什么是WiFi测绘仪以及它为什么有用

如今的WiFi网络通常十分复杂,因此也经常会出现各种不同的问题,比如如何为大型区域覆盖均匀的WiFi信号以便使其中的每个人都能享受稳定,快速的互联网连接。这恰恰是WiFi测绘仪软件的应用之处,本文的目标就是介绍此类应用并解释其为什么有用。

什么是WiFi测绘仪?


WiFi测绘仪有时候也被简单地称为热图仪,是一款能够创建WiFi热图的软件应用,WiFi热图是一种能够以视图形式突出显示全部区域内的信号薄弱点和信号盲区的特殊的WiFi信号覆盖地图。

热图用于调整和改善无线信号覆盖。在此之前,只有网络专家才懂得如何使用特定的软件来创建热图,而普通的家庭用户对此完全没有办法。但是现在时代发生了变化,热图软件如今已经得到了普通家庭用户的广泛使用。

这对于那些对其WiFi表现感到不满并想要在不付费请技术人员上门情况下对此作出提升的普通家庭用户而言无疑是一个好消息。

我如何阅读WiFi热图?


当您使用像NetSpot这样的WiFi测绘仪工具创建热图时,您将看到覆有不同颜色的WiFi强度标识的区域计划。通常来说,绿色和蓝色指的是较弱的信号,而黄色和红色指的是较强的信号。

WiFi热图上同时还可能有若干空白点。这类空白点通常被称为信号盲区,它们代表的是无信号或WiFi信号尤其弱的地方。信号盲区是所有WiFi用户都不想看到的,因为它们可能可能造成用户在从一个房间转向另一个房间时出现断线的问题。幸运的是,通过一款出色的WiFi测绘仪应用以及对热图创建的了解,用户可以相对比较轻松地消除这些信号盲区。

最佳WiFi测绘仪软件


在选择可用的最佳WiFi测绘仪软件时,我们尤为强调其易用性,因为本文主要是为那些想要提升其WiFi质量的普通家庭用户创作的。但是易用性并不是我们考虑的唯一标准。功能,价格,和支持也同样重要,我们对于最佳WiFi测绘仪应用的选择也恰恰反映了这一点。


1. NetSpot

NetSpot是一款经过了我们的试用和验证的 热图仪应用 ,它为用户提供了两种不同的WiFi分析模式,而且用户界面十分简单,任何人无需阅读操作手册也可轻松上手。

想要使用NetSpot创建WiFi热图,只需打开此应用,切换到勘测模式并点击“开始一项新的勘测”选项。为您的勘测项目挑选一个名称并未它选择正确的 设置 。接下来,您既可以绘制一张全新的您想要勘测的区域的地图,也可以上传一张现有的地图。NetSpot之后将指引您从哪个地图上的一个点走到另一个点,直至您覆盖到地图上的每一个点。如您所见,使用NetSpot创建WiFi热图非常简单,而且速度极快。

WiFi heat map with NetSpot

NetSpot推出了可免费使用的Mac版和Windows版。您同时还可以申领NetSpot PRO的免费7天激活码。NetSpot PRO每个项目可捕捉多达50个区域,而且每个区域最多可拍50张快照。总而言之,NetSpot PRO每张单独的热图能够记录500个数据点,而且以视图形式查看的 接入点 数量不受限制。


2. SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map

SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map是一款表现不错的热图测绘仪应用,功能比较全面,同时还推出了试用版,用户在30天的试用期内功能不会受到任何限制。它可以自动创建自定义Wi-Fi热图,找到信号盲区,并测绘接入客户端的位置。

SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map是网络应用套件的一部分,其套件包含全面的网络带宽分析和性能表现 监测工具 ,其功能旨在帮助用户监测和分析网络带宽表现和流量模式,显示带宽占用情况并确认哪些应用使用的带宽最多,同时还能够追踪响应时间,可用性,路由器,交换机和其他SNMP式的设备的正常运行时间。SolarWinds套装的其他应用包括系统管理软件,云监测工具,和IT安全产品。

SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map

鉴于此,SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map尤为适合那些显著投资于SolarWinds的企业级产品生态系统的用户。当然,普通家庭用户也可以使用,但是不应期待获得与NetSpot用户同类的产品支持。


3. Ekahau Wi-Fi Site Survey and Planner

Ekahau Wi-Fi现场勘测 和规划仪是一款拥有很多颇具吸引力的功能的企业级 WiFi规划 和无线现场勘测工具。它支持802.11n,以及a/b/g,无线网络,能够定位所有的接入点,即使是被隐藏的接入点,还能监测安全设置,可用于任何Windows和macOS笔记本电脑和台式电脑,它同时也是免费的。

为了满足企业用户的需求,Ekahau Wi-Fi site Survey and Planner推出了具备多层和多建筑规划能力的行业最快的3D预测引擎。它还能一键式创建材料清单,覆盖率和性能表现地图,容量信息,以及整个网络布局的总结报告。

Ekahau Wi-Fi Site Survey and Planner

作为一款企业优先的产品,Ekahau Wi-Fi site Survey and Planner对于普通家庭用户可能有点太过了,这也是我们将NetSpot作为首要推荐的原因。NetSpot具有很多与Ekahau Wi-Fi Site Survey and Planner相同的功能,但是它却是以更加容易理解和上手的方式为用户呈现的。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
WiFi Mapper

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot WiFi规划工具帮助轻松实现WiFi网络的分析,
配置和部署。
获取免费的WiFi现场勘测应用

接下来是WiFi规划


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).
★★★★
4.8分,957位用户参与评分
版本2.10 • 提交您的评论

What Is a WiFi Mapper and Why It’s Useful?

These days, WiFi networks are often complex, and with their complexity come various problems, such as how to cover a large area with an even WiFi signal so that everyone can enjoy stable and fast internet access. This is where WiFi mapping software comes in, and the goal of this article is to introduce it and explain why it’s useful.

What Is a WiFi Mapper?


A WiFi mapper, sometimes called simply a heatmapper, is a software application that can create a WiFi heat map, which is a special WiFi coverage map that visually highlights all areas of signal weakness and dead zones.

Heat maps are used to make adjustments and improve wireless coverage. It used to be that only trained networking professionals knew how to create heat maps using specialized software that would be completely inaccessible to regular home users. But times have changed, and heat map software is now more accessible than ever.

That’s great news for regular home users who are not satisfied with their WiFi and would like to improve it without calling over a technician and potentially paying hundreds of dollars for a simple fix.

How Can I Read WiFi Heat Map?


When you create heap maps with a WiFi mapper such as NetSpot, you will see a plan of your area overlaid by a colorful representation of WiFi strength. Typically, greenish and bluish colors indicate a weaker signal, while yellowish and reddish colors indicate a stronger signal.

A WiFi map may also have several blank spots on it. Such spots are commonly called dead zones, and they represent places with no or extremely weak WiFi signal. Dead zones are the nemesis of all WiFi users as they may cause connection drops when roaming from one room to another. Fortunately, it’s fairly easy to eliminate them with a capable WiFi mapper and the knowledge of how to create a heat map with it.

Best WiFi Mapping Software


When selecting the best WiFi mapping software available, we’ve placed emphasis on ease of use as this article is intended primarily for regular home users who wish to improve the quality of their WiFi. But ease of use isn’t the only criteria we’ve considered. Features, price, and support are all just as important, and our choice of the best WiFi mapping software reflects this.


1. NetSpot

NetSpot is a tried and tested heatmapper with two distinct WiFi analysis modes, and a user interface so simple that anyone can use it without reading the manual.

To create a WiFi heat map with NetSpot, just start the application, switch to Survey Mode and click on the “Start a new survey” option. Pick a name for your survey project and select the correct settings for it. Next, either draw a new map of the area you wish to survey or upload an existing one. NetSpot will then instruct you to walk from spot to spot on the map until you’ve covered it all. As you can see, creating a WiFi heat map with NetSpot is extremely simplyand quick.

WiFi heat map with NetSpot

NetSpot works on Mac and Windows and is available for free. Free 7-day activation codes of NetSpot PRO are available upon request. NetSpot PRO can capture up to 50 zones per project and up to 50 snapshots per zone. In total, NetSpot Pro is able to record 500 data points per a single heat map and visualize an unlimited number of access points.


2. SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map

SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map is a capable heat mapper that is available as a fully functioning trial software that can be used for up to 30 days without any limitations. It can automatically create custom Wi-Fi heat maps, find dead zones, and map the location of connected clients.

SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map is part of a broad suite of networking applications that includes a comprehensive network bandwidth analysis and performance monitoring tool with features intended to help you monitor and analyze network bandwidth performance and traffic patterns, identify bandwidth hogs and see which applications are using the most bandwidth, and track response time, availability, and uptime of routers, switches, and other SNMP-enabled devices. Other applications in SolarWinds’ suite include systems management software, cloud monitoring tools, and IT security products.

SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map

As such, SolarWinds Wi-Fi Heat Map is best suited for those who are heavily invested in SolarWinds’ ecosystem of enterprise-grade products. Yes, regular home users may use it as well, but they shouldn’t expect to receive the same kind of product support as the users of NetSpot, for example.


3. Ekahau Wi-Fi Site Survey and Planner

Ekahau Wi-Fi Site Survey and Planner is an enterprise WiFi planning and wireless site survey tool with a number of attractive features. It supports 802.11n, as well as a/b/g, wireless networks, can locate all access points — even those that are hidden — can detect security settings, works on any Windows and macOS laptop and desktop computer, and is free of charge.

To satisfy the needs of enterprise users, Ekahau Wi-Fi site Survey and Planner comes with the industry's fastest 3D prediction engine with multi-floor and multi-building planning capabilities. It can also create summarized reports of the bill of materials, coverage and performance maps, capacity information, and the entire network layout with a single click of a button.

Ekahau Wi-Fi Site Survey and Planner

Being an enterprise-first product, Ekahau Wi-Fi Site Survey and Planner may be a bit too much for regular users, which is why we’ve picked NetSpot as our number one choice instead. NetSpot has many of the same capabilities as Ekahau Wi-Fi Site Survey and Planner, but it presents them in a much more approachable fashion.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi planning tool helps in analysis, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi site survey app

Next in WiFi Planning


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.