• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

WiFi设计指南:实现更强的信号和更优的覆盖的5大建议

尽管WiFi设计是有技巧的,但同样也需要使用现代化的WiFi设计工具,如NetSpot,使独立WiFi网络设计变得前所未有的简单。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
只要结合所列出的WiFi设计指南建议,任何人都能够以高效的方式成功增强WiFi的性能表现。

覆盖导向 VS 流量导向WiFi设计

WiFi设计有两种不同的方法:以覆盖为导向的WiFi设计和以流量为导向的WiFi设计。

以覆盖为导向的WiFi设计

这种类型的WiFi设计专注于为某个区域覆以强WiFi信号。在大多数以覆盖为导向的场景中,WiFi设备的数量相比所覆盖的区域面积相对比较小。此类场景包括工厂,仓库,医院,和部分办公室。

由于连接的WiFi设备数量较少,我们假设每个接入点的流量始终都是充足的,所以接入点的数量是由它们的信号强度决定的。

以流量为导向的WiFi设计

为大量WiFi设备提供优质的无线服务

这种类型的WiFi设计专注于为聚集于相对小型区域内的大量WiFi设备提供优质无线服务。例如体育馆,忙碌的办公室,图书馆,讲座厅,和校园。除信号覆盖之外,想要为所有的WiFi设备提供优质无线服务还必须考虑若干其他按因素,包括每个接入点的连接设备的数量,装置类型,以及所需要的吞吐量。

户外WiFi网络设计 VS 室内WiFi网络设计

越来越多的数据都是通过WiFi网络传输的,用户现在都希望能够在户外,办公楼附近,学校,和公园及其他公共场所实现无缝连接WiFi。

在过去,以覆盖为导向的WiFi设计是在户外提供WiFi信号覆盖的默认方法,因为之前的WiFi设备远比现在同类设备要贵很多,而且在用的WiFi设备的数量要少很多。

接入点被安装在适当的屋顶或杆子上来最大限度地覆盖到最大面积的区域。同样的方法如今已经不再奏效,可能提供最大覆盖范围的单一接入点目前已经无法满足设备需求。

WiFi设计指南

因此,大多数户外WiFi网络如今都通过搭载多入多出(MIMO)天线的大量小型2.4 GHz和5 GHz接入点来最大限度地提高能量。此类接入点由于外型比较“低调”更为容易隐藏和安装,这意味着它们甚至可以满足最严苛的美感要求。

获取更强信号和更优覆盖的5大建议

我们已经解释了基础的WiFi设计方法,现在是时候更加紧密地来了解一下我们为您精选的用于获取更强WiFi信号和更优覆盖的5大建议。

1. 进行现场勘测

所有的WiFi设计都应当得到全面的现场勘测数据的支持。WiFi现场勘测的目的是确认接入点的理想数量,位置,和配置。您可以轻松进行WiFi现场勘测,只需使用像NetSpot这样现场勘测软件工具即可。

NetSpot将立即对收集的数据进行分析并显示交互式热图视图

您所需要做的只是加载一张待勘测区域的地图或使用NetSpot的内置地图制作器功能来创建一张新的地图,然后根据NetSpot的指示进行操作,直至收集到足够的数据。NetSpot将立即对收集的数据进行分析并显示交互式热图视图,为您提供优秀的WiFi设计所需要的全部信息。

热图视图

您可以将所收集的数据以PDF或CSV格式导出,存档备用或与利益相关者分享它们。

2. SSID数量最小化

有效的WiFi设计都会试图通过SSID数量的最小化尽可能地使无线漫游降至最低限度。理想状态下,常规用户只需要一个主SSID,临时用户使用访客SSID。如此一来,常规用户无论处于何种位置均可连接至同一WiFi网络,而访客却并不需要知道主网络的密码。

网状WiFi

此种WiFi设计可以通过无线网状网络 (WMN)轻松实现,WMN是由以网状拓扑结构组织的无线电节点所组成的通信网络。网状WiFi网络的一个巨大优势是它可以轻松添加额外的节点并扩展信号的覆盖范围和/或能力。

