Heim-Netzwerken: Grundlagen


Dieser Artikel bietet eine kurze Einführung in das Home-Networking, und deckt sowohl Networking mit LAN als auch WLAN ab. Er ist für völlige Anfänger gedacht, aber wir denken, dass sogar erfahrenere Leser etwas Neues daraus mitnehmen können.

Kabelgebundener Netzwerkbetrieb



Ein verdrahtetes Netzwerk besteht aus Geräten, die über Netzwerkkabel physikalisch miteinander verbunden sind. Heutzutage benutzt man für die meisten kabelgebundenen Netzwerke Ethernet-Kabel, die in verschiedenen unterschiedlichen Kategorien für eine Vielzahl von Zwecken erhältlich sind.

Die vielleicht einfachste Art eines kabelgebundenen Netzwerks, der Sie begegnen können, besteht aus zwei Personal Computern, die durch ein Ethernet-Kabel miteinander verbunden sind. Um einem solchen Netzwerk mehr Computer hinzuzufügen, kann man einen Router benutzen, um die Kommunikation zwischen allen Mitgliedern des Netzwerks zu erleichtern. Ein Router ist ein Netzwerk-Gerät, der Datenpakete zwischen Computer-Netzwerken befördert, bis die Pakete ihr Ziel erreichen.


Sehr große Kabel-Netzwerke beinhalten oft mehrere Router oder Switches, wobei letztere Networking-Geräte sind, die in einem Computer-Netzwerk Datenpakete erhalten, verarbeiten und an Zielgeräte weiterleiten. Mindestens ein Router oder Switch ist typischerweise mit einem Modem verbunden, dass allen mit dem Netzwerk verbundenen Geräten Internetzugang bietet.

Rein kabelgebundene Netzwerke werden manchmal aus Sicherheits- und Privatsphäre-Gründen genutzt. Da Datenpakete in solchen Netzwerken nur durch Netzwerkkabel fließen, ist es für Angreifer viel schwieriger, unautorisierten Zugang zu erhalten oder sensible Daten abzugreifen.

Wireless Networking - Drahtloser Netzwerkbetrieb


Drahtloser Netzwerkbetrieb stellt eine moderne Alternative zum traditionellen kabelgebundenen Netzwerkbetrieb dar, einer, der den kostenintensiven Vorgang vermeidet, Kabel in einem Gebäude zu verlegen, und zudem eine viel größere Flexibilität bietet, wenn es darum geht, eine Verbindung zwischen verschiedenen Geräten im Netzwerk herzustellen.


Was ist ein Drahtloses Netzwerk?

Ein Drahtloses Netzwerk ist jedes Computer-Netzwerk, das drahtlose Datenverbindungen zwischen individuellen Netzwerk-Knoten nutzt. Die Abwesenheit einer physikalischen Verbindung zwischen Knoten, auch Nodes genannt, führt zu mehreren Problemen. Im Gegensatz zu Kabel-Netzwerken die typischerweise abgeschirmte Ethernet-Kabel nutzen, sind drahtlose Netzwerke häufig von elektromagnetischen Interferenzen betroffen.

Diese Interferenzen können von anderen Drahtlos-Netzwerken in derselben Gegend verursacht werden und auch von normalen Haushaltsgeräten oder anderer Art von Ausrüstung, die Radiowellen generiert. Elektromagnetische Interferenzen beeinflussen die Signalstärke und -qualität negativ, was oft zum Verlust von Datenpaketen oder plötzlichen Verbindungsabbrüchen führt.

Wireless-Netzwerke sind in ihrer Reichweite beschränkt, und es mag nicht sofort offensichtlich sein, wie weit ein WLAN-Netzwerk reicht. Aus diesem Grund nutzen viele Netzwerkadministratoren und normale Heimanwender gleichermaßen Apps für Netzwerk-Kartierung und Fehlerbehebung wie NetSpot.

Mit ein paar Klicks kann NetSpot eine visuelle Karte erstellen, die genau zeigt, wie weit ein WLAN-Netzwerk reicht und alle Bereiche mit schwacher Signalstärke markiert. NetSpot kann auch nahegelegene Netzwerke erkennen und analysieren, um Ihnen zu helfen, Probleme zu eliminieren, die durch Signalinterferenzen verursacht werden. Und das Beste daran, der Download von NetSpot ist kostenlos, und seine Benutzeroberfläche ist so einfach und durchdacht, dass einfach jeder diese beliebte Lösung für Fehlerbehebung in WLAN-Netzwerken nutzen kann, um sein Netzwerk zu verbessern.


Arten von Drahtlos-Netzwerken

Es gibt mehrere Arten von Wireless-Netzwerken und auch von zugrundeliegenden Drahtlos-Technologien. Manche Arten der Drahtlos-Netzwerke, wie beispielsweise PAN (Personal Area Network), haben eine begrenzte Reichweite, während andere Arten von drahtlosen Netzwerken, zum Beispiel WAN (Wide Area Network), sich über große geografische Distanzen erstrecken.

Die bei weitem allgegenwärtigste Art von Drahtlos-Netzwerken ist das LAN (Local Area Network), welches auf einem Set aus MAC (media access control)- und PHY (physical layer)-Spezifikationen beruht, auch bekannt als IEEE 802.11 oder WiFi.

Wie funktioniert WiFi?


WiFi-Netzwerke kommunizieren auf den 2,4, 3,6, 5, and 60 GHz-Frequenzbändern nach dem IEEE 802.11 Standard, der entwickelt und unterhalten wird vom Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) LAN/MAN Standards Committee (IEEE 802).

Ein typisches WiFi-Netzwerk besteht aus einem WLAN-Router und einem oder mehreren drahtlosen Clients. Der Router bietet Zugang zum Internet, oder auch nicht. Wenn er es tut, ist er über den Internet-Port, auch als WAN (Wide-Area Network)-Port bekannt, mit einem Kabelmodem verbunden.

Wenn ein drahtloser Client Daten sendet, so wie eine Anfrage, eine bestimmte Webseite zu laden, werden die Daten verschlüsselt zu einer Radiofrequenz, die vom Drahtlos-Router unterstützt wird, und über die Luft übertragen. Der Wireless-Router verarbeitet dann die Anfrage, indem er das Signal wieder zu den binären Daten entschlüsselt.

WiFi-Standards


Die neueste Generation von WiFi-Geräten nutzt den Standard IEEE 802.11ac, der im Dezember 2013 veröffentlicht wurde. Verglichen mit manchen der vorherigen Wireless-Networking-Standards, beispielsweise 802.11n (manchmal auch Wireless N genannt), oder 802.11g (welches noch immer der einzige von vielen älteren Geräten unterstütze Drahtlos-Netzwerk-Standard ist), bietet der 802.11ac-Standard viel höhere Geschwindigkeiten, Unterstützung für Beamforming (gerichtete Signalübertragung- oder empfang) und MIMO mit bis zu acht räumlichen Streams für die simultane Übertragung von drahtlosen Signalen von verschiedenen Antennen.

WiFi-Sicherheit


Weil jeder mit einem WLAN-fähigen Computer versuchen kann, drahtlos übertragene Datenpakete abzugreifen sensible Daten daraus zu erlangen, ist WLAN-Sicherheit ein Thema von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Die häufigsten Arten von WLAN-Sicherheits-Algorithmen sind Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) und Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA). Ersterer Algorithmus wurde 1997 eingeführt und wird mittlerweile als unsicher betrachtet. In der Tat kann man sehr einfach Apps finden, die jedem mit einem Smartphone erlauben, alle Kommunikation zu entschlüsseln, die in einem mit dem WEP-Algorithmus gesicherten WLAN-Netzwerk übertragen werden, einfach indem man ein paar Mal aufs Display tippt.

Wegen seiner unzureichenden Sicherheit wurde WEP 2003 von WPA abgelöst. Ein Jahr später wurde WPA2 als Algorithmus, der noch mehr Sicherheit und Komplexität bietet, eingeführt und ist bis heute der Standard für WiFi-Sicherheit geblieben.

So wichtig wie WiFi-Sicherheit für private drahtlose Netzwerke ist, seine Bedeutung ist sogar noch größer, wenn es um öffentliche WiFi-Hotspots geht, welche physikalische Orte sind, wo Leute Internetzugang erhalten können, indem sie sich mit einem WLAN (wireless local area network) verbinden, unter Nutzung eines mit dem Internet verbundenen WiFi-Routers, der als ein Zugangspunkt (Access Point oder AP) dient, ein Gerät, dass es Clients erlaubt, sich drahtlos mit einem kabelgebundenen Netzwerk zu verbinden.

Haben Sie noch Fragen? Anfrage senden.
nsWinImageWhite

Die Windows-Version ist hier!

NetSpot ist ein einfach zu benutzender Wireless-Netzwerk Detektor zur tiefgehenden Überprüfung von WiFi-Netzwerken um Sie herum.
Holen Sie sich die kostenlose WiFi-Scanner App

Weiter in Alles über Wi-Fi


Andere Artikel

Jetzt mit NetSpot beginnen
Läuft auf einem MacBook (macOS 10.10+) oder jeder Laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
mit standardmäßigem 802.11a/b/g/n/ac drahtlosem Netzwerkadapter

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

Home Networking: Basics

This article provides a brief introduction to home networking, covering both wired and wireless networking.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
The article is intended for complete beginners, but we believe that even more experienced readers can learn something new from it.

Jump to...

Wired Networking
Wireless Networking
How WiFi Works?
WiFi Standards
WiFi Security
FAQ

Wired Networking


A wired network consists of devices physically connected to one another using network cables. These days, most wired networks use Ethernet cables, which are available in several different categories for a variety of purposes.

Perhaps the simplest wired network you may come across consists of two personal computers connected to each other using an Ethernet cable. To add more computers to such network, a router may be used to facilitate the communication between all members of the network. A router is a networking device that forwards data packets between computer networks until the packets reach their destination.


Very large wired networks often involve several routers or switches, the latter being networking devices that receive, process, and forward data packets on a computer network to destination devices. At least one router or switch is typically connected to a modem that provides Internet access to all devices connected to the network.

Pure wired networks are sometimes used for security and privacy reasons. Since data packets on such networks only flow through network cables, it’s much more difficult for attackers to gain unauthorized access or sniff sensitive information.

Wireless Networking

Wireless networking provides a modern alternative to traditional wired networking

Wireless networking provides a modern alternative to traditional wired networking, one that avoids the costly process of introducing cables into a building while providing a much greater flexibility when it comes to establishing a connection between various devices on the network.

What Is a Wireless Network?

A wireless network is any computer network that uses wireless data connections between individual network nodes. The absence of a physical connection between nodes introduces several difficulties. In contrast to wired networks, which typically use shielded Ethernet cables, wireless networks are frequently subject to electromagnetic interference.

This interference can be caused by other wireless networks in the same area and also by common household appliances or other types of equipment that generate radio waves. Electromagnetic interference negatively affects the signal strength and quality, often leading to the loss of data packets or sudden connection drops.

NetSpot — wireless network mapping and troubleshooting app

Wireless networks are limited in range, and it may not be immediately obvious how far a wireless network reaches. For this reason, many network administrators and regular home users alike use wireless network mapping and troubleshooting apps like NetSpot.

WiFi Heatmap

With a few clicks, NetSpot can create a visual map that shows exactly how far a wireless network reaches, highlighting all the areas of weak signal strength. NetSpot can also detect and analyze nearby wireless networks to help you eliminate problems caused by signal interference.

NetSpot’s Discover mode

Best of all, NetSpot can be downloaded for free, and its user interface is so simple and well-thought-out that everyone can use this popular wireless network troubleshooting solution to improve their network.

Types of Wireless Networks

There are several types of wireless networks as well as underlying wireless technologies. Some types of wireless networks, such as Personal Area Network (PAN), have a very limited range, while other types of wireless networks, such as Wide Area Network (WAN), extend over a large geographical distance.

By far the most ubiquitous type of wireless networks is Local Area Network (LAN), which relies on a set of media access control (MAC) and physical layer (PHY) specifications known as IEEE 802.11, or WiFi.

How WiFi Works?

WiFi networks communicate in the 2.4, 3.6, 5, and 60 GHz frequency bands using the IEEE 802.11 standard, which is created and maintained by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) LAN/MAN Standards Committee (IEEE 802).

A typical WiFi network consists of a wireless router and one or more wireless clients. The router may or may not provide access to the Internet. If it does, it is connected to a cable modem via the Internet port, also known as Wide-Area Network (WAN) port.

When a wireless client sends out data, such as a request to load a certain web page, the data are encoded to a radio frequency supported by the wireless router and transmitted over the air. The wireless router then processes the request by decoding the signal back to binary data.

WiFi Standards

The newest generation of WiFi devices uses the IEEE 802.11ac standard, which was published in December 2013.

Compared to some of the previous wireless networking standards, such as 802.11n (sometimes known as Wireless N), or 802.11g (which is still the only supported wireless networking standard by many older devices), the 802.11ac standard offers much higher speeds, support for beamforming (directional signal transmission or reception), and up to eight MIMO spatial streams for the simultaneous transmission of wireless signals from different antennas.

WiFi Security

Because anyone with a WiFi-enabled computer can capture wireless data packets and try to recover sensitive information from them, WiFi security is a topic of critical importance.

The most common types of wireless security algorithms are Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) and Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA). The former algorithm was introduced in 1997, and it is now considered to be insecure. In fact, there are readily available apps that allow anyone with a smartphone to decrypt all communication on a WiFi network secured with the WEP algorithm with a few taps on the screen.

Because of its insufficient security, WEP was superseded by WPA in 2003. A year later, WPA2 was introduced as even more secure and complex wireless security algorithm, and it has remained the standard for WiFi security to this day.

As important as WiFi security is for private wireless networks, it’s importance is even greater when it comes to public WiFi hotspots, which are physical locations where people may obtain Internet access by connecting to a wireless local area network (WLAN) using an Internet-connected WiFi router that acts as an access point, a device that allows clients to wirelessly connect to a wired network.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

FAQ

What Is a Wireless Network?

A wireless network is a computer network that connects network notes — you guessed it — wirelessly. Such types as WLANs (wireless local area networks), cell phone networks, satellite communication networks, and terrestrial microwave networks are all examples of wireless networks.

What are the Types of Wireless Networks?

So far the most commonly used type of wireless network is a Local Area Network (LAN), but there is also Personal Area Network (PAN) type, which has a very limited range, and Wide Area Network (WAN), which extends over a large distance.

How does WiFi work?

A regular WiFi network consists of a wireless router and its wireless clients. The router doesn't necessarily provide access to the Internet, although it typically does, in which case it is connected to a cable modem via the Internet port, aka Wide-Area Network (WAN) port.

When a client sends a request for data, it is sent over the air to the router, and then your router processes and transmits the data packets with the help of radio waves to a remote server by your router.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.