实现公共WiFi安全所需的最佳VPN

免费WiFi的使用过程中伴随有大量的潜在安全威胁,这些威胁可谓已经渗透到我们生活的各个角落。
公共区域内所提供的免费WiFi热点对于携带移动设备或笔记本电脑的个人而言可谓是带来了极大的便利。像餐厅和咖啡馆这样的很多企业都会向自己的顾客提供免费的WiFi连接,这也是他们进行市场推广的一种工具。当您在机场等待登机或在酒店房间休息时,您很可能连接上免费的无线网络。

上午在附近的星巴克喝一杯热饮的同时查看一下您的电子邮件很可能已经成为您生活的一部分。但是世界上没有免费的午餐,公共WiFi同样存在安全隐患。连接免费WiFi的同时需要您采取一些保护措施。

公共WiFi的安全隐患

根据 norton.com,使用免费WiFi的主要安全隐患有:

  • WiFi窥探 — 通过软件或专业硬件的使用,黑客们可以在您的设备和无线路由器之间植入追踪信号。

  • 流氓WiFi网络 — 网络犯罪分子可能会设置公共网络来引诱毫无戒心的移动用户。实际上,您在当地潘娜拉刚刚连接上的免费WiFi可能是专门用来窃取您的信息的流氓网络。

  • 中间人攻击 — 这种攻击模式是黑客通过将受入侵者控制的一台计算机虚拟放置在网络连接中的两台通信计算机之间的方式来获取您的数据的访问权限。他们在数据传输的过程中有机会拦截并阅读其中的数据。

  • 感染恶意程序 — 像滤过性病毒和蠕虫病毒这样的恶意程序可以通过一系列不同的软件安全漏洞植入到您的设备中。此类恶意程序可能会造成数据丢失并使您的设备系统发生崩溃。

  • 缺乏数据加密 — 您正在使用的免费WiFi网络可能未对数据传输设置 加密。此种疏忽可能使黑客轻松窃取到诸如登陆凭证和敏感数据这样的宝贵信息。

在使用公共WiFi的同时保护您自己

免费WiFi网络的安全性问题对于每一位移动设备用户而言可谓是至关重要。根据 spiceworks.com,超过60%的公司员工都将公司设备连接在免费WiFi上。个人数据当然很重要,一旦其受到威胁会对受害人带来难以估量的损害。企业信息的曝光可能会给整个企业以及它的员工,甚至是客户带来灾难性的影响。

在使用免费公共WiFi网络的时候,您可以采用多种方法来将这些对您的数据和设备的潜在威胁降到最低程度。根据 inc.com,以下指引可以帮助您保护您的信息安全。无论是企业还是私人移动用户,他们均可以从这些步骤中受益。

  • 使用虚拟私有网络(VPN)。尽管VPN的使用还有其他很多隐私原因,但是对于公共WiFi空间的用户而言,内置于VPN软件中的加密能力是其最大的优势。一款高质量的VPN服务将确保您的数据获得安全加密,使得任何人都无法在您上网传输数据时从中进行窥探。

  • 关闭移动设备的自动连接功能。自动连接到网络存在潜在风险,甚至您在遭受黑客攻击时还浑然不知自己处于联网状态。您需要将其设定成在连接到任何公共WiFi网络之前都要询问您。

  • 考虑使用来自于您的运营商的移动热点,而不是公共网络。这当然会产生一定的费用,而且还需要另一台设备提供热点,但这同时可以杜绝公共WiFi的风险。

  • 在全部移动设备上安装反病毒软件并确保您同时启用了安全防火墙。

  • 尽可能避免使用公共WiFi。您可能会想问既然有风险那么是否值得使用免费WiFi,还是等有机会去更加安全的地方再连接网络。

  • 当您连接公共WiFi网络时,一定要避免在网上进行像银行转账或网上购物这样线上活动,以免泄漏您的敏感数据。

如果您觉得您以后可能需要使用公共WiFi网络的话,那么您一定得在您的笔记本电脑或移动设备上安装VPN。如果没有及时安装可能会引发同类风险,就如同夜间开车不开车灯一样。您也有可能安全抵达目的地,但是发生危险的可能性非常大。在不安装VPN的情况下想要在连接公共WiFi网络的情况下保持您的数据安全如同痴人说梦。

