WiFi代表的是什么以及它的工作原理是怎样的?

如今的WiFi可谓无处不在,几乎已经成为了我们生活中不可或缺的一部分,我们不需要依托于任何物理网线,也不需要经历繁杂的设置步骤即可将计算机和移动设备成功连接到互联网。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论
但是如果您之前使用过像NetSpot这样的WiFi分析工具,那么你很可能还会想要知道WiFi是什么以及它的工作原理是怎样的,这也恰恰您将在本文中学习到的内容。

什么是WiFi,它代表的是什么?

WiFi代表无线保真度。这个词是由一家品牌公司创造的,通常只是以缩写的形式出现。它描述的是一种基于IEEE 802.11标准的设备的无线电无线局域网络技术,由电气和电子工程师协会(IEEE)LAN / MAN标准委员会(IEEE 802)进行维护。

IEEE 802.11标准的第一个版本于1997年发布,但它们的起源可追溯到1985年,美国联邦通信委员会发布了无授权使用的ISM频带。如今,IEEE 802.11标准的多个修正版本正在被使用,这也归功于IEEE 802.11硬件的向后兼容性。

WiFi的工作原理是怎样的?

与传统的晶体管收音机类似,WiFi网络使用无线电波在空中传输信息,无线电波是一种电磁辐射,其在电磁波谱中的波长比红外光长。

WiFi无线电波通常具有2.4千兆赫兹或5.8千兆赫兹的频率。这两个WiFi频带之后被细分为多个信道,而每个信道可能同时会被很多不同的网络所共享。

当您通过WiFi网络下载文件时,一个被称为无线路由器的设备首先通过您的宽带互联网连接从互联网接收数据,然后将其转换成无线电波。接下来,无线路由器会向周围区域发射无线电波,并由已发起下载请求的无线设备捕获它们并对其进行解码。

由于WiFi依赖于无线电波,因此WiFi网络可能会受到其他WiFi网络或各种电子设备(包括微波炉,无绳电话,冰箱,电视,晶体管收音机或蓝牙设备)的干扰而中断。

为了确保最佳的WiFi性能,网络管理员通常会借助像NetSpot这样的WiFi分析仪应用来对WiFi连接进行查看,管理和故障排查。NetSpot能够生成综合性的WiFi网络视觉图,突出显示信号薄弱的区域,并揭示产生干扰的潜在原因。在当今无处不在的WiFi网络时代,像NetSpot这样的工具即使对于设置基本家庭WiFi网络也是必不可少的。

NetSpot — WiFi分析仪
NetSpot — WiFi分析仪

尽管NetSpot为广大专业人士所使用,但它同样也适合那些虽然没有时间深入学习网络知识,但同样想要获得其所为之支付且应当实现的WiFi速度的家庭用户。NetSpot可运行于任何装载macOS 10.10+的MacBook或任何装载Windows 7/8/10的笔记本电脑。

最重要的WiFi术语

我们已经为您阐述了WiFi代表的是什么,同时为您提供了得到广泛接受和认可的WiFi的定义,现在是时候深入了解一下其中部分最为重要的WiFi术语了。如您可能预见的那样,我们在这里对IEEE 802.11标准所作的介绍不过是皮毛而已,但是了解如下所描述的术语应当足以帮助您在购买新的WiFi路由器或选择新的互联网服务供应商时做出明智的购买决策。

Wi-Fi无线电频谱


正如我们已经提到的,WiFi以2.4 GHz和5 GHz频率传输。在北美,2.4 GHz频带分为11个信道,其中信道1,6和11不重叠。5 GHz频带被划分为更多的信道,每个国家对其所允许的信道都会应用自己的规则。

这两个频带之间最大的区别在于5 GHz信号范围仅为2.4 GHz信号范围的一半。更糟糕的是,它更加难以穿透墙壁和固体对象。但从另一方面来说,5 GHz频带的使用率远不及2.4 GHz频带,这在WiFi网络几乎无处不在的人口密集的市区地带可谓是一大优势。

802.11网络标准


大多数现代WiFi路由器支持802.11ac网络标准,该标准的多站吞吐量至少为每秒1千兆位,单链路吞吐量为至少为每秒500兆比特(500 Mbit/s)。

许多老式WiFi路由器仅支持802.11n网络标准,其最大净数据速率为600 Mbit / s,有些甚至仅支持802.11g网络标准,其最大净数据速率仅为54 Mbit / s。

由于802.11网络标准是向后兼容的,因此没有理由不购买支持最新802.11n网络标准的路由器,也即802.11ac。

WiFi安全协议


WiFi安全协议可防止未经授权的访问或通过无线网络损坏计算机。最基本的无线安全协议是有线等效加密(WEP)。它于1997年批准使用,由于本身存在一系列安全限制导致2004年被宣布弃用。

WEP后被Wi-Fi保护接入(WPA)和Wi-Fi保护接入II(WPA2)所取代,而后者分别于2003年和2004年得到广泛应用。很快,WPA2将会被WPA3所取代,WPA3使用的是更为强大的加密算法,同时解决了由弱密码所引起的一系列安全问题。

结语

理解WiFi的内涵使您能够无障碍浏览一系列不同的技术和通信协议。它还使您得以更加轻松地使用像NetSpot这样的WiFi分析仪应用。有了NetSpot,您可以对您的家庭网络进行优化,最大限度地提升其性能表现,同时解决各种常见的WiFi问题,如干扰,信号盲区,或低信号强度。您可以从其官网免费下载NetSpot并加入到数以万计的满意用户中来,有了NetSpot,您即使不具备任何专业知识,同样能够成功优化您的WiFi网络。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

What Does WiFi Stand for and How It Works?

We have gotten used to WiFi networks being virtually everywhere, allowing us to conveniently connect to the internet from computers and mobile devices alike without physical cables and complicated setup procedures. But if you’ve ever used a WiFi analysis tool such as NetSpot, you probably also wondered what is WiFi and how does WiFi work, and that’s exactly what you’ll learn in this article.

headAllAboutWiFi

What Is WiFi and What Does WiFi Stand for?


WiFi stands for Wireless Fidelity. This term was coined by a branding company, and it only caught on in its abbreviated form. It describes a technology for radio wireless local area networking of devices based on the IEEE 802.11 standards, which are maintained by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) LAN/MAN Standards Committee (IEEE 802).

The first version of the IEEE 802.11 standards was released in 1997, but their origin dates to 1985 and the release of the ISM band for unlicensed use by the U.S. Federal Communications Commission. Today, multiple revisions of the IEEE 802.11 standards are in use, which is possible thanks to the backward compatibility of IEEE 802.11 hardware.

How Does WiFi Work?


Similar to the traditional transistor radio, WiFi networks transmit information over the air using radio waves, which are a type of electromagnetic radiation with wavelengths in the electromagnetic spectrum longer than infrared light.

WiFi radio waves typically have the frequency of either 2.4 gigahertz or 5.8 gigahertz. These two WiFi frequency bands are then subdivided into multiple channels, with each channel possibly being shared by many different networks.

When you download a file over a WiFi network, a device known as a wireless router first receives the data from the internet via your broadband internet connection and then converts it into radio waves. The wireless router then emits the radio waves to the surrounding area, and the wireless device that has initiated the download request captures them and decodes them.

Because WiFi depends on radio waves, WiFi networks can be disrupted by interference caused by other WiFi networks or various electronic appliances, including microwave ovens, cordless telephones, refrigerators, televisions, transistor radios, or Bluetooth devices.

To ensure optimal WiFi performance, network administrators often rely on WiFi analyzers such as NetSpot to visualize, manage, and troubleshoot WiFi connections. NetSpot can generate a comprehensive visual map of WiFi networks, highlight areas of signal weakness, and reveal potential causes of interference. In the current era of omnipresent WiFi networks, a tool like NetSpot is indispensable even when setting up a basic WiFi home network.

NetSpot - WiFi analyzer

Even though NetSpot is used by professionals, it’s also suitable for home users who don’t have time to learn about the ins and outs of network administration yet still want to enjoy the WiFi speed they deserve and have paid for. NetSpot runs on any MacBook running macOS 10.10+ or any laptop with Windows 7/8/10.

Most Important WiFi Terminology


Now that we’ve explained what WiFi stands for and provided you with a widely accepted WiFi definition, it’s time to take a closer look at some of the most important WiFi terminology. As you can probably imagine, we can only scratch the surface of the IEEE 802.11 standard here, but knowing the terms described below should be enough to help you make wise purchasing decisions when buying a new WiFi router or selecting a new internet provider.


Wi-Fi Radio Spectrum

As we’ve already mentioned, WiFi is transmitted at the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequencies. In North America, the 2.4 GHz band is divided into 11 channels, with channels 1, 6, and 11 being non-overlapping. The 5 GHz band is divided into a much larger number of channels, with each country applying its own regulations to the allowable channels.

The biggest difference between the two frequency bands is the fact that the 5 GHz signal is only about half the range of the 2.4 GHz signal. What’s worse, it has more trouble penetrating walls and solid objects. On the other hand, the 5 GHz band is far less crowded than the 2.4 GHz band, which is a huge advantage in heavily populated urban areas where WiFi networks are virtually everywhere.


802.11 Networking Standards

Most modern WiFi routers support the 802.11ac networking standard, which has a multi-station throughput of at least 1 gigabit per second and single-link throughput of at least 500 megabits per second (500 Mbit/s).

Many older WiFi routers only support the 802.11n networking standard, which has a maximum net data rate of 600 Mbit/s, and some even only support the 802.11g networking standard, which has a maximum net data rate of just 54 Mbit/s.

Since 802.11 networking standards are backward compatible, there’s no reason not to purchase a router that supports the latest 802.11n networking standard, which is 802.11ac.


WiFi Security Protocols

WiFi security protocols prevent unauthorized access or damage to computers using wireless networks. The most basic wireless security is Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP). It was ratified in 1997 and declared deprecated in 2004 because of its security limitations.

WEP was superseded by Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) and Wi-Fi Protected Access II (WPA2), which became available in 2003 and 2004 respectively. Soon, WPA2 will be superseded by WPA3, which uses even stronger encryption and mitigates security issues posed by weak passwords.

Conclusion


Understanding WiFi meaning allows you to navigate the vast see of different technologies and communication protocols. It also makes it easier to use a WiFi analyzer such as NetSpot. With it, you can optimize your home network for maximum performance and solve all common WiFi problems, such as interference, dead spots, or poor signal strength. You can download NetSpot for free from its official website and join the hundreds of thousands of satisfied users who have successfully optimized their WiFi networks without any expert knowledge thanks to NetSpot.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi analysis tool helps in planning, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi analyzer app

Next in All about Wi-Fi


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.