能手机,和平板电脑这样的无线设备的方式决定了将其无缝嵌入我们的工作空间至关重要。小型企业主意识到了无线局域网(WLAN)如今对于我们的日常生活的影响日益加深,而且创建一个完美的工作环境更是非常重要。有了NetSpot规划工具,WLAN的规划,配置和部署变得相当简单。

如何规划WiFi部署


当准备规划部署无线网络时,您需要考虑待服务的客户端的数量,网络流量的密集程度,所需要的接入点的数量以及准确位置,您对于网络所提供的吞吐量的期待值。只有妥善考虑如下因素才能完成对您的无线网络的成功部署:


了解您的建筑的“骨架”

在部署无线网络之前,您应当弄清楚您的建筑是如何建造的。像炉渣砖,砖头,石墙,或泥灰这样的建筑材料密度非常大,它们会减弱您的无线信号的强度,这样您将需要大量的接入点才能确保快速,稳定的网络连接。像水管或浴室这样的蓄水点可能会影响WiFI信号的范围。


相应地平衡负载

小型或中型企业通常需要的接入点的数量不会超过24个,但是带宽也要予以考虑。适当的带宽能够帮助提升效率,与此同时负载平衡,管理得当的接入点也非常重要。使用中央管理无线控制器应用来提升网络表现并节省时间。

当确认待部署的接入点的类型和数量时,请考虑如下因素:

  • 同时在每一SSID发送和接收流量的客户端设备的数量;

  • 客户端设备的潜力;

  • 设备将使用哪些应用;

  • 网络上的用户机动性;

  • 您想要实现的最低吞吐量水平。


您可以通过与现场经理和网络的实际用户交谈来收集全部此类信息。交谈可以私下进行,您也可以向每一位用户发送调查问卷。

  • 对于新的无线部署,您应当询问到位于每个站点上的人来预测用户数量(以及无线设备的数量),这些用户同一时间在网络上都是处于活跃状态的。您将需要了解设备类型以及用户目标。如果经理之前在相关站点工作过的话,那么他们对于用户和设备的预估通常是十分准确的。

  • 您不需要了解连接无线设备的访客的精确数量,但是提供一个预估数字还是必要的。询问一下他们的即时需求以及他们认为在未来五年内的需求。您将得到必须转化为技术目标(使用移动POS)的商业目标(库房更短的生产线)。对有关人员进行新技术解决方案的培训来实现商业目标在规划中至关重要。

  • 网络换新时会被问及相同的问题。这种情况下的优势在于您可以在之前的安装设备上获取统计数据和观察结果。NetSpot在网络的测试,探测和扫描方面拥有不俗的表现,您可以用它来勘测当前网络的活动和表现。尝试接入远程收集器,这样就可以在网络设备,以及通过它们监测和分析数据包的内联设备上运行的代理来收集数据。

  • 现在通过如上信息,您可以查看LAN和WLAN流量研究来为不同类别的用户和数据流量,以及客户端设备准确定位带宽目标。同时请记住,当需要置换现有网络的时候,其中很可能会涉及一些需要消除的缺陷 — 将它们找出来并确认通常在建筑物内出现的位置。

  • 对于需要连接无线设备的问题网络,您应该尽可能地了解越多越好。同时还需要了解有关拓扑结构和寻址方案的内容。



凭借有关网络目标和用户类别的所有信息,现在是时候使用规划工具来预测所需要的接入点数量以及正确的安放位置了。

WiFI规划器将预测接入点的最优数量,同时还会根据所覆盖区域的面积,您所拥有的接入点的类型,覆盖范围的类型等来对接入点的有效位置进行测绘。您将能够查看数据传输的功率位准,并重复使用5GHz和2.4GHz频带上的信道模式。

