• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

为什么路由器有两种WiFi频带以及它们是如何工作的

如果您看一下您的WiFi路由器,您很可能将会发现它有两种信带:5 GHz和2.4 GHz。您的WiFi路由器为什么会有两种不同的信号,而不是一种呢?我们将分解这种信号的用途,以及为什么未来还会出现更多的频带。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

这是科技不断发生进化的缘故。事情的变化不是为了追求完美,而是为了满足时代的需要。


跳到...


为什么有这么多的WiFi信道?

看一下您的WiFi路由器,无论它是电信公司或互联网服务供应商送给您的还是您为您的公司购买的。如果您查看一下其中的设置,您将注意到大多数WiFi路由器都会标注两种频率,通常是2.4 GHz和5 GHz。为什么要在两种不同的频率上浪费时间呢?

首先,让我们来解释下什么是频率。光速是恒定的。一百多年前,爱因斯坦发现光在任何情况下都是以大约每秒190,000英里的速度传播的。但是光并不会像小子弹那样穿越空气直至射入您的眼镜–它更像是穿越真空的电波。(结果是–光可以同时做到。它能够进入到很多稀奇古怪的东西里)。

光同时具有速度(每秒186,282英里)和频率,它是沿上下轨迹传播的。它的速度在传播过程中不会发生变化,但是频率却可以告诉您光波中有多少能量。

所以这些频率,也即光上下运动的轨迹,实际对信号至关重要。无线电波和微波真的很轻。这就跟您在早上五点看到的穿过您的窗户的太阳光一样,击中您的眼睛并让您后悔曾经出生。但是与太阳光不同,您无法通过肉眼看到无线电波。

这就引发了一个大问题:使用什么频率?这就出现了两大竞争性频率:2.4 GHz或5GHz。

2.4GHz vs 5GHz WiFi

频率的使用在大多数国家是受管制的–这是为了防止有人设置干扰无线电信号和电话正常使用的发射器。这就是克里斯蒂安·斯莱特(Christian Slater)的电影锁不住的天空揭示流氓海盗无线电站的威胁的原因。让那些摇滚青年陷入了困境当中。

所以当工程师检查可用频谱时,他们首先看到的是排在前面的两大频率– 5 GHz和2.4 GHz。如前所释,光现象有时候令人难以琢磨,但有一点是肯定的,也即频率越高,同一空间内的波越多,这意味着数据越高。

如果您能够看到它们的话,它们可能是这个样子的。5 GHz的波长要短于2.4 GHz(这意味着相同区域内的波更多):

WiFi信道波
WiFi信道波

频率不同,其所引发的效果也是不同的。对于5 GHz而言,它可以承载更多的数据,因为它有更多上下起伏的波信号(计算机显示作1和0)。但是问题是频率较高的光波传播距离受限。随着光波的增加,它可能难以穿透像墙壁这样的固体目标,而且高频信号的能量相比低频信号消耗地更快。

对于2.4 GHz而言,它无法传输这么多的信息,但是因为它能耗没有那么高,因此在信号降级之前可以传播到更远的地方。

频率 数据速度 距离
5 GHz 高速 短距离
2.4 GHz 低速 长距离

在WiFi刚得到发明的时候,工程师们就不得不决定该如何取舍。他们是想要更多的数据,还是更大的传输范围呢?

两个标准
两个标准

结果—答案是“是的”。工程师们创建了两个标准— a和b。A使用5GHz频率,B使用2.4 GHz。问题解决了!每个人都会开心!部分路由器仅支持其中一种标准,但是随着时间的过去,制造商们开发出了同时支持这两种网络的路由器。之后当新的WiFi标准出现时,它们也可以向后兼容A或B(如802.11g网络向后兼容使用2.4 GHz的802.11b)。

WiFi频带分解

仅提供多个频率是不够的,还存在多个WiFi频带,也称为WiFi信道。实际上,信道是频率的分段范围。这样一来,多台设备就可以位于同一频率,但同时又有各自不同的分段。

这就像高速公路上的车道–只有一条高速公路,但汽车却可以在各自的车道上有序行驶,不鼓励来回偏离车道。WiFi也是一样。对于2.4 GHz频率而言,它有14个不同的信道,被列为1-14。信道1使用的频率范围是从2.401 GHz到2.423 GHz,信道14的范围是从2.473 GHz到2.495 GHz。5 GHz信道是以同样的方式来分解的,只是部分信号被指定为“室内”与“室外”。

如果同一信道上的设备过多的话您该怎么办呢,这时候您应当将您的路由器和设备设为使用另一信道。您的邻居可能正在使用2.4 GHz而且他们的所有设备都位于信道7上。为了保持您的网络的流畅,您最好将您的设备和WiFi网络设在信道11上。这样就可以避免同一信道上出现信号的串扰。

如何知道信道存在问题呢?最好的方法是通过像NetSpot这样的网络分析工具。NetSpot能够为您列出可检测到的各个网络正在使用的信道情况。

NetSpot — 网络分析工具
NetSpot — 网络分析工具

它还包含一系列其他的工具,可用于追踪信号强度随位置变化的不同的表现情况,各个网络的使用情况,同时可用于找出流氓网络或确定路由器以及您的网络上的中继器的最佳安放位置。

总之,您看一下这款应用就会了解到您的WiFi信号和您的网络以及您的建筑物所在的区域范围内的网络同时使用信道的情况,NetSpot将帮助减少问题的出现,同时增强信号的通信范围和速度。

WiFi频率:未来

那么我们会一直采用这种“或一或二”的频率选择模式吗?这从长远来看可能要沿用较长一段时间。像WiFi 6或802.11 ax这样的新标准将同时使用这两种频率,从而使得通过网络传输的数据量翻一番。1 GHz和7 GHz范围内的新频率也计划将会使用,这将进一步增加数据传输的数量。

最初这两种频率的选择是在网络的物理范围和数据传输速度之间作出的妥协。由于提升天线敏感度的新技术已经得到开发,使之能够检测到使用分形技术的多个频率,这将提升全面提升WiFi网络的性能表现。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows
不要被网络速度的迟滞及其恶劣表现所困扰。如前所述,您一定要通过像NetSpot这样的网络分析工具对您的WiFi网络情况进行检测。您不应当总是盲目地猜测您的网络发生了什么问题,为什么连接速度这么慢且总是发生丢包情形。相反,您应当通过测试工具来确认究竟发生了什么,而不是简单地购买一台新路由器然后寄希望于网络表现可以得到改善。

您的网络正在使用哪个频率和信道,您附近的人都在使用什么网络。俗话说,知己知彼,百战不殆,使用像NetSpot这样的工具才能真正让您做到知己知彼。
还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

Why a router has two WiFi bands and how they work

If you look at your WiFi router, you’ll likely see that it has two communication bands: 5 GHz and 2.4 GHz. Why are there two different signals for your WiFi router instead of just one? We’ll break down what both signals are there to do, and why more are coming in the future.

headAllAboutWiFi

Why So Many WiFi Channels?


Take a look at your WiFi router, whether it’s the one that came from your cable company or internet service provider or the one you bought for your company. If you check out the settings, you’ll notice that most WiFi router list two frequencies, usually 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. Why waste time on two different frequencies?

Turns out technology is a lot like evolution. Things change not to fit some idea of perfection, but to fit the needs and requirements at the time.

WiFi channels

First, let’s explain frequency. Light has a constant speed. It’s been about a hundred years since Einstein came along and revealed the discovery that no matter what’s going on, light is always going at the same speed of about 190,000 miles in a second. Not bad for a little speck of energy. But light isn’t like a bunch of little bullets whizzing through the air until they hit your eye - it’s more like waves traveling through the vacuum. (Turns out - light does both. It gets into a lot of weird timey-whimey stuff.)

Light has both a speed (186,282 miles per second) and a frequency, the way that it moves up and down. It turns out while the speed doesn’t change, the fact that the frequency can tell you how much energy is in the light wave.

So those frequencies, the way light moves up and down, actually matters when it comes to signals. Radio waves and microwaves are really light. The same stuff you see when the sun comes through your window at 5 AM in the morning, hits you in the eyes and makes you regret you were ever born. But unlike sunlight, you can’t see radio waves with the naked eye.

Which lead to the big question: what frequency to use? Two competing ideas came out: 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz.

2.4GHz vs 5GHz WiFi


Frequency use in most countries is regulated - this is to prevent someone from setting up a transmitter that blocks radio signals and telephones from working. It’s why Christian Slater’s movie Pump Up the Volume shows the dangers of rogue pirate radio stations. Just gets those teenagers with their rock and roll in trouble.

So when engineers looked over the available spectrum, two candidates came to the front - 5 GHz and 2.4 GHz. As explained earlier, light does weird things, but one thing to know is the higher the frequency, the more waves in the same space, which means the higher the data.

Here’s an idea of how those waves would look if you could see them. 5 GHz has shorter waves (more waves in the same area) than 2.4 GHz:

WiFi channels waves

Different things happen because of frequencies. At 5 GHz, more data can be carried, because there are more ups and downs (which the computer represents as 1’s and 0’s). But the problem is it’s harder for higher frequency light to go as far. With those increased waves, it can be harder to move through solid objects like walls, and the energy dissipates faster with high-frequency signals versus lower frequency ones.

At 2.4 GHz, not as much information can be transmitted, but because it’s not as high energy, it can go further before the signal degrades.

Frequency Data Speed Distance
5 GHz High speed Low Distance
2.4 GHz Low speed High Distance

Go back to when WiFi was first being invented, engineers had to decide what to do. Did they want a lot of data, or did they want a lot of range?

Two standards

Turns out - the answer was “yes.” Two standards were created - a and b. A would use the 5 GHz frequency, and B would use 2.4 GHz. Problem solved! Everybody is Happy! Some routers were made to only support one of these two standards, but over time manufacturers developed routers that could support both networks. This plays out later on when new WiFi standards were made to be backwards compatible with A or B (such as how 802.11g networks are backwards compatible with 802.11b which uses 2.4 GHz).

WiFi Frequency Band Breakdown


It’s not enough that there are multiple frequencies, but there are also multiple WiFi bands also known as WiFi channels. Really, a channel is a segment range of the frequency. This way there can be multiple devices on the same frequency, but keep to their section.

It’s like lanes on a freeway - it’s one freeway, but cars keep to their own lane, and drifting back and forth is discouraged. WiFi does the same. In the 2.4 GHz frequency, there are 14 different channels, listed as 1 through 14. Channel 1 uses the frequencies 2.401 GHz through 2.423 GHz, and Channel 14 ranges from 2.473 GHz to 2.495 GHz. 5 GHz channels break down the same way only some signals are designated as “indoor” versus “outdoor.”

What this means for you is if there are too many devices sitting on one channel, you can set your router and devices to use another. Maybe your neighbor is using 2.4 GHz and has their devices all on Channel 7. To keep your network working well, it might be a good idea to put your devices and WiFi network on Channel 11. This way there is a lot of crosstalk crowding the signal.

How to know if channels are a problem? The best way is through a network analyzer tool like NetSpot. NetSpot has the capacity to list what channels are being used by different networks detectable by your devices.

NetSpot - network analyzer tool

It features other tools that can be used to track how signal strength changes from location to location, what networks are doing, and can be used to find rogue networks or determine the best places to put routers or repeaters on your network.

Either way, you look at it, knowing about the WiFi signals and channels being used by not just your network, but the networks within range of your building with NetSpot will help reduce issues and increase the communication range and speed.

WiFi Frequency: The Future


So we’re stuck in this “either one frequency or the other” situation in the world? Turns out it might be a good thing in the long run. New standards such as WiFi 6 or 802.11 ax will use both frequencies at the same time, doubling the amount of data that can be transmitted over the network. New frequencies in the 1 GHz and 7 GHz range are planned to be used as well, which will increase the amount of data transmitted over time.

The original two frequencies were selected as a compromise between the physical range of the network, and how quickly to transmit data. As new technologies have been developed to increase the sensitivity of antennae, and allow them to detect multiple frequencies using fractal technologies, the ability of WiFi networks to grow will only be increased.

Don’t be stuck with slow networks and poor performance. As we mentioned earlier, make sure you know what’s going on with your WiFi network with a network analyzer tool like NetSpot. You shouldn’t have to wonder what’s going on in your network, why your WiFi is slow or loses connections. Instead of just buying a new router and hoping for the best, know what’s happening. What frequencies and channels your network is using, and what the networks around you are doing. A wise cartoon show once taught that “Knowing is half the battle”, and using a tool like NetSpot can help you attain that knowledge.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi analysis tool helps in planning, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi analyzer app

Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.