Réseaux domestiques : les bases


Cet article offre une brève introduction aux réseaux domestiques, câblés et sans-fil. Il s'adresse aux grands-débutants, mais même les lecteurs expérimentés peuvent en tirer quelque chose.

Réseaux câblés



Un réseau câblé est constitué d'appareils connectés les uns aux autres par câbles. De nos jours, la plupart des réseaux câblés utilisent des câbles Ethernet, dont plusieurs modèles sont disponibles en fonction de l'utilité que l'on en a.

Le modèle de réseau domestique le plus simple que vous pourrez rencontrer consistera probablement en deux ordinateurs connectés l'un à l'autre à l'aide d'un câble Ethernet. Pour rajouter des ordinateurs à ce type de réseau, il est possible d'utiliser un routeur afin de faciliter la communication entre tous les membres du réseau. Un routeur est un appareil conçu pour les réseaux qui transmet les paquets de données entre les ordinateurs du réseau.


Les réseaux les plus grands nécessitent souvent plusieurs routeurs ou commutateurs - des appareils conçus pour les réseaux qui réceptionnent, traitent et transmettent les paquets de données via le réseau d'ordinateur aux appareils de destination. En général, au moins un routeur ou un commutateur est connecté au modem qui fournit l'accès internet à tous les appareils connectés au réseau.

Les réseaux entièrement câblés sont souvent utilisés par soucis de sécurité et de protection des données. Puisque les paquets de données ne circulent que par câble sur ce type de réseau, il est beaucoup plus difficile pour les hackers d'y accèder ou de sniffer des informations sensibles.

Réseaux sans-fil


Les réseaux sans-fil sont une alternative moderne aux réseaux câblés traditionnels, qui épargne les dépenses liées à la mise en place des câbles dans le bâtiment tout en permettant une plus grande flexibilité lorsqu'il s'agit de connecter différents appareils au réseau.


Qu'est-ce qu'un réseau sans-fil ?

Un réseau sans-fil est n'importe quel réseau qui utilise une connexion sans-fil entre chacun de ses noeuds. L'absence de connexion physique entre les noeuds amène plusieurs difficultés. A l'inverse des réseaux câblés, qui utilisent en général des câbles Ethernet blindé, les réseaux sans-fil sont fréquemment sujets aux interférences électromagnétiques.

Ces interférences peuvent être causées par d'autres réseaux sans-fil environnants, mais aussi par des appareils ménagers communs ou d'autres types d'appareils qui génèrent des ondes radio. Les interférences électromagnétiques impactent négativement la force et la qualité du signal, ce qui provoque souvent des pertes de paquets de données et des baisses de débit soudaines.

Les réseaux sans-fil ont une portée limitée, et il n'est pas forcément évident de savoir jusqu'où le réseau sans-fil porte. C'est pour cela que beaucoup d'administrateurs de réseau et d'utilisateurs particuliers utilisent des applications de dépannage et qui permettent de créer des cartes du réseau sans-fil, telles que NetSpot.

En quelques clics seulement, NetSpot peut créer une carte permettant de visualiser en détails jusqu'où porte le réseau sans-fil, mettant en relief les zones où le signal est le plus faible. NetSpot peut aussi détecter et analyser les réseaux sans-fil environnants, afin de vous aider à éliminer les problèmes d'interférences entre signaux. Mieux encore, NetSpot peut être télécharger gratuitement, et son interface utilisateur est tellement simple et bien pensée que tout le monde peut utiliser cette application populaiure de dépannage pour réseaux sans-fil pour améliorer leur réseau.


Les Types de réseaux sans-fil

Il existe plusieurs types de réseaux sans-fil, ainsi que de technologies sans-fil sous-jacentes. Certains types de réseaux sans-fil, tels que le réseau personnel sans-fil (PAN), ont une portée très limitée, alors que d'autres types de réseaux sans-fil, comme le réseau étendu (WAN), s'étendent sur de larges distances géographiques.

Le type de réseau le plus répendu est, de loin, le réseau local (LAN), qui repose sur une série de contrôles d'accès au support (MAC) et de spécifications de couches physiques connues en tant que IEEE 802.11, ou Wi-fi.

Comment fonctionne le Wi-fi ?


Les réseaux Wi-fi communiquent via les bandes de fréquences 2.4, 3.6, 5 et 60 GHz en utilisant le standard IEEE 802.11, créé et entretenu par le Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) LAN/MAN Standards Committee (IEEE 802).

Un réseau Wi-fi typique consiste en un routeur sans-fil et un ou plusieurs clients sans-fil. Le routeur peut fournir un accès internet ou non. Si c'est le cas, il sera connecté par câble à un modem via le port internet, aussi connu sous le nom port WAN (Wide-Area Network).

Quand un client sans-fil envoie des données, telles qu'une requête pour charger certaines pages web, les données sont encodées d'après une fréquence radio supportée par le routeur sans-fil et transmises par les airs. Le routeur sans-fil traite ensuite la requête en décodant le signal de manière à récupérer des données binaires.

Standards Wi-fi


La dernière génération d'appareils sans-fil utilise le standard IEEE 802.11ac, publié en décembre 2013. Par rapport à certains standards pour réseaux sans-fil plus anciens, tels que le 802.11n (parfois nommé Wireless N) ou le 802.11g (qui est toujours le standard utilisé par beaucoup de vieux appareils), le standard 802.11ac offre plus de vitesse, supporte la formation de faisceaux (transmission ou réception directionnelle de signal), et jusqu'à huit flux spatiaux MIMO, qui lui permettent de gérer la transmission simultanée de signaux sans-fil de différentes antennes.

Sécurité Wi-fi


Comme n'importe qui possédant un ordinateur pouvant se connecter en Wi-fi peut capter les paquets de données sans-fil, et essayer d'en extraire des informations sensibles, la sécurité du réseau Wi-fi est un sujet de la plus haute importance.

Les types d'algorithmes de sécurité des réseaux sans-fil les plus communs sont les WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy) et WPA (Wi-fi Protected Access). Le dernier a été lancé en 1997, et il est maintenant considéré comme non fiable. En fait, il existe des applications toute prêtes qui permettent à n'importe qui possédant un smartphone de décrypter toutes les communications d'un réseau Wi-fi sécurisé avec l'algorithme WEP en quelques clics seulement.

A cause de son manque de sécurité, le protocole WEP a été supplanté par le protocole WPA en 2003. Un an plus tard, le WPA2 a été lancé, présenté comme plus sécurisé car fondé sur un algorithme de sécurité de réseaux sans-fil complexe. Il reste encore le standard en matière de sécurité de réseaux Wi-fi de nos jours.

Aussi importante que soit la sécurité pour les réseaux sans-fil privés, elle est encore plus importante lorsqu'il s'agit de hotspot Wi-fi public, qui sont des emplacements où les gens peuvent accèder à internet en se connectant à un réseau local sans-fil (WLAN) grâce à un routeur Wi-fi connecté à internet qui sert de point d'accès, un appareil qui permet aux clients de se connecter sans câble à un réseau câblé.


Vous avez des questions? Contactez-nous.
nsWinImageWhite

La version Windows est disponible!

NetSpot est un détecteur de réseaux sans fil facile à utiliser pour étudier en profondeur les réseaux Wi-Fi qui vous entourent.
Procurez-vous gratuitement l'App d'analyse de couverture Wi-Fi

Suivant : Tout ce qu'il faut savoir sur le Wi-Fi


Autres Articles

Découvrez maintenant NetSpot
Tourne sous MacBook (macOS 10.10+) ou tout ordinateur équipé (Windows 7/8/10)
avec adaptateur sans fil 802.11a/b/g/n/ac standard

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

Home Networking: Basics

This article provides a brief introduction to home networking, covering both wired and wireless networking.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
The article is intended for complete beginners, but we believe that even more experienced readers can learn something new from it.

Jump to...

Wired Networking
Wireless Networking
How WiFi Works?
WiFi Standards
WiFi Security
FAQ

Wired Networking


A wired network consists of devices physically connected to one another using network cables. These days, most wired networks use Ethernet cables, which are available in several different categories for a variety of purposes.

Perhaps the simplest wired network you may come across consists of two personal computers connected to each other using an Ethernet cable. To add more computers to such network, a router may be used to facilitate the communication between all members of the network. A router is a networking device that forwards data packets between computer networks until the packets reach their destination.


Very large wired networks often involve several routers or switches, the latter being networking devices that receive, process, and forward data packets on a computer network to destination devices. At least one router or switch is typically connected to a modem that provides Internet access to all devices connected to the network.

Pure wired networks are sometimes used for security and privacy reasons. Since data packets on such networks only flow through network cables, it’s much more difficult for attackers to gain unauthorized access or sniff sensitive information.

Wireless Networking

Wireless networking provides a modern alternative to traditional wired networking

Wireless networking provides a modern alternative to traditional wired networking, one that avoids the costly process of introducing cables into a building while providing a much greater flexibility when it comes to establishing a connection between various devices on the network.

What Is a Wireless Network?

A wireless network is any computer network that uses wireless data connections between individual network nodes. The absence of a physical connection between nodes introduces several difficulties. In contrast to wired networks, which typically use shielded Ethernet cables, wireless networks are frequently subject to electromagnetic interference.

This interference can be caused by other wireless networks in the same area and also by common household appliances or other types of equipment that generate radio waves. Electromagnetic interference negatively affects the signal strength and quality, often leading to the loss of data packets or sudden connection drops.

NetSpot — wireless network mapping and troubleshooting app

Wireless networks are limited in range, and it may not be immediately obvious how far a wireless network reaches. For this reason, many network administrators and regular home users alike use wireless network mapping and troubleshooting apps like NetSpot.

WiFi Heatmap

With a few clicks, NetSpot can create a visual map that shows exactly how far a wireless network reaches, highlighting all the areas of weak signal strength. NetSpot can also detect and analyze nearby wireless networks to help you eliminate problems caused by signal interference.

NetSpot’s Discover mode

Best of all, NetSpot can be downloaded for free, and its user interface is so simple and well-thought-out that everyone can use this popular wireless network troubleshooting solution to improve their network.

Types of Wireless Networks

There are several types of wireless networks as well as underlying wireless technologies. Some types of wireless networks, such as Personal Area Network (PAN), have a very limited range, while other types of wireless networks, such as Wide Area Network (WAN), extend over a large geographical distance.

By far the most ubiquitous type of wireless networks is Local Area Network (LAN), which relies on a set of media access control (MAC) and physical layer (PHY) specifications known as IEEE 802.11, or WiFi.

How WiFi Works?

WiFi networks communicate in the 2.4, 3.6, 5, and 60 GHz frequency bands using the IEEE 802.11 standard, which is created and maintained by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) LAN/MAN Standards Committee (IEEE 802).

A typical WiFi network consists of a wireless router and one or more wireless clients. The router may or may not provide access to the Internet. If it does, it is connected to a cable modem via the Internet port, also known as Wide-Area Network (WAN) port.

When a wireless client sends out data, such as a request to load a certain web page, the data are encoded to a radio frequency supported by the wireless router and transmitted over the air. The wireless router then processes the request by decoding the signal back to binary data.

WiFi Standards

The newest generation of WiFi devices uses the IEEE 802.11ac standard, which was published in December 2013.

Compared to some of the previous wireless networking standards, such as 802.11n (sometimes known as Wireless N), or 802.11g (which is still the only supported wireless networking standard by many older devices), the 802.11ac standard offers much higher speeds, support for beamforming (directional signal transmission or reception), and up to eight MIMO spatial streams for the simultaneous transmission of wireless signals from different antennas.

WiFi Security

Because anyone with a WiFi-enabled computer can capture wireless data packets and try to recover sensitive information from them, WiFi security is a topic of critical importance.

The most common types of wireless security algorithms are Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) and Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA). The former algorithm was introduced in 1997, and it is now considered to be insecure. In fact, there are readily available apps that allow anyone with a smartphone to decrypt all communication on a WiFi network secured with the WEP algorithm with a few taps on the screen.

Because of its insufficient security, WEP was superseded by WPA in 2003. A year later, WPA2 was introduced as even more secure and complex wireless security algorithm, and it has remained the standard for WiFi security to this day.

As important as WiFi security is for private wireless networks, it’s importance is even greater when it comes to public WiFi hotspots, which are physical locations where people may obtain Internet access by connecting to a wireless local area network (WLAN) using an Internet-connected WiFi router that acts as an access point, a device that allows clients to wirelessly connect to a wired network.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

FAQ

What Is a Wireless Network?

A wireless network is a computer network that connects network notes — you guessed it — wirelessly. Such types as WLANs (wireless local area networks), cell phone networks, satellite communication networks, and terrestrial microwave networks are all examples of wireless networks.

What are the Types of Wireless Networks?

So far the most commonly used type of wireless network is a Local Area Network (LAN), but there is also Personal Area Network (PAN) type, which has a very limited range, and Wide Area Network (WAN), which extends over a large distance.

How does WiFi work?

A regular WiFi network consists of a wireless router and its wireless clients. The router doesn't necessarily provide access to the Internet, although it typically does, in which case it is connected to a cable modem via the Internet port, aka Wide-Area Network (WAN) port.

When a client sends a request for data, it is sent over the air to the router, and then your router processes and transmits the data packets with the help of radio waves to a remote server by your router.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.