• #1 NetSpot
  • 适用于macOS和Windows的最佳WiFi速度测试应用
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论

有关互联网速度您所需要了解的一切

无论您使用互联网的目的是什么,您都无法回避网络速度对您所产生的影响。让我们来了解一下什么是网络速度以及它在我们上网时是如何影响到我们的上网体验的。
首选
  • NetSpot
  • 最佳WiFi速度测试应用
  • 4.8
  • 957 用户评论


NetSpot在线WiFi速度测试

检查您的网络速度

运行网络速度测试来确定您获得最佳WiFi速度。
NetSpot

使用NetSpot获得完美的WiFi速度

不要满足于还不错的网络连接速度,NetSpot能够为您确保始终如一的WiFi速度。

有关互联网速度的部分事实

互联网速度是互联网连接在互联网和用户设备之间传输数据的能力,以字节每秒为单位来表示。用现代术语来说,数据速度是以兆比特每秒(Mbps)和千比特每秒(Kbps)为单位来测量的。1M=1,024K,所以1.0 Mbps连接速度要比1.0 Kbps连接速度快1,000多倍。

您的互联网连接实际上有两种不同的速度。下载速度和上传速度是分别进行测量的。在大多数情况下,连接下载速度比其上传速度要快一些。对于大多数用户而言,这种速度平衡为带宽提供了构成我们大部分线上活动的流媒体和数据下载活动。

什么是优秀的网络速度?

这个问题并没有最佳答案。通常来说,网络速度当然是越快越好。但是速度的快慢通常是与价格挂钩的,所以部署提供过快速度的互联网连接无疑是金钱的浪费。根据您使用网络连接所从事的活动类型的不同,您可以参考对于您的需求应当足够的最低速度

  • 流媒体视频 — 根据视频类型的不同,标准视频将需要3 Mbps,HD需要5 Mbps,4k超高清需要25 Mbps。

  • 流媒体音乐 — 2 Mbps的速度对于流媒体音乐来说应当是足够的。

  • 游戏 — 如果您想要获得最佳游戏体验的话,您最高可能需要10 Mbps的速度。

  • 浏览电子邮件 — 对于访问您的Gmail和Facebook页面而言,您将需要.5 - 5 Mbps的速度。

  • Skype或视频通话 — 标准通话将需要.5 Mbps,如果您使用HD的话,则需要1.5 Mbps。

  • 下载大型文件 — 如果您下载torrents或大型HD电影文件,那么您需要尽可能快的网络连接,目标最高可达50 Mbps。

如果您习惯于上传大量的文件,那么您还会想要确保您的上传速度是充足的。鉴于上传速度在默认情况下通常要比下载速度慢,那么您可能需要联系您的互联网服务供应商 (ISP)来提升您想要实现的网络连接的上传速度。

美国联邦通信委员会(FCC)在2015年 更新了“宽带”互联网连接的规格标准并设定了25 Mbps的最低下载速度和3 Mbps的最低上传速度。这种高速度类型的互联网连接通常通过有线或使用有线调制解调器和DSL来提供连接的电话公司来取得。

如何查看互联网速度

探明您的互联网速度到底有多快的最佳方式是进行速度测试。您想要进行互联网速度测试的原因可能会有很多,如:

  • 计划符合您现有网速规格的使用率;

  • 考虑是否有必要为像在线网游这样的活动进行网络升级;

  • 验证您的网速是否有达到您通过您的互联网服务供应商所购买的网络套餐的标准。

如果您想要了解如何测试您的互联网速度,您可以在网上找到一系列可用的测试选项。如果您想要从互联网速度测试中获得尽可能最准确的结果,以下是您应当遵循的部分规则

  1. 在开始测试之前重启您的调制解调器和路由器。

  2. 在测试您的互联网速度时尽量不要使用互联网从事任何其他活动。这包括关闭通常会自动连接到您的网络的移动设备。

  3. 重启将用于执行速度测试的计算机或设备。

  4. 清理您的浏览器的cache。如果您计划进行多次测试的话,您应当在每一组测试开始时进行cache的清理工作。速度测试依赖于下载和上传文件,如果文件被存入高速缓冲存储器的话,那么它可能无法反应准确的速度。

  5. 使用基于HTML5,而不是基于Flash应用的速度测试。

在开始您的互联网速度测试之前执行这些步骤将会产生能够反映您的连接的真实速度的更加准确的测试结果。高质量的测试将会显示下载速度,上传速度,和ping速度。

影响互联网速度的因素有哪些?

影响您的互联网连接速度的因素有很多。如果您的网速不符合预期的话,那么您可能很难准确定位到其背后的问题所在。您的网速比较迟缓的部分原因可能在于:

  • 有线VS WiFi连接 — 有线连接通常更快,相比无线连接所受的的干扰较少。

  • 硬件 — 您的计算机和调制解调器可能同时会对网络速度产生负面影响。您的调制解调器的性能可能会随着时间的过去而降低,您的计算机的内部元件的速度可能也会使您的网速下降。

  • 操作系统 — 操作系统配置有误的话同样可能导致互联网速度的表现不如预期。

  • 拥堵 — 您的网络使用率过高的话将会降低全部用户的网络速度。此外,您正在访问的网站和服务器同样可能由于使用率过高而影响到其满足用户下载需求的能力。

  • 软件 — 网页浏览器配置错误是网络速度出现瓶颈,数据传输出现卡顿的常见原因。恶意软件感染同样也可能对您的互联网连接产生负面影响。

如何提升互联网速度

如果您对您的互联网连接速度感到不满的话,那么您可以采取一系列不同的补救措施来尝试解决相关问题。

  • 对您的网络进行勘测 — 使用优质网络监测工具Netspot 将对您的无线网络进行测试,找到其中可能存在的潜在问题。运行主动扫描可以为您返回可视化视图结果,使您能够有效分析上传和下载速度以及无线传输速度。通过扫描获得的信息可以帮助您确定抑制您的网络速度的因素。

  • 升级您的路由器 — 双频路由器将在一个网络单元内为您提供2.4 GHz和5 GHz的双频带。

  • 转至有线连接 — 有线连接将提供更加快速,更加稳定的互联网速度,但是相比无线解决方案可能灵活性较差。

  • 消除信号干扰 — 您的WiFi路由器需要放在微波炉或其他设备将不会干扰到其信号的地方。将您的路由器放在墙壁和家具将会对其信号产生限制性影响的地方会降低它的信号强度。

  • 投资信号范围扩展器 — 这些设备相对来说价格比较便宜,对于提升您理想的信号覆盖范围内的网络速度是有帮助的。

  • 限制连接数量 — 您如果有很多设备在同一时间连接互联网的话可能会造成网络拥堵。

现在既然您已经了解了什么是互联网速度以及如何对其进行测试并潜在提升您的连接速度。如果您在进行线上活动时对您的网络速度赶到不满的话,那么可能是时候进行一些故障排查工作啦。祝您好运!

还有其他问题吗?
提交一项请求或留言。

接下来阅读更多有关Wi-Fi的内容

如果您想要进一步了解有关Wi-Fi的内容,请查阅如下有关Wi-Fi安全,设置无线网络的最佳应用,飞行WiFi等等的相关文章。

其他文章

免费获取NetSpot
Wi-Fi现场勘测,分析,故障排查运行于具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或任何笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10)。

• #1 NetSpot
  • Best WiFi speed test app for macOS and Windows
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews

Everything You Need to Know About Internet Speed

No matter what you use the Internet for you are at the mercy of a little thing called Internet speed. Let’s take a look at what this entity is and how it might impact your enjoyment when using the Internet.
top choice
  • NetSpot
  • Best WiFi speed test app
  • 4.8
  • 957 User reviews


NetSpot WiFi SpeedTest online

Check your Internet speed

Run the Internet speed test to make sure you are getting the best WiFi speed.
NetSpot

Get a perfect WiFi speed with NetSpot

Don't settle for a decent Internet connection, NetSpot ensures a consistent WiFi speed.

Some Facts About Internet Speed

Internet speed is basically the performance capability, in bytes per second, of an Internet connection as it transfers data between the Internet and a user’s device. In modern terminology, the data speed is measured in megabits per second (Mbps) and kilobits per second (Kbps). One megabit equals 1,024 kilobits, so a 1.0 Mbps connection is more than 1,000 times faster than one running at 1.0 Kbps.

Your Internet connection actually has two different speeds. Download speeds and upload speeds are measured separately. In most cases, the download speed of a connection is faster than its upload speed. For most users, this speed balance provides bandwidth for the streaming and downloading which make up a large part of our online activities.

What Is a Good Internet Speed?

There is no definitive answer to this question. In general, faster is always better when talking about Internet speed. But speed often comes at a price, so employing an Internet connection that provides excessive speed can be a waste of money. Based on the type of activity for which you use your Internet connection, here are some guidelines as to a minimum speed that should be sufficient for your needs.

  • Streaming Video – Depending on the type of video, you will need 3 Mbps for standard video, 5Mbps for HD, and 25 Mbps for 4k Ultra HD.

  • Streaming Music – A speed of 2 Mbps should suffice for streaming music.

  • Gaming – Gamers should have speeds of up to 10 Mbps for best performance.

  • Browsing email – For accessing your Gmail and Facebook page, you will want speeds of .5 - 5 Mbps.

  • Skype or video calls – You will need .5 Mbps for standard calls and 1.5 Mbps if you use HD.

  • Downloading large files – If you download torrents or large HD movie files you want the fastest connection you can get, aiming for speeds up to 50 Mbps.

If you are in the habit of uploading a lot of files you also want to ensure that your upload speed is adequate. Since by default it is usually slower than your download speed you may need to contact your Internet Service Provider (ISP) to increase the upload speed your connection is capable of achieving.

The United States’ Federal Communication Commission (FCC) updated specifications for “broadband” Internet connections in 2015 and set the minimum speeds at 25 Mbps for downloads and 3 Mbps for uploads. This high-speed type of Internet connection is usually obtained through cable or telephone companies using cable modems and DSL to provide the connections.

How to Check Internet Speed

The best way to find out how fast your Internet is performing is to test it. There are a number of reasons that you might want to conduct an Internet speed test, such as:

  • planning for usage that will fit with your available speed;

  • considering if an upgrade is required for new activities such as online gaming;

  • verifying that you are getting the speed that you expect with the Internet package that you have purchased through your ISP.

If you are wondering how to test your Internet speed there are a number of online testing options available. In order to get the most accurate results possible from an Internet speed test here are some rules that you should follow.

  1. Restart your modem and router before starting the test.

  2. Refrain from using the Internet for any other activities as you test your Internet speed. This includes shutting down mobile devices as they will often be auto-connecting to your network.

  3. Restart the computer or device which will be used to perform the test.

  4. Clear your browser’s cache. You should do this before each set if you plan on testing multiple times. Speed tests rely on downloading and uploading files and may not reflect accurate speeds if files are cached.

  5. Use a speed test that is based on HTML5 rather than a Flash-based app.

Taking these steps prior to commencing with your Internet speed test will result in a more accurate test that reflects the true speed of your connection. A quality test will display download speed, upload speed, and ping speed.

What Factors Impact Internet Speed?

There are many factors that can affect the speed of your Internet connection. This can make it difficult to pinpoint where the problem lies if you are not getting the speed you expect. Some of the reasons you might be experiencing slow Internet speeds are:

  • Wired versus WiFi connections – Wired connections are generally faster and are subject to less interference than wireless connections.

  • Hardware – Your computer and modem can both contribute to degraded Internet speed. The performance of your modem can degrade over time and the speed of your computer’s internal components can also slow you down.

  • Operating system – A misconfigured OS can lead to slower Internet speed than expected.

  • Congestion – Excessive usage on your network will slow down speeds for all users. In addition, the websites and servers you are accessing may be experiencing high usage rates which limit their ability to meet download demands.

  • Software – A misconfigured web browser is a common cause of bottlenecks and slow throughput. Infection by malware can also have a negative impact on the speed of your Internet connection.

How to Increase Internet Speed

If you are unsatisfied with your Internet’s connection speed there are a number of remedies that can be tried to resolve the issue.

  • Perform a survey of your network – Using a quality network monitoring tool such as Netspot will allow you to test a wireless network to identify where potential issues may exist. Running an active scan returns visualizations that allow you to analyze upload and download speeds as well as the wireless transmission rate. Information gained through the scan can help you decide which factors may be holding down your Internet speed.

  • Upgrade your router – A dual-band router gives you two a 2.4 GHz and a 5 GHz network in one unit.

  • Move to a wired connection – Wired connections will provide faster and more consistent Internet speed but may cost more and offer less flexibility than a wireless solution.

  • Eliminate signal interference – Your WiFi router needs to be placed where microwaves or other devices will not interfere with its signal. Locate your router where there will be a limited impact from walls and furniture that may degrade the signal.

  • Invest in a range extender – These devices are relatively inexpensive and can be instrumental in achieving high Internet speeds throughout your intended coverage area.

  • Limit the number of connections – You may be causing congestion by having too many devices operating at the same time.

Now you know about Internet speeds and how you can test and potentially improve your connection. If you are not satisfied with the speed at which your online activities are being performed, it might be time for a little troubleshooting. Good luck!

Have more questions?
Submit a request or write a couple words.

Read next in All about Wi-Fi

If you want to dive deeper into this Wi-Fi thing, check out the following articles about Wi-Fi security, the best apps for wireless networking, inflight WiFi, etc.

Other Articles

Get NetSpot for Free
Wi-Fi Site Surveys, Analysis, Troubleshooting runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10) with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.