• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

什么是WiFi 6以及它是如何影响我的?

对WiFi产生驱动的科技和标准随着其用户需求的提升不断发生进步。最新一代的WiFi标准被称为WiFi 6。让我们来了解一下最新一代的WiFi标准有哪些新功能。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

什么是WiFi 6?

WiFi 6是最新的WiFi版本,建立在IEEE 802.11ax标准之上。它相比老一代的WiFi科技提供了大量的优势,我们稍后将一一为您介绍。它同时也推出了全新的命名规则,旨在使用户能够更加轻松地理解他们所使用的设备类型。

根据全新的命名规则,以下是WiFI在过去的定义模式以及经确认将会发生的进步。每一代的WiFi的名称是与他们所支持的IEEE标准联系在一起的。

  • WiFi 1 — 802.11b,发布于1999年
  • WiFi 2 — 802.11a,发布于1999年
  • WiFi 3 — 802.11g,发布于2003年
  • WiFi 4 — 802.11n,发布于2009年
  • WiFi 5 — 802.11ac,发布于2014年
  • WiFi 6 — 802.11ax,发布于2019年

WiFi每一代的名称除了确认不同的WiFi技术之外,它们也是支持不同类型WiFi的设备和软件的标签。这使得普通的WiFi用户能够更加简单地理解他们的设备和软件的功能性,在升级和设备购买时作出更加正确的选择。

这意味着您应当首先了解支持WiFi 6的设备,而不是802.11ax标准。这当然更加容易被记住。您还将看到已经通过WiFi联盟的认证程序的,标有“WiFi 6认证”的设备。WiFi联盟正在建议所有的硬件和软件制造商对消费者采用标准化的标签命名规则来规范其所展示的信息。

WiFi 6有哪些优势?

WiFi 6不仅只是一个名称,同时还设置了标签规则。WiFi 6还加入了很多显著的改进,这对于世界各地的无线用户而言更加重要。让我们深入了解一下使用WiFi 6技术的部分优势。

更快的数据传输速度

每一代的WiFi均会提供更快的数据传输速度,WiFi 6也并不例外。WiFi 6的理论速度是10Gbps。它通过2.4GHx和5GHz光谱带的结合来实现速度的提升,同时采用了MU-MIMO技术以同时改善上行连接和下行连接数据的传输。

更加高效的数据编码技术可以产生更高的数据吞吐量。用于信号编码和解码的更加强力的芯片使得同一无线电波可以承载更多的数据。相比WiFi 5,使用WiFi 6的单一设备的数据传输速度最多可提升40%。即使2.4GHz网络,它在使用WiFi 6路由器时也将实现速度的提升。

电池使用寿命增加

WiFi的另一主要优势在于提升了访问WiFi 6网络的设备的电池使用寿命。此优势将使普通用户受益,而且对于物联网(loT)低功耗设备的WiFi通信使用至关重要。

电池寿命是通过被称为目标唤醒时间(TWT)的功能来实现延长的。TWT使得WiFi接入点能够与您的设备实现通信,告诉它唤醒WiFi无线电以及进入睡眠状态的准确时间。这就能够帮助节省电能,因为您的设备相比之前的WiFi连接状态将有更多的时间处于睡眠模式。

拥堵环境中的更优表现

当WiFi在人口密度较大的地区使用时,其表现将会受到负面影响,因为这些区域的信号彼此之间存在很多的竞争因素。WiFi 6采用了一系列新技术,通过最大限度地减弱网络拥堵问题所带来的影响来提升WiFi的实用性。

其中一种技术被称为正交频分多址(OFDMA)。它会将无线信道分成若干子信道,每一个子信道均可用于不同设备的数据运载。这使得单一接入点能够实现同时与更多设备进行通信。

如今多入/多出(MIMO)能力的改善使得搭载多根天线的路由器能够同时发送和接收来自多台设备的数据传输。WiFi 5只能发送,但是无法同时接收多个信号。这将在很多用户同时尝试访问网络的情形下展现出更优的表现。

波束成形的改善也是WiFi 6标准的一部分。光束成形注重面向特定设备方向的信号的增强,而不是同时向各个方向传播信号。路由器会尝试优化向特定设备发送的信号。

这些是WiFi 6缓解访问像体育中心或大型娱乐场所这样的拥堵环境中的所产生的问题的一些方法。它能够更加高效地实现无线网络的连接,无论您位于任何环境之中。

我应当考虑升级到WiFi 6吗?

升级到WiFi6从而实现更加快速,更加优化的WiFi表现当然有很大的价值。WiFi 6于2019年推出,但是能够充分利用它的性能优势的设备可能无法即时推出。如果您正在考虑是否需要升级到WiFi 6,那么以下是部分考虑因素。

设备升级将是必要的 –您显然将需要支持WiFi 6的新路由器。只是有一台新路由器还不够,因为访问网络的设备需要支持WiFi 6才能享受全新标准的优势。如果您正在尝试升级您的WiFi性能,而且您的全部设备都能够使用WiFi 5标准,那么您可能更适合购买一台全新的WiFi 5路由器。

无线设备数量的增加 –随着家庭平均无线设备数量的增加,应用WiFi 6网络的优势更加明显。如果您计划打造智能家居科技或只是想要为未来的增长做准备,那么您接下来的路由器购买应当考虑WiFi 6品类的设备。

如果您对您目前的WiFi网络及其表现满意的话,那么购买WiFi 6从长远来看仍是大势所趋。如果过于保守,等您有需求购买的时候或许WiFi 7已经推出了。

如果您正在考虑路由器升级的话,那么您应当对您当前的WiFi网络及其信号覆盖范围进行勘测。使用专业的WiFi分析工具NetSpot将帮助您找到您的WiFi网络的问题并进行新的规划。它同时对于任何有责任进行无线网络维护的工作人员而言是一款优秀的工具。

优质WiFi 6路由器

以下是现在或即将在市面上推出的部分高质量的WiFi 6路由器。

ASUS RT-AX88U

这款ASUS路由器遵从802.11ax标准并支持MU-MIMO和OFDMA技术。它包含8个LAN端口和4根天线,并且兼容ASUS网状WiFi系统。

ASUS RT-AX88U

它还通过智能保护功能提供商业级安全防护。

Netgear Nighthawk AX8

Netgear的Nighthawk AX8完全支持WiFi 6标准并最多同时提供4条WiFi数据流。它向后兼容您目前所有的无线设备,而且它的设置和管理非常简单。

Netgear Nighthawk AX8

这款路由器的强力64位处理器能够传递流畅的流媒体和游戏体验。

TP-Link Archer AX6000

TP-Link的Archer AX600是另一款承诺传递WiFi 6标准所固有的高速度和连接性的路由器。它支持OFDMA,在拥堵环境中能够获得更加出色的表现,同时使用智能频带转向系统来将用户引流到使用率更低的频带。

TP-Link Archer AX6000

家长控制和防病毒保护内置于设备中,提供更加出色的网络防护。

随着2019年的来临,支持WiFi 6标准的设备和路由器将日渐成为主流。如果您的无线网络受到拥堵或卡顿问题的困扰,那么升级到WiFi 6可能是最好的选择。即使您对您当前的WiFi表现感到满意,那么也应明白最终购买WiFi 6注定是大势所趋。您将希望确保您的钱没有白花,您所获得的设备充分利用了这一令人感到兴奋的全新的无线标准。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。
免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

What is WiFi 6 and How Will it Affect Me?

The underlying technology and standards which drive WiFi have evolved along with its uses. The latest iteration of WiFi standards is known as WiFi 6. Let’s take a look at what the new generation of WiFi is all about.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

What is WiFi 6?

WiFi 6 is the newest version of WiFi and is based on the IEEE 802.11ax standard. It provides a number of advantages over older WiFi technology which we will discuss shortly. It is accompanied by a new naming convention that is designed to enable users to more easily understand the type of devices they are using.

Under the new naming convention, here are how WiFi would have been defined in the past and will be identified going forward. The WiFi generation name is linked to the IEEE standard that they support.

  • WiFi 1 – 802.11b, released in 1999
  • WiFi 2 – 802.11a, released in 1999
  • WiFi 3 – 802.11g, released in 2003
  • WiFi 4 – 802.11n, released in 2009
  • WiFi 5 – 802.11ac, released in 2014
  • WiFi 6 – 802.11ax, released in 2019

Along with the new method if identifying various generations of WiFi technology is the concept of clearly labeling devices and software that support different types of WiFi. This is intended to make it easier for the general WiFi user to understand the capabilities of their devices and software and make more informed choices regarding upgrades and equipment purchases.

This means you should start seeing devices that advertise they support WiFi 6 rather than the 802.11ax standard. That certainly is easier to remember. You will also see devices that have passed the WiFi Alliance’s certification process that are now labeled “WiFi 6 Certified”. The WiFi Alliance is recommending that all hardware and software manufacturers adopt the labeling conventions to standardize the information presented to consumers.

What are the Advantages of WiFi 6?

WiFi 6 is more than just a new name and a set of labeling conventions. There are many significant improvements that are incorporated into WiFi 6 that will make it much more useful to wireless users around the world. Let’s take a closer look at some of the advantages of using WiFi 6 technology.

Greater data transfer speed

Each generation of WiFi has provided greater data transfer speed and WiFi 6 is no exception. The theoretical speed of WiFi 6 is 10Gbps. It achieves this speed increase by combining the 2.4GHx and 5GHz spectrum bands and employing MU-MIMO technology for both uplink and downlink data transfers.

More efficient data encoding leads to the higher throughput. More powerful chips used to encode and decode signals allow more data to be carried by the same radio waves. A single device can achieve up to 40% faster data transfer when using WiFi 6 versus WiFi 5. Even 2.4GHz networks will experience increased speeds when using a WiFi 6 router.

Increased battery life

Another important benefit afforded by the move to WiFi 6 is the increased battery life that devices accessing a WiFi 6 network will enjoy. This improvement is beneficial to the average user and can be a critical factor in enabling low-power devices that comprise the Internet of Things (IoT) to make use of WiFi communication.

Battery life is extended through a feature known as target wake time (TWT). TWT enables the WiFi access point to communicate with your device to tell it when exactly to turn its WiFi radio to wake up and go to sleep. This helps conserve power as your device will spend more time in sleep mode than with previous WiFi implementations.

Better performance in congested settings

One of the ways that WiFi performance can be negatively affected is when it is used in crowded areas where there is competition for the signal. WiFi 6 employs a number of new technologies to increase the utility of WiFi by minimizing the problems of network congestion.

One way this is accomplished is with a technology known as Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA). This allows a wireless channel to be divided into a number of sub-channels that can each be used to carry data for a different device. This allows a single access point to communicate with more devices simultaneously.

Improvements in Multiple In/Multiple Out (MIMO) capabilities now allow a router with multiple antennas to both send and receive data transmissions from multiple devices at the same time. WiFi 5 could only send, but not receive multiple signals at once. This will lead to better performance in situations where many users are attempting to access the network.

Improvements in beamforming are also part of the WiFi 6 standard. Beamforming focuses a stronger signal in the direction of connected devices rather than broadcasting at the same level in all directions. The router attempts to optimize the signals that it sends to a specific device.

These are some of the ways that WiFi 6 alleviates the problems of accessing WiFi in congested settings such as sports arenas or entertainment venues. It promises to make connecting to wireless networks more efficient no matter where you are located.

Should I Consider Upgrading to WiFi 6?

There is certainly a great allure to use WiFi 6 to achieve faster and more optimized WiFi performance. WiFi 6 is being introduced in 2019, and devices that are able to take advantage of its full capabilities may not be immediately available. Here are some factors to consider if you are thinking about upgrading to WiFi 6.

Equipment upgrades will be necessary – You obviously will need a new router that supports WiFi 6. Simply having the router will not necessarily lead to performance improvements as the devices accessing the network need to be WiFi 6 compliant in order to enjoy all the benefits of the new standard. If you are trying to upgrade your WiFi performance and all of your devices are capable of using WiFi 5, then you may be better served by purchasing a new WiFi 5 router.

An increasing number of wireless devices – As the number of wireless-capable devices in the average household increases, the benefits of employing a WiFi 6 network are more evident. If you plan on implementing smart home technology or just want to be prepared for future growth, your next router purchase should be a device of the WiFi 6 variety.

If you are satisfied with your current WiFi network and its performance, you should file away the WiFi 6 information for when you are preparing for your next purchase. Perhaps you will be faced with WiFi 7 as an option by then.

A good route to follow if you are considering an upgrade is to conduct a detailed survey of your current WiFi network and its coverage area. Using a dedicated WiFi analysis tool like NetSpot will help you find issues with your WiFi network as well as plan for a new implementation. It’s a great tool for anyone who is responsible for maintaining a wireless network.

Quality WiFi 6 Routers

Here are a few quality WiFi 6 routers that are now or will soon be on the market.

ASUS RT-AX88U

This router by ASUS conforms to the 802.11ax standard and supports MU-MIMO and OFDMA technology. It contains 8 LAN ports and 4 antennas and is compatible with ASUS mesh WiFi systems.

ASUS RT-AX88U

It also offers commercial-grade security through its AiProtection feature.

Netgear Nighthawk AX8

Netgear’s Nighthawk AX8 fully supports the WiFi 6 standards and provides for up to 4 simultaneous WiFi streams. It is backward compatible with all of your current wireless devices and is easy to set up and manage.

Netgear Nighthawk AX8

The router’s powerful 64-bit processor delivers a smooth streaming and gaming experience.

TP-Link Archer AX6000

The Archer AX600 by TP-Link is another router that promises to deliver the increased speed and connectivity inherent in the WiFi 6 standards. It supports OFDMA for better performance in congested settings and uses intelligent band steering to direct users to less used bands.

TP-Link Archer AX6000

Parental controls and anti-virus protection are built into the device for increased network protection.

As 2019 unfolds, there will be more emphasis put on devices and routers that provide WiFi 6 capabilities. If your wireless network is impacted by issues of congestion or slow performance, the move to WiFi 6 may well be your best move. Even if you are satisfied with your current WiFi situation, future purchases should be made with an eye toward the eventual shift to WiFi 6. You will want to ensure that your money is well-spent and the devices you obtain can make use of this exciting new wireless standard.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.