3. 使用双频设备

现代化的WiFi设备不止限于2.4 GHz的频带。近年来很多设备都已普遍支持5 GHz频带,而且同时使用这两种频带可以为用户带来非常多的优势。

例如,双频路由器所提供的带宽是单频路由器的100倍。它们还可以降低发生网络拥堵的可能性,因为5 GHz频带相比2.4 GHz频带拥有更多可用信道。

WiFi频道波

双频路由器可以在两大频率上同时播送信号,将2.4 GHz和5 GHz频带的优势结合起来,为您提供最优质的上网体验,所以真的没有任何理由不使用它们。

4. 实现负载均衡

负载均衡是确保加载数据在多个接入点之间平等分配的重要技术,只有这样才可以高效发挥每一个接入点的作用。例如,接入点可以配置为最多25个客户端提供优质的信号接收能力,但一定不能超过这个数字。

想要使负载均衡达到理想的效果,两个或多个及接入点必须部分重叠,这样才能使客户端始终都能够切换到另一个较为空闲的接入点。接入点的重叠程度可以通过设置接入点功率予以控制,上调或下调均可。

5. 安全第一

WiFi设计过程中应当将安全放在首位。漏洞重重的WiFi网络无疑瞬间就会成为黑客们的目标,黑客们面对这样的WiFi网络从来不会手软,而且攻击十分迅速。

WiFi安全最重要的一个因素是加密。如今,使用WPA2-AES(个人或企业)加密是最为明智的选择,因为普通的WPA已经不再安全了。除加密外,我们强烈推荐用户进行基于角色的访问控制,资料搜集,防火墙,流量检测,和高级威胁保护。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows


结语

WiFi连接已经成为室内,办公室,学校,和政府建筑,乃至户外生活,公园和城市街道中不可或缺的元素。想要设计确保实现充分信号覆盖能力的WiFi网路并非易事,因为覆以单一接入点的特定区域的用户数量近年来已经呈指数增长,与昔日不可同日而语。



但是尽管WiFi网络设计的复杂程度日益加深,但是我们的建议和像NetSpot这样的现代化WiFi设计工具能够帮助您实现成功的WiFi部署,无论您想要连接多少台设备。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。
免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

WiFi Design Guide:
5 Tips for Stronger Signal and Better Coverage

While there is an art to WiFi design, there are also modern WiFi design tools, such as NetSpot, that make it easier than ever to design a dependable WiFi network.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

When combined with the tips listed in this WiFi design guide, anyone can successfully implement robust WiFi in a cost-effective fashion.

Jump to...


Coverage Versus Capacity Based WiFi Design

There are two fundamentally different approaches to WiFi design: coverage-based WiFi design and capacity-based WiFi design.

Coverage-Based WiFi Design

This type of WiFi design focuses on covering a certain area with a strong WiFi signal. In most coverage-based scenarios, the number of WiFi devices is relatively small in proportion to the size of the covered area. Examples include factories, warehouses, hospitals, and some offices.

Because of the relatively small number of connected WiFi devices, it’s assumed that the capacity of each access point will always be sufficient, so the number of access points is determined by their signal strength.

Capacity-Based WiFi Design

PROVIDES GOOD QUALITY WIRELESS SERVICE TO A LARGE NUMBER OF WIFI DEVICES

This type of WiFi design focuses on providing good quality wireless service to a large number of WiFi devices concentrated in a relatively small area. Examples include stadiums, busy offices, libraries, lecture halls, and campuses. In addition to signal coverage, several other factors must be considered to provide good quality wireless services to all WiFi devices, including the number of connected devices per access point, types of applications, and required throughput.

Outdoor WiFi Network Design Versus Indoor WiFi Network Design

More and more data is carried over WiFi networks, and users now expect seamless WiFi access even outside, near office buildings, schools, and in parks and other public venues.

In the past, coverage-based WiFi design was the default approach when providing WiFi coverage outdoors, because WiFi equipment used to be far more expensive than it is today, and because the number of WiFi devices in use was much lower.

