NetSpot确保您的无线路由器将发挥最佳性能

我们已经完全习惯了家庭Wi-Fi网络的使用,所以我们通常甚至不会去考虑它所面临的挑战。如果您在家里经常遇得Wi-Fi信号丢失的问题,同时信号盲区更是让您烦不胜烦,那么可能是时候去买一台新的wifi路由器了。

您的家庭路由器有问题吗?


我们的家庭网络通常用于玩网络游戏,播放4K视频,与此同时还有诸多高端移动设备试图连接到该网络,在这种情况下,老式路由器已经无法再满足当下用户的需求了。

采用早期Wi-Fi标准的路由器的性能表现是低于平均水平的,如果您的家庭所使用的是这种路由器的话,那么您可能会碰到掉线问题,网游速度迟缓,网页加载速度慢,同时在线视频播放需要大量的缓冲时间。

使用NetSpot最大限度地发挥您的WiFi路由器的性能.

如何选择适当的无线路由器


路由器的选购和安装可能会令人感到心烦。即使路由器的表现有一些问题,很多人可能都会选择将就的态度。但是总有一些时候您会觉得无法再忍受当下的问题了并感觉有必要进行升级。根据以下三大简单的贴士来了解如何完成路由器的完美置换。


1. 支持802.11ac
Wi-Fi标准

首先,确保您的新无线路由器支持802.11ac(或千兆位Wi-Fi)。即使是最基础级的802.11ac也能提供1300Mbps的吞吐量。与之前标准相比,速度提升了两倍,而且实际完全与旧式设备相兼容。

现在的大多数智能手机,平板电脑,或计算机均支持802.11ac。现代802.11ac路由器能够处理多重并行连接,这在WiFi网络负载如此多的设备的情况下是相当重要的。

这种WiFi标准的命名规则是在802.11的后面附加了字母a,b,g,n或ac,这些字母的添加是为了将不同的版本区分开来,最后一组字母所代表的版本速度是最快的,而第一个字母所代表的版本的速度最慢。全部版本均向前及向后兼容。


2. 单频 vs. 双频

所有无线通信均发生在特定频带上的。在802.11g版本之前(包括该版本),所有无线设备都是在2.4 GHz的频带上运转的。5 GHz频带自802.11n开始被添加了进来,这是因为2.4 GHz的频带对于无线设备的负载过重所致。部分设备是单频的而且只能使用2.4 GHz的频带,而双频设备则可同时使用2.4 GHz和5 GHz频带。

2.4 GHz的无线电通信被称为N无线电,而5GHz的无线电通信则被称为AC无线电。这样一来支持802.11n或更新802.11ac的设备就拥有两种传输数据的方式,而旧式频带更多地表现为速度受限,更新的频带则可以更快地速度传输数据。

双频设备分为可选双频设备和同步双频设备。可选双频路由器将使您得以在2.4 GHz和5 GHz的频带之间切换,而同步双频路由器则同时使用这两种频带,这样您就拥有了两个同一时间在不同频带上运转的不同频带。这对于像NAS,媒体串流服务器,游戏笔记本等设备是非常便捷的。由于频带变得更宽,这些设备可以以最小的延迟实现更高的速度。其他像智能手机,平板电脑和常规笔记本这些并不需要实现最高速度的设备则可以在2.4 GHz的频带上运转,从更大的运行范围中受益。


3. WiFi路由器信道

几乎所有的wifi路由器均在其界面中提供了在不同信道之间切换的可能性。但是需要注意的是,不同的WiFi网络可以在同一信道上运行,这样一来,从一个信道切换到另一信道可能无法提升连接速度,反而可能会使速度降低。但是,还是值得一试的,因为大多数网络都是在默认信道上运行的,而这个默认信道通常都是相同的。

5 GHz频带上有更多的非重叠信道,这就提供了更多无干扰且速度更快的选项。此频带上的可用非重叠信道包括36, 40, 44, 48, 149, 153, 157, 161和165,大多数AC和高端N路由器均能够很好地支持这些信道。

有一些特殊的解决方案可以帮助您查看信道干扰以及切换到更适合的信道上以提升连接速度。我们强烈建议您下载NetSpot,这款应用将为您提供可用信道的信息并帮助您最大限度地了解您的网络。这将在出现干扰问题时帮助您有效地 提升网络速度