最佳VPN服务

大多数人在夜间开车的时候都会打开车灯,这是因为他们都意识到了不这样做的后果。同样的道理,您在访问公共WiFi热点的时候也应当使用VPN。您可以找到免费的VPN,但是通常来说,您只有购买付费产品才能获得更好的体验。大多数付费VPN都支持月度订阅,根据您所选择的服务时间的长度,相应的收费会有所降低。

鉴于我们这里注重的是在使用公共WiFi时的防护,所以加密能力是您选择VPN的关键。我们接下来快速了解一下部分可用的最佳VPN。

选择 #1
  • 无充足的评价

此VPN提供军队级256位AES加密,严格保卫您的数据安全。NordVPN为您提供3天的免费试用期,以便测试其各项功能。该软件内置了一个关闭开关,如果此VPN服务无法确定您的网络安全是有保证的,那么它会自动终止您的网络连接。

NordVPN
NordVPN

同一账户最多可同时保护6台设备。您可以拦截恶意程序和弹出式广告,而且其公司支持30日无条件退款保证。

选择 #2
  • 无充足的评价

ExpressVPN是另一款高质量的VPN服务,通过256位AES防护机制来安全地为您的数据进行加密。您的购买同样享有30日退款保证,您的同一账户最多可同时连接3台设备。

ExpressVPN
ExpressVPN

如果VPN连接断开,那么关闭开关会立即断开您的网络连接以保护您的数据。

选择 #3
  • 无充足的评价

AvastVPN使用银行级加密,防止您的宝贵数据遭受未经授权的访问。您最多可以同时在5台设备上使用它的服务,而且可免费试用7天。该产品支持30日退款,但前提是您使用该软件进行的网络连接数以及数据下载量不得超过某一阈值。

Avast VPN
Avast VPN

部分有关该软件捆绑广告软体的举报可能会使部分用户对此产品感到不信任。

选择 #4
  • 无充足的评价

CyberGhost最多可同时连接7台设备,提供256位AES加密来保护您的数据安全。您可以免费试用24小时,他们同时还提供退款保证,相关保证根据您所选择的计划的不同而有所差别。

CyberGhost
CyberGhost

通过关闭开关保护您的连接,在VPN失效时断开您的连接。

选择 #5
  • 无充足的评价

VPN Unlimited提供超强256位AES加密来保护您的数据安全。他们提供很多不同的定价计划,包括终生订阅。这款工具存在的潜在问题包括下载速度差强人意,而且还会记录部分用户信息,这通常只有免费VPN服务才会这样做。

VPN Unlimited
VPN Unlimited

您最多可以同时保护5台设备,同时该产品还提供7日的免费试用期以及退款保证。

选择 #6
  • 无充足的评价

这是另外一款VPN,它同样提供安全加密,而且同一账户最多可保护5台设备。它提供无风险的3日免费试用,但是您需要输入您的付款信息才能使用此项功能。

vyprVPN
vyprVPN

此款服务最为突出的一大优势在于他们所使用和运行的都是自己的硬件,这就消除了任何的第三方顾虑。

选择 #7
  • 无充足的评价

我们最后为您介绍的这款VPN是IPVanish。顾名思义,它的主要功能在于通过隐藏您的IP地址的方式来保护您的线上活动隐私安全。它还提供了您在尝试使用公共WiFi时所需要的数据加密。

IPVanish
IPVanish

您可以通过7日免费试用来测试它的功能,该产品同样提供退款保证。此款VPN最多允许您同时连接10台设备。

既然您已经意识到了使用如今无处不在的免费公共WiFi所涉及的潜在安全隐患,那么您应当确信您需要采取额外的防护措施来保护您的设备和数据的安全。这也是VPN服务为您提供的功能所在。再次重申,除非您在设备上安装了VPN,否则请不要使用公共WiFi。请注意,一定要打开这些“车灯”!

还有其他问题吗?
提交请求或留言。

接下来阅读Wi-Fi安全

如何保持您的无线网络安全,以及有关选择哪种加密形式,如何知道哪些人已经连接到了您的网络,等等的贴士。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Best WiFi tool to assess your WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

The Best VPNs For Public WiFi Security

There are a number of potential security exposures associated with the use of the free connectivity that seems to be all around us.
CHECKED BY
  • NetSpot
  • Essential for WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews
The availability of free WiFi hotspots in public spaces can be a great convenience for individuals with mobile devices or laptops. Many businesses such as restaurants and coffee shops offer a free WiFi connection to their patrons as a marketing tool. While you are waiting at an airport or relaxing in a hotel room, the odds are good that you can get a wireless Internet connection for free.

It might have become your morning ritual to enjoy a hot beverage and check your email at the local Starbucks. But as with many free things in life, public WiFi is not without its downside. Navigating the world of free WiFi requires you to take some protective measures.

The Dangers of Public WiFi

According to norton.com, these are the major dangers of using free WiFi:

  • WiFi Snooping — Through the use of software or specialized hardware, hackers can tap into the signals flowing between your device and the wireless router.

  • Rogue WiFi Networks — Cybercriminals may have set up networks to entice the unwary mobile user. The free WiFi that you just connected to at your local Panera may, in reality, be a malicious network designed to steal your information.

  • Man-in-the-Middle Attacks — This type of attack is related to snooping in that hackers are gaining access to your data by locating themselves between your device and the network access point. They get a chance to intercept and read the data as it is being transmitted.

  • Exposure to Malware — Malware such as viruses and worms can be introduced to your device through various software security vulnerabilities. Destructive malware can cause data loss and the potential exists for your device to be compromised.

  • Lack of Data Encryption — The free WiFi network that you are using may not have been set up to enforce encryption on data transmissions. This oversight allows hackers to easily steal valuable information such as login credentials and sensitive data.

Protecting Yourself When Using Public WiFi

Concerns over the safety of free WiFi networks encompass all users of mobile devices. According to spiceworks.com, over 60% of companies have employees who are connecting company devices to free WiFi while on the go. Personal data is certainly important and having it compromised can cause serious repercussions for the victim. Exposing corporate information can lead to ramifications that affect a business, its employees, and potentially its customers.

There are multiple ways to minimize the potential danger to your data and device when considering the use of free public WiFi networks. According to inc.com, following these guidelines can help you keep your information safe. Both business and private mobile users can benefit from taking these steps.

  • Use a virtual private network (VPN). While there are a number of other privacy reasons that might warrant the use of a VPN, the primary benefit for users in the public WiFi space is the encryption capabilities that are built into VPN software. A quality VPN service will ensure that your data is securely encrypted to make it impossible for anyone to see the data you are transmitting when you are online.

  • Turn off auto-connect capability in mobile devices. Automatically connecting to networks poses the risk that you can be hacked when you don’t even think you are online. You want your device to ask you before it connects to any public WiFi network.

  • Consider using your own mobile hotspot available from your carrier rather than accessing public networks. There is a cost involved and another device to carry around, but it does negate the risks of public WiFi.

  • Install anti-malware software on all mobile devices and make sure that you have a secure firewall enabled on the equipment.

  • Avoid using public WiFi if possible. You may need to ask yourself if it is worth the risk of using the free WiFi or if you can wait to connect until you are at a more secure location.

  • Refrain from performing online activities such as banking or shopping which may expose sensitive data when connected to a public WiFi network.

If you think that you might want to use public WiFi in the future you absolutely need to have a VPN set up on your laptop or mobile device. Failure to do so entails the same sort of risk as driving at night with no headlights. You may make it to your destination safely, but it will be the result of dumb luck. Trying to keep your data safe on public WiFi networks without a VPN is just as crazy.

The Best VPN Services

Most people don’t drive without headlights as they are aware of the risks that this involves. You should feel the same way about using a VPN when you access a public WiFi hotspot. You can find free VPNs, but in general, you will get better performance by going with a paid product. Most work on a monthly subscription fee that decreases based on the length of service you select.

Since we are focusing on protection when using public WiFi, the encryption capabilities are critical in the VPN you choose to employ. Here is a quick look at some of the best VPNs available.

choice #1
  • Not Enough Ratings

Military-grade 256-bit AES encryption will keep your data safe with this VPN. NordVPN can be tested with no commitment with a 3-day free trial. There is a kill switch built into the software to terminate your online connection if the VPN service fails to make sure your security is maintained.

NordVPN
NordVPN

A single account lets you protect up to six devices at once. You can block malware and pop-up ads and the company offers a 30-day money-back guarantee if you find it’s not right for you.

choice #2
  • Not Enough Ratings

ExpressVPN is another high-quality VPN service that securely encrypts your data with 256-bit AES protection. Your purchase is protected by a 30-day money-back guarantee and you can connect up to three devices simultaneously on one account.

ExpressVPN
ExpressVPN

If the VPN connection drops, a kill switch shuts down your Internet connection immediately to protect your data.

choice #3
  • Not Enough Ratings

Employing bank-grade encryption, Avast VPN protects your valuable data from unauthorized access. You can use the service on up to five devices simultaneously and try the product for free for seven days. A 30-day refund is available but only if you have not used the software above a certain threshold for connection attempts and data downloads.

Avast VPN
Avast VPN

Some reports of adware bundled with the software may make some users nervous about this product.

choice #4
  • Not Enough Ratings

Connect up to seven devices simultaneously and enjoy the data protection offered by 256-bit AES encryption with CyberGhost. You can try the service free for 24 hours and they offer money back guarantees that vary based on the plan you select.

CyberGhost
CyberGhost

Protect your connection with a kill switch to disconnect you if the VPN fails.

choice #5
  • Not Enough Ratings

VPN Unlimited provides strong 256-bit AES encryption to keep your data secure. They offer a number of different pricing plans, including a lifetime subscription. Potential problems with this tool include less than stellar download speeds and the logging of some user information that is usually restricted to the free VPN services.

VPN Unlimited
VPN Unlimited

You can protect up to five devices at once and there is a seven-day trial and money-back guarantee with this service.

choice #6
  • Not Enough Ratings

Here is another VPN that offers secure encryption and the ability to protect up to five devices on a single account. It offers a risk-free three-day trial, but you need to enter your payment details in order to access this feature.

vyprVPN
vyprVPN

A distinguishing quality of this service is that they own and operate all of their own hardware, eliminating any third-party concerns.

choice #7
  • Not Enough Ratings

Rounding out our overview of VPNs is IPVanish. As its title suggests, its primary purpose is to keep your online activities private by hiding your IP address. It also provides the encryption that you need if you are attempting to use public WiFi.

IPVanish
IPVanish

Test it out with a seven-day money-back guarantee. This VPN allows you to connect up to ten devices at the same time.

Now you are aware of the potential risks involved with using the free public WiFi that seems to be everywhere for the taking. You should be convinced that you need to add an extra layer of protection to keep your devices and data safe. That’s what a VPN service will provide for you. Don’t use public WiFi again without installing a VPN on your device. And please, turn on those headlights!

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in Wi-Fi Security

How to keep your wireless network safe, plus tips on which encryption to use, how to know who is connected to your network, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews