什么是我的IP地址以及它为什么应当引起重视?


连接互联网的所有设备均会分配一个独一无二的数字。这个数字就被称为设备的互联网协议(IP)地址。这是对在互联网上四处浏览并不断连接到各个网站及其他设备的设备身份的确认方法。

什么是IP地址?



大多数计算机网络,包括互联网,均使用传输控制协议/网际协议(TCP/IP)来启动网络连接设备和计算机之间的网络通信。这是两个不同的,独立的协议,但是通常一起使用,而且TCP/IP是对协议进行描述的实际标准。

让我们深入了解一下TCP/IP的功能。这共计有四层,且每一层都有自己的一套协议。它们分别是:

  • 数据链路层由仅能作用于链接的协议和方法组成。从网络层面来说,链接所连接的是网络上的主机或节点。以太网是运行于数据链路层中的一个协议示例。


  • 网络层用于连接网络,同时跨越网络边界传输数据包。网际协议(IP)和网络控制报文协议(ICMP)用于本层。

  • 下一层是传输层。它控制的是主机之间的通信。传输控制协议(TCP)和用户数据报协议(UDP)是可能用于本层的两大协议。

  • 应用层由很多协议组成,包括文件传输协议(FTP),简单邮件传输协议(SMTP),和超文本传输协议(HTTP)。本层负责对应用交换程序的方式进行标准化处理。

所以TCP/IP这个缩略词来自于上述其中两层所使用的协议。

  • TCP是将文件或传输数据分解成网际之间传送的数据包的元素。它还会在数据包抵达目的地时对其进行重组。

  • IP对每一数据包的地址予以控制。这些地址确保了相关数据得以发送至正确的目的地。

IP地址之间的不同


IP地址有一系列不同的形式。区分IP地址主要的不同特点如下。


IPv4和IPv6

目前用于位置寻址和身份确认的IP主要有两大版本。

IPv4使用32位地址,表现为十进制形式。您可能会对看起来像是这样的IP地址非常熟悉:

196.243.122.3.

这种IP形式在数量上存在限制,也即只有4,294,967,296个IP地址可以使用IPv4协议。

IPv6使用128位地址,其所额外带来的IP地址数量呈指数型增长,它可以创造的IP地址的数量为340,282,366,920,938,463,463,374,607,431,768,211,456个。此类IP地址表现为十六进制形式:

2001:0db8:85a3:0000:0000:8a2e:0370:7334.

IPv6应运而生的主要原因在于IPv4无法为世界范围内的所有网络连接设备提供充足的IP地址。尽管它们无法直接实现对接,但是这两种协议可以一起运行。


动态和静态

当您连接到互联网时,还有两大类IP地址之间存在显著的不同。静态IP地址在各个网络连接之间不会发生变化。您的家庭网络连接可能是一个与您的路由器绑定的静态IP。动态IP地址是在您连接网络时由您的网络服务供应商分配的,它可能会随着时间的变化而发生改变。

静态IP对于部分企业来说可能具有一定的优势,但是归根结底,IP地址只是用于网络的连接,任何一种类型的IP地址均可实现此目的。

什么是我的IP地址?


根据您的设备所使用的操作系统的不同,查找您的IP地址的方法可能也会有所差异。鉴于您正在浏览本网页,您可以通过页面顶端的小部件轻松查看您的IP地址。它可以显示您的IP地址,以及通过该地址所能获取的部分信息,如您的实际位置。本文后续会对此作更加详细的介绍。

这是在一些较为热门的计算机平台上查看您的IP地址的一种方法。此处只是为您列举一二,您还可以通过其他的方法来获取同类信息。

Windows
打开命令提示符。
输入ipconfig命令。
您的IP地址会在命令输出行显示为您的IPv4地址。

macOS
打开系统偏好设置。
选择网络面板。
选择您的连接并点击高级按钮。
点击TCP/IP标签来显示您的iP地址。

iOS
选择设置。
点击WiFi网络。
点击网络连接。
您的IP地址即可予以显示。

Android
选择 应用 -> 设置 -> 无线网络。
选择您目前正在使用的网络。
IP地址和其他网络信息将予以显示。

设备如何获取IP地址?


让我们了解一下您的家庭设备如何获取其IP地址。您的互联网服务供应商会为您的路由器分配一个公共IP地址。这个地址可能会随着时间的变化而发生改变,但是如果您有需要的话,也可以获取一个静态IP地址。路由器之后会将这个公共IP地址与家庭中的所有计算机和网络连接设备共享。

每一设备会被分配一个本地IP地址,凭此实现彼此之间的通信。这些地址不会在访问网络时使用。通过您的路由器访问网络的所有家庭设备均将拥有同一公共IP地址。如此一来,所有数据流量均可以回传到您的路由器,然后分别传至使用该网络的各个设备。

有关您的IP地址所需了解的事项


只要您实现了与互联网的连接,您很可能会将您的IP地址抛之脑后。这与现实生活中的情形不同,比如您深夜参加完派对狂欢打车回家时一定要先告诉出租车司机您的家庭地址。您在网络上真的是不需要知道您的IP地址,除非您需要对它进行某些设置操作。

但是您的IP地址对于其他主体却很重要。为什么,您可能会这样问。好吧,答案是您的互联网服务供应商可能会通过您的IP地址追踪您的线上活动。他们能够追踪到您访问过哪些网站,您在各个网站所花费的时间,以及您在这些网站上都进行过哪些活动。

可能您对此仍毫不在意。但是追踪您的线上活动所获得的信息可能会用于向您推送特定的广告,而这些广告可能是您不想看到的。确认您所访问的网站类型以及您所进行的活动内容可能会导致您的互联网服务供应商在某些特定的情况下对您的网络连接速度进行限制。然后在某些特殊情况下,您的互联网服务供应商可能会阻止您访问种子文件网站或其他具有地域限制的网站。

您的IP地址可用于确认您的互联网上的位置及活动。即使您对此觉得丝毫没有所谓,但是将有关您自己的此类信息暴露给其他任何人似乎都是不对的。

这也是您可能会考虑使用VPN来保证您的线上活动的私密性的原因。VPN会将来自于VPN服务器的另一IP地址分配给您以达到掩盖您的真实服务器的目的。如此一来,您可以规避掉您的互联网服务供应商强加给您的网络限制并保持您的线上活动的私密性。

欲验证实际效果,请查看一下您的IP地址。现在,启动一项VPN服务并连接到一个VPN服务器。当您再次查询您的IP地址时,您将发现它已经发生了变化。现在您可以在不受窥探的情况下进行匿名网上冲浪。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
NetSpot - network analyzer

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot WiFi规划工具帮助轻松实现WiFi网络的分析,配置和部署
获取免费的WiFi分析仪应用

其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).
★★★★
4.8分,957位用户参与评分
版本2.10 • 提交您的评论

What is My IP Address and Why Should I Care?


All devices that are connected to the Internet have a unique number assigned to them. This number is known as the device’s Internet Protocol (IP) address. It is the way the device is identified as it moves about the Internet and connects to websites and other devices.

What is an IP Address?



The majority of computer networks, including the Internet, employ Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) to enable communication between network-attached devices and computers. They are two distinct entities but are often used together, and the term TCP/IP is the de-facto standard for describing the protocols.

Let’s take a little dive into the functionality that TCP/IP provides. There are four layers and each has its own set of protocols. They are:

  • The datalink layer is made up of protocols and methods that only work on a link. In network terms, a link connects hosts or nodes on a network. Ethernet is an example of a protocol that operates in the datalink layer.


  • The network layer is used to connect networks and transport data packets across network boundaries. The Internet Protocol (IP) and Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) are used in this layer.

  • Next is the transport layer. It controls the communication between hosts. Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) and User Datagram Protocol (UDP) are two of the possible protocols used in this layer.

  • The application layer is made up of many protocols including File Transfer Protocol (FTP), Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP), and HyperText Transfer Protocol (HTTP). This layer is responsible for standardizing how applications exchange data.

So the acronym TCP/IP comes from the protocols used in two layers.

  • TCP is the element that breaks up a file or transmission into packets to be sent over the Internet. It also reassembles the packets when their destination is reached.

  • IP handles the address of each data packet. The address ensures that the data is sent to the correct destination.

Differences in IP Addresses


IP addresses come in a variety of flavors. Here are the main distinguishing characteristics that differentiate IP addresses.


IPv4 and IPv6

These two versions of IP are currently used for the purposes of location addressing and identification.

An IPv4 address is comprised of 32 bits and is expressed in decimal format. You are probably familiar with IP addresses that look like this:

196.243.122.3.

There is a limit of 4,294,967,296 unique addresses that can be constructed using the IPv4 protocol.

An IPv6 address uses 128 bits which exponentially increases the number of unique addresses it can create to 340,282,366,920,938,463,463,374,607,431,768,211,456. Addresses are expressed in hexadecimal format like this:

2001:0db8:85a3:0000:0000:8a2e:0370:7334.

The main reason that IPv6 is around is that IPv4 cannot supply enough IP addresses for all of the world’s network-attached devices. Though not directly compatible, the two protocols can operate together.


Dynamic and Static

Here is the other big difference in the type of IP address that you might be using when you connect to the Internet. A static IP address will not change between network connections. Your home Internet connection may be a static IP that is tied to your router. Dynamic IP addresses are assigned by your ISP when you connect and can change over time.

There are some business advantages to having a static IP, but in the end, it is just used to connect you to the Internet, so either type will work.

What is my IP address?


There are various ways to find your IP address depending on the operating system that your device employs. Since you are on this webpage, you could simply consult the widget at the top of the screen. It displays your IP address as well as some information that can be obtained from that address, such as your physical location. More on that fact later in this article.

Here is one way of finding your IP address on some of the more popular computing platforms. This is not meant to be an exhaustive list and there may be other ways to obtain the same information.

Windows
Launch the command prompt.
Enter the ipconfig command.
Your IP address is shown as your IPv4 address in the command output.

macOS
Open System Preferences.
Choose the network panel.
Select your connection and click on the advanced button.
Click on the TCP/IP tab to display your IP address.

iOS
Select Settings.
Tap on WiFi Network.
Tap on the network connection.
Your IP address is now displayed.

Android
Select Apps -> Settings -> Wireless & networks.
Select the network you are currently using.
The IP address and other network information will be displayed.

How Does a Device Obtain an IP Address?


Let’s take a look at how the devices in your home obtain their IP addresses. Your ISP assigns a public IP address to your router. This address may change over time, although you may be able to obtain a static IP address if you need one. The router then shares this public IP address with all of the computers and network-connected devices in the home.

Each device is assigned a local IP address that allows them to communicate amongst themselves. These addresses are not used when accessing the Internet. All of the devices in your home accessing the Internet through your router will have the same public IP address. In this way, all traffic is sent back to your router and then to the individual device that is using the network.

What You Need to Know About Your IP Address


As long as you are connected to the Internet you probably don’t think much about your IP address. It’s not like you might have to give it to a cab driver to get you home after a long night of partying. You really don’t need to know your IP address except in some configuration scenarios.

But your IP address is important to others. Why is that, you might ask. Well, the answer is that your ISP can track your online movements through your IP address. They can track the websites that you visit, the amount of time you spend there, and the kind of activity you perform when on a particular site.

Perhaps this doesn’t concern you. But tracking your online activity can be used to produce targeted advertising with which you may not want to be bothered. Identifying the sites and activity you are performing may lead to your ISP throttling your connection speed under certain circumstances. And then there is the situation where your ISP blocks you from accessing torrent sites or other geo-regulated websites.

Your IP address can be used to identify where you have been and what you have done on the Internet. Even if you never have any reason to be concerned about this, there is something that just doesn’t seem right about giving anyone this level of information about ourselves.

This is why you might consider using a VPN to keep your online movements private. A VPN masks your IP address by assigning another from the VPN server. In this way, you can get around restrictions enforced by your ISP and maintain privacy over your online activity.

To see this in action, take a look at your IP address. Now, fire up a VPN service and connect to a VPN server. When you query your IP address again, you will see it has changed. Now you can surf in anonymity without any prying eyes following you around.


Have more questions? Submit a request.
NetSpot - network analyzer

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi analysis tool helps in planning, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi analyzer app

Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
★★★★
4.8 rank, based on 957 user reviews
Version 2.10 • Submit your review