使用WiFi热点图提升网络表现

可视化分析使一切变得更加简单!您的WiFi覆盖在热波中予以显示,这样您可以准确查看信号热点,冷点和“适中”点。没有必要猜测您可能需要更好的WiFi覆盖,有了NetSpot热点测绘工具,您将准确看到您需要对其进行提升。

测绘您的WiFi覆盖范围


假设您在家里或办公室中安装了一个小型无线网络,但是并不确定接入点是否表现到最好以及正常覆盖所有区域。欲查看您是否需要提升您的网络覆盖,您可能很费事地研究那些无穷无尽的WiFi强度指标读数,访问和分析这些数据看似没有捷径可走。

另一方面,WiFi热点图并不只是信号强度读数的收集,它是按照不同颜色进行布局的详细热点图,立即为您显示WiFi信号强度更强和最弱的点。

NetSpot是用于布置完美清晰的WiFi热点的综合热点测绘工具。

让NetSpot为您构建WiFi热点图

欲开始WiFi热点图创建,您将需要:

  • 任何MacBook;
  • NetSpot家庭,专业或企业版;
  • 您的家庭/办公室计划(可选).

打开NetSpot,切换至勘测模式并点击“开始新的勘测”。为您的勘测项目,区域命名并选择其范围类型。在此设置下,您可以控制每一次测量的精确半径。为您的区域选择正确的设置以限制您所需要取样的数量并提升您的结果的准确度。

如果您有一份您的区域的地图(推荐,即使不是必需),点击“从文件加载”按钮。如果没有地图,您可以使用NetSpot进行草绘 - 使用“草绘”按钮或开始“样本地图”。

Start with WiFi heatmap creation

一旦准备好开始热点测绘过程,将您的笔记本携至空白地图上的任何地点并标记您的大概位置(一个小点将会显示)。从一个角落开始,沿Z形路径穿过已测空间。在走过若干英尺之后,在地图上标记您的新位置。在整个空间重复您的路径来覆盖区域。绿色圆圈可以在边缘处有一些重叠。如果重叠部分过多或者圆圈丝毫不重叠,点击撤销并使用更好的位置重新测量。

NetSpot热点测绘仪将显示与此类似的路径:

NetSpot heatmapper show a trail

无论您在任何时候需要停止测绘过程,点击“停止扫描”按钮。您将能够从稍后中断的地方进行挑选。您的热点图在准备好之后看起来就像这样:

Heatmap of your home/office

了解有关如何运行勘测以获得最准确的结果的 提示和建议

当您完成测绘过程之后,您可以点击地图上的任意接入点来为其显示信号热点图。红色是最强的信号,而蓝色是最弱的。

左侧的面板将显示您的笔记本可以检测的全部接入点。即使存在来自于邻近网络的APs,但是这并不是问题,因为您在需要时刻关掉它们。

在保存WiFi热点图前,看一下所有的可用视图以分析您的WiFi网络的参数。NetSpot家庭版提供三大主视图,NetSpot专业版和企业版为具备丰富的WiFI网络知识的用户提供了16种视图。

落实WiFi热点图知识


现在您已经拥有了您的家中或办公室内的热点图,您可以对此充分予以利用。全面研究热点图能够帮助您查看您的WiFi覆盖范围内的薄弱区域,确定从哪里着手来修复相关的问题。您可以将其用来:

移动接入点: T第一件应当尝试,也是最简单的事就是绕着接入点来回转。例如,当AP的某一边信号弱的时候,检查那个方向的建筑结构。是否存在阻挡接入点信号的混凝土墙或大型金属柜?解决这类问题的一个简单方法是将接入点移至另一个角落。同时将AP从地板抬高并垂直放置天线(可移动天线)也可以使信号变得更好。

切换频道: 当根据WiFi热点图的显示,您的信号覆盖良好但是传输速度和连接度有所下降的时候,让NetSpot检查您的接入点和泄入已测空间的接入点的统计数据。如果您发现您的AP使用的是像部分其他泄至您的空间的APS的频道6,那么尝试切换至较不拥挤的频道12.更多有关选择WiFi频道的有用信息可以参见这里

添加接入点: 如果您的空间是有线以太网,您总是可以在任何电缆终端添加另一个接入点来增强信号强度。

增添中继器: 大多时候,WiFi路由器和AP能够设置为WiFi中继器。Wi-Fi信号中继可有效增强现有无线网络的覆盖范围。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
NetSpot热点映射工具

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot帮助您创建清晰的WiFi热点图以进行详尽的网络分析并取得更出色的覆盖范围。
获取免费的WiFi覆盖范围测绘软件>

接下来的 WiFi可视化


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于使用标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac
无线网络适配器 (兼容AirPort)的MacBook。
★★★★
4.8分,957位用户参与评分
版本2.10 • 提交您的评论

Use WiFi Heatmap for network improvements

Visual analysis makes things so much easier! Your WiFi coverage is displayed in heat waves so you can see exactly where the hot, cold and "good enough" spots are. There is no need to guess where you may need a better WiFi coverage, with NetSpot WiFi heatmapper tool you'll see exactly where you need to improve it.

Map your WiFi coverage


Let's say you installed a small wireless network at home or at your office, but are not sure if the access points perform their best and cover the area properly. In order to see whether you need to work on your coverage you may go the difficult way of making endless readings off the WiFi strength meter, but there is no way you would want to do it as there is no easy way to access and analyze that data.

A WiFi heat map on the other hand is not just a collection of signal strength readouts, it is a detailed heat map laid out in colors that immediately show you the spots with stronger and weaker WiFi signal strength.

NetSpot is a comprehensive heatmapper tool for laying out the perfectly explicit WiFi heatmap.

Let NetSpot build a WiFi heatmap for you

To start with WiFi heatmap creation you'll need:

  • Any MacBook;
  • NetSpot Home, PRO or Enterprise;
  • A plan of your home/office (optional).

Open NetSpot, switch to Survey mode and click "Start a new survey". Name your survey project, zone and choose its area type. With this setting you can regulate the precision radius of each measurement. Select the correct setting for your area to limit the number of samples you need to take, and increase the accuracy of your results.

If you have a map of your space (which is recommended, even if not required), click the “Load from file” button. If there is no map, you can sketch it with NetSpot - use "Draw it" button or start with the "Sample map".

Start with WiFi heatmap creation

Once ready to start heat mapping process, carry your laptop to any spot on the empty map and mark your approximate location (a small dot will appear). Starting from a corner move in a zigzag path through the measured space. After walking several feet, mark your new location on the map. Repeat your paths throughout the space to cover the area. Green circles can overlap a little at the edges. In case the overlapping is too big or the circles don't overlap at all, click Undo and repeat the measurements with a better positioning.

NetSpot heatmapper will show a trail similar to this one:

NetSpot heatmapper show a trail

Whenever you need to stop the mapping process, click the "Stop scan" button. You'll be able to pick up from where you left off later. Your heatmap looks like this when ready:

Heatmap of your home/office

Check out the helpful tips and hints on how to run a survey for the most precise results.

When you are all done with the mapping, you can click on any Access Point on the map to display the signal heat map for that Access Point. Red is the strongest signal, while blue is the weakest.

The panel on the left side will display all Access Points your laptop could detect. Even if there are APs from neighboring network, it is not a concern as you can switch them off whenever needed.

Before saving the WiFi heatmap, look at all available visualizations to analyze the parameters of your WiFi network. NetSpot Home offers three main visualizations and NetSpot PRO and Enterprise have 16 visualizations for users with profound knowledge of WiFi networking.

Implementing the WiFi Heatmap knowledge


Now that you have a WiFi heatmap of your home or office you can take every benefit out of it. Studying the heat map thoroughly helps you see the weaknesses of your WiFi coverage and gives an idea where to start to fix the issue. So what you can possibly do:

Move the Access Point: The first thing to try, and the easiest, is moving the access point around. For example, when the signal is weak off the particular side of the AP, examine the structure of the building in that direction. Is there a concrete wall or a large metal cabinet or a fridge that is blocking the signal from access point? Something like this can be fixed by simply moving the access point further along to the other corner. Also moving the AP up from the floor and positioning antennas vertically (in case of moveable antennas) can change the situation to the better.

Switch Channels: When according to the WiFi heatmap you are getting a decent coverage, but the transmission speed and the connectivity in general fail, let NetSpot check the statistics on your Access Point and the Access Points that are leaking into the measured space. If you discover that your AP uses channel 6 just like some other APs leaking into your space, try switching to a less crowded channel 12. More useful information on selecting a WiFi channel can be found here.

Add in Access Points: If your space is wired for Ethernet, you can always add another Access Point at any cable termination spot to strengthen the signal.

Add in a Repeater: Most of the time WiFi routers and APs can be set up as WiFi repeaters. Repeating a WiFi signal can efficiently boost the range of an existing wireless network.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot helps you create a clear WiFi heatmap for detailed network analysis and better coverage.
Get the free WiFi coverage mapping software

Next in Visualization


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.