• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

无线电频率干扰: WiFi的天罚

欲避免某些最常见的WiFi问题的出现,理解什么是RF干扰并了解如何将它将至最低十分重要。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
严重的RF干扰可能导致整个WiFi网络完全无法使用并且给它的用户带来十分不快的体验。

什么是RF干扰?

无线电频率干扰是指WiFi网络(最常见的2.4 GHz和5 GHz)所使用的无线电频谱中无用信号的出现。这些无用信号通常是使用与WiFi网络相同的无线电波的其他电子设备所传输的。

由于RF干扰的存在,WiFi接入点和用户可能无法传输数据,降低其吞吐量并导致延迟和性能降级问题的出现。

因此,通过减少干扰源以及设计WiFi网络来适应某些类型的干扰以主动消除RF干扰十分重要。

造成RF干扰的原因有哪些?

造成RF干扰最常见的原因如下:

能够揭示WiFi信道使用情况的RF干扰扫描仪
  • 其他WiFi网络:如今大多数WiFi网络使用2.4 GH 频带,此频带被分成了若干信道,其中只有三个信道是不重叠的。当两个或多个WiFi网络在同一信道传输数据时即会产生所谓的同信道干扰。当两个或多个WiFi网络在相邻信道上传输数据时即会产生所谓的相邻信道干扰。这两类WiFi干扰都会对信号强度产生负面影响,均应当借助能够揭示WiFi信道使用情况的RF干扰扫描仪予以避免。
  • 微波炉:并非所有的微波炉都是WiFi杀手,但某些型号的微波炉会发出挤占2.4 GHz频带的干扰信号。由于微波炉仅在使用时才会发出干扰信号,测试它们的影响可能有一定的困难,即使使用效果不错的干扰测试器。最重要的是千万不要将微波炉放到靠近WiFi路由器的地方。
  • 无绳电话:大多数无绳电话使用900 MHz, 2.4 GHz, 和5 GHz频带,其中最常见的是2.4-GHz无绳电话。好消息是无绳电话已逐渐被淘汰,由移动电话和VolP手机所替代,所以它们对WiFi网络的影响通常并不严重。
  • 蓝牙设备:与无绳电话不同,受互联网和智能家居设备风潮的影响,蓝牙设备的数量正在以惊人的速度增长。如今,从耳机和喇嘛到手表和检测仪再到智能手机和平板电脑等等,越来越多的设备均支持蓝牙连接。蓝牙设备使用的2.4 GHz频带,跳过802.11发射器,有时候会遇到它们(尤其是老式2.4ghz 802.11b网络)

其他较为不常见的RF干扰包括摄像机,婴儿监控器,电力线,电车轨道,和直播卫星供应商。

如何降低或消除RF干扰?

消除RF干扰不仅需要更好的理解造成干扰的原因,还需要RF规划软件所支持的结构性方法。

大多数WiFi设备供应商建议经历RF干扰问题的用户去切换到一个较不繁忙的不同的WiFi信道。尽管理论上是可行的,但这样的建议实际上无法传递理想的效果,因为2.4 GHz频带中只有3个非干扰WiFi信道。

此外,切换到不同的WiFi信道只能解决其他WiFi网络所产生的持续性RF干扰。为了保证完美表现,通过改善所谓的信噪比(SNR)来解决RF干扰也是必要的,SNR是理想信号与背景噪音的水平对比,是科学和工程学所使用的一种测量方法。

消除RF干扰源

改善SNR的方法有两种:降低干扰或提升信号增益。前者可以通过消除尽可能多的RF干扰来实现,或者在某些情况下可以选择使用5 GHz频带。后者可以通过提升WiFi接入点的力度或密度来实现。

无论选择何种方法,RF干扰扫描仪应当用于收集支持信息并帮助确认最大限度降低或消除RF干扰的最有可能奏效的措施。这可以借助正确的RF干扰WiFi工具来实现。

如何使用NetSpot来查看RF干扰?

NetSpot是一款适用于macOS和Windows的专业WiFi干扰扫描仪,WiFi工程师和家庭用户可以用它来查看,管理,故障排除,审查,计划,和部署WiFi网络

它提供了15种以上的热图视图用于分析以及故障排查WiFi网络,它们包括信噪比(仅限macOS),信号级,接入点质量,噪音级(仅限macOS),信干比,频带覆盖,PHY模式覆盖,无线传输速度等等。

热图视图

通过NetSpot的视图,用户可以轻松发现RF干扰源和被称为信号盲区的信号薄弱区域,准确了解应当购买什么类型的设备以及将它安装在哪里才能消除RF干扰。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

除了各种各样的热图视图外,NetSpot还提供了很多其他的功能,使之成为了市面上最为出色的RF干扰监测软件解决方案,如自定义企业级报告构建,跨项目勘测数据共享,自动预测多层AP定位,用于快速区域绘图的基础图片编辑器,以及项目自动保存,等等等等。



NetSpot适用于运行macOS 10.10+的任何MacBook或搭配标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的Windows 7/8/10笔记本。有了NetSpot,用户可以轻松解决RF干扰问题,而且通过零风险,全功能的NetSpot高级版的试用可以轻松上手。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。
免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

Radio Frequency Interference: WiFi’s Nemesis

To avoid some of the most common WiFi problems, it’s important that you understand what RF interference is and know how to minimize it.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
Severe RF interference may render an entire WiFi network completely useless and make its users very unhappy.

Jump to...

What Is RF Interference?

Radio frequency interference is the presence of unwanted signals in the radio frequency spectrum used by WiFi networks (most commonly 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz). These unwanted signals are typically transmitted by other electronic devices that use the same radio waves as WiFi networks.

Because of RF interference, WiFi access points and users may become unable to transmit data, reducing their throughput and causing delays and performance degradation.

As such, it’s important to proactively eliminate RF interference by reducing its sources and designing WiFi networks to accommodate certain types of interference.

What Are the Causes of RF Interference?

The most common causes of RF interference are:

RF interference scanner capable of revealing WiFi channel usage
  • Other WiFi networks: Most WiFi networks today use the 2.4 GHz band, which is divided into several channels, only three of which are non-overlapping. When two or more WiFi networks transmit on the same channel, the so-called co-channel interference occurs. When two or more WiFi networks transmit on adjacent channels, the so-called adjacent-channel interference occurs. Both types of WiFi interference are bad and should be avoided with the help of an RF interference scanner capable of revealing WiFi channel usage.
  • Microwave ovens: Not all microwave ovens are WiFi killers, but some models are capable of emitting interfering signals that occupy the entire 2.4 GHz band at up to 25 feet. Because microwave ovens emit interfering signals only when they are in use, measuring their impact can be problematic even with a capable interference detector. The most important thing is to never place a microwave oven close to a WiFi router.
  • Cordless phones: Most cordless phones use the 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz, and 5 GHz bands, with 2.4-GHz cordless phones being the most common. The good news is that cordless phones are gradually becoming obsolete, replaced by cellphones and VoIP phones, so their impact on WiFi networks is usually not drastic.
  • Bluetooth devices: Unlike cordless phones, the number of Bluetooth devices in use has been increasing at a very high rate, driven by the growing popularity of the Internet of Things and smart home devices. Today, Bluetooth connectivity is present in everything from headphones and speakers to watches and health monitors to smartphones and tablets, and much more. Bluetooth devices use the 2.4 GHz band, hopping over 802.11 transmissions and sometimes bumping into them (especially when it comes to older 2.4ghz 802.11b networks).

Other, less common sources of RF interference include video cameras, baby monitors, power lines, electrical railroad tracks, and direct satellite providers.

How to Minimize or Eliminate RF Interference?

Eliminating RF interference requires not only a good understanding of its causes but also a structured approach supported by RF planning software.

Most WiFi equipment vendors advise users who are experiencing problems with RF interference to simply switch to a different WiFi channel, one that’s less busy. While sound in theory, this advice often fails to deliver the desired results in practice because there are only three non-interfering WiFi channels in the 2.4 GHz band.

What’s more, switching to a different WiFi channel only solves continuous RF interference produced by other WiFi networks. To guarantee flawless performance, it’s also necessary to deal with intermitted RF interference by improving the so-called Signal-to-Noise (SNR) Ratio, a measure used in science and engineering that compares the level of a desired signal to the level of background noise.

eliminating sources of RF interference

There are two ways how SNR can be improved: either by decreasing interference or increasing signal gain. The former can be accomplished by eliminating as many sources of RF interference as possible or, in some cases, by using the 5 GHz band. The latter can be accomplished by increasing the power or density of WiFi access points.

Regardless of the chosen approach, an RF interference scanner should be used to gather supporting information and help determine the best possible course of action for minimizing or eliminating RF interference. This can be achieved with the help of the right RF interference WiFi tool.

How to Check for RF Interference with NetSpot?

NetSpot is a professional WiFi interference scanner for macOS and Windows used by WiFi engineers and home users alike to visualize, manage, troubleshoot, audit, plan, and deploy WiFi networks.

It comes equipped with more than 15 heatmap visualizations for analysis and troubleshooting WiFi networks, and they include signal-to-noise ratio (macOS only), signal level, quality of access points, noise level (macOS only), signal-to-interference ratio, frequency band coverage, PHY mode coverage, wireless transmit rate, and more.

Heatmap visualizations

With NetSpot’s visualizations, it’s easy to discover sources of RF interference and areas of signal weakness, also called dead zones, and know exactly what type of equipment to get and where to install it in order to eliminate RF interference.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

In addition to the assortment of heatmap visualizations, NetSpot offers many other features that make it one of the best RF interference detection software solutions on the market, such as a customizable enterprise-level report builder, cross-project survey data sharing, automatic predictive multi-floor AP positioning, basic graphic editor for quick area maps, and project auto-saving, just to name a few.



NetSpot works on any MacBook running macOS 10.10+ or Windows 7/8/10 laptop with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter. With NetSpot, RF interference becomes a simple problem to solve and getting started couldn’t be easier thanks to the risk-free full-featured trial of NetSpot PRO.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.