4. WiFi路由器的速度和等级

不同版本的协议是不难区分的,但是其等级则不然。无线路由器除了根据制造商名称和型号品牌命名外,还有一部分是对不同制造商的很多无线路由器常见的型号名称。大写的路由器的Wi-Fi版本(A,B,G,N或AC)后面的四位数字代表的是路由器等级。

1200级 Wi-Fi 802.11ac路由器拥有AC1200称号,而900级Wi-Fi 802.11n路由器 — N900是无关乎制造商的。这些号码十分重要,因为它们是建立在该款路由器所支持的最大连接速度的基础之上。大多时候,这个数字越大,路由器的速度越快。但是,一味的追求最高级别的路由器有时并没有意义,因为有的设备尚未支持相应级别的路由器。

对于同步双频路由器的等级而言,数字部分代表的并不是实际连接速度。AC1200指的并非是1200 Mbps速度;这实际上是2.4 GHz和5 GHz频带上的路由器连接速度的组合,也即分别是300 Mbps和867 Mbps。下表列出了现代同步双频路由器级在每个频带上的最大连接速度。记住,这些速度只是您的设备在理想条件下连接到路由器的理论最大值。

路由器等级 Max 2.4 N GHz link (Mbps) Max 5 GHz AC link (Mbps)
AC1900 600 1300
AC1750 450 1300
AC1600 300 1300
AC1300 450 867
AC1200 300 867
AC750 300 433
AC580 150 433
N900 450 450
N750 450 300
N750 300 450
N600 300 300

5. WiFi路由器范围

有一点是可以肯定的,技术上的每一次更新都是性能的提升,这对于从802.11a到802.11n的WiFi路由器的范围的提升也是一样。但是从N往后切换到5 GHz的话实际上将会缩小范围,这是由于对障碍物更高的频率限制所致。在N和AC范围内,相同距离的话在AC上相比N上将会获得更快的速度。

确定路由器范围的因素还有很多。硬件的内置方式,WiFI路由器天线的连接方式,天线的质量等等都十分重要。大多数高品质的N模式路由器应当能够覆盖150英尺的室内范围和300英尺的户外范围,如果是AC模式的话,那么连接设备越少,范围越大。

在购买WiFi路由器之前,您应当了解一下其信号覆盖范围,无论是自己进行测试,还是通过阅读相关的测评。与此同时,您还可以通过更换天线的方式来提升您的WiFi路由器的信号覆盖范围。当然,这仅适用于搭载可拆卸天线的路由器。


6. 同时连接的数量

您还应当考虑您的WiFi路由器允许同时连接的设备的最大数量。N路由器提供不超过30个并行客户端,而AC路由器提供的并行客户端数量更多,接近100个。对于一般的使用,30个应当是完全足够的,但是在需要更多连接数的地方,AC当然是更好的选择。


7. 软件和WiFi路由器的安全功能

如果您想要控制您的无线路由器的连接和使用情况,那么您应当考虑选择固件先进,具备高品质防火墙和附加功能的路由器。它可能还会允许您安装像DD-WRT这样具有附加功能的第三方固件。对于此类WiFi路由器,其可以帮助您控制您的孩子的上网情况,根据时间准予管理接入,为您那些不需要知道您的主WiFi密码的访客提供访客接入。

选择适当的安放位置


无线路由器的位置也是相当重要。即使微小的移动也会产生一定的差异,因为路由器与不同的2.4GHz和/或5GHz设备是存在“竞争”的。您知道您的路由器的外观以及房屋的建造材料也会影响信号强度吗?

路由器制造商将此考虑在内并且尽全力完善其设备的外观表现,同时使它的体积更小,并且避免天线过分突出。如果WiFi路由器的设计看起来是赏心悦目的,那么您可能会选择将它放到比较显眼,同时信号比较强大的视野开阔的位置。

Wi-Fi router的正确安放 为获得最佳性能,您的Wi-Fi路由器应位于覆盖区域的中心

理想情况下,请将您选择的任何无线路由器放在您家里的中心位置以最大限度地实现Wi-Fi信号覆盖,提升其表现。凭借其现代化的外观设计,只要能够提供最佳信号覆盖品质,您可以选择将其放在任何位置。

构建完美的WiFi网络的最佳计划是使用NetSpot应用为您的住宅或办公室创建WiFi热图,它将为您显示信号强度明显下降的信号盲区的位置和范围。一旦您有了这样的热图,您就可以开始尝试移动您的无线路由器来确认它的最佳安放位置。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot WiFi规划工具帮助轻松实现WiFi网络的分析,
配置和部署。
获取免费的WiFi管理器应用

接下来是WiFi规划


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).

NetSpot ensures your wireless router will be at its best capacity

We are so used to have a home Wi-Fi network so we often don't even think of the challenges it faces. If you are often experiencing the loss of Wi-Fi signal at your house and dead spots are driving you crazy, it may be about time to get a new wifi router.

Are you having issues with your Home WiFi?


With all online video gaming, 4K video streaming going on, plus tons of high-end mobile devices trying to connect to network at once, older routers are just not making the cut anymore.

Routers that rely on older Wi-Fi standards mean subpar performance and you’ll may start experiencing dropped connections, slow online gaming, slow loading of web pages and ever buffering online streaming videos.

Get the most out of your WiFi router with NetSpot.

How to choose a proper wireless router


It may be quite overwhelming to shop for wireless routers and then to set them up. So no one is willing to mess with WiFi even if it is not working properly. However there is always a point when you can't take it anymore and need an upgrade. Follow three simple tips to go through a smooth router replacement.


1. Go With 802.11ac
Wi-Fi standards

First of all, make sure your new wireless router features 802.11ac (or Gigabit Wi-Fi) support. Even at the very base level, 802.11ac offers 1300Mbps throughput. That is more than two times faster than the older standard and actually works with older devices.

Most of smartphones, tablets, or computers of today support 802.11ac. Modern 802.11ac routers handle multiple concurrent connections, that’s rather important with Wi-Fi networks hosting so many devices.

The Wi-Fi standard is called 802.11 followed by a, b, g, n or ac, the letters are aimed to explain the version with the latter being the fastest and the first one being the slowest. The versions are all forward and backward-compatible.


2. Single-band vs. dual-band

All wireless communication occurs on specific frequency bands. All wireless devices operate at 2.4 GHz frequency band in standards up to and including the 802.11g. 5 GHz band has been added since 802.11n because 2.4 GHz band was becoming overloaded with wireless devices. Some devices are single-band and can only use the 2.4 GHz band, while dual-band devices can use both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands.

The 2.4 GHz radio is called the N radio, and the 5 GHz one is the AC radio. This way the devices that support 802.11n or the newer 802.11ac have two ways of transferring the data and while the old band is more limited in terms of speed, while the newer band allows faster speeds.

Dual-band devices are divided into selectable dual-band devices and simultaneous ones. The selectable dual-band routers will let you switch between the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands, while the simultaneous dual-band routers allow using both bands at a time, so you get two different networks that can operate at the same time on two different bands. This comes in handy for such devices like NAS, media streaming server, gaming laptop, etc. Thanks to the wider band these devices can work on a higher speed with the least lag. Other devices as smartphones, tablets, and regular laptops that don't need the highest speeds can work on the 2.4 GHz band and benefit from a greater operating range.


3. WiFi router channels

Almost all wifi routers offer the possibility to switch among different channels in their interface. But it is good to keep in mind that there are different WiFi networks operating on each channel, so switching from channel to channel may not improve the connection, in fact it can slow it down. However it can be worth trying as the majority of networks operate on the default channel and that is often the same one.

There are more non-overlapping channels on 5 GHz band, providing more options without interference and greater speed. The available non-overlapping channels on this band include 36, 40, 44, 48, 149, 153, 157, 161 and 165, and the majority of AC and high-end N routers support them well.

There are special solutions that help you check the channel interference and swap the channels to the more appropriate ones for every connection. We highly recommend you to download NetSpot that will provide you with the information on the available channels and will help you get the most appropriate ideas for your network. This will help improve network speed when interference is the issue.


4. WiFi router speed and class

Different versions of the protocols are not hard to differentiate from each other, however classes can be tricky. The way wireless routers are named additionally to the manufacturer's name and model branding there will be a part that is a model name that is common to many wireless routers by different manufacturers. The router's Wi-Fi version in uppercase (A, B, G, N or AC) is followed by a three or four-digit number that stands for the router's class.

A class 1200 Wi-Fi 802.11ac router has the AC1200 designation, and a class 900 Wi-Fi 802.11n router — the N900, regardless of its manufacturer. These numbers are important as they are based on the maximum link speed supported by this router. Most of the time, the higher this number, the faster the router is. However it is not always a 100% success to just get the highest class router as you want your devices to be able to work with this router and some may not support it yet.

For a simultaneous dual-band router's class the numeric part is not an actual link speed. AC1200 does not mean 1200 Mbps speed; it is in fact the combination of the router's link speeds on both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands, which makes it 300 Mbps and 867 Mbps respectively. The chart below displays the maximum link speeds of modern simultaneous dual-band router classes on each band. Remember that these speeds are the theoretical maximum at which your devices could connect to the router given the ideal conditions.

Router class Max 2.4 N GHz link (Mbps) Max 5 GHz AC link (Mbps)
AC1900 600 1300
AC1750 450 1300
AC1600 300 1300
AC1300 450 867
AC1200 300 867
AC750 300 433
AC580 150 433
N900 450 450
N750 450 300
N750 300 450
N600 300 300

5. WiFi Router range

As it is meant to be, every new update in technology suggests improvements, which is exactly true for the range of WiFi routers from 802.11a up to 802.11n. However the switch to 5 GHz from N onward will in reality reduce the range due to the higher frequency limitations for obstacles. Within the range for both N and AC, you'll get a higher speed at the same distance on AC rather than on N.

There are way more factors involved in determining a router's range. It matters how hardware is built, the way the WiFi router antenna is connected, the quality of the antenna, etc. Most high quality routers in N mode should cover 150 feet indoors and 300 feet outdoors, with range in AC mode, it is the less connected devices, the higher the range.

Before obtaining a WiFi router, get an idea about its range, either by testing it out yourself if you have the possibility or by reading the reviews for it. There is a possibility to increase the WiFi router range that you already have at home by replacing its antenna(s) with higher-range one(s). Of course this will only work for routers with detachable antennas.


6. The number of simultaneous connections

You should also consider the maximum amount of devices that your WiFi router allows to connect at a time. N routers offer up to 30 concurrent clients, while the AC routers offer much higher number, closer to 100. For general purposes 30 should be quite enough, but for a place of higher attendance, an AC is a better option.


7. Software and WiFi router security features

If you want to control what goes through your wireless router, you should consider the router with advanced firmware with a quality firewall and additional features. It may also allow the installation of third-party firmware like DD-WRT with additional features. There are WiFi routers that help you control how much your kids are exposed to the information on the Internet, allow managing access based on time, offer guest access for your visitors that don't need to know your primary WiFi password.

Choose the proper placement


The location of the wireless router is rather important too. Even gentle movements make difference as the router is competing with various 2.4GHz and/or 5GHz devices. And did you know that the built and the materials used to build the house also affect the signal strength?

The router manufacturers take this into account and do their best to deliver aesthetically pleasing looks in their devices, smaller with no antennas sticking out of the body. If the WiFi router looks lovely you may be able to put it in the plain sight where the signal will be outstanding.

Wi-Fi router's proper placement For best performance, your Wi-Fi router should be in the center of the coverage area

Ideally, go for the center of your house to get the maximum of Wi-Fi coverage and performance with any wireless router you choose. And with modern designs you can put it wherever it will provide you with the best coverage quality of all.

The perfect plan of building the perfect WiFi network is creating a WiFi heatmap of your home or office with NetSpot app, which will show you the dead zones and areas where signal degrades dramatically. Once you have the heat map on your hands, start moving your wireless router around to see the ideal spot for it.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi planning tool helps in analysis, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi manager app

Next in WiFi Planning


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.