测绘地图视觉效果非常好,对您非常有帮助,您只需将接入点拖到地图上即可查看哪些位置能够为您提供更好的信号覆盖。


电力需求

既然您已经知道了您的网络所需要的WLAN接入点的数量,那么现在您需要确定支持这些接入点所需的电力情况,通常是15瓦或低于15瓦。根据企业规模的不同,具体要求可能有所差异。请考虑使用馈电器 — 它们可以放在距离线路300英尺以内的任何地方,有了它们,您无需外接接入点适配器。


WiFi网络防护与安全和安全

当WiFi网络处于无防护状态时,任何人都可以连接并使用它。将您的无线网络以授权使用的形式加以限制十分重要,对于那些商业网络尤为如此。请尽量避免使用像WEP(有线等效加密)这样的已废弃协议。您应当选择像WPA(无线保护接入)和WPA2这样的现代化安全协议。还有一种更为安全的措施是使用目前可用的最为强大的接入点加密技术,也即AES 256位加密。

执行人工现场勘测


使用Wi-Fi规划工具来执行预测性现场勘测,这将帮助确认接入点的最佳安放位置并根据会谈阶段所收集的数据来确定所需设置的功率位准。请注意,预测性现场勘测将不会计算邻近的WLAN同波信道的干扰,以及邻近的非Wi-Fi设备所发射出的电磁信号。欲了解更多有关射频信号的内容,您还需要完成人工现场勘测。

人工实时现场勘测将为您显示您的预测性勘测在建筑和射频环境下的准确度。凭借这一系列数据的整合,您最终将得以设计出满足乃至超出预期的更加出色的WiFi网络。

请在执行人工现场勘测时记住如下提示:

  • 对于数据服务,所创建的网络需使无线设备拥有最少-70 dBm的RSSI(接收信号强度指示)和20 dB或更高的SNR(信噪比)。如果WLAN支持音频和视频,那么RSSI应当至少是-67 dBm,SNR为23 dB或更高水平。

  • 理想情况下,客户端应当能够从一个接入点检测到-70 dBm或更优的信号并从其他一个或多个接入点检测到-75 dBm或更优的另一信号。客户端将首先连接信号更强的接入点,随着客户向不同接入点靠近且信号相应地不断增强,其将会切换到新的接入点。如果有很多具有相同信号强度的接入点,那么您可以考虑降低接入点的密度或减弱它们的发射强度。


凭借您所收集和分析的全部数据,您已经拥有了足够的方法来对您的无线网络进行设计。

常见的无线网络误区


准备好连网了吗?了解如何避免部分常见的无线网络风险:

这种接入点适合家用

旨在供家庭使用的部分无线设备可能不适合商业环境,尤其是在企业规模比较大的情况。家庭接入点价格可能更加便宜,但是它们不适合较大空间,通常进行单一部署即可。


添加接入点

想要为接入点找到最优的位置并不容易。尽管无线现场勘测是理想的解决方案,但是小企业可能更要考虑成本效益。这类问题可以通过如下方法予以解决:

  • 投资多个接入点。从长期来看,您会发现它相较于付费进行现场勘测要实惠一些。

  • 设定一个接入点并使用一台笔记本电脑记录其覆盖范围。这种对接入点的覆盖范围进行基础的现场勘测将成为您在整个区域安设接入点的指导和参考。

  • 投资WLAN控制器和NetSpot软件。控制器可以控制所有连接的接入点并设置适当的信道和电力分配。NetSpot以热图的形式为您提供所在区域的可视化平面布置图,显示整个区域的信号强度情况。


注意事项

一旦您设置好了这一切,您很容易会松懈下来。但是您应当注意,科技的发展虽然十分迅捷,但是黑客技术同样也是日新月异。所以您应当为您的小企业做好防护工作,避免一切安全风险,对无线市场和前沿科技保持必要的关注。以未雨绸缪的态度来应对可能发生的风险将为您节省大量的时间和金钱。


预留发展空间

当您构建无线局域网时,不要仅仅局限于当前的需求,您同样需要考虑到您的网络的未来,并准备好随着科技的进步而发展。无线框架的一大优势在于它们重新布置起来相对容易。请尽量考虑到企业的目标和未来的需求 — 有针对性地选择装备和配置。

毫无疑问,无线网络对于任何企业而言都是一项十分重要的资产,但是与其他设备一样,您还应当始终考虑到其目的,限制,潜在收益以及可能出现的问题。同时意识到其优劣将帮助您实现更高级别的效率并使您的无线网络成为企业规划成功的一项宝贵的资产。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot WiFi规划工具帮助轻松实现WiFi网络的分析,
配置和部署。
获取免费的WiFi现场勘测应用

接下来是WiFi规划


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).

