在NetSpot的帮助下提升您的Wi-Fi速度 — 选择最佳WiFi信道

想要获得稳定的Wi-Fi速度有时候可能也会成为奢望。您的路由器的安装方式,附近有无干扰,您的生活起居安排 — 公寓建筑还是独立住宅,所有这些因素有时候可能会产生巨大的影响。庆幸的是,有一些方法可以帮助您修复信号传输速度较为迟缓问题。

Wi-Fi信道1, 6, and 11


您的路由器设置中有信道设置。大多数路由器都将信道设置设定为“自动”,但是如果您观察一下列表,其中至少有十几个WLAN信道。所以您如何能够确定列表中哪些WiFi信道速度较快呢?选择正确的WiFi信道能够极大地提升您的WiFi信号覆盖范围和表现。但是即使您找到了速度最快的信道,这也不必然意味着您应当立即选择它。

不同的频带(2.4GHz, 3.6 GHz, 4.9 GHz, 5 GHz, 和5.9 GHz)都有自己的信道范围。路由器通常使用的是共计有14条信道的路由器,但是实际上世界范围内所使用的只有13条信道,甚至更少。

Wi-Fi信道

一直到802.11n (a, b, g, n)的所有Wi-Fi版本都是在2400到2500 MHz信道频率的范围内工作的。之间的100 MHz每20 MHz分为一个信道,共分成14个信道。这样一来,每个2.4 GHz信道就会与两到四个其他信道相重叠(参加上图)。信道重叠会严重影响无线网络的速度。

最热门的2.4 GHz Wi-Fi信道分别是1,6,和11,因为它们不会相互之间发生重叠。您应当在非MIMO设置 (例如802.11 a, b, 或g)的情况下尝试使用信道1,6,和11。

造成WiFI干扰的三大主要原因


WiFi干扰

同信道干扰。在各个设备轮流传输数据的网络,每个设备的等待是要花费时间的。因此更多多的设备意味着更长的等待时间。

相邻信道干扰。在这种情况下,WiFi信道的选择就显得至关重要。此类与信道有关的干扰可以通过为您的网络选择适当的WiFi信道来降低或消除影响。

像NetSpot这样的WiFi信道扫描仪能够帮助您检查网络并选择适当的信道或降低WiFi干扰。使用NetSpot信道扫描仪将帮助您提升您的2.4 GHz WiFi网络的表现。

非重叠信道


如前所述,2.4 GHz频谱上的每一个无线信道的宽度是20 MHz。当使用20 MHz信道的802.11n标准时,请选择信道1,6和11。如果使用的是40 MHz信道,那么请考虑到无线电波可能发生拥堵的情况,除非您住在大型建筑的中心房区。

整个频谱的宽度是100 MHz,各个信道中心仅距5 MHz。这使得其中的11个信道不可避免地发生了重叠。

非重叠信道

拥挤空间使用哪个无线信道


再次重申,想要实现最佳吞度量和最低限度的干扰,信道1,6,和11是您的选择。根据邻近WiFi网络的不同,某一个信道相比另外的信道可能是更好的选择。

例如,如果您选择了信道1,但是您的邻居正在使用信道2,那么您将希望切换到信道11以彻底避免发生信道重叠的情况,尽管信道6可能表现也不错。如何尝试使用信道1,6,和11之外的信道的话,那么请记住,您周围的每个人可能都与您在同一个信道上,而您也可能给成为造成信道干扰的原因。

与所有邻居进行沟通,让每台路由器都设定为信道1,6,11也是非常好的做法。如果您和邻居之间有厚墙相隔而使用的又是相同的信道1,那么这很可能不会有什么影响,但是如果你们之间的墙壁比较薄的话,那么请尽量使用不同的无线信道。

5 GHz频带


5 GHz(802.11n和802.11ac)频带实际以更高的频率提供更多的空闲空间。它提供了23个非重叠20 MHz信道。

从802.11n到802.11ac,无线科技变得愈加先进。如果您在过去两年内购买了一台WiFi路由器,那么它们很可能采用的是802.11n或802.11ac标准。这类路由器内部大都有一个可以自动选择适当的WiFi信道并对输出功率进行调整的固件,从而增加吞吐量并降低干扰。

