• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

什么是信噪比以及如何测量它

即便是使用强WiFi路由器或网状网络,网络流量可能依然很低。问题可能并不是出在路由器身上,而是它周围的噪音。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
我们将帮助您理解信噪比意味着什么,如何更好地调节您的信噪比以确保获得稳定的网络流量,更好地观看高清电影,让下载速度更快。

跳到...


信噪比:将小麦与稗子区分开

接入互联网容易出现的最令人沮丧的一个问题是当我们设置好路由器之后,网络表现一切良好-但是一旦你换个房间,信号就变垃圾了。升级路由器-信号依然没有起色。升级到网状网络,却发现会议室的人仍然无法使用笔记本连接网络,尽管那里的信号理论上应当很强。

问题可能并不是因为网络范围内的信号强度有问题。这可能是由被称为“信噪比”的问题造成的,信噪比简称SNR,即输出信号的功率与同时输出的噪声功率的比值。

但SNR确实是一个真实存在的问题。如果您的网络理论上信号应当比较好,但下载速度却很慢,或在信号覆盖区域内的某些不同位置总是会断开连接的话,那么您就有必要测试一下SNR,花一定时间弄清楚连接受阻的真正原因是值得的。

SNR指的是什么意思

当然,在问及如何修复“信噪比”问题时,首先我们应当弄清楚SNR究竟指的是什么意思。信噪比是相关信号与发生妨碍的任何其他信号之间的比值。

通常来说,在处理WiFi问题时,主要会涉及两个主要的问题:

  • 信号盲区:我们的信号无法抵达的地方。之所以会出现信号盲区,原因可能与距离WiFi路由器的距离,建筑物的材料构成,和其他相关问题有关。在信号盲区内,我们是无法获取任何信号的。

  • 信噪比:在发生信噪比的情况下,WiFi无线电信号可能也会正常传输,但是其他无线电信号的存在使之很难被接收到。

将每一个问题想象成一个大房间。如果我在房间的一头,而你在房间的另一头并试着跟我说话,如果你的声音太轻的话,我将无法听清你在说什么,除非你大声说。这与信号盲区或信号强度问题是一个道理。

信噪比的问题也可想象为同一个房间,只是这时候房间里面全是人。当你想要试着跟我说话的时候,我们必须要想法设法地压倒周围的其他噪音。如果其他人的声音跟你类似的话,这同样会对我造成困扰,所以我必须弄清楚什么时候是你在说话,而不是声音类似的其他人。

理解信噪比

SNR不是一个比率,不是“75%的信号对25%的噪声”,而是通过将信号强度减去噪音,而不是除以它来测量的。信号是以分贝来表示的,这更容易让人产生混淆。大多数音频工作者都将分贝视为声音大小的量度单位。

更糟的还在后面。对于WiFi而言,分贝是以负数表示的。如果您还记得小学时候学的数学的话,您应当知道负数是0以下的数字,所以如果信号为-15 dBm(每毫瓦分贝),那么它要比-50 dBm的信号更强。我知道这容易让人感到困惑,但您只需要记住,数字越“大”,信号越“弱”即可。

让我们看一下两个不同的房间。其中一个房间的平均信号强度是-20,噪音大约是-60。如果想要计算信噪比的话,就需要将信号强度减去噪音值,这意味着这种情况下的平均信噪比是40:

信噪比
信噪比

至于房间2,信号强度也是-20,但噪音是-25。那这时候我们的信噪比要低更多–大约是5:

信噪比
信噪比

相比第一个表格,您注意到想要在这个表格中分辨信号和噪音之间的差别有多困难吗?其中的规则是:信噪比越低,通信状况将会越差。我们希望我们的SNR或S/N比数值越大越好,因为这意味着我们的信号和我们的噪音之间的距离就越远。

我们期待的信噪比是怎样的?

请记住,信噪比,有时被称为S/N比,并不是“比率”,而是信号和噪音之间的差异。所以数值越大越好。

大多数专家认为20 dB的SNR仅适于数据传输–也即网页冲浪,查看表格和其他相关流量。如果您想要观看高清视频或进行优质的语音/视频聊天,那么25 dB的SNR是必需的。以下是各个数值范围内的信噪比的表现情况:

  • 5dB — 10 dB:放弃吧。不要做无谓的挣扎,赶紧修复相关的问题吧。噪音太高,已经无法将其与信号分辨开。

  • 10 dB — 15 dB:真的很低,但至少有信号。如果您只是接收基础邮件,那勉强能接受。几乎无法进行其他网络活动。

  • 15 dB — 25 dB:这是网页浏览和文件下载所需的平均基础值。但不要期待能够流畅观看Netflix和Youtube的1080p视频。

  • 25 dB — 40 dB:速度快。您在此种网络环境下可以进行视频会议,观看高清视频,并高速下载大型文件,如iso文件或电影。

  • 40 dB及以上:您生活在了虚拟世界中。

当然,这将是由您的基础带宽强度决定的。如果您的带宽强度只有-5 dB且噪音为0,那么您的信噪比非常好,但是您的信号强度依然很垃圾。所以首先请确保信号时强的,然后再关注信噪比的问题。

如何测试信号和噪音

在macOS系统测试信噪比最有用的一款工具当属NetSpot(遗憾的是,NetSpot Windows用户无法测试信噪比,但是此功能正在计划推出中)。

对于Mac用户而言,测试过程非常简单,只有几个步骤:

  1. 启动NetSpot。
  2. 选择发现(这可能默认是开启的)。
  3. 选择目标WiFi网络
  4. 找到信号和噪音级。

NetSpot — 网络分析仪工具
NetSpot — 网络分析仪工具
  1. 将信号强度减去噪音得到SNR。

举我们的样本网络为例。这里的信号强度是-39,噪音级是-80。使用我们的信噪计算器我们可以计算得出(-39) - (-80) = 41。或者为了节省时间,只需看一下等级设置即可。如果是绿色的,那么信号就是合格的。

修复SNR问题

修复信噪比问题的方法有很多。首先,您需要有一款WiFi信号分析仪。我们之前已经提到了NetSpot,这是一个很好的开始。它可以为您显示所有已找到网络的列表。

NetSpot 发现模式
NetSpot 发现模式

您在看到WiFi信号列表之后,您可以采取一系列措施来提高SNR的值:

  1. 移除多余的WiFi网络。这在商业环境下尤为可行。有些人出于各种各样的原因可能会运行单独的WiFi网络,无论是通过他们的手机,网络共享还是其他方式。有了NetSpot,您可以及时了解其动态,因为您可以有效追踪它们的信号强度。

  2. 检查“有噪音”的设备。查看一下WiFi路由器周围的设备。路由器的旁边是否有电视,电冰箱或其他电子设备?试着将它们移动一下。曾经有个地方的WiFi信号很差,直到有人发现WiFi路由器旁边有一个公司的火警报警器。在将其移开之后,信号噪音即显著降低。

  3. 关闭不需要的信号。部分路由器支持2.4 GHz和5 GHz范围内的频带。如果不需要的话,试着关闭2.4 GHz信号–它相比5 GHz信号要拥堵一些。

所以,我们推荐
NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查

  • 500K
  • 用户
  • 6
  • 跨平台
  • Mac/Windows

这只是一部分建议,对高噪音级进行故障排查的方法还有很多。但是在您采取任何其他措施之前,请安装Netspot。它有表现极为出色的免费版,同时它的付费完整版的用户可以获得其他有用的功能,如热图。下载并试着用它来帮助您解决信噪问题,这样您就可以享受高速网络连接为您带来的便捷。
还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

What is Signal-to-Noise Ratio and How to Measure it

Even with a strong WiFi router or mesh network, traffic can still be slow. The problem might not be the router, but all of the noise around it. We’ll help you understand what signal to noise means, and make your signal to noise ratio better to ensure steady traffic, smooth movie streaming, and quick downloads.

headAllAboutWiFi

Signal to Noise: Separating Wheat from Tares


One of the most frustrating issues with accessing the Internet is when we set up the router, everything should be working right - and you move into the next room and the signal turns to garbage. Upgrade the router - and the signal still doesn’t seem to get any better. Upgrade to a fancy mesh network, only to find people in the conference room still aren’t able to hook their laptops into the WiFi even though the signal should be strong.

The problem may not be signal strength or the range of the network. It could be an issue with what’s called “signal to noise”, sometimes referred as SNR for short by people who feel that there aren’t enough acronyms in our life or people who giggle when they get us to say “snore” out loud when talking about WiFi.

SNR is a real issue, though. If your network should be working well but downloads or slow, or there are odd disconnects in certain locations in your building, investigating SNR to find out if that’s what’s plaguing your connections is well worth the time.

What does SNR Mean


Of course, the first thing when asking about how to fix “signal to noise ratio” issues is to delve into just what SNR means. Signal to Noise is a measurement of how much relevant WiFi signal there is compared to any other signals that can get in the way.

Usually, when dealing with WiFi issues, there are two main problems:

  • Dead spots: Places where our signal can’t reach. This can be because of distance to the WiFi router, the materials the building is made out of, and other related issues. With a dead spot, we just aren’t getting any signal at all.

  • Signal to Noise ratio: With signal to noise, the WiFi radio signals may be reaching just fine, but there are other radio signals that make it hard to pick out.

Think of each problem like a big room. If I’m on one side, and you’re on the other and you try to talk to me, if your voice is too soft I won’t be able to hear you unless you shout louder. That’s an issue with dead zones or signal strength.

Signal to noise is where we are in the same room, but the room is full of other people. As you try to talk to me, we have to complete with all of the noises other people are making. It doesn’t help if someone else has a voice similar to yours, so I have to figure out when it’s you talking versus someone else.

