通过WiFi放大器获取更强,更快的无线网络连接



对于很多个人和企业而言,互联网接入已经成为了必需品。但是,在整个区域内覆盖强大稳定的信号也并非易事。互联网服务供应商向客户提供的路由器无论是在性能还是稳定性上往往都是平平无奇,而且,随着很多人在同一时间接入无线网络,干扰成为了一个主要的问题。

WiFi信号放大器是如何工作的



出于这样和那样的原因,终端用户通常只能自己来解决问题,寻求增强WiFi信号的解决方案。其中一种解决方案是WiFi放大器,该装置能够显著提升无线网络的覆盖范围和性能表现。

影响路由器传递强WiFi信号距离的一个主要因素是它的传输功率。更具体来讲,是等效全向辐射功率(EIRP)。大多数具备高级设置菜单的路由器都为用户提供了调整功率比例的选项,但是想要调整到100%以上是不可能的。调低功率有益于安全目的,同时也能避免附近无线网络的不必要干扰。简单来说,功率越低,无线信号覆盖的距离越短。


不能调至100%以上的原因在于最大允许传输功率是受管制的,对于特定的频道,每个国家都有相应的最大功率规定。例如,澳大利亚的最大允许传输功率是100 mW。在频道149, 153, 157, 161运营WiFi网络的加拿大用户可以将传输功率最高设置为4000 mW,而居住在美国的用户则限定在1000 mW,无论是哪个频道。

但是,有了WiFi信号放大器,将传输功率提升至限定值以上便成为了可能。法律考虑先放在一旁,提升传输功率是增加路由器范围尤为有效的途径,无论路由器的位置放在哪里。

所有的WiFi信号放大器的工作原理和外观大都是相同的。标准放大器是一个并不起眼的灰盒子,有三个接头:其中两个是天线接头,还有一个是电源插头。使用两个天线接头的其中一个,用户可以将放大器连接至路由器。另一个接头可以将放大器连接至外部天线。最后,功率是通过供给电源传递给放大器的。所有放大器的工作原理是用电子方法提升来自于路由器的无线信号强度,然后输出至已连接的天线。在某种意义上,它与扩音器的工作原理是一致的。无线放大器完全是自发的,这意味着它们不需要WiFi放大器应用来进行配置—一旦放大器完成安全,它即可立即工作。

无线放大器 Vs 其他解决方案


无线放大器通常会与无线扩展器和中继器相混淆。扩展器和中继器之间是没有区别的,但是它们与放大器之间存在着巨大的差异。扩展器和中继器实际上是特殊的路由器,有两根天线。一根用于接收WiFi信号,而另一根用于传递信号。

通常来说,扩展器和中继器是完全无线操作的。它们只需插入任何标准电源插座并通过智能手机应用进行配置即可。通常而言,这足以为扩展器提供有效的登录主WiFi网络的凭证,而且它会自动完成工作。

无线扩展器和中继器绝不会超出等效全向辐射功率的限制。它们主要是放置在WiFi网络信号最为薄弱的边缘地带。在那里,它们接受微弱的信号,放大它,然后传递出与从路由器中发射出的原始信号相同强度的信号。

鉴于WiFi放大器测评不会告诉您应当选择放大器还是扩展器。两者都能轻松完成其所负载的使命。放大器更适于放大来自于外部天线的WiFi信号,而扩展器完美适用于增强家庭无线网络的信号覆盖。

在NetSpot的帮助下安装WiFi天线放大器


在选购任何网络设备之前,使用专业的无线现场勘测和WiFi分析应用来检查WiFi的信号覆盖情况是必要的。NetSpot是绝佳之选,因为它同时推出了macOS和Windows版,而且超级简单易用。

NetSpot提供了两种同样简单直接的方式来探查及分析无线网络,找出信号覆盖薄弱的区域。发现模式速度最快。用户从主应用窗口上即可打开它,激活之后,它能够拍摄全部可用无线网络的快照。用户可以查看每一网络的详情,了解其数据加密的方式,其信号强度,等等。

另一个方法被称为勘测模式,旨在创建详细且准确的WiFi覆盖热图,清晰显示出信号最强及最弱的区域。想要使用勘测模式,您只需创建或上传您想要进行勘测的区域的地图,然后在地图上的各点之间走动即可,直至您的足迹贯穿整个地图。NetSpot在整个过程中提供指导,所以您不必有任何的担心。

有了NetSpot,您可以为您的新的网络设备的选购提供具体的数据和稳定的信息支持。而且您可能会发现只需更换一下路由器的摆放位置即可解决您的WiFi问题。或者也可能发现您新近购买的WiFi放大器并不符合规格,促使您将它退掉,然后购买一个不同的版本。NetSpot绝对称得上一款物超所值的应用,而且其无与伦比的易用性和通用型更是进一步提升了其自身的价值。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot帮助您分析,优化并解决您的WiFi网络问题。
获取免费的WiFi分析仪应用

接下来是WiFi规划


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于使用标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac
无线网络适配器 (兼容AirPort)的MacBook。
★★★★
4.8 rank, based on 957 user reviews
Version 2.10 • 提交您的评论

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

WiFi Amplifier for Stronger and Faster Wireless Internet

For most people and businesses, Internet access has become a necessity. Yet, covering an area with a strong wireless Internet signal is seldom without complications.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
Routers supplied to customers by Internet service providers tend to be underwhelming both in terms of their performance and in terms of their reliability, and, with so many people wirelessly accessing the Internet at the same time, interference is a major problem.

How Does a WiFi Signal Amplifier Work


WiFi amplifiers — clever devices that offer significant improvement in operating range and performance of wireless networks

For these and other reasons, end users are often forced to take matters into their own hands and turn to one of the several available solutions for boosting WiFi signal. Among these solutions are WiFi amplifiers, clever devices that offer significant improvement in operating range and performance of wireless networks.

A major factor that influences how far a router can transmit a strong WiFi signal is its transmission power. More specifically, equivalent isotropically radiated power (EIRP).

Most routers with an advanced settings menu give users the option to adjust the power in percentages, but it’s never possible to go above 100 percent. Lowering the power is useful for security purposes and for avoiding needless interference with nearby wireless networks. Simply put, the lower the power is, the shorter distance will the wireless signal travel.


The reason why it’s impossible to go above 100 percent is that the maximum allowed transmission power is regulated, with each country having a certain maximum power for given WiFi channels. For example, the maximum allowed transmission power for Austria is 100 mW. Canadiens running WiFi networks on channels 149, 153, 157, 161 can set the transmission power up to 4000 mW, while people living in the United States are limited to 1000 mW on all channels.

With a WiFi signal amplifier, it’s, however, possible to increase the transmission power above the allowed value. Legal considerations aside, increasing the transmission power is an extremely effective way how to increase the transmission range of a router, regardless of where the router is located.

All WiFi signal amplifiers work and look mostly the same. The typical amplifier looks like an inconspicuous gray box with three connectors: two antenna connectors and one connector for power. Using one of the two antenna connectors, a user connects the amplifier to a router. The other connector connects the amplifier to an external antenna. Finally, power is delivered to the amplifier via a power supply.

All the amplifier does is electronically boosting the wireless signal coming from the router and outputting it to the connected antenna. In a sense, it works just like a megaphone. Wireless amplifiers are completely autonomous, meaning they don’t require a WiFi amplifier app for configuration — once an amplifier is installed, it just works.

Wireless Amplifier Versus Other Solutions

Wireless amplifiers are often confused with WiFi extenders and repeaters. There’s no difference between extenders and repeaters, but there’s a huge difference between the two and amplifiers. Extenders and repeaters are essentially special routers with two antennas. One antenna receives a WiFi signal and the other one transmits it.

Often, extenders and repeaters are designed to be completely wireless. They simply plug into any standard wall electrical outlet and can be configured via a smartphone app. Usually, it’s enough to provide the extender with valid login credentials for the main WiFi network, and it will take care of everything else automatically.

Wireless extenders and repeaters never exceed equivalent isotropically radiated power limits. They’re designed to be placed on the outskirts of a WiFi network, where the signal is naturally the weakest. There, they receive the weak signal, amplify it, and broadcast it with the same strength as the router from which the signal originated.

Reading a WiFi amplifier review won’t tell you whether you should go with an amplifier or an extender. Both can easily accomplish what they’re designed to do. Amplifiers are better suited for amplifying a WiFi signal coming from outside antenna, while extenders are perfect for extending the coverage of a home wireless network.

Installing a WiFi Antenna Amplifier with the Help of NetSpot

NetSpot — excellent choice because it works both on macOS and Windows and is incredibly easy to use

Before investing money into any networking equipment, it pays off to check the WiFi coverage using a professional application for wireless site surveys and WiFi analysis. NetSpot is an excellent choice because it works both on macOS and Windows and is incredibly easy to use.

NetSpot offers two equally straightforward ways how to find and analyze wireless networks and discover areas of weak signal coverage. The Discover mode is the fastest of the two methods. It’s available from the main application window and, when activated, takes a snapshot of all available wireless networks. Each network can be viewed in detail to see how it's encrypted, how strong its signal is, and so on.

Discover Mode

The other method is called Survey mode, and its purpose is to create a detailed and accurate WiFi coverage heatmap that clearly shows there the signal is strongest and where it is weakest. To use the Survey mode, you simply create or upload a map of the area you want to survey and walk from one point one to map to another until you cover the entire map. NetSpot provides guidance throughout this process, so there’s nothing to be afraid of.

WiFi Heatmap by NetSpot

With NetSpot, you can support your purchase of new networking equipment with concrete data and reliable information. The chances are that you will discover that a simple change of the router placement is enough to solve your WiFi problems. Or you may discover that your newly purchased WiFi amplifier isn’t performing up to its specifications, prompting you to return it and purchase a different one.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

NetSpot is one of those applications that pays for itself, and its value is increased even further by its excellent usability and versatility.

FAQ

What is a WiFi Signal Amplifier?

WiFi amplifiers are the devices for boosting and amplifying the existing wireless signal, thus improving the operating range and performance of WiFi networks.

How Does a WiFi Signal Amplifier Work?

WiFi signal amplifiers look and work practically the same: they are compact boxes with antennas plugged into a power outlet. As soon as an amplifier is plugged in, it receives the wireless router signal and boosts it to pass it on. Wireless amplifiers don’t require any apps for configuration — once installed they start working.

What is the difference between WiFi extenders, repeaters, and amplifiers?

Even though the terms WiFi extender, repeater and amplifier are often used interchangeably, amplifiers work differently than repeaters and extenders. WiFi extenders and repeaters are essentially another type of routers with two antennas — one receives a WiFi signal and the other transmits it.

The simplest way to describe a difference between an amplifier and a repeater is this way: a repeater is more advanced and has an amplifier as a part of it, while an amplifier is a more basic device that just amplifies the signal with no additional enhancements.


Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.
Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.