Plan your Wi-Fi network with NetSpot Wi-Fi site survey tool

The way we use wireless devices, such as laptops, smartphones, and tablets, makes it crucial to integrate them into our working space seamlessly. Small business owners realize how much more influence wireless local area networks (WLAN) have on every day of our lives now and how important it is to create the perfect working environment. With NetSpot planning tool it is quite easy to plan, configure, and deploy a wireless LAN.

How to plan a WiFi deployment


When planning to deploy a wireless network, think of how many clients it is going to serve, how heavy the traffic will be, how many access points it is going to need and where exactly, how much throughput you want the network to provide. Consider the following factors for successful implementation of a wireless network for your business:


Know Your Building’s "Bones"

Before deploying a wireless network you should find out what your building is made of. Building materials like filled cinder blocks, brick, rock walls, or stucco construction are dense and can reduce the strength of your wireless signal, so you'll need a larger number of access points to ensure a fast, reliable connection. Anything that holds water, think pipes or bathrooms, can affect the range of a WiFi signal.


Balance the Load Accordingly

Smaller or medium-sized businesses usually need less than 24 access points, but bandwidth is to be considered too. The proper bandwidth helps with productivity, while the properly managed access points with according load balance are important as well. Use centrally-managed wireless controller appliances to boost network performance and save time.

When deciding on the type and number of APs to deploy consider the following:

  • how many client devices will be sending and receiving traffic on each SSID at the same time;
  • client devices possibilities;
  • what apps the devices will use;
  • users mobility on the network;
  • the minimum throughput levels you want to have.


You can collect all this information by talking to site managers and to actual users of the network. The interviews can be personal or you can simply send the questionnaire to everyone.

  • For new wireless deployments, you should ask people at each site to estimate the number of users — as well as the number of wireless devices — that will be active on the network at the same time. You'll need to know the types of devices and what users’ objectives are. Managers’ estimates about users and devices are usually quite accurate if they were working at this site previously.
  • You may not need the exact number of visitors with wireless devices but an estimate is still worth having. Ask about their immediate requirements as well as what they think they will need in five years. Mostly you will get business objectives (shorter lines in stores) that you must turn into technical objectives (using mobile POS). Educating people about new technical solutions to fulfill business objectives plays big role in planning.
  • Same questions are to be asked when replacing an old network with a new. An advantage in this case is that you can get statistics and observations on old setup. Measure activity and performance of the current network with NetSpot network monitoring tool that regularly polls, probes, and scans networks. Try to get access to remote collectors that collect data from agents running on network devices, as well as the inline appliances that monitor and analyze packets going through them.
  • Now with all of the above information you can check LAN and WLAN traffic studies to pinpoint bandwidth targets for the various categories of users and traffic, as well as client devices. Also keep in mind that when an existing network needs to be replaced, most probably it had some shortcomings that needed to be eliminated — find those out and where in the building they tended to appear.
  • Learn as much as you can about the wired network you are going to integrate the wireless devices with. Learn about topology and addressing scheme.


Perform a Predictive Site Survey


With all the information that you now have about network goals and user categories, it is time to use a planning tool, such as the NetSpot Wi-Fi planner, to estimate the number of access points needed and the correct placement for them.

The WiFi planner will estimate the optimal number of access points and will map the effective placement of the points based on the size of the covered area, types of APs that you have, the type of coverage, etc. You'll be able to see the power levels of transmission and reuse patterns for the channel for both the 5GHz and 2.4GHz bands.

The map is very visual and helpful, you can simply drag the access points on the map to see what positioning gives you better coverage.


Power Up

Now that you know how many WLAN access points your network will need, decide on the power requirements to support these points, typically 15 watts or less. Depending on the size of a business, the requirements will differ. Consider power injectors option — they can be placed anywhere along the line within around 300 feet and will spare you the need for an external AC adapter.


WiFi Network Security and Safety

When a WiFi network is not secured, anyone can connect and use it. Keeping your wireless network restricted to authorized usage only is important when it is a business network especially. Do your best to avoid using obsolete protocols like WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy). There are modern and secure options like WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access) and WPA2. A higher safety measure is to use the strongest available encryption for access points — AES 256 bit encryption.

Perform a manual Site Survey


Use a Wi-Fi planning tool to do predictive site surveys, which will help with access points placement plus decide on which power levels to set according to the data collected at the interviewing stage. Note that a predictive site survey won't count the neighboring WLANs co-channel interference, and the existence of electromagnetic signals from neighboring non-WiFi devices. To know more about these RF signals, a manual site survey is to be done.

The manual real-time site survey will show you how accurate your predictive survey was within the architectural and RF environments. With all this data combined you have all tools to design a better WiFi network that will meet and exceed the expectations.

Keep the following tips in mind when performing a manual site survey:

  • For data services, create the network where the wireless devices have a minimum RSSI (received signal strength indicator) of -70 dBm and an SNR of 20 dB or higher. If a WLAN will be supporting voice and video, the RSSI should be at least -67 dBm with an SNR of 23 dB or higher.
  • It would be ideal if a client was able to detect a signal of -70 dBm or better from one access point and another signal of -75 dBm or better from one or more other points. A client will firstly connect to an access point with a stronger signal and as it moves closer to a different AP and the signal there grows stronger the client can switch to the new AP. In case there are too many access points with equally strong signals then you can consider thinning them out or lower their Tx power.


With all the data you collected and analyzed you have enough means for designing the wireless network.

Common Wireless Networking Missteps


Ready to go online? Learn how to avoid some of the common wireless network perils:

This Access Point Worked at Home

Some wireless devices designed for home use may not be suitable for business environment, especially if the business is large. Home access points may cost cheaper but they were not made for a space bigger than a small home office and are usually meant for single deployments.


Add Access Points

The optimal locations for access points may not turn out to be the easiest ones. And while a wireless site survey is ideal, it may be costly for small businesses. The access point challenge can be solved with the help of one of the following approaches:

  • Invest in multiple access points. In the long run you may find it cheaper than commissioning a site survey.
  • Set up one AP and chart its coverage with one laptop. This rudimentary site survey of one access point coverage range will be your guideline for APs in the whole facility.
  • Invest in a WLAN controller and NetSpot software. The controller accounts all connected access points and sets the proper channel and power allocation. NetSpot offers you a visual floor plan of the facility with the heat map explicitly showing the signal strength throughout.


Stay on Point

Once you set everything up it is easy to become unconcerned. However you should keep in mind that technologies evolve quickly as well as hackers' possibilities. Keep your small business safe and unexposed to security risks, keep up with what's going on with the wireless market and where the technology is headed. Staying ahead of any possible risks will save time and money.


Leave Room to Grow

When you build a WLAN, don't just think about current needs, try to think about the future of your network, and prepare to grow with the technology. An advantage of wireless structures is that they are relatively easy to rearrange. Try to think through the business goals and needs in the future — choose the equipment and configuration accordingly.

A wireless network is no doubt an important asset to any business, but as with everything else you should always consider the objectives, limitations, the potential benefits as well as possible problems. Being aware of both advantages and disadvantages will keep the efficiency on the higher level and will make your wireless network a valuable asset to a successful business plan.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi planning tool helps in analysis, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi site survey app

Next in WiFi Planning


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.