An access point was installed on a suitable roof or pole to cover the largest area possible. The same approach no longer works today because a single access point designed to provide the greatest coverage possible is unable to satisfy current capacity requirements.

WiFi Design Guide

As such, most outdoor WiFi network designs now maximize capacity by implementing a larger number of smaller 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz access points with multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antennas. Such access points are easier to conceal and install thanks to their low-profile enclosures, which means they can meet even the strictest aesthetic requirements.

5 Tips for Stronger Signal and Better Coverage

Now that we’ve explained the basic WiFi design approaches, it’s time to take a closer look at our selection of the top 5 tips for a stronger signal and better coverage.

1. Conduct a Site Survey

Every WiFi design should be supported by a comprehensive site survey. The purpose of a WiFi site survey is to determine the ideal number, placement, and configuration of access points. You can easily conduct a WiFi site survey using a site survey software tool such as NetSpot.

NetSpot will instantly analyze the collected data and display interactive heatmap visualizations

All you need to do is load a map of the surveyed area or create a new one from scratch using the map creator feature that comes with NetSpot and follow NetSpot’s instructions until you’ve collected enough data. NetSpot will instantly analyze the collected data and display interactive heatmap visualizations, providing you with all the information you need to come up with a great WiFi design.

Heatmap visualization

You can export the collected data in PDF or CSV for archiving purposes or share them with stakeholders.

2. Minimize Your SSIDs

An effective WiFi design tries to minimize wireless roaming as much as possible by keeping the number of SSIDs to a minimum. Ideally, you want to have just one main SSID for regular users and a guest SSID for temporary users. That way, regular users can remain connected to the same WiFi network regardless of their location, and guests don’t need to know the password for the main network.

Mesh WiFi

This WiFi design can be easily achieved with a wireless mesh network (WMN), a communications network made up of radio nodes organized in a mesh topology. One huge advantage of mesh WiFi networks is how easy it is to add additional nodes and extend coverage and/or capacity.

3. Use Dual-Band Equipment

Modern WiFi devices are not limited to just the 2.4 GHz band. Support for the 5 GHz band has become very common in recent years, and there are numerous benefits of using both bands at the same time.

For example, dual-band routers can provide up to 100x the wireless bandwidth of single-band routers. They also decrease the likelihood of congestion because there are far more channels available in the 5 GHz band than in the 2.4 GHz band.

WiFi channels waves

Dual-band routers can broadcast simultaneously on both frequencies to combine the advantages of the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz band, giving you the best of both worlds, so there’s really no reason not to take advantage of them.

4. Implement Load Balancing

Load balancing is an essential technique for ensuring that the load of data is equally distributed among multiple access points so that each of them can be utilized as effectively and efficiently as possible. For example, an access point can be configured to serve a maximum of 25 clients with good reception and not one client more.

For load balancing to work as intended, two or more access points must partially overlap so that clients can always switch to a different access point, one that’s less busy. The degree of access point overlap can be controlled by setting AP power either up or down.

5. Make Security Your Priority

Security should be a top priority in every WiFi design. A poorly secured WiFi network instantly becomes a target for cybercriminals, who don’t hesitate to exploit its vulnerabilities for their gain.

The most fundamental element of WiFi security is encryption. Today, it’s paramount to use WPA2-AES (personal or enterprise) encryption because even regular WPA isn’t safe anymore. In addition to encryption, it’s highly recommended to implement role-based access control, profiling, firewall, traffic inspection, and advanced threat protection.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

Conclusion

WiFi connectivity has become the way of life both indoors, in offices, schools, and government buildings, and outdoors, in parks and city streets. Designing a WiFi network is no longer a simple matter of ensuring sufficient coverage because the number of users in a specific area covered by a single access point tends to be much higher than it was just a few years ago.



But despite the growing complexity of WiFi networks, our tips and modern WiFi design tools such as NetSpot can help you ensure successful WiFi deployment regardless of how many devices you need to connect.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.