• #1 NetSpot
  • 评估您的WiFi安全的最佳WiFi工具
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

什么是便携式WiFi以及您为什么需要它

便携式WiFi,有时候也被称为移动WiFi,这是一个术语,指的是由便携式WiFi路由器创建的WiFi网络。
审核
  • NetSpot
  • WiFi安全的必备要素
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

您是否注意到很多电子设备必须依靠互联网接入才能正常工作?没有了互联网,智能手机还不如90年代的大哥大有用,而且很多应用程序甚至将无法启动。


当然,您始终可以为您的智能手机购买一个数据计划,但是您的其他设备怎么办呢?如您的智能手表,您的平板,或您的笔记本电脑?这就到便携式WiFi发挥功效的时候了。

什么是便携式WiFi?


您的家里很可能会有一台传统的路由器,这台路由器通常有两根缆线与之相接:一根将路由器连接到互联网,另一根为路由器供电。


是的,便携式WiFi路由器就像您的家庭传统路由器一样,只是它们是无线的。它们通过2G/3G/5G网络连接互联网(就像您的智能手机那样)并通过电池供电。

由智能手机创建的便携式WiFi热点

实际上,由便携式WiFi路由器创建的WiFi网络与由现代化智能手机创建的便携式WiFi热点并没有什么不同。既然智能手机有一样的作用,那为什么还要购买便携式WiFi路由器呢?由于便携式WiFi路由器的使用超级便利,而且能够提供更强的信号覆盖,同时续航能力也更为强劲。

便携式WiFi有哪些优势和劣势?


便携式WiFi网络更加安全

我们周围有非常多的公共WiFi热点,但是您通常只能用它们来上网浏览下天气预报和时事新闻,如果您想干点别的事儿,那后果可能是致命的。并不是所有的公共WiFi热点都是合法的,想要将正常的公共WiFi与由犯罪分子设置的试图窃取您的个人信息的公共WiFi区分开并不容易。

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。

当您创建了您自己的便携式WiFi网络并使用较强的加密方式的话,那么您就可以确信您的个人信息是安全的,同时放心地进行网络购物等活动。

公共WiFi热点

您下次如果需要上网的话,请不要急于连接公共WiFi热点,而是应该慎重考虑一下是否购买一台便携式WiFi路由器更加安全—答案通常是肯定的!

便携式WiFi路由器不会耗尽您的电量

您的智能手机通常只需要在屏幕上点击几次就可以创建一个便携式WiFi热点。但是如果您曾经使用过您的智能手机为笔记本电脑或其他设备创建过便携式WiFi的话,您很可能会感受到它的耗电速度是有多快。考虑的现代智能手机无法长时间为其供电,因此使用它们作为便携式WiFi热点并不是理想的选择。

另一方面,便携式WiFi路由器有自己的电源供给,它们的续航通常要比智能手机长得多。紧急情况可能随时发生,便携式WiFi路由器能够帮助您节省足够的电量来拨打紧急电话。

便携式WiFi价格更便宜

根据您所居住的位置的不同,移动流量套餐的价格可能会高的离谱。这在出国旅行等情况下会更加糟糕。如果您收到过价格高的令人难以置信的话费账单,那么您一定知道我们在说什么。

幸运的是,便携式WiFi的价格是完全可以接受的。例如,Verizon便携式WiFi对于 Verizon Ellipsis Jetpack 两年的起始售价仅为$19。

Verizon Ellipsis Jetpack

Ellipsis Jetpack是一款设计精良的便携式WiFi盒子,您可以轻松将它装在口袋里并用它来将最多八台支持WiFi连接的设备连接到互联网。

创建您自己的WiFi

如果您购买了移动数据套餐的话,那么您可以创建您自己的加密移动热点,这样您的其他设备就可以通过它来连网。如果您对自己的网络安全有任何的顾虑,那么您可以使用最新的WiFi加密标准并创建您想要使用的任何密码政策。

多了一台需要您费神的设备

便携式WiFi唯一的缺点是您又多了一台需要费神的设备。但是在今天这个数字设备爆炸的年代,多了这样一台设备真的会为您带来任何的不便影响吗?更何况它并不占多大空间,也不需要什么关注,简单充一次电就可以使用一整天?我们并不认为您需要为它费多大的神。

如何选择便携式WiFi设备?


想要获得最佳便携式WiFi体验的话,您需要根据自己的需要认真选择一款适合的便携式WiFi设备。如下是您应当考虑的部分因素:

  • 数据计划:部分便携式WiFi设备已经解锁,可与其他互联网服务供应商提供的数据计划一起使用,而其他的则只能使用来自于某一供应商的数据计划,这里的供应商通常是指设备的制造商。能够随时更改您的互联网服务供应商固然是有益的,但是不要太纠结于这一点。便携式WiFi路由器的价格并不太贵,如果您愿意与互联网服务供应商签订协议的话,他们往往会为之提供一个较大的折扣。

  • 同时连接数量:数一下您想要将多少台设备连接到您的便携式WiFi网络并确保您所购买的便携式WiFi路由器至少支持比您的实际同时连接设备的需求要多一些的同时连接数量。您的朋友们可能会随时前来造访并加入您的便携式WiFi网络。

连接到您的便携式WiFi网络的设备
  • WiFi速度:购买便携式WiFi设备关键的一点是要了解它的速度有多快。理想情况下,您所需要的是一台能够连接4G网络并同时支持最快每秒300 Mbps的数据传输速度的便携式WiFi路由器。

  • 安装:大多数便携式WiFi路由器的安装非常简单:您只需插入您的SIM卡,然后完成几个界面的设置即可,就是这么简单。但是,部分便携式WiFi路由器为其用户提供了配套的智能手机应用,这样就使得设置过程变得更加简单。安装便携式WiFi最重要的一点在于选择正确的WiFi信道,这时您需要一款像NetSpot这样的适用于Windows和macOS的WiFi分析应用来帮助您作出选择。

使用NetSpot检查您的加密

适用于多Wi-Fi网络测试,分析和故障排查的强有力的高级工具。

结语

如今,我们在每一个地方可能都会需要稳定的网络连接。但是完全依赖于公共WiFi热点或价格不菲的移动数据计划并不是理想之选。有一种更好的方式是通过便携式WiFi连接互联网,它的设置非常简单,而且有很多不同的型号尺寸可供选择。

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

阅读接下来有关硬件设备的内容

如果您想更加深入地了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查看以下有关Wi-Fi安全性,最佳无线网络应用,最佳WiFi路由器等的文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。
  • 4.8
  • 969 用户评论

• #1 NetSpot
  • Best WiFi tool to assess your WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

What Is Portable WiFi and Why You Need It

Portable WiFi, sometimes also called mobile WiFi, is a term that’s used to refer to WiFi networks created by portable WiFi routers.
CHECKED BY
  • NetSpot
  • Essential for WiFi security
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

Have you noticed how many electronic devices depend on internet access to work as intended? Without the internet, smartphones are barely any more useful than cell phones from the 90s, and many apps won’t even launch.

Of course, you can always purchase a data plan for your smartphone, but what about your other gadgets, such as your smartwatch, your tablet, or your laptop? That’s where portable WiFi comes in to save the day.

What Is Portable WiFi?


You probably have a traditional router at home with at least two cables attached to it: one cable to connect the router to the internet and one cable to supply power to the router.

Well, portable WiFi routers are just like the router you have at home expect they are completely wireless. They connect to the internet via 2G/3G/5G networks (just like your smartphone does) and are powered by batteries.

The portable WiFi hotspots created by smartphone

In practice, the WiFi networks created by portable WiFi routers are no different from the portable WiFi hotspots created by modern smartphones. Why should you then purchase a portable WiFi router when your smartphone can do the same? Because portable WiFi routers are far more convenient to use, provide stronger coverage, and last a lot longer on a single charge.

What Are the Advantages and Disadvantages of Portable WiFi?


Portable WiFi Networks Are Safer

We are surrounded by public WiFi hotspots, but relying on them to accomplish anything besides checking the weather and reading online articles can easily turn out to be fatal. Not all public WiFi hotspots are legitimate, and distinguishing those that are from those that have been set up by cybercriminals looking to steal your personal information is not easy.

Check your encryption with NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.

When you create your own portable WiFi network and use strong encryption, you know that you can trust it with your personal information and do everything from online banking to online shopping.

Public WiFi hotspot

Next time you find yourself in need of internet access, stop yourself before you connect to a public WiFi hotspot and consider whether it wouldn’t be safer to purchase a portable WiFi router instead — it most certainly would!

Portable WiFi Routers Don’t Drain Your Battery

Your smartphone can probably create a portable WiFi hotspot with just a couple of taps on the screen. But if you’ve ever used your smartphone to create portable WiFi for laptops or other devices, you probably know how quickly it can drain the battery. Considering that modern smartphones don’t last that long on a charge to begin with, it’s less than ideal to decrease their battery life even further by using them as portable WiFi hotspots.

On the other hand, portable WiFi routers have their own source of power, and they can typically last a lot longer than most smartphones. An emergency situation may happen at any moment, and portable WiFi router can help you save enough battery to make an emergency phone call.

Portable WiFi Is Cheaper

Depending on where you live, mobile data may be outrageously expensive even with a good data plan. The situation is even worse when traveling abroad and dealing with roaming charges. If you’ve ever received a phone bill that was so high that you refused to believe it when you first saw it, you know what we’re talking about.

Thankfully, there are no outrageous bills to worry about with portable WiFi. For example, Verizon portable WiFi starts at just $19 for the Verizon Ellipsis Jetpack with a 2-year contract.

Verizon Ellipsis Jetpack

The Ellipsis Jetpack is a well-designed portable WiFi box that you can easily fit in your pocket and use it to simultaneously connect up to eight Wi-Fi enabled devices to the internet.

Create Your Own WiFi

If you pay for mobile data, it’s a good idea to create your own encrypted mobile hotspot and use it to access the internet from other devices. When you’re in charge of your own security, you can use the latest WiFi encryption standard and establish any password policy you want.

One More Device to Worry About

The only real disadvantage of portable WiFi is that you have one more device to worry about. But is one more electronic device to carry even a good reason for concern in this day and age, especially one that takes almost no space, requires no attention, and can work for over a day without charging? We don’t think so.

How to Select a Portable WiFi Device?


To get the best portable WiFi experience you can, you need to carefully select the right portable WiFi device for your needs. Here are some things you should consider:

  • Data plans: Some portable WiFi devices are unlocked for use with data plans from various internet service providers, while others can only be used with data plans from a single provider, usually the manufacturer of the device. The ability to change your internet service provider at any time is certainly useful, but don’t get hung up on it too much. Portable WiFi routers are not too expensive, and internet service providers often offer them at a huge discount if you agree to sign a contract.

  • Simultaneous connections: Count how many devices you would like to connect to your portable WiFi network and make sure to purchase a portable WiFi router that supports at least a few more simultaneous connections than what you really need. You never know when a friend might join you on your adventures.

Devices you connect to your portable WiFi network
  • WiFi speed: The crucial things to keep in mind when buying a portable WiFi router is how fast it is. Ideally, you want a portable WiFi router that can connect to 4G networks and that supports data transfer rates of up to 300 Mbps.

  • Setup: Most portable WiFi routers are very easy to set up: you simply insert your SIM card, go through a few setup screens, and that’s it. However, some portable WiFi routers make setup and configuration even easier by providing their users with a companion smartphone app. The most important thing when setting up a portable WiFi is to select the right WiFi channel, which is something NetSpot, a WiFi analysis app for Windows and macOS, can help you with.

Check your Encryption using NetSpot

Powerful advanced tool for multiple Wi-Fi networks Surveys, Analysis and Troubleshooting.

Conclusion

These days, we expect to have reliable internet access everywhere we go. But relying on public WiFi hotspots or expensive mobile data plans is far from ideal. A much better way how to enjoy internet access on the go is portable WiFi, which is very easy to set up and is available in many different form-factors.

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in Hardware

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, best WiFi routers, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews