• #1 NetSpot
  • 评估您的WiFi安全的最佳WiFi工具
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

无线安全协议: WEP, WPA, WPA2, 和 WPA3

我们将尝试为您阐释像WEP, WPA, WPA2, 和WPA3这样的加密标准之间的把不同之处,这样您就能够确认哪一加密标准最适合您的网络环境。
审核
  • NetSpot
  • WiFi安全必备
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论
WiFi安全算法自从20世纪90年代以来经历了很多变更和升级,也变得越来越安全,高效。不同类型的无线安全协议是为家庭无线网络保护而开放的。无线安全协议有WEP, WPA, 和 WPA2,服务于同一目的,但是与此同时又有所差别。

无线安全协议不仅能够防止不速之客连接到您的无线网络,同时还能为您通过电波传送的私人数据加密。

无论如何保护和加密,无线网络无法通过有线网络保证安全。后者,在其最基础的级别,是在两个点,也即A和B之间传输数据的,这两个点由网络电缆连接。欲从A向B发送数据,无线网络在其覆盖范围内向每一个方向将其信号播送至有机会监听的每一个连接设备上。

无线安全协议:WEP, WPA, WPA2,  和 WPA3

让我们仔细了解下WEP, WPA, 和WPA2无线安全协议。



protocol #1
WEP. 有线等效加密
1999 - 2004标准。容易破解且配置不便。已废弃。
  • 1
  • 安全性 • 差
  • 1
  • 可配置性 • 困难

WEP 是针对无线网络而开发的,1999年9月获准成为Wi-Fi安全标准。WEP理论上应当提供与有线网络同等的安全等级,但是其中却存在很多众所周知的问题,而且这些问题同样也易于破解且配置困难。

尽管已经尽一切努力来提升WEP系统,它仍然是高度脆弱的解决方案。依赖于此协议的系统在安全升级无法实现的时候应当予以升级或替换。WEP于2004年正式被Wi-Fi联盟予以放弃。

protocol #2
WPA. Wi-Fi网络保护访问
曾用作WEP的暂时性改善方案。容易破解。可配置型:适中
  • 2
  • 安全性 • 差
  • 3
  • 可配置性 • 或多或少

在802.11i无线安全标准的开发过程中,WPA被用作WEP的临时安全增强措施。 在WEP被正式放弃的前一年,WPA正式被采用。 大多数现代WPA应用程序使用预共享密钥(PSK)(通常称为WPA Personal)和临时密钥完整性协议(TKIP(/tiːkɪp/))进行加密。 WPA Enterprise使用身份验证服务器生成密钥和证书。

WPA是对于WEP的显著增强,但是由于核心组件的制造,所以它们可能会由于启用WEP设备的固件升级而滚出,它们仍然依赖于开发元素。

WPA,就像WEP一样,经过概念验证和应用公共演示后,很容易受到入侵。 然而,对此协议构成最大威胁的攻击不是直接攻击,而是在Wi-Fi保护设置(WPS)上进行的攻击 - 为简化设备与现代接入点的链接而开发的辅助系统。

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。
protocol #3
WPA2. 无线保护接入2代版本
自2004年以来,AES加密。
  • 4
  • 安全性 • 良好
  • 4
  • 可配置性 • 规范

基于802.11i无线安全标准的协议于2004年推出。WPA2相对于WPA最重要的改进是使用高级加密标准(AES)。 AES获得美国政府批准,对于被归类为绝密的信息进行加密,因此它必须足以保护家庭网络。

Advanced Encryption Standard is approved by the U.S. government
这时候WPA2系统的主要漏洞在于当攻击者已经可以访问某安全的WiFi网络并能够获取部分密钥来对网络上的其他设备进行攻击。也就是说,对于已知的WPA2漏洞的安全防护建议大多是针对企业级的网络,对于小型家庭网络并无显著影响。

不幸的是,通过Wi-Fi安全设置可能发生的攻击频率在当前的WPA2准接入点中仍然非常高,这也是WPA的问题。而且尽管从任何地方通过这个漏洞侵入WPA/WPA2安全网络需要2-14个小时,但是它仍然是一个真实存在的安全问题,而且WPS应当被禁用,如果接入点固件能够予以重置分配,不支持WPS完全排除此攻击媒介。

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。

哪一种安全方法将适用于您的网络

这里是从优到劣的适用于现代化(2006年之后)路由器的现代WiFi安全方法的基本排名:

  1. WPA2 + AES

  2. WPA + AES

  3. WPA + TKIP/AES (TKIP在这里是作为回退方法)

  4. WPA + TKIP

  5. WEP

  6. 开放网络 (一点也不安全)


最好的方法是停用Wi-Fi保护设置(WPS)并将路由器设置为WPA2 + AES。 从列表中可以看出,您的网络安全性降低了。

目的
WPA和WPA2都应该保护无线互联网免受未经授权的访问。 如果您的路由器没有安全保护,那么任何人都可以窃取带宽,从您的连接和名称中执行非法操作,监控您的网络活动,以及在您的网络中轻松安装恶意应用程序。

WPA vs. WPA2
WiFi 路由器支持各种安全协议来保护无线网络:WEP,WPA和WPA2。 但是,相比其前身WPA(Wi-Fi保护访问),我们更推荐WPA2。

WPA2的唯一缺点很可能是它需要多少处理能力才能保护您的网络。 这意味着需要更强大的硬件才能避免网络性能的降低。 此问题涉及在WPA2之前使用的旧接入点,并且仅通过固件升级支持WPA2。 大多数当前的接入点都配备了功能更强大的硬件。

如果可以的话,一定要使用WPA2,如果您的接入点无法支持WPA2,则只能使用WPA。 当您的接入点经常遇到高负载并且网络速度受到WPA2使用的影响时,也可以使用WPA。 当安全性是首要任务时,回滚不是一种选择,而应该认真考虑获得更好的接入点。 如果不可能使用任何WPA标准,则必须使用WEP。

加密速度
根据您所使用的安全协议的不同,数据速度会受到影响。WPA2是最快的加密协议,而WEP是最慢的。

保护您的WiFi网络

虽然WPA2提供比WPA更多的保护,因此提供比WEP更多的保护,但路由器的安全性在很大程度上取决于您设置的密码。 WPA和WPA2允许您使用最多63个字符的密码。

在设置您的 WiFi网络密码 时请尽可能使用各种不同的字符。黑客对于可以轻松入侵的目标非常感兴趣,如果他们无法在几分钟内破解您的密码,那么他们将很可能将目光转移到更容易遭受攻击的网络。总结:

  1. WPA2是WPA的增强版本;
  2. WPA只支持TKIP加密,而WPA2支持AES;
  3. 从理论上讲,WPA2无法被攻击,而WPA则不然;
  4. WPA2相比WPA需要更多的处理功率;
  5. 使用NetSpot 来检查您的加密情况!

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。
protocol #4
WPA3. 无线保护接入3代版本
即将推出。密码保护。WiFi轻松连接。
  • 5
  • 安全性 • 非常好
  • 5
  • 可配置性 • 非常好

UPD:是下一代的WiFi安全标准

保护Wi-Fi免受黑客攻击是网络安全中最重要的任务之一。 这就是为什么下一代无线安全协议WPA3的到来值得您关注的原因:它不仅能够保持Wi-Fi连接更安全,还能帮助您避免自身的安全缺陷。
这是它的优势所在:

密码保护

首先介绍WPA3如何保护您的家庭网络。 具体来说,它将减轻可能由于您对密码设置的惰性所引发的危害。

WPA2的一个根本弱点可以追溯到2004年的当前无线安全协议,它允许黑客部署所谓的离线字典攻击来猜测您的密码。 攻击者可以不断尝试猜测您的凭据密码,无需在同一个网络上,他们在相对较短的时间内即可循环遍历整个字典。

WPA3将通过实施新的密钥交换协议来防止字典攻击。 WPA2在客户端和接入点之间使用了不够完美的四次握手来启用加密连接; 这是臭名昭着的KRACK漏洞之所以会影响每一连接设备背后的原因。 WPA3将放弃此种握手,支持更安全 — 并且经过广泛审查 — 同步身份验证的平等握手。

它的另一大优势会在您的密码遭到破坏时彰显。有了这种新的握手,WPA3支持前向加密,这意味着遇到您的横档的流量在外部人士获得访问权之前将保持加密。而如果使用WPA2的话,他们同样能够解密之前的流量。>

更加安全的连接

当WPA2在2004年推出时,物联网还没有涉及目前标志性的消费安全恐怖。 因此,毫无疑问,WPA2没有提供简化的方法来将这些设备安全地安装到现有的Wi-Fi网络上。 事实上,自2011年以来,该过程发生的主要方法 — Wi-Fi保护设置 — 已经存在已知的漏洞。WPA3提供了修复。

Wi-Fi Easy Connect,正如Wi-Fi联盟所称,可以更轻松地将没有(或有限)屏幕或输入机制的无线设备安装到您的网络上。 启用后,您只需使用智能手机扫描路由器上的二维码,然后扫描打印机或扬声器或其他物联网设备上的二维码,即可完成 — 它们已安全连接。 有了这种二维码方法,您使用基于公钥的加密技术来加载目前缺少有简单安全方法的板载设备。

这种趋势也随着Wi-Fi增强开放而发挥作用,Wi-Fi联盟几周之前就已经详细介绍了这一趋势。 您可能听说过应避免在公共Wi-Fi网络上进行任何敏感地数据浏览或输入。 这是因为对于WPA2,任何人都可以在同一个公共网络上观察您的活动,以您为目标进行类似中间人的攻击或流量嗅探。 在WPA3上呢? 没那么多。 当您使用WPA3设备登录咖啡店的WPA3 Wi-Fi时,您的连接将自动加密,无需其他凭据。 它使用称为机会无线加密的既定标准来实现。

与密码保护一样,WPA3针对公共网络的扩展加密也使Wi-Fi用户免受他们可能没有意识到的漏洞的影响。 事实上,如果有什么事情可能会让Wi-Fi用户觉得太安全了。

WPA3:什么时候能够在我的Wi-Fi 上使用

虽然已经披露了有关的更多技术细节,但是现在谈WPA3感觉还为时尚早。尽管像Qualcomm这样的主流制造商已经承诺在今年夏天尽早落实,充分利用WPA3很多升级举措的优势,但是它需要整个生态环境的接受和认可。这迟早会发生,就像WPA2一样。

Wi-Fi联盟预计最早要到2019年底才会广泛实施。

一旦所有设备都支持WPA3,您就可以禁用路由器上的WPA2连接以提高安全性,就像您现在可以禁用WPA和WEP连接,只允许路由器上的WPA2连接一样。

虽然WPA3需要一段时间才能完全推出,但重要的是转型过程始于2018年。这意味着未来会出现更安全,更更安全的Wi-Fi网络。

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。
还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求 或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想更加深入地了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查看以下有关Wi-Fi安全性,最佳无线网络应用,最佳WiFi路由器等的文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查 运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

• #1 NetSpot
  • Best WiFi tool to assess your WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

Wireless Security Protocols: WEP, WPA, WPA2, and WPA3

We'll try to explain the differences among the encryption standards like WEP, WPA, WPA2, and WPA3 so you can see which one will work best for your network environment.
CHECKED BY
  • NetSpot
  • Essential for WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews
WiFi security algorithms have been through many changes and upgrades since the 1990s to become more secure and effective. Different types of wireless security protocols were developed for home wireless networks protection. The wireless security protocols are WEP, WPA, and WPA2, serving the same purpose but being different at the same time.

Not only do the wireless security protocols prevent unwanted parties from connecting to your wireless network, but also encrypt your private data sent over the airwaves.

No matter how protected and encrypted, wireless networks cannot keep up in safety with wired networks. The latter, at their most basic level, transmit data between two points, A and B, connected by a network cable. To send data from A to B, wireless networks broadcast it within their range in every direction to every connected device that happens to be listening.

Wireless Security Protocols: WEP, WPA, WPA2, and WPA3

Let's have a closer look at WEP, WPA, WPA2, and WPA3 wireless security protocols.



protocol #1
WEP. Wired Equivalent Privacy
1999 - 2004 standard. Easy to break and hard to configure. Abandoned.
  • 1
  • Security • Poor
  • 1
  • Configurable • Hard

WEP was developed for wireless networks and approved as a Wi-Fi security standard in September 1999. WEP was supposed to offer the same security level as wired networks, however there is a bunch of well-known security issues in WEP, which is also easy to break and hard to configure.

Despite all the work that has been done to improve the WEP system it still is a highly vulnerable solution. Systems that rely on this protocol should be either upgraded or replaced in case security upgrade is not possible. WEP was officially abandoned by the Wi-Fi Alliance in 2004.

protocol #2
WPA. Wi-Fi Protected Access
Was used as a temporary enhancement for WEP. Easy to break. Configuration: moderate
  • 2
  • Security • Poor
  • 3
  • Configurable • More or less

For the time the 802.11i wireless security standard was in development, WPA was used as a temporary security enhancement for WEP. One year before WEP was officially abandoned, WPA was formally adopted. Most modern WPA applications use a pre-shared key (PSK), most often referred to as WPA Personal, and the Temporal Key Integrity Protocol or TKIP (/tiːˈkɪp/) for encryption. WPA Enterprise uses an authentication server for keys and certificates generation.

WPA was a significant enhancement over WEP, but as the core components were made so they could be rolled out through firmware upgrades on WEP-enabled devices, they still relied onto exploited elements.

WPA, just like WEP, after being put through proof-of-concept and applied public demonstrations turned out to be pretty vulnerable to intrusion. The attacks that posed the most threat to the protocol were however not the direct ones, but those that were made on Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) - auxiliary system developed to simplify the linking of devices to modern access points.

Check your encryption with NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.
protocol #3
WPA2. Wi-Fi Protected Access version 2
Since 2004. AES encryption.
  • 4
  • Security • Good
  • 4
  • Configurable • Norm

The 802.11i wireless security standard based protocol was introduced in 2004. The most important improvement of WPA2 over WPA was the usage of the Advanced Encryption Standard (AES). AES is approved by the U.S. government for encrypting the information classified as top secret, so it must be good enough to protect home networks.

Advanced Encryption Standard is approved by the U.S. government
At this time the main vulnerability to a WPA2 system is when the attacker already has access to a secured WiFi network and can gain access to certain keys to perform an attack on other devices on the network. This being said, the security suggestions for the known WPA2 vulnerabilities are mostly significant to the networks of enterprise levels, and not really relevant for small home networks.

Unfortunately, the possibility of attacks via the Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS), is still high in the current WPA2-capable access points, which is the issue with WPA too. And even though breaking into a WPA/WPA2 secured network through this hole will take anywhere around 2 to 14 hours it is still a real security issue and WPS should be disabled and it would be good if the access point firmware could be reset to a distribution not supporting WPS to entirely exclude this attack vector.

Check your Encryption using NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.

Which security method will work for your network

Here is the basic rating from best to worst of the modern WiFi security methods available on modern (after 2006) routers:

  1. WPA2 + AES

  2. WPA + AES

  3. WPA + TKIP/AES (TKIP is there as a fallback method)

  4. WPA + TKIP

  5. WEP

  6. Open Network (no security at all)


The best way to go is to deactivate Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) and set the router to WPA2 +AES. As you go down the list, you are getting less security for your network.

Purpose
Both WPA and WPA2 are supposed to secure wireless Internet networks from unauthorized access. If you leave your router with no security then anyone can steal the bandwidth, perform illegal actions out of your connection and name, monitor your web activity, and easily install malicious apps in your network.

WPA vs. WPA2
WiFi routers support a variety of security protocols to secure wireless networks: WEP, WPA and WPA2. However WPA2 is recommended over its predecessor WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access).

Probably the only downside of WPA2 is how much processing power it needs to protect your network. This means more powerful hardware is needed to avoid lower network performance. This issue concerns older access points that were implemented before WPA2 and only support WPA2 via a firmware upgrade. Most of the current access points have been supplied with more capable hardware.

Definitely use WPA2 if you can and only use WPA if there is no way your access point will support WPA2. Using WPA is also a possibility when your access point regularly experiences high loads and the network speed suffers from the WPA2 usage. When security is the top priority then rolling back is not an option, instead one should seriously consider getting better access points. WEP has to be used if there is no possibility to use any of the WPA standards.

Encryption Speed
Depending on what security protocols you use the data speed can be affected. WPA2 is the fastest of the encryption protocols, while WEP is the slowest.

Protect Your WiFi Network

While WPA2 offers more protection than WPA and therefore provides even more protection than WEP, the security of your router heavily depends on the password you set. WPA and WPA2 let you use passwords of up to 63 characters.

Use as many various characters in your WiFi network password as possible. Hackers are interested in easier targets, if they can't break your password in several minutes, they will most likely move on to look for more vulnerable networks. Summary:

  1. WPA2 is the enhanced version of WPA;
  2. WPA only supports TKIP encryption while WPA2 supports AES;
  3. Theoretically, WPA2 is not hackable while WPA is;
  4. WPA2 needs more processing power than WPA;
  5. Use NetSpot to check your encryption!

Check your Encryption using NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.
protocol #4
WPA3. Wi-Fi Protected Access version 3
Coming soon. Password protection. WiFi easy connect.
  • 5
  • Security • Excellent
  • 5
  • Configurable • Excellent

UPD: WPA3 is the next generation of WiFi security

Protecting Wi-Fi from hackers is one of the most important tasks in cybersecurity. Which is why the arrival of next-generation wireless security protocol WPA3 deserves your attention: Not only is it going to keep Wi-Fi connections safer, but also it will help save you from your own security shortcomings.
Here is what it offers:

Password Protection

Start with how WPA3 will protect you at home. Specifically, it’ll mitigate the damage that might stem from your lazy passwords.

A fundamental weakness of WPA2, the current wireless security protocol that dates back to 2004, is that it lets hackers deploy a so-called offline dictionary attack to guess your password. An attacker can take as many shots as they want at guessing your credentials without being on the same network, cycling through the entire dictionary — and beyond — in relatively short order.

WPA3 will protect against dictionary attacks by implementing a new key exchange protocol. WPA2 used an imperfect four-way handshake between clients and access points to enable encrypted connections; it’s what was behind the notorious KRACK vulnerability that impacted basically every connected device. WPA3 will ditch that in favor of the more secure — and widely vetted — Simultaneous Authentication of Equals handshake.

The other benefit comes in the event that your password gets compromised nonetheless. With this new handshake, WPA3 supports forward secrecy, meaning that any traffic that came across your transom before an outsider gained access will remain encrypted. With WPA2, they can decrypt old traffic as well.

Safer Connections

When WPA2 came along in 2004, the Internet of Things had not yet become anything close to the all-consuming security horror that is its present-day hallmark. No wonder, then, that WPA2 offered no streamlined way to safely onboard these devices to an existing Wi-Fi network. And in fact, the predominant method by which that process happens today — Wi-Fi Protected Setup — has had known vulnerabilities since 2011. WPA3 provides a fix.

Wi-Fi Easy Connect, as the Wi-Fi Alliance calls it, makes it easier to get wireless devices that have no (or limited) screen or input mechanism onto your network. When enabled, you’ll simply use your smartphone to scan a QR code on your router, then scan a QR code on your printer or speaker or other IoT device, and you're set — they're securely connected. With the QR code method, you’re using public key-based encryption to onboard devices that currently largely lack a simple, secure method to do so.

That trend plays out also with Wi-Fi Enhanced Open, which the Wi-Fi Alliance detailed a few weeks before. You've probably heard that you should avoid doing any sensitive browsing or data entry on public Wi-Fi networks. That's because with WPA2, anyone on the same public network as you can observe your activity, and target you with intrusions like man-in-the-middle attacks or traffic sniffing. On WPA3? Not so much. When you log onto a coffee shop’s WPA3 Wi-Fi with a WPA3 device, your connection will automatically be encrypted without the need for additional credentials. It does so using an established standard called Opportunistic Wireless Encryption.

As with the password protections, WPA3's expanded encryption for public networks also keeps Wi-Fi users safe from a vulnerability they may not realize exists in the first place. In fact, if anything it might make Wi-Fi users feel too secure.

WPA3: When Can I Get It On My Wi-Fi?

Even with the added technical details, talking about WPA3 feels almost premature. While major manufacturers like Qualcomm already have committed to its implementation as early as this summer, to take full advantage of WPA3’s many upgrades, the entire ecosystem needs to embrace it. That’ll happen in time, just as it did with WPA2.

The Wi-Fi Alliance doesn’t expect broad implementation until late 2019 at the earliest.

Once all your devices support WPA3, you could disable WPA2 connectivity on your router to improve security, the same way you might disable WPA and WEP connectivity and only allow WPA2 connections on your router today.

While it will take a while for WPA3 to fully roll out, the important thing is that the transition process is beginning in 2018. This means safer, more secure Wi-Fi networks in the future.

Check your Encryption using NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.
Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, best WiFi routers, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews