家庭网络:基础篇


本文对家庭网络进行了简单扼要的介绍,同时涉及有线和无线网络。本文可以视作新手指南,但是我们相信即使是更加有经验的读者也仍然能够从中学习到东西。

有线网络



有线网络包括使用网线以物理方式相互连接的设备。如今大多数有线网络使用的是以太网线,这种网线有若干不同的种类,可用于一系列不同的目的。

您所遇到的最简单的有线网络可能就是由两台个人电脑组成的,而这两台电脑通过以太网线连接到了一起。想要在此网络中添加更多的计算机,用户可能需要使用路由器来促使全部网络用户之间实现正常的通信。路由器是在计算机网络之间发送数据包的网络设备,其所发送的数据包须抵达其目的地。


非常大型的有线网络通常涉及若干台路由器或交换机,后者是接收,处理,并将计算机网络上的数据包发送至目的设备的网络设备。通常来说,至少有一台路由器或交换机需要连接到向全部连网设备提供互联网接入的调制解调器上。

纯粹的有线网络有时候会被用于安全和隐私目的。因为此类网络上的数据包只会通过有形网线进行传输,对此攻击者想要进行未经授权的访问或嗅探敏感信息要更加困难。

无线网络


无线网络是传统的有线网络的现代化的替代方式,它在涉及构建网络上不同设备之间的连接方面提供更加出色的稳定性的同时还避免了大型建筑物引入有形网线所带来的成本问题。

什么是无线网络?

无线网络是在单独的网络节点之间使用无线数据连接的任意计算机网络。由于节点之间没有经过任何物理连接,这也带来了一系列困难。相比通常使用防护性以太网线的有线网络而言,无线网络通常会受到电磁干扰的影响。

此类干扰可能是由同一区域内的其他无线网络引起的,也可能是由常见的家用电器或产生无线电波的其他类型的设备引起的。电磁干扰对于信号强度和质量会带来负面影响,通常会导致丢包问题的产生或忽然发生断线。

无线网络的信号范围是有限的,对于某无线网络具体的信号覆盖范围可能无法立即予以明确。出于这样的原因,很多网络管理员和普通的家庭用户都会使用无线网络测绘和故障排除应用,如NetSpot。

只需几次点击,NetSpot即可为您创建可视化地图,其中精确显示了无线网络的信号覆盖范围,高亮显示信号强度弱的区域。NetSpot还能够对附近的无线网络进行检测和分析,帮助您消除由信号干扰所引起的问题。最好的一点在于,NetSpot可以免费下载,而且它的用户界面非常简单,我们有理由相信每一位用户都能将此流行的无线网络故障排除解决方案用于改善他们的网络。


无线网络类型

无线网络以及背后的无线科技分为一系列不同的类型。部分无线网络类型,如个人区域网络(PAN),它的信号范围是非常有限的,而其他类型的无线网络,如广域网(WAN),则能够覆盖更大的地理距离。

目前最普遍的无线网络类型是局域网(LAN),它依赖的是一组媒体访问控制(MAC)和被称为IEEE 802.11,或WiFi的物理层(PHY)规格。

WiFi的工作原理是怎样的?


WiFi网络使用IEEE 802.11标准在2.4, 3.6, 5,和60 GHz的频带上进行通信,这种标准是由美国电气和电子工程师(IEEE) LAN/MAN标准协会(IEEE 802)创立和维护的。

标准的WiFi网络由一台无线路由器和一个或多个无线客户端组成。有的路由器能够提供互联网的接入,有的则做不到。如果它能够予以提供,它就可以通过互联网端口连接到有线路由器上,而这个互联网端口也被称为广域网(WAN)端口。

当无线客户端发出数据时,如加载某一网页的请求,相关数据会被编码成为无线路由器所支持的射频并在空气中进行传输。无线路由器之后会通过将信号解码回二进制数据来处理相应的请求。

WiFi标准


最新一代的WiFi设备使用的是IEEE 802.11ac标准,此标准于2013年12月发布。相比部分之前的无线网络标准,如802.11n(有时被称为无线N),或802.11g(这仍然是很多老式设备唯一支持的无线网络标准),802.11ac标准提供了更快的速度,支持波束成形(定向信号传输或接收),高达8 MIMO的空间流,可同时从不同的天线传输无线信号。

WiFi安全


由于拥有支持WiFi上网的计算机的每个人都能够捕捉到无线数据包并尝试从中恢复敏感信息,因此WiFi安全就变得至关重要。

最常见的无线安全算法类型是有线等效加密(WEP)和Wi-Fi保护接入(WPA)。前一种算法于1997年引入,而现在已经被认为是不安全的。实际上,目前已经出现了这样一类应用,拥有智能手机的任何用户只需要在屏幕上点击几下就可以解密受WEP算法保护的WiFi网络上的全部通信内容。

由于它不够安全,WEP于2003年被WPA所取代。一年后,WPA2被引入,其被认为是一种更加安全,复杂的无线安全算法,而且它至今仍然是WiFi安全所采用的标准。

对于私人无线网络而言,WiFi安全同样重要,而且当涉及公共WiFi热点时,其重要性更加明显,这类热点是人们可以通过使用作为接入点的已联网WiFi路由器来连接到无线本地区域网络(WLAN)的方式获取互联网接入的物理位置,其中路由器这样的设备使得客户端得以通过无线连接的方式连接到有线网络。

还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot是一款简单易用的无线网络探测器,能够对您周围的WiFi网络进行深度勘测。
获取免费的WiFi扫描仪应用

接下来全部有关Wi-Fi


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).
★★★★
4.8 rank, based on 957 user reviews
Version 2.10 • 提交您的评论

Home Networking: Basics

This article provides a brief introduction to home networking, covering both wired and wireless networking. The article is intended for complete beginners, but we believe that even more experienced readers can learn something new from it.

Wired Networking


A wired network consists of devices physically connected to one another using network cables. These days, most wired networks use Ethernet cables, which are available in several different categories for a variety of purposes.

Perhaps the simplest wired network you may come across consists of two personal computers connected to each other using an Ethernet cable. To add more computers to such network, a router may be used to facilitate the communication between all members of the network. A router is a networking device that forwards data packets between computer networks until the packets reach their destination.

Very large wired networks often involve several routers or switches, the latter being networking devices that receive, process, and forward data packets on a computer network to destination devices. At least one router or switch is typically connected to a modem that provides Internet access to all devices connected to the network.

Pure wired networks are sometimes used for security and privacy reasons. Since data packets on such networks only flow through network cables, it’s much more difficult for attackers to gain unauthorized access or sniff sensitive information.

Wireless Networking


Wireless networking provides a modern alternative to traditional wired networking, one that avoids the costly process of introducing cables into a building while providing a much greater flexibility when it comes to establishing a connection between various devices on the network.


What Is a Wireless Network?

A wireless network is any computer network that uses wireless data connections between individual network nodes. The absence of a physical connection between nodes introduces several difficulties. In contrast to wired networks, which typically use shielded Ethernet cables, wireless networks are frequently subject to electromagnetic interference.

This interference can be caused by other wireless networks in the same area and also by common household appliances or other types of equipment that generate radio waves. Electromagnetic interference negatively affects the signal strength and quality, often leading to the loss of data packets or sudden connection drops.

Wireless networks are limited in range, and it may not be immediately obvious how far a wireless network reaches. For this reason, many network administrators and regular home users alike use wireless network mapping and troubleshooting apps like NetSpot.

With a few clicks, NetSpot can create a visual map that shows exactly how far a wireless network reaches, highlighting all the areas of weak signal strength. NetSpot can also detect and analyze nearby wireless networks to help you eliminate problems caused by signal interference. Best of all, NetSpot can be downloaded for free, and its user interface is so simple and well-thought-out that everyone can use this popular wireless network troubleshooting solution to improve their network.


Types of Wireless Networks

There are several types of wireless networks as well as underlying wireless technologies. Some types of wireless networks, such as Personal Area Network (PAN), have a very limited range, while other types of wireless networks, such as Wide Area Network (WAN), extend over a large geographical distance.

By far the most ubiquitous type of wireless networks is Local Area Network (LAN), which relies on a set of media access control (MAC) and physical layer (PHY) specifications known as IEEE 802.11, or WiFi.

How WiFi Works?


WiFi networks communicate in the 2.4, 3.6, 5, and 60 GHz frequency bands using the IEEE 802.11 standard, which is created and maintained by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) LAN/MAN Standards Committee (IEEE 802).

A typical WiFi network consists of a wireless router and one or more wireless clients. The router may or may not provide access to the Internet. If it does, it is connected to a cable modem via the Internet port, also known as Wide-Area Network (WAN) port.

When a wireless client sends out data, such as a request to load a certain web page, the data are encoded to a radio frequency supported by the wireless router and transmitted over the air. The wireless router then processes the request by decoding the signal back to binary data.

WiFi Standards


The newest generation of WiFi devices uses the IEEE 802.11ac standard, which was published in December 2013. Compared to some of the previous wireless networking standards, such as 802.11n (sometimes known as Wireless N), or 802.11g (which is still the only supported wireless networking standard by many older devices), the 802.11ac standard offers much higher speeds, support for beamforming (directional signal transmission or reception), and up to eight MIMO spatial streams for the simultaneous transmission of wireless signals from different antennas.

WiFi Security


Because anyone with a WiFi-enabled computer can capture wireless data packets and try to recover sensitive information from them, WiFi security is a topic of critical importance.

The most common types of wireless security algorithms are Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) and Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA). The former algorithm was introduced in 1997, and it is now considered to be insecure. In fact, there are readily available apps that allow anyone with a smartphone to decrypt all communication on a WiFi network secured with the WEP algorithm with a few taps on the screen.

Because of its insufficient security, WEP was superseded by WPA in 2003. A year later, WPA2 was introduced as even more secure and complex wireless security algorithm, and it has remained the standard for WiFi security to this day.

As important as WiFi security is for private wireless networks, it’s importance is even greater when it comes to public WiFi hotspots, which are physical locations where people may obtain Internet access by connecting to a wireless local area network (WLAN) using an Internet-connected WiFi router that acts as an access point, a device that allows clients to wirelessly connect to a wired network.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot is an easy-to-use wireless network detector for in-depth surveying of WiFi networks around you.
Get the free WiFi scanner app

Next in All about Wi-Fi


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.