Understanding Signal-to-Noise Ratios


SNR isn’t a ratio, as in “there is 75% signal to 25% noise”, but is measured by taking the signal strength and subtracting the noise, not dividing it. Adding to the potential confusion is that the signal is measured in decibels. For those who work in audio, most people consider decibels a measure of sound as in how loud something is.

It gets worse. In WiFi, decibels are measured in negatives. If you remember old grade school math, negative numbers are the ones below 0. So if you have -15 dBm (deciBels per milliwatt), that is a stronger signal than -50 dBm. I know - it’s confusing, but once you get that the *higher* the number, the *weaker* the signal, the better off we’ll be.

Let’s take a look at two different rooms. In one, the average signal strength is -20, the noise is around -60. To get the signal to noise ratio, it’s the signal minus the noise, which means we have an average signal to noise of 40 in this case:

Signal to Noise Ratio

How about room 2, where the signal is also -20, but the noise is -25. Now our signal to noise is much lower - around 5:

Signal to Noise Ratio

Notice how difficult it is to tell the difference between the signal and noise lines on this chart compared to the first one? That’s the rule: the lower the signal to noise ratio, the worse communication will be. We want a nice, big number for our SNR or S/N ratio since that means there’s a lot of distance between our signal and our noise.

What is a Good Signal to Noise Ratio?


Remember that Signal to Noise ratio, sometimes referred to as S/N ratio, isn’t a “ratio” but the difference between the signal-to-noise. So the bigger the number, the better.

Most experts recommend that an SNR of 20 dB just for data - this is surfing the web, looking up charts and other related traffic. If you’re looking to stream high-quality videos or make good voice/video chats, then an SNR of 25 is going to be required. Here’s a list of what kind of Signal-to-Noise ratios to follow:

  • 5dB to 10 dB: Just give it up now. Stop what you’re doing, and fix the problems. The noise is so high that its indistinguishable from the signal.
  • 10 dB to 15 dB: Really slow, but at least there’s a signal. If all you’re doing is getting basic emails, then you can get by. Barely.
  • 15 dB to 25 dB: This is average and competent for web browsing and file downloading. Just don’t expect to be watching 1080p videos off Netflix and Youtube at a good rate.
  • 25 dB to 40 dB: Fast speed. This is where you can do video conferences, stream high-speed videos, and download large files like gigabyte sized .iso files or movies.
  • 40 dB and Up: You are in the Matrix, and have become the One.

Of course, this will be determined by your basic bandwidth strength. If your bandwidth strength is only -5 dB and your noise is 0, then your Signal to Noise is great but your signal strength is still trash. So first make sure the signal is strong, then focus on the signal to noise ratio.

How to Measure Signal vs Noise


One of the most useful tools that works as a signal to noise calculator for macOS comes from NetSpot (unfortunately, NetSpot Windows users can't measure the signal to noise ratio, but the feature is on the roadmap).

For Mac users the process is so easy, it’s just a few steps:

  1. Launch Netspot.
  2. Select Discover (this is likely turned on by default).
  3. Select the WiFi network in question.
  4. Find the Signal and Noise levels.
NetSpot - network analyzer tool
  1. Subtract Signal minus Noise to get to the SNR.

Take our sample network. Here we have a signal of -39, and a noise of -80. So running this through our signal to noise calculator and we get (-39) - (-80) = 41. Or to save time, just look at the Level setting. If it’s green, the signal is clean.

Fixing SNR Issues


Fixing Signal to Noise issues can take a multitude of approaches. First, get a WiFi signal analyzer. We’ve already mentioned NetSpot, and that’s a great place to start. It shows a list of all of the networks it identifies.

NetSpot - Discover Mode

Once you see the list of WiFi signals, you can do a few things to increase the SNR ratio:

  1. Remove Extra WiFi networks. This is especially true if this is a business environment. There are few reasons for someone to be running a separate WiFi network, whether it be from their cell phone and tethering or otherwise. With NetSpot, you can get an idea where it’s at as you trace it’s signal strength.

  2. Check for “Noisy” devices. Take a look at the devices around the WiFi router. Is it next to a television, refrigerator, or other electronic devices? Try moving it away a bit. There was once a place with awful WiFi coverage until someone discovered that the WiFi router was next to the company’s fire alarm bell. Once it was moved away, the signal noise dropped.

  3. Turn off unneeded signals. Some routers support multiple bands in the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz range. Try turning off the 2.4 GHz signal if it’s not needed - it’s overcrowded compared to its 5 GHz sibling.

These are just a few ideas, and there are more things to try on the Troubleshooting high noise level. But before you do anything, install Netspot. It has an excellent free version, and users who pay for the full version can get access to other amazing features like heat maps. Download and try it out to help resolve your signal to noise issues so you can use the fast Internet access you need.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi analysis tool helps in planning, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi analyzer app

Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.