使用5GHz频带,同时墙壁厚度适中,以及5GHz设备并不多的情况下通常意味着您的空间内的干扰非常少。在这类情况下,您选择使用40, 80, 和160MHz的信道比较有利。

理想状况下,随着越来越多地用户逐渐升级其硬件设备并开始使用5GHz频带,必须选择适当的WiFi信道这样的做法可能就显得过时了。这尤其适用于MIMO设置(802.11ac中不超过8个)。当然,还将存在一些像为您的路由器微调信道选择这样的自定义情况。最终,即使5GHz也达到饱和状态,但是到那时候我们应当已经能够开发出更高的WiFi信道频率。或者会开发出完整的,全新的天线设计来用于应对无线网络设计的高端需求。

使用NetSpot选择正确的Wi-Fi信道— the 一流的WiFi信道分析仪


NetSpot擅长对网络进行视图分析,帮助您来作出正确的决定。

通过NetSpot的视图分析,您将立即可以查看到出现一系列无线问题的原因并获悉如何来消除它们。您会获取到有关信道选择的建议,最好的一点在于 — 为您的网络选择最优的信道并不需要您具备专业的WiFi知识。您所需要做的只是打开NetSpot应用并点击发现。点击“信道2.4 GHz”标头来查看哪些Wi-Fi信道发生了重叠。找到那些网络使用数最少的信道(在信道1,6和11中作出选择)。

“显示不活跃网络的平均值”选项在NetSpot中是默认启用的,这意味着您甚至将会查看到当前不活跃的网络以及它们的平均值。您在不需要当前不活跃网络的数据时可以选择禁用此选项。活跃网络数据以图表中的实线显示。

WiFi信道分析仪

在以上图表中,选定网络是在信道5上运行的,并且与信道2和8发生了重叠。您可以看到信道6-9上的网络数的数值最小,重叠情况一点不明显。所以在此特定的案例中,如果您需要最佳WiFi信道,那么您就应当从信道6-9中做出选择。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot将帮助您在您的区域找到最佳,延迟最低的WiFi频道以修复频道干扰。
获取免费的WiFi频道扫描仪

接下来是WiFi故障排除


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).

Increase your Wi-Fi speed with the help of NetSpot — choose the best WiFi channel

Trying to get stable Wi-Fi speeds can be quite annoying as it doesn't always work out easily. The way your router is set up, a nearby interference, your living arrangements — apartment building or a separate house, all these factors can be of great influence. Thankfully there are ways of fixing slower transfer speeds.

Wi-Fi channels 1, 6, and 11


In your router's settings there are channel settings. Most routers have channel settings set to "Auto", but if you look through the list, there are at least a dozen of WLAN channels. So how do you know which WiFi channels are faster than the others in that list? Choosing the proper WiFi channel can vastly improve your WiFi coverage and performance. But even if you find the fastest channel there it doesn't always mean you should select it right away.

Various frequency bands (2.4GHz, 3.6 GHz, 4.9 GHz, 5 GHz, and 5.9 GHz) have their own range of channels. Usually routers will use the 2.4GHz band with a total of 14 channels, however in reality it may be 13 or even less that are used around the world.

Wi-Fi channels

All Wi-Fi versions through 802.11n (a, b, g, n) work between the channel frequencies of 2400 and 2500 MHz. These 100 MHz in between are split in 14 channels 20 MHz each. As a result, each 2.4GHz channel overlaps with two to four other channels (see diagram above). Overlapping makes wireless network throughput quite poor.

Most popular channels for 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi are 1, 6, and 11, because they don’t overlap with one another. You should always try using channels 1, 6, or 11 when on a non-MIMO setup (i.e. 802.11 a, b, or g).

Three main reasons for WiFi interference


WiFi interference

Co-channel interference. In networks where devices take turns to talk, it takes time for each of them to wait for their turn. Therefore the more devices the longer the wait time.

Adjacent-Channel interference. WiFi channel selection is crucial in cases like this. Such channel-related interferences can be cut down or excluded by choosing the proper WiFi channel for your network.

A WiFi channel scanner like NetSpot helps you see through the network and choose the proper channel or reduce WiFi interference. Using NetSpot channel scanner will help you improve your 2.4 GHz WiFi network performance.

Non-Overlapping Channels


As said above every wireless channel on the 2.4 GHz spectrum is 20 MHz wide. When using 802.11n with 20 MHz channels, choose the 1, 6, and 11 ones. If going to use 40MHz channels, take into consideration that the airwaves may be congested, unless you live in a house in the middle of a very large property.

The whole spectrum is 100 MHz wide and the channel centers are separated by 5 MHz only. This leaves no choice to eleven channels but to overlap.

Non-Overlapping Channels

What wireless channel to use in a crowded space


And again for the best throughput and minimal interference, channels 1, 6, and 11 are your choice. Depending on the neighboring WiFi networks one channel can be a better choice than another.

E.g. if you choose channel 1, but your neighbor is using channel 2, then you'll want to switch to 11 to completely avoid overlapping, though 6 can work as well if not better. As tempting as it is to use the channels other than 1, 6, and 11, remember that everyone around will be stomping on your throughput and you can become the reason for channel interference.

It would be a perfect setting to talk with all the neighbors and set up each router to channels 1, 6, 11. If you have a thick brick wall between you and your neighbor using the same channel 1 probably wouldn't hurt, but if there is a thin wall between you, try working on using different wireless channels.

5 GHz channel band


The 5 GHz (802.11n and 802.11ac) band actually offers way more free space at the higher frequencies. It offers 23 non-overlapping 20MHz channels.

Starting with 802.11n and going to 802.11ac, wireless technology became much more advanced. If you bought a WiFi router within the last couple of years, then you probably have a decent 802.11n or 802.11ac router. Most of them have a hardware inside that automatically selects the proper WiFi channel and adjusts the output power thus boosting throughput and cutting down the interference.

Using the 5GHz band and having decently thick walls as well as the general lacking of 5GHz devices usually means that there is a very little interference in your space. In cases like this you may benefit from using the 40, 80, and 160MHz channels.

Ideally, as everyone gradually upgrades their hardware and starts using 5GHz band, having to select the proper WiFi channel will become obsolete. It is especially applicable to MIMO setups (up to eight in 802.11ac), when it is a better idea to let your router do its own thing. Of course there will be custom cases like fine-tuning the channel selection for your router. Eventually, even the 5GHz will fill up, but by the time it happens we should be able to figure higher WiFi channel frequencies out. Or maybe entirely new antenna designs will be created for the high-end demands of wireless networking world.

Select the right Wi-Fi channel with NetSpot — the top WiFi channel analyzer


NetSpot is very good at visualizing the networks to help you make the right decision.

With NetSpot's visualization you will immediately see the cause of the wireless issues and how to eliminate them. You can get the recommendation on which channel to use and the best thing about it — you don't have to be a WiFi professional to choose the optimal channel for your network. All you need to do is just open NetSpot app and click Discover. Click the "Channels 2.4 GHz" header to see where Wi-Fi channels are overlapping. Look for the channel (out of 1, 6 and 11) with the least number of networks present on it.

The “Show average value for inactive networks” option is enabled by default in NetSpot, which means you'll see even currently inactive networks and their average values. You can disable this option when you don't need the data for currently inactive networks. The active networks are shown in solid lines on the graph.

WiFi channel analyzer

In the above graph the selected network is operating on channel 5, and overlaps with channels 2 and 8. You can see that channels 6 to 9 have the smallest number of networks and overlapping is not that bad at all. So in this particular case if you need the best WiFi channel, choose from channels 6 to 9.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot will help you find the best and least congested WiFi channel in your area to fix channel interference.
Get the free WiFi channel scanner

Next in WiFi Troubleshooting


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.