• #1 NetSpot
  • 评估您的WiFi安全的最佳WiFi工具
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

保障您的WiFi网络安全的6种方法

从黑客到网络寄生虫,总有人想要获取您的WiFi网络的访问权限以窃取您的带宽或您的金钱。
审核
  • NetSpot
  • WiFi安全必备
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

为了将这些陌生访客驱逐出您的住宅或企业的无线网络,请使用这些步骤来强化您的网络安全并保护您自己。

如何保障WiFi安全


无论您的新的家庭路由器是来自于本地有线电视公司还是您所使用的任何一家电信供应商,将它插上电,连接上网,并开始玩最新版本的Fortnite或准备迎接Netflix之夜是再简单不过了-您只要真正想要观看Netflix并吃点冰淇淋,而不是另一种“Netflix and chill”。


但只是将路由器通上电而不采取一系列步骤保护您自己就像购买并搬入一间新房子却没有换锁并保持正门敞开一样。或者更好的比喻是更像一辆车。有句古谚是这样说的,如果有人真的想要偷你的车,关键点并不是尝试阻止他们,而是采取一系列措施来增加偷车的难度,对他们造成更多的困扰,让他们转向更加容易的目标。

完成以下六件事可以确保您的WiFi网络的安全,并始终正常运转,足以保证您流畅地观看高清视频或畅玩网络游戏。让我们了解一下如何确保您的WiFi安全,这样您就可以更加安心的进行网上冲浪。

#1: 更改默认登陆


如果您想要了解“如何保障我的WiFi安全”,请从这里开始:不要使用默认密码。默认密码通常会设为“000”或“password”,或者如果是路由器的话,通常是路由器背面的序列号。这意味着看到路由器或拍摄有路由器照片的任何人都能够获取管理密码,并用它来对您的路由器进行重新配置以窃取您的信息。


所以想要确保WiFi路由器安全,首先需要做的是:

  1. 通过以太网连接来连接路由器。不要使用WiFi连接来获取管理员访问权限。查看使用手册,通常来说,您可以通过http://192.168.0.1或http://192.168.1.1.来访问路由器的管理界面。
  2. 一旦进入管理界面,使用默认用户名和密码登录。即使您想要更改它,您第一次使用还是需要通过它来登陆。
  3. 根据您的路由器的不同,更改管理用户名和密码的步骤也将有所差异。对于Arris而言,相关内容位于登陆设置项下:
更改路由器登陆密码
  1. 同时更改用户名和密码。将用户名和密码写下来并将它们保存到一个安全的位置,如家庭保险箱中。不要将它交给您的孩子–您知道这样做的结果通常都很糟糕。

这是保障您的WiFi网络安全的第一步。但并没有结束。

#2: 更改并隐藏您的服务集标识符


SSID是保障您的WiFi网络安全的标识。它是一个名称,用户通过它能够找到相应的网络并连接上网,这同时也是将某一网络与其他网络区分开来的方式。它也是由您的路由器默认设定的,通常是其序列号的某种组合,如“F27N37552”,或者,更有甚者,有的还会使用路由器的类型命名,如“NetGear001”或供应商的名称“VerizonBox”。

这些名称出于各种原因也并不是好的选择。通过SSID告诉用户其所连接的是哪种类型的网络或路由器也会使得黑客能够更加轻松地找到攻击您的网络的最好的方法。

通过更改SSID来防止这种情况的发生。部分路由器设置允许您指定多个网络(之后会更多)。

查看您的使用手册,常规步骤是:

  1. 登陆您的路由器(您确实在第1步设置了新的用户名和密码,对吧?)。
  2. 选择您的WiFi网络。
  3. 更改SSID,关闭“传播网络名称”。

更改SSID

保存这些设置。WiFi网络将仍然继续工作,只是将不会将其名称告诉每个人。当您处于连接状态时,确保预先共享的密钥是独一无二的。不要使用“password”或“mine”或您的生日。最好的选择是既方便记忆,同时又具有独特性。

现在我们处于隐藏状态,陌生访客未经许可无法接入。但仍然还有很多可以采取的措施。

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。

#3: 加密处理以确保WiFi流量的安全


大多数现代路由器在默认状态下是自动开启加密的。但是–您确定它已经启用了吗?不要假设它已开启–检查一下。它应当至少设为WPA2 –这使用的是被称为AES的加密算法。您不需要弄清楚AES到底是什么意思–它就像是一把把锁一样。对于之前的WEP系统,有人可能只是需要不断尝试密钥直至解锁您的网络之门。而对于WPA2,这些人需要尝试几百万把钥匙才可能获得一丝开锁的机会。

为您的WiFi网络开启自动加密的步骤视设备的不同而有所差异,但是就像步骤3一样,请查看一下您的WiFi网络:

  1. 登陆您的路由器。
  2. 将安全模式或加密等级设为“WPA2”-最推荐的设置是WPA2-PSK。
设置安全模式

部分路由器支持WPA2-AES/TKIP加密协议。这仅限于您的系统支持WPA2,而不是WPA2-AES的情况。这应当仅在您有部分老式设备的情况下可以使用。

支持加密将帮助防止有人对您的网络进行窃听,尤其是当您在进行银行转账,查看投票信息,或观看最新一集的“美少女谎言”(我不是在批评你)的时候。

#4: 设置一个访客网络


有时候您的朋友或家人可能前来拜访。当他们与您在一起的时候,他们问及的最可怕的问题是:“你怎么看待政治”?

然后他们问及的第二个最可怕的问题是:“你的WiFi密码是什么”?

在您开始挣扎之前,您有另外一个选择:创建另外一个WiFi网络。很多路由器支持指定两个网络。

设置一个附属WiFi网络是一个好主意,这通常被称为访客网络。仅对访客开放。他们可以拥有访问此网络的WiFi密码,连接进入访客网络,但是他们无法进入主WiFi网络。

为什么要这样做?这并非是因为您不相信您的家人。除非可能是您的艾德娜阿姨,您确信她想要窃取您的“小马宝莉”DVD合集。但是如果他们拥有了您的WiFi SSID和密码,而他们的笔记本或台式电脑曾被攻击的话,这意味着黑客也可能通过他们侵入您的网络。

设置访客WiFi账户–如果您的路由器支持它,这是很好的做法:

  1. 只要在需要的时候开启它。当您没有访客来访的时候,关闭它。
  2. 在访客网络每次关闭的时候请更改SSID和WiFi密码。这样的话,即使有人黑入了您的访客设备,等到他们进入您的网络时已经为时已晚。您已经拒绝了他们的访问。

设置访客网络并且仅在需要时允许访问,这可以大大降低被陌生访客侵入网络的几率。

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。

#5: 设置防火墙


防火墙相当于允许流量进出的“关口”。大多数时间,对于任何防火墙而言,最有效的规则是这样的;

  1. "规则1:不要让外部世界的任何人连接入内。 通常来说,规则可以这样写“Any: DENY”。"
  2. 规则2:仅允许响应内部到内部的请求。

防火墙上有很多其他重要的设置可以轻微调整。另有一个重要设置被称为“启用Ping Blocking”,如果您的路由器支持的话。Ping Blocking是指路由器在有人向其发送“ping”时将予以响应。黑客们有这样的程序,可以持续ping网络,以确认它们是否是活跃网络,然后就会尝试着去弄清楚其中所承载的数据。如果您的路由器被设为忽略Ping请求,那么它甚至将会防止让人知道您在那里。

另外一个设置是拦截“碎片数据包”。数据包是网络的一部分,包含指向数据包归属和携载信息的标头。这就像是各个计算机在网络上向彼此寄信一样。信封显示的是信的寄出地址以及发往地址,信封里面是实际的信息。

但是有时候黑客将会发送碎片数据包。这个数据包的发送目的是令路由器或计算机陷入混淆,进而接受他们通常会拒绝的恶意信息。它可以诱骗计算机予以授权,因为计算机将竭尽所能地去猜测碎片流量是指向怎样的信息的。通过拒绝这些碎片数据包,它可以从最开始来预防相关问题的出现:

设置防火墙

#6: 了解其他WiFi网络


通过五个步骤查看网络,是无线网络安全的良好开始。

以往只是这样,现在您还应当了解网络和您的建筑物内的风险。聪明的黑客有时候会进入您的企业并在以太网络中接入一个小型WiFi路由器,这样他们就能够从建筑物外部访问内部网络。

您将会需要一款优秀的网络分析仪来找出您的建筑物内的任何流氓WiFi网络。下载NetSpot -免费版可显示它所检测到的不同网络。如果有信号较强的网络或您并不了解的网络,它可以帮助您找到并关闭它们。

NetSpot发现模式

只需简单地锁定系统,并使用NetSpot查找陌生网络并将其关闭,即可保护您的网络安全,这样陌生访客就无法在未经您授权的情况下窃取您的网络信息。它可以让您安心并省却很多的麻烦。

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。
还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

• #1 NetSpot
  • Best WiFi tool to assess your WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

6 Ways To Secure Your WiFi Network

From hackers to network leeches, there are people who want to gain access to your WiFi network to either steal your bandwidth or your money.
CHECKED BY
  • NetSpot
  • Essential for WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

To keep people out of your home or business’s wireless network, use these steps to tighten up security and protect yourself.

How To Secure WiFi


When that new router comes into the house from the local cable company or whatever telecom you use, it’s too easy just to plug it in, connect up, and start playing the latest version of Fortnite or getting ready for a night of Netflix and chilling - only you really intend to watch Netflix and eat some ice cream, not the other kind of “Netflix and chill”.

But just plugging in that router without taking steps to protect yourself is like buying a new house and moving in without changing the locks and leaving the front door open. Or perhaps a better analogy is like a car. There’s an old saying that if someone really wants to steal your car, the point isn’t trying to stop them, but making things so difficult and annoying for them that they move on to an easier target.

These are 6 things that can be done to make sure that your WiFi network is safe, secure, and still works well enough for those late night Player Unknown BattleGrounds sessions. Let’s go over how to secure your WiFi so you can use the Internet with a little more peace of mind.

#1: Change the Default Login


If you’re wondering “How to Secure My WiFi”, start here: don’t use the default password. Too often the default password is “000” or “password” or in the case of routers, it’s the serial number, which is on the side of the router. This means if anyone has seen the router or taken a picture of it could figure out what the administrative password is, and use that to reconfigure the router to steal information from you.

So the first thing to do when looking to secure a WiFi router:

  1. Connect to the router via an Ethernet connection. Do not use a WiFi connection to get to the administrative access. Check the manual, but usually, the Admin interface for a router is at http://192.168.0.1 or http://192.168.1.1.
  2. Once in, log in with the default admin username and password. Even though you want to change it, you still have to get in the first time.
  3. Depending on your router, the steps to change the administrative username and password will be different. For Arris, this is listed under Login settings:
Change router login password
  1. Change both the username and the password. Write these down and store them in a secure location, like a home safe. Don’t give it to your kids - you know that will end badly.

That’s the first step to securing your WiFi network. But it’s not the last.

#2: Change and Hide your SSID


The SSID is the identity for your secure WiFi network. It’s the name people use to find it and connect to the network, and how to set it apart. It’s also set by default by your router, usually some combination of its serial number like “F27N37552” or, even worse it identifies what kind of router it is like “NetGear001” or the provider with “VerizonBox”.

All of these are bad for different reasons. With the SSID telling the user what kind of network or router is being used makes it easier for hackers to figure out the best way to attack your network.

Stop them by changing the SSID. Some routers even let you specify multiple networks (more on that in a moment).

Check your manual, but the typical steps are:

  1. Log into your router (you did set up a new username and password from Step 1, right?).
  2. Select your WiFi network.
  3. Change the SSID, and turn off “Broadcast Network Name.”

Change SSID

Save those settings. The WiFi network will still work, it just won’t tell everyone about it. While you’re at it, make sure that the Pre-Shared Key is something unique. Don’t stick with “password” or “mine” or your date of birth. A few words that are easy to remember, but unique to you is best.

Now we’re hidden and people just can’t get in without permission. But there’s still more.

Check your encryption with NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.

#3: Encrypt to Secure That WiFi Traffic


Most modern routers automatically turn on encryption by default. But - are you sure it’s enabled? Don’t assume it is - check it. It should be at least set to WPA2 - this uses an encryption algorithm called AES. Don’t worry about what that all means - it’s like a series of locks. Under the old system WEP, someone could just keep trying keys until it unlocked the door into your network. Under WPA2, there are millions of keys that have to be tried before there’s even a chance to get in.

The steps for turning this on for your WiFi network will differ with each device, but just like Step 3, take a look at your WiFi network:

  1. Log into your router.
  2. Set Security Mode or Encryption Level to “WPA2” - the most recommended setting is WPA2-PSK.
Set Security Mode

Some routers support an encryption protocol WPA2-AES/TKIP. This is in the event that your system supports WPA2, but not WPA2-AES. This should only be used if you have some older devices around.

Supporting encryption will help keep people from listening into your network when you’re doing things like banking, looking up voting information, or binge-watching the latest episodes of “Pretty Little Liars” (I’m not judging you).

#4: Set Up A Guest Network


Sometimes you’ll have friends or family over. And when they’re with you, they’ll ask the most dreaded question of all: “What do you think about politics?”

Then they’ll ask the second most dreaded question: “What’s your WiFi password?”

Before you start the pitchforks and torches, there is another option: create another WiFi network. Many routers support the ability to specify two networks.

A good idea is to set up a secondary WiFi network, usually called a Guest network. Just for guests. They can have the WiFi password for this network, connect in, and not have central access to the main WiFi network.

Why do it this way? It’s not that you don’t trust your family. Except maybe Aunt Edna, who you are pretty sure stole your My Little Pony DVD collection. But if they have your WiFi SSID and password, if their laptop or tablet is ever compromised, that means a hacker can have it as well and get into your network.

Set up the guest WiFi account - if your router supports it, and here’s a good practice:

  1. Only turn it on when needed. When you don’t have guests over, turn it off.
  2. Change the SSID and WiFi password to the guest network every time it’s turned back on again. This way even if someone has hacked one of your guest’s machines, by the time they get to your network, it’s too late. You have denied them that access.

Setting up a guest network and allowing access only when needed cuts down on the odds of someone breaking into the network.

Check your Encryption using NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.

#5: Set Up The Firewall


A firewall is a barrier where only traffic that allows comes in or out. Most of the time, the most effective rule for any firewall goes like this.

  1. Rule 1: DO NOT LET ANYONE FROM THE OUTSIDE WORLD CONNECT INSIDE. Usually, this is listed as “Any: DENY.”
  2. Rule 2: Only allow responses to request coming from inside to come inside.

There are other important settings to tweak on the firewall. Another good setting if supported by your router is “Enable Ping Blocking.” Ping Blocking is where a router will respond if someone sends a “ping” to it. Sometimes a hacker will have a program that will continually pink networks to see if they’re active, then start trying to figure out what’s running on it. If your router is set to ignore Ping requests, then it stops people from evening knowing you’re there.

Another setting is to block “fragmented packets.” A packet is a bit of network, containing a header saying where the packet is going and what information it carries. It’s like a letter that computers send each other on the network. The envelope shows where the letter came from and where it’s going to, and inside the letter is the actual information.

But sometimes a hacker will send a fragmented packet. This is a packet that is formed badly on purpose to confuse the router or computers into accepting bad information that they usually would deny. It can trick the computer into granting access because the computer will do it’s best to guess what the fragmented traffic is trying to get to. By denying these, it prevents those issues in the first place:

Set Up The Firewall

#6: Know the Other WiFi Networks


Locking down the network with the five steps listed are a good start to good wireless network security.

Past just locking it down, you should also know what’s out there on the network, and in your building. Sometimes a clever hacker can get into a business and plug in a small WiFi router into the Ethernet network so they can access it from outside the building.

You’re going to want a good network analyzer to find any rogue WiFi networks in your building. Download NetSpot - the free version can show the different networks it detects. If there are networks that are coming on strong or aren’t ones you know about, it can help you find them and shut down.

Netspot Discover mode

Secure your network with a bit of simple locking down of the system, and using NetSpot to find anything that doesn’t belong and turn it off so people can snitch on what your network is doing without your authorization. It’ll grant peace of mind and save a lot of heartaches after.

Check your Encryption using NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.
Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, best WiFi routers, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews