Google Wifi替代您的家庭WiFi路由器



想要实现良好的Wi-Fi信号覆盖真的是一种挑战,除非您的接入点可以放置在建筑的中心点位置,而且建筑物本身没有很多对信号强度可能造成干扰的厚墙和金属物。

其中一种解决方案是使用WiFi扩展器,但是即使扩展器价格便宜,这些设备通常使用单一无线电通信来重复信号的事实也会导致带宽较低。

Google WiFi 信号覆盖

凭借不断发展演变的网络解决方案,有一种绝佳的方法可以帮助您提升整个建筑内的无线信号覆盖。

Google Wi-Fi的工作原理以及它将如何改变您的网络?


想要使您的WiFi信号覆盖得到质的飞跃,您有必要了解一下“无线网状网络”。它基本上是由一定数量的体积较小,外形漂亮的路由器组成,这些路由器彼此之间进行交互,为您的整个区域覆盖均匀的WiFi信号。此类路由器有两种无线电通信方式,能够同时发送和接收信号,从而为您带来最大的吞吐量。


Google公司现在推出了他们自己的无线路由器 — Google Wifi。这是一种模组化系统,它其中的模块外观十分漂亮,安置在您的整个空间内,在所覆盖的区域内任何一点上均能实现稳定的网络连接。Google Wifi还应用了一种被称为网络助手的功能,这种功能能够自动根据设备目前所处的位置将其转入信号最强的点上。

Google Wi-Fi路由器

Google Wifi与Eero和Luma类似 — 两大WiFi路由器网状系统,通过一系列模块为您的整个区域覆盖均匀的信号。Eero是明确根据其背后的技术命名的:网状网络,而Luma在市场营销过程中将自己称为“网能传递”。Google也将自己的产品定义为“网状科技”的产物,您可以根据自己的网络需求来增添或移除模块,以此更改为网状网络提供支持的“模组”库。

NetSpot很快将会提供所有这些技术在相同建筑内的真实对比。届时将会证明谁才是真正的最强力的无线覆盖供应商。

以上所描述的所有系统的工作方式是类似的,从连接到您的调制解调器的WiFI路由器着手,通过为其添加模块来对网络进行扩展。至于WiFi网络安全性 方面的考虑,添加到网络中的所有全新的模块将必须是由同一制造商签名的“受信”模块。

不要忘记网状网络并非是万灵丹,它始终存在一些问题。我们的前期测试显示这些设备很容易出现过热的现象,它们通电之后一直会保持一个热烘烘的温度。尽管您通过3组Eero或Google Wifi模块一定可以实现更好的信号覆盖,但是有时候这些过度智能化的科技也可能带来负面效果,在旧款低速设备连接时严重降低您的信号覆盖品质。我们将继续进行测试,深入了解新概念的真实效果。

Google Wifi对于外观也十分看重。如前所述,这些路由器外形十分美观,呈现出的是一种小型白色圆柱体的形状,与常规的装载天线的互联网盒是不同的。这样一来,您可以放心地将它们放到您的居住或工作空间内,无需隐藏,随心所欲地选择能够为您带来更好的连接速度的安放位置。

Google Wi-Fi平台模

此类解决方案完美适用于信号盲区较多的大型家居环境。根据Google发布的信息,一个Google Wifi可以最多覆盖1,500平方英尺的空间,而三组模块将最多覆盖4,500平方英尺的家庭空间。这些模块几分钟之内即可完成设定,而且是双频的,每一设备上都有两个端口,AC1200加速,802.15.4无线电通信,还有蓝牙功能。

这些路由器目前是在OnHub当下的Google On应用中进行管理的,其很快应该也会成为“Google Wifi”。它能够为您分解数据使用情况,使您看到连接到网络上的设备并管理其互联网接入。

Android和iOS设备的伴侣应用包含家长控制功能,可以对您孩子用来上网的设备进行监控。

尽管Google Wi-Fi竭力为您提供均匀的信号覆盖,我们仍然建议您使用NetSpot 现场勘测应用来检查您的Wi-Fi信号覆盖情况和Wi-Fi信号强度。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot WiFi规划工具帮助轻松实现WiFi网络的分析,配置和部署
获取免费的WiFi分析仪应用

接下来是WiFi规划


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).

Google Wifi replaces a WiFi router in your home

It really is a challenge to get a good Wi-Fi coverage unless your access point can be placed in the center point of the building and the building itself doesn't have a lot of thick walls and metal that will mess with the signal strength.

One of the solutions would be using a WiFi extender, but even though it is cheap, the fact that these extenders usually use a single radio to repeat the signal results in a poor bandwidth.

Google WiFi Coverage

With ever evolving network solutions, there is a great way to have your wireless signal spread evenly throughout the building.

How does Google Wi-Fi work and how will it change your network?


To get a great WiFi coverage unlike any you had before a "wireless mesh network" is something you have to look into. It is basically a certain number of small and nice looking routers that interact with each other and cover the space with an even WiFi signal. Such routers have two radios for simultaneous sending and receiving which brings maximum throughput.

Google company is now offering their own wireless router — Google Wifi. It is a modular system with nice-looking modules placed throughout your space for a solid network connection in any spot of the covered area. Google Wifi also utilizes the feature called Network Assist, which automatically transitions connected devices to the point with the strongest signal depending on where the device is located at the moment.

Google Wi-Fi Router

Google Wifi is the like of Eero and Luma — two WiFi router mesh systems that provide an even coverage thanks to good looking modules placed around the space. Eero named their approach clearly after the tech behind it: mesh networking, while Luma markets it as "Luma Surround". Google advertises their product as a “mesh technology” as well, supported by “modular” bases that you can alter by adding or moving modules up to your network requirements.

NetSpot will soon provide a real-life comparison of all these technologies in the same building. That's where the titans will be able to prove who truly is the most powerful wireless coverage provider.

All the projects described above work in a similar way, starting with a WiFi router connected to your modem and expanding the network by adding modules to it. As for WiFi network security concerns, all new modules added to the network will have to be “trusted” modules, signed by the same manufacturer.

Don't forget that mesh networks are not a panacea and may result in some pricey investments. Our first tests show these devices are prone to overheating, and stay very warm all the time when they are plugged in. While you definitely are getting a better coverage with 3 Eero's or Google Wifi modules, sometimes these overly smart technologies may play a bad trick, severely lowering your coverage quality when older and slower devices are connected. We still have to test and see how the new concept compares.

Google Wifi cares about the looks as well. As we mentioned before, the routers are neat and good-looking, having a shape of a small white cylinder, unlike a regular antenna-laden Internet box. This way you can incorporate it into your living or working space without hiding it which gives you more choices of where to put this thing which results in a better connection.

Google Wi-Fi Platform Module

Such solution will work really well for larger homes that are more prone to dead spots. According to Google, one Google Wifi will work in spaces up to 1,500 sq ft, while three modules will provide coverage for homes up to 4,500 sq ft. The modules are set up in a matter of minutes and are dual band, with two ports on each device, AC1200 speeds, 802.15.4 radios, and Bluetooth.

Currently routers are managed in the OnHub's current Google On app, which soon should become "Google Wifi" too. It breaks down data usage for you and lets you see the devices connected to the network and manage their Internet access.

A companion app for Android and iOS devices includes parental control for the devices your kids use on the network.

While Google Wi-Fi strives to provide you with even coverage, we'd still recommend to check your Wi-Fi coverage and Wi-Fi signal strength with NetSpot site survey app.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot WiFi analysis tool helps in planning, configuration and deployment of a WiFi network easily.
Get the free WiFi analyzer app

Next in WiFi Planning


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.