使用WiFi扩展器增强无线连接性



谁不想在家中或办公室里使用稳固的无线信号?不幸的是,并非每个人的路由器都能够远距离穿过障碍传播稳定的信号。如果您发现您的WiFi网络的覆盖区域并未达到令人满意的程度,您应当考虑使用WiFi扩展器。

什么是无线扩展器



WiFi范围扩展器有很多不同的名称,如无线扩展器,WiFi加速器,或 WiFi中继器。 无论名称为何,所有的无线范围扩展器的功能都是相同的:它们从现有网络探嗅WiFi信号,对其进行增强,并传递增强后的信号。

它们能有如此功能是因为它们本质上包含两个路由器。其中一个路由器用于接收,而另一个用于传播。由于每一个路由器只负责一项工作,所以效果非常好。作为对照,您的笔记本的WiFi卡不超过一英寸。无线扩展器有的像智能手机充电器一样小,有的像企业级路由器那样大。

您为什么需要一个WiFi范围扩展器


WiFi盲区,无线信号尤为薄弱地点,经常受到干扰,以及迟缓的下载和上传速度。这些问题非此即彼。尽管很多现代路由器相比以前的桌面电脑和服务器要更加强大,但是WiFi盲区仍然是困扰世界数以百万计的智能手机,平板,和笔记本电脑使用者的日常问题的一部分。


随着互联网时代的降临以及智能家居的创新,这个问题只会更加严重。忽然之间,不单单是我们的个人电子设备需要连接到互联网。温控器,电灯泡,水流传感器,甚至我们的电冰箱都需要连接至互联网。

市面上最好的WiFi扩展器代表的是简单的,高性价比的消除盲区的方法,无论是在客厅还是在顶楼都能享用快速稳定的无线连接。根据您的扩展器(可能多部)摆放位置的不同,您甚至可以覆盖您的后院和地下室 — 与此同时您仍然能够保留您使用多年的同一路由器。WiFi扩展器还能有效增强高度干扰区域内的WiFi信号。对于大多数公寓和住宅而言,这主要指的是厨房。微波炉和金属电器能够使本来强劲的信号变得极为不稳定。

换言之,如果您想要在所有的房间里都能享用强劲的WiFi信号,那么您需要一个WiFi范围扩展器。而作为其替代方式,一个新的路由器可能更加昂贵,安装时间更长,而且远不如无线扩展器这般灵活。

如何选择最好的WiFi扩展器


WiFi扩展器可以分为两大类别。一类是插入墙壁插座内,另一类是放在桌面上的。前一类相对不那么惹眼,但是与电线接近会造成信号干扰。后一类通常提供更多的功能,如以太网络和USB端口。

除外形因素之外,您还需要考虑具体的规格。理想状况下,您想要的是支持与您的路由器具有同一WiFi标准和频带的扩展器。例如,支持802.11n的路由器和扩展器的速度最高可达300Mbps,而802.11ac路由器和扩展器可达到1,300Mbps。欲将WiFi扩展器连接至您现有的网络,其必须支持您所选定的加密方法,如WPA2-PSK (AES)。

但是功能再多也不能妨碍到其易用性。尝试选择简单易用,效果显著的扩展器。如果心存疑惑,可查询在线WiFi扩展器评测。您既可以阅读由专业评测人员在科技网站撰写的相关的评测,也可以去在线商城逛一逛,看看真实用户是如何评价的。

像样的无线扩展器的价格并不贵,这一点很棒。其价格一般$30起,$100以上的很少,我们也不建议购买如此昂贵的扩展器。每一个价格区间都有质量很好的扩展器,您要做的就是擦亮双眼找到它。

设置您的新的WiFi扩展器


一旦您有了全新的WiFi扩展器,那么是时候对它进行设置了。目标是找到同时位于信号源范围和客户端设备内的地方。通常来说,这就是两个点的中间,但是也可能是其他地方。这完全取决于周边区域的布局,信号干扰的等级,以及其他因素。

您可以使用NetSpot准确轻松地找到安装WiFi扩展器的最佳位置,NetSpot是一款面向Mac OS X和Windows的专业的 无线现场勘测Wi-Fi 分析,和故障排除应用。NetSpot能够帮助您理解特定区域内的无线网络的特点并找到WiFi信号薄弱的区域。

欲找到WiFi扩展器的最佳位置:

  • 启动NetSpot并通过点击发现/勘测滑块来激活勘测模式。
  • 点击“开始一项新勘测”,并命名您的项目。
  • 从您的计算机加载区域地图或创建一张新地图。
  • 从一个地方移动到另一个地方,直至覆盖整个区域。
  • 一旦您覆盖了全部地点,点击停止扫描按钮并查看不同的有用的热度视图

我们高度推荐您在安装无线扩展器前后完成这些步骤。这样的话,您可以确定安装的最优位置并弄清楚它是否真正增强了 您的无线信号的强度

NetSpot还附带提供了一系列可用于诊断并勘测无线网络的工具。NetSpot的全部功能都简单易用,甚至是IT经历有限的用户亦可轻松掌握。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot是获取更好的无线信号并降低WiFi网络干扰的出色应用。
获取免费的WiFi分析仪应用

接下来的WiFi故障排除


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于使用标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac
无线网络适配器 (兼容AirPort)的MacBook。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews

Improving Wireless Connectivity Using a WiFi Extender

Who doesn’t want a rock-solid wireless signal at home or at the office? Unfortunately, not everyone has a router capable of broadcasting reliable WiFi signal over long distances and through obstacles.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
If you find the coverage area of your WiFi network less than satisfactory, you should consider using a WiFi extender.

Jump to...

What Is a Wireless Extender


WiFi extenders pick up WiFi signal from an existing network, amplify it, and transmit the boosted signal

A WiFi range extender can go by many different names, such as wireless extender, WiFi booster, or WiFi repeater. Regardless of the name, all wireless range extenders do the same thing: They pick up WiFi signal from an existing network, amplify it, and transmit the boosted signal.

They can do this because they essentially contain two routers. There’s one router for receiving and another for broadcasting. Because each does just one thing, it can do it extremely well. For comparison, the WiFi card in your laptop doesn’t measure more than an inch across. A wireless extender can be as small as a smartphone charger or as big as an enterprise-grade router.

Why You Need a WiFi Range Extender

The WiFi dead zone, the place with painfully weak wireless signal, frequent interruptions, and sluggish download and upload speeds. It’s the place where you go only if you can’t go anywhere else. Despite the fact that many modern routers are more powerful than teenage desktop computers and servers, WiFi dead zones are still part of the daily reality for millions of smartphone, tablet, and laptop owners around the world.


The problem is only getting worse with the advent of the Internet of Things and the Smart Home initiative. Suddenly, it’s not just our personal electronic devices that need to be connected to the internet. Thermostats, light bulbs, water flow sensors, and even our refrigerators connect to the internet.

WiFi extenders are also effective for strengthening WiFi signals in areas with high interference

Best WiFi extenders on the market represent a simple and cost-effective way how to get rid of dead zones and enjoy fast and stable wireless connection both in the living room and in the attic. Depending on how you position your extender (or extenders) you may even be able to cover your backyard and basement — all while keeping the same router you’ve been using for years. WiFi extenders are also effective for strengthening WiFi signals in areas with high interference. In most apartments and houses, this is primarily the kitchen. Microwaves and metal appliances can make even otherwise strong signal unusable.

In other words, if you want a strong WiFi signal in all rooms, you need a WiFi range extender. The alternative — a new router — tends to be more expensive, takes more time to install, and doesn’t provide nearly as much flexibility as wireless extenders do.

How to Choose the Best WiFi Extender

WiFi extenders can be divided into two broad categories. There are ones that plug into wall outlets and ones meant for desktop placement. The former category is less obtrusive, but the proximity to electrical wires introduces some signal interference. The latter category usually offers more features, such as Ethernet and USB ports.

To connect a WiFi extender to your existing network, it must support your chosen encryption method

Apart from the form-factor, you also need to consider the specifications. Ideally, you want an extender that supports the same WiFi standards and the same WiFi bands as your router. For example, routers and extenders with 802.11n support reach speeds of up to 300Mbps, and 802.11ac routers and extenders go up to 1,300Mbps. To connect a WiFi extender to your existing network, it must support your chosen encryption method, such as WPA2-PSK (AES).

But no amount of features is an excuse for poor usability. Try to select an extender that’s easy to use and doesn’t throw sticks under your feet. When in doubt, consult online WiFi extender reviews. Either read reviews written by professional reviewers on tech websites or visit online stores and find out what real users have to say.

What’s great is that a decent wireless extender doesn’t cost a lot of money. They start at around $30, and it’s seldom necessary or even advisable to pay more than $100. Great WiFi extenders exist in every price range — you just need to look hard enough to find them.

Set Up Your New WiFi Extender

Once you have your new WiFi extender in hands, it’s time to set it up. The goal is to find a place that’s both in the range of the signal source and the client device. Typically, this is mid-way between the two points, but it could also be somewhere else. It all depends on the layout of the surrounding area, the level of signal interference, and other factors.

You can accurately and easily find the best place to install a WiFi extender using NetSpot, a professional wireless site survey, Wi-Fi analysis, and troubleshooting app for Mac OS X and Windows. NetSpot can help you understand the characteristics of a wireless network in a specific area and find areas with a weak WiFi signal.

To find the best place for your WiFi extender:

  • Launch NetSpot and activate the Survey Mode by clicking on the Discover/Survey slider.
  • Click on “Start a New Survey,” and name your project.
Start a New Survey
  • Load an area map from your computer or create a new one.
Load an area map
  • Move from one place to another until you cover the entire area.
Active Scan
  • Once you’ve covered everything, click the Stop Scan Button and view various helpful heatmap visualizations.
Heatmap visualizations

We highly recommend you go through these steps before and after you install a wireless extender. That way, you can determine the most optimal place where to install it and find out whether it actually improved the strength of your wireless signal.

SO, WE RECOMMEND
NetSpot
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews
  • #1
  • Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting

  • 500K
  • Users
  • 6
  • Years
  • Cross-platform
  • Mac/Windows

NetSpot comes with a whole assortment of other useful tools that you can use to diagnose and survey wireless networks. All features of NetSpot are easy to use even by people with limited IT experience.

FAQ

What Is a Wireless Extender?

A wireless extender is another name for a WiFi range extender, a WiFi booster and a WiFi repeater. A wireless extender picks up a WiFi signal from an existing network, amplifies it, and broadcasts the boosted signal so that it can reach farther corners of a home or an office. Essentially a WiFi repeater contains two routers: one for receiving the signal, and another for sending it further, each doing their thing and being very good at it.

Why Do You Need a WiFi Range Extender?

WiFi extenders ensure you won't have any dead zones in your home or office wireless network. WiFi dead zones are those spots where signal is extremely weak or absent completely, resulting in connection interruptions and broken downloads. WiFi extenders are effective in strengthening a WiFi signal in areas with high interference and make using your network consistently enjoyable in every corner of your space.

How to Choose the Best WiFi Extender?

There are two types of WiFi extenders. Some can be plugged into a wall outlet, while others can be placed on a desk. When choosing from one or another type of extenders, think what features you will need and whether the extender you like supports the same WiFi standards and bands as your wireless router.

To be successfully connected to your network, a wireless extender has to support your chosen encryption method, such as WPA2-PSK (AES).

If you don't already have a preferred brand, don't be shy to read through the reviews and ask questions, before you make a choice — no fun in returning your order even once.

Good news is — WiFi extenders are usually not that costly, they start at around $30.00.

How to Set Up Your New WiFi Extender?

When setting up your new WiFi extender, try to find a halfway spot for it where it will receive a good signal from the router and will extend the signal to your device perfectly well. Watch for obstacles and appliances that might cause a signal interference.

NetSpot — a professional wireless site survey, Wi-Fi analysis, and troubleshooting software — can help you find a really good spot for your WiFi extender with the help of its visual WiFi heatmaps.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 969 User reviews