• #1 NetSpot
  • Meilleur outil WiFi pour évaluer votre sécurité WiFi
  • 4.8
  • 957 Commentaires des utilisateurs

Meilleur outil WiFi pour évaluer votre sécurité WiFi

La sécurité des réseaux sans fil est la priorité principale de toute personne construisant ou restructurant un tel réseau. NetSpot vous offre tous les outils nécessaires pour diminuer le plus possible les risques de sécurité du réseau Wifi.
VÉRIFIÉ PAR
  • NetSpot
  • Essentiel pour la sécurité WiFi
  • 4.8
  • 957 Commentaires des utilisateurs

Comment sécuriser votre réseau Wi-Fi

Avec les réseaux traditionnels, le problème c'est que d'autres personnes peuvent se connecter en utilisant votre connexion haut débit, même s'ils ne sont pas autorisés. Rogue AP, des stations associant le mauvais AP et wardriving… De nos jours, les sérieux défauts de sécurité, les vols et les falsifications de données personnelles et sensibles ne sont pas rares.

Les problèmes généraux liés à la sécurité des réseaux sans fil

Les problèmes possibles sont :

  1. Confidentialité: Les données que vous envoyez à travers le réseau devraient vraiment bien être codées afin de ne pas être interceptées et lues par des individus indésirables. Le bon moyen de décoder les données est une clé et un bon processus d'authentification.
  2. Intégrité: Les réseaux sans fil sont plus exposés aux attaques ayant pour objectif l'intégrité des données.
  3. Disponibilité: Le brouillage radio peut facilement restreindre la disponibilité d'un réseau. Un autre type d'attaque, appelé l'attaque de l'épuisement de la batterie, est lorsque des parties non autorisées envoient en continu des messages ou certaines données à des dispositifs connectés pour épuiser leurs batteries.
  4. Écoute illicite et authentification: Étant donné que les réseaux sans fil sont diffusés, il existe de nombreux points d'accès sujets à être utilisés pour accéder au réseau. Empêcher les écoutes illicites est important.
  5. Bluesnarfing ou bluejacking: Ces attaques sont effectuées par Bluetooth afin de voler ou de falsifier des données.
  6. Wardrivers: Ils effectuent des attaques avec des dispositifs sans fil, tels que des ordinateurs portables, en essayant de se connecter à un réseau non-protégé avec l'intention d'enregistrer les données privées d'autres utilisateurs de ce réseau.

Cependant, il n'est pas si difficile que ça de sécuriser votre réseau sans fil. sécuriser votre réseau sans fil.

Sécurité sans fil : par où commencer?

Tout d'abords, effectuez une analyse du site avec l'outil d'analyse du réseau Wifi NetSpot. Il vous aidera immédiatement à détecter et éliminer les Rogue AP — ceux qui ont été déployés sans votre permission.

L'analyse du site vous aidera également à exposer les stations de travail non autorisées. Organisez un inventaire des ordinateurs portables et PDA avec des adaptateurs sans fil, avec des utilisateurs, des adresses MAC et des informations des systèmes d'exploitation. Ces données sont utilisées pour contrôler les accès WLAN. Si des adaptateurs WLAN sont mal positionnés ou volés, une liste mise à jour est essentielle.

Vous pouvez découvrir des AP et des stations à proximité qui n'appartiennent pas à votre réseau. Une bonne chose à faire est une analyse des zones publiques environnantes, à tous les étages. Les adresses MAC devraient être enregistrées, avec le nom du réseau (SSID) et le canal. Utilisez ces données pour éviter les interférences croisées et éliminez la possibilité de fausses alertes d'intrusion positives.

Il est recommandé d'obtenir des AP avec des antennes de qualité supérieure et un signal clair et puissant. Leur approche restrictive fournira une meilleure sécurité du signal et moins de fuite en-dehors où un wardriver peut l'intercepter.

Découvrez votre codage avec NetSpot

Un outil puissant avancé pour plusieurs études, analyses et résolution de problèmes de réseaux Wi-Fi.

Étapes pour sécuriser votre réseau sans fil

Quelques étapes simples à suivre pour sécuriser votre réseau Wifi :

Étape 1

Mots de passe uniques

Créez des mots de passe uniques pour vos routers. Créer des mots de passe peu commun empêchera les utilisateurs non-autorisés d'avoir accès à un routeur et vous aidera à conserver les paramètres de sécurité du Wifi que vous avez configurés.


Étape 2

Actifs à protéger

Pour sécuriser votre réseau Wifi chez vous, chaque partie de vos données doit être protégée. Comme pour votre réseau professionnel, il est important de décider quels actifs ont besoin d'une protection et quel serait l'impact d'un vol, d'un dommage ou de la perte de ces données. Selon votre décision pour certains actifs, énumérez les menaces et les risques. Après avoir effectué ce travail de base, prenez en considération des alternatives de construction du réseau WLAN.


Étape 3

Topologie du réseau

Pensez comment les nouveaux segments WLAN vont être intégrés et comment vous utiliserez les composants déjà existants de votre réseau câblé. La topologie, le placement des dispositifs et les mesures de sécurité que vous entreprenez auront un impact direct sur la sécurité LAN sans fil.

Appliquez des mesures de restriction au placement des AP au sein de votre réseau. Tous les AP sans fil doivent être considérés comme non-viables et placés hors du pare-feu ou au sein d'une DMZ.

Intégrez des réseaux Wifi et des dispositifs sans fil avec une structure de gestion déjà existante. Choisissez si les AP, les stations et les programmes WLAN ont besoin d'un inventaire, d'une configuration supplémentaire et d'une surveillance.


Step 4

Codage de réseau

Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) est un protocole de sécurité qui aborde les faiblesses trouvées dans le système WEP précédent avec deux types de produits capable d'interopérer. Ce protocole intègre les parties stables de la norme de sécurité 802.11i qui est un travail en cours.

Après avoir parcouru la démonstration de faisabilité et appliqué les démonstrations publiques, WPA a fait preuve de quelques faiblesses et tout comme WEP était susceptible aux intrusions.

Vous devriez utiliser WPA2 dès que possible, et uniquement utiliser WPA dans les cas où ce n'est pas compatible avec un point d'accès. Parfois, la vitesse d'un réseau peut être affectée par l'usage WPA2, et donc WPA devient alors une option, cependant il serait beaucoup plus approprié pour la sécurité du réseau de mettre à jour les points d'accès. Lorsque aucune des normes WPA ne peut être utilisées, alors utiliser WEP est possible.

UPD: WPA3 est la prochaine génération du protocole de sécurité, et il vaut vraiment toute votre attention. WPA3 fournit une meilleure sécurité et vous protège même contre vos propres failles de sécurité.

Qu'est-ce qu'une norme WPA3 offrira une fois qu'elle sera largement introduite:

Des connexions plus sûres

Si nous revenons en 2004, lorsque le WPA2 a été présenté, Internet était différent, il a beaucoup changé depuis. Actuellement, WPA2 ne présente pas une méthode fiable pour embarquer de nouveaux dispositifs sur un réseau sans fil. La méthode de Wi-Fi Protected Setup a rencontré des difficulté depuis 2011 et a besoin d'être réparée. WPA3 promet d'offrir ses réparations.

Le produit Wi-Fi Easy Connect de Wi-Fi Alliance permet aux utilisateurs d'embarquer des dispositifs sans ou avec un écran ou des options de saisie limités. Cette méthode simplifie considérablement l'embarquement car vous avez juste besoin de scanner un code QR sur votre routeur et un dispositif, ainsi tout le reste peut être fait automatiquement.

Lorsque vous scannez un code QR, vous utilisez un codage basé sur une clé publique, connectant ainsi des dispositifs qui n'ont pas de mécanismes de sécurité autrement.

Le tout nouveau programme Wi-Fi Certified Enhanced Open mis en place offre d'excellents nouveaux avantages aux utilisateurs de réseaux sans fil ouverts. Ce n'est pas une nouveauté que les réseaux Wifi ouverts ne sont pas compatible avec une navigation sécurisée, il n'a donc jamais été recommandé de saisir des données sensibles lorsque l'on est sur un réseau ouvert.

Vous savez probablement que c'était à cause de la vulnérabilité du protocole WPA2 - toutes les personnes qui se trouvent sur le même réseau que vous peuvent avoir accès à votre activité en ligne et effectuer des attaques. Une fois que vous pouvez utiliser WPA3 sur un réseau Wifi public votre connexion sera automatiquement codée grâce à la norme "Opportunistic Wireless Encryption".

Protection du mot de passe

Le mot de passe est la première chose la plus importante à laquelle vous devez penser lorsque vous prenez en compte la sécurité de votre réseau Wi-Fi. Nous ne recommandons pas l'utilisation de mots de passe simples, mais vous pourrez sûrement minimiser les dommages avec WPA3.

Le protocole WPA3 présente le nouveau processus d'échange de codes vous protégeant contre les attaques par dictionnaire qui sont également très populaires avec WPA2. Une attaque par dictionnaire c'est lorsque des pirates exécutent simplement un processus qui utilisent tous les mots et associations de mots du dictionnaire et craquent les mots de passe simples et ordinaires.

Une autre faiblesse de WPA2 — l'usage d'une poignée de main à quatre phases entre les clients et les points d'accès — sera éliminé dans WPA3 grâce à sa poignée de main Simultaneous Authentication of Equals sécurisée et fiable.

Même si votre mot de passe est compromis lorsque vous utilisez WPA3, vos données devraient être conservées en toute sécurité grâce à la confidentialité persistante du protocole. Ceci signifie que tout le trafic envoyé et reçu avant l'attaque est codé et le reste. Le trafic antérieur WPA2 n'était pas codé et les pirates pouvaient facilement obtenir des informations.


Étape 5

VPN

Si votre entreprise utilise déjà un accès VPN, pensez à l'utiliser pour la sécurité WLAN. Il est plus utile lorsque les politiques de sécurité WAN et LAN sont cohérentes avec les mêmes algorithmes et références de codage.

Cependant, les LAN sans fil disposent de leur propre ensemble de problèmes VPN :

  • Avec une connexion LAN sans fil à haut débit, il y a plus de données à coder. Afin de fournir un soutien au codage sans fil on peut avoir besoin de passerelles supplémentaires, surtout si 802.11a/g est utilisé à des vitesses allant jusqu'à 54 Mbps.
  • Des tunnels sont liés aux adresses IP. Avec des AP changeant d'adresse IP, les tunnels cassés sont rétablis mais la perturbation est souvent remarquable. Pour les réseaux sans fil plus petits, plusieurs points d'accès peuvent partager la même portée DHCP, alors que des réseaux sans fil plus importants lorsque des stations parcourent le tunnel une persistance peut être fournie par les passerelles sans fil.
  • Le déploiement d'un client peut être coûteux et difficile à mettre en place. Réutiliser des clients déployés est une tâche différente à celle d'en ajouter de nouveaux avec de nouvelles politiques.

Étape 6

Contrôler la portée du réseau sans fil

Lorsque vous travaillez dans des bureaux plus petits, vous n'avez pas besoin d'une grande portée active de votre router. Vous pouvez changer le mode de votre routeur à 802.11g (au lieu de 802.11n ou 802.11b) ou commencer à utiliser un autre canal Wi-Fi.

Conserver votre réseau sans fil en toute sécurité

Pour conserver votre LAN sans fil en sécurité vous avez besoin de définir et d'appliquer les bonnes mesures de sécurité pour protéger les points d'accès des wardrivers. Il y a des outils de sécurité du réseau de qualité supérieure disponibles qui peuvent découvrir le WLAN, tester la pénétration et évaluer la vulnérabilité.

Vous pouvez utiliser NetSpot pour analyser le site. Puis, de temps à autre, l'exécuter pour garantir qu'aucun rogue AP et qu'aucune connexion non-autorisée n'est présente sur votre réseau.

Découvrez votre codage avec NetSpot

Un outil puissant avancé pour plusieurs études, analyses et résolution de problèmes de réseaux Wi-Fi.
Plus de questions ?
Envoyer une demande ou écrire quelques mots.

Poursuivez votre lecture pour tout savoir sur le Wi-Fi

Si vous voulez plonger plus en profondeur dans ce qu'est le Wi-Fi, découvrez les articles suivant sur la sécurité Wi-Fi, les meilleures apps pour du réseautage sans fil, Wifi à bord, etc.

Autres Articles

Obtenez NetSpot Gratuitement
Les études de site Wi-Fi, les analyses et la résolution de problèmes s'exécutent sur un MacBook (macOS 10.10+) ou autre ordinateur portable (Windows 7/8/10) avec un adaptateur standard de réseau sans fil 802.11a/b/g/n/ac.
  • 4.8
  • 957 Commentaires des utilisateurs

• #1 NetSpot
  • Best WiFi tool to assess your WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

WiFi Security with NetSpot

Wireless network security is a top priority for anyone building or restructuring such network. NetSpot provides you with all necessary tools to decrease WiFi security risks to the lowest possible minimum.
CHECKED BY
  • NetSpot
  • Essential for WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

How to secure your Wi-Fi network

With traditional networks the issue is that others can connect to Internet using your broadband connection even though they are not authorized to. Rogue APs, stations associating with the wrong AP and wardriving… Currently serious security breaches, sensitive data theft and forgeries are not that uncommon.

The general security issues for wireless networks

The possible problems are:

  1. Confidentiality: the data you send through the network should be encrypted really well in order not to be intercepted and read by an unintended person. The proper way to decrypt the data is a key and a proper authentication process.
  2. Integrity: Wireless networks are more exposed to attacks aiming at data integrity.
  3. Availability: Radio jamming can easily restrict the availability of a network. Another type of attack, called battery exhaustion attack, is where unauthorized parties continuously send messages or some data to connected devices to exhaust their batteries.
  4. Eavesdropping and Authentication: As wireless networks are broadcast, there are a lot of access points that are prone to be used for accessing the network. Prevention of eavesdropping is important.
  5. Bluesnarfing or bluejacking: These attacks are performed through Bluetooth in order to steal or tamper the data.
  6. Wardrivers: They perform security attacks with wireless devices like laptops by trying to connect to an unprotected network with the intention of recording private data of other users on this network.

However it is not as difficult as it may sound to make your wireless network secure. Securing your network will prevent others from stealing your bandwidth and will stop hackers from taking control over your machines via your own WiFi network.

Wireless Security: what to start with

Firstly conduct a site survey with NetSpot WiFi Site Survey tool. It will immediately help you detect and eliminate rogue APs — the ones that were deployed without permission.

Site survey also helps expose unauthorized workstations. Organize an inventory of laptops and PDAs with wireless adapters, with user, MAC address and operating system information. This data is used for WLAN access controls. In case WLAN adapters are misplaced or stolen an up-to-date list is crucial.

You may discover close-by APs and stations not belonging to your network. A good thing to do is survey public areas neighboring with your facility, including all levels. The MAC addresses should be recorded, along with network name (SSID) and channel. Use this data to avoid the cross-interference and scratch the possibility of false-positive intrusion alerts.

It is recommended to get APs with high-grade antennas with strong yet tight signal. Their narrow focus will provide better security for the signal and less leaking outside where a wardriver can intercept it.

Check your encryption with NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.

Steps to secure your wireless network

A few simple steps have to be taken to secure your WiFi network:

Step 1

Unique passwords

Create unique WiFi passwords for your routers. Creating unordinary passwords will prevent unauthorized users from getting access to a router and help keep the WiFi security settings that you set up.


Step 2

Assets to protect

In order to secure your WiFi network at home, every piece of your data has to be protected. And as for business network, it is important to decide which assets need protection and what will be the impact of theft, damage or loss of data. Upon deciding on the assets, enumerate threats and risks. After this basic work has been done, begin considering WLAN building alternatives.


Step 3

Network Topology

Think through how new WLAN segments are going to be integrated and how you will use the already existing components of your wired network. The topology, placement of devices and the security measures you take have the direct impact on wireless LAN security.

Apply restrictions to the AP placement in your network. All wireless APs should be untrusted and always placed outside the firewall or within a DMZ.

Integrate WiFi networks and wireless devices with already existing management structure. Decide whether APs, stations and WLAN programs need an inventory, additional configuration and monitoring.


Step 4

Network Encryption

Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) is a security protocol that addresses weaknesses found in the preceding system WEP with both types of products being able to interoperate. This protocol incorporates the stable parts of the 802.11i security standard that is a work in progress.

After going through proof of concept and applied public demonstrations WPA showed some weaknesses and just like WEP was susceptible to intrusion.

You should use WPA2 whenever possible, and only use WPA in those cases when it is not supported by an access point. Sometimes a network speed may be affected by WPA2 usage, and then WPA also becomes an option, however it would be much more appropriate for the network security to upgrade access points. When none of the WPA standards can be used, then using WEP is possible.

UPD: WPA3 is the next-generation security protocol absolutely worth your attention. WPA3 provides better security and even saves you from your own security shortcomings.

What a WPA3 standard will offer once widely introduced:

Safer Connections

Back in 2004 when WPA2 was introduced Internet was different, it changed a lot since then. Currently WPA2 doesn't feature a reliable way to onboard new devices to a wireless network. The Wi-Fi Protected Setup method has known issues since 2011 and needs a fix. WPA3 promises to provide it.

The Wi-Fi Alliance product Wi-Fi Easy Connect allows users to onboard devices without or with a limited screen or input options. This method simplifies onboarding significantly because you need to just scan a QR code on your router and a device and everything else will be done automatically. When you scan a QR code you are using a public key-based encryption thus connecting devices that lack secure mechanisms otherwise.

The newly implemented Wi-Fi Certified Enhanced Open program offers great new advantages to the users of open wireless networks. It's not news that open Wi-Fi networks are not compatible with safe browsing, so it was never recommended to enter any sensitive data while on an open network.

You probably know that it was because of the WPA2 protocol vulnerability — anyone on the same network as you can get access to your online activity and initiate attacks. Once you can use WPA3 on a public Wi-Fi network, your connection will be automatically encrypted thanks to the "Opportunistic Wireless Encryption" standard.

Password Protection

Password is the first and foremost thing you should think of when considering your Wi-Fi network security. We do not recommend using lazy easy to hack passwords in any case, but surely WPA3 will minimize the damage.

WPA3 protocol introduces the new key exchange process protecting you from dictionary attacks that are so popular with WPA2. Dictionary attack is when hackers simply run a process of going through every word and combination from the dictionary and eventually cracking a lazy typical password.

Another weakness of WPA2 — the usage of four-way handshake between clients and access points — will be eliminated in WPA3 with its secure and reliable Simultaneous Authentication of Equals handshake.

Even if your password gets compromised while using WPA3, your data should remain safe thanks to the protocol's forward secrecy. This basically means that all traffic sent and received before the attack is encrypted and remains to be. In case of WPA2 previous traffic was not encrypted and attackers could easily get hold of the information.


Step 5

VPN

If your business is already using a VPN access, think of using it for WLAN security. It makes the most sense when WAN and LAN security policies are consistent with the same encryption algorithms and credentials.

Wireless LANs however have their own set of VPN issues:

  • With a high-speed wireless LAN there is more data to encrypt. In order to provide support for wireless encryption one may need additional gateways, specifically when using 802.11a/g at link speeds up to 54 Mbps.
  • Tunnels are tied to IP addresses. With APs changing IP addresses broken tunnels are reestablished but the disruption is often noticeable. In smaller wireless networks several access points may be sharing the same DHCP scope, while in larger wireless networks when stations roam the tunnel persistence can be provided by wireless gateways.
  • Deploying a client can be expensive and difficult to implement. Reusing already deployed clients is different from adding new ones with new policies.

Step 6

Control the Wireless Signal Range

When working in a smaller office you don't need a high range of your router to be active. You can either change the mode for your WiFi router to 802.11g (instead of 802.11n or 802.11b) or start using a different Wi-Fi channel.

Keeping Your Wireless Network Safe

In order to keep your Wireless LAN safe and secure you'll need to define and apply the right security measures to protect the access points from wardrivers. There are high-quality network security tools available that can discover WLAN, test the penetration and assess vulnerability. You can use NetSpot for site survey and then periodically run it to ensure there are no rogue APs and unauthorized connections in your network.

Check your Encryption using NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.

FAQ

What are the general security issues for wireless networks?

The WiFi security issues you may run into include:

  1. Lack of confidentiality. In order to avoid leaks, the data sent through a wireless network should always be encrypted.
  2. Integrity. Attackers aim at data integrity the most.
  3. Network availability. It can be easily compromised when attacks like radio jamming or battery exhaustion are performed.
  4. Eavesdropping and authentication are a big problem when networks are broadcast.
  5. Bluesnarfing or bluejacking are the attacks that are performed through Bluetooth to steal or tamper with the data.
  6. Wardrivers perform security attacks with the help of wireless devices like laptops. They connect to an unprotected network and try to steal private data of other users on the same network.

Wireless Security: what to start with?

NetSpot WiFi Site Survey tool is a good way to start with your WiFi security. This app helps you find and eliminate rogue APs that you didn't authorize to be deployed. NetSpot site survey will help you detect unauthorized workstations as well.

An up-to-date inventory of laptops and PDAs with wireless adapters, with user, MAC address and operating system information is a must for proper WLAN access controls.

It is also efficient to survey public areas neighboring with your network. You can use the collected data to avoid the cross-interference and eliminate the possibility of false-positive intrusion alerts.

What do you need to do to secure your wireless network?

Secure your wireless network with unique passwords and proper network encryption. Protecting assets and properly organizing network topology is important. Make sure your wireless signal range extends where needed and try using VPN for more advanced features for your network.

How to keep a wireless network safe?

To keep your WiFi network safe you'll need certain security measures in place. There are high-quality network security tools that can discover WLAN, test the penetration and assess vulnerability. Try running a WiFi site survey with NetSpot and make it a habit of doing so regularly to ensure no rogue APs are present and there are no unauthorized connections to your network.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews