通过Xfinity® WiFi和NetSpot在各个地方进行无线网络接入



Xfinity®,作为Comcast®的子公司,多年以来一直致力于为Comcast®客户所用的被称为Xfinity® WiFi的热点网络的开发,此创新性无线系统包含了由Comcast现有客户的家庭路由器散播出来的数以百万计的WiFi热点

在本文中,我们更加近距离地了解一下Xfinity® WiF网络是如何运作的以及您如何使用NetSpot这款用于无线现场勘测和深度WiFi分析的专业Windows和Mac OS X应用。

Xfinity®路由器是如何创建热点的?



每一个Xfinity®路由器都配备了两根天线。一根天线用于传送以客户所选之计划为基础的私人家庭网络。另一根天线传送的是被称为xfinitywifi的单独的公共网络。

这使得企业和家庭业主得以为其客户和客人提供网络接入,无需分享他们的WiFi密码。由于私人网络无法从公共网络接入,投机型黑客就没办法获得在私人网络上传送的信息的访问。为了保持私人连接不受影响, Comcast®一次只允许5个人连接到单一的Xfinity®热点。


注册XFINITY®网络的任何Comcast®客户可免费接入所有的Xfinity® WiFi热点。Comcast®同时还出售Xfinity® WiFi接入通行证,两小时$2.95起,用户也可选择 $54.95的包月服务。

理论上说,人们在任何地方旅行都能随心所欲地从一个Xfinity®热点跳至另一个,无需蜂窝数据连接。由于热点位置可为公众获得,对于向其客户和过客提供Xfinity® WiFi的企业另行奖励。

Comcast®已经发布了AndroidiOS版的Xfinity® WiFi应用来帮助客户找到有效范围内的全部Xfinity®热点并自动连接至附近的Xfinity® WiFi。如果您手头的Xfinity® WiFi碰巧不好用,您可以使用本应用来快速找到最近的可适替代热点。

充分利用您的Xfinity® WiFi热点:Xfinity®速度测试和最优化


Comcast® 拥有2300多万的互联网用户,其中大多数都使用Xfinity®路由器来传送其他人可以连接的公共WiFi。鉴于如此多的用户同时进行发送,2.4GHz的范围可能变得十分拥挤,下载和上传速度也会变得迟缓。

幸运的是,您可以使用NetSpot来轻松优化您的Xfinity®网络速度,NetSPot是一款面向Windows和Mac OS X的专业的无线现场勘测,WiFi分析,和故障排除应用。NetSpot可以帮助您发现您周围的WiFi网络并创建详尽的WiFi强度热度图。欲使用该工具,您只需拥有一台运行Windows 7及更高版本,或Mac OS X 10.10及更高版本的笔记本或台式电脑即可。

进行一项简单的Xfinity®信号强度测试


如果您正在经历您的Xfinity®家庭连接或您的Xfinity® WiFi热点的衰退,您应当弄清楚信号强度如何以及有多少其他WiFi网络正在同一频道传播。NetSpot提供两种方法来测量您的WiFi信号强度:一种速度比较快,另一种测试的比较详细。

快速方法可以通过发现模式的激活予以实现:

  1. 点击主屏幕顶部的发现/勘测滑块来加亮发现选项。
  2. NetSpot将立即创建您周围区域内的全部WiFi网络的简略报告,同时附加很多其它的有用信息,如WiFi频带,平均信号强度,噪点数量,加密方法等等。
  3. 使用这些信息来获得您的WiFi连接状态。

凭借发现模式,您可以了解您的WiFi信号有多强或有多弱,从而找出您的网络迟缓的原因。如果信号比较强,那么您便知道问题很可能出在其他地方。

但是如果信号比较弱,您则需要采取一些措施来修复它。对此,您将需要更多信息,而这些信息也正是勘测模式所提供的:

  1. 点击主屏幕顶部的发现/勘测滑块来加亮勘测选项。
  2. 上传您的区域地图或使用NetSpot的地图绘制工具从头绘制一张。
  3. 在勘测屏幕的底部,使用热度图弹出菜单在一系列可用的热度视图之间进行切换。

    1. 信号等级热度视图显示了整个勘测区域内的WiFi信号强度。
    2. 信噪比视图帮助您精确定位信号噪声的来源并消除它们。这些通常包括家用电器,无线电设备,或光线。
    3. 信干比显示了来自于其他无线网络的干扰。

一旦完成,您可以使用这些汇集的信息来确定哪些区域应当使用WiFi加速器和中继器予以增强,您同时还可以确认将您的Xfinity®路由器移动至任何其他地方是否有用。

试用一下NetSpot,您就会发现如此轻松即可优化您的家庭WiFi网络并提升您的网络速度。尽管NetSpot提供了非常专业的功能,但是其易理解的现代化用户界面使之同样适用于普通的计算机用户。

Xfinity® 家庭版可靠的家庭安全


快速可靠的网络速度对于所有的Xfinity®家庭版用户而言都是必要的,Comcast的家庭安全系统包含连续不断的监控,远程控制,实时警报,和语音控制。Xfinity®家庭版的装置包括窗口传感器,运动传感器,摄像头,和水传感器,WiFi数据传输,从混乱电缆中解放用户。

同样地,Xfinity®家庭版受制于信号干扰和潜在的信号中断。有了NetSpot,您可以快速且轻松地确保连接至您的Xfinity®家庭安全系统的所有安全设备都覆盖您的家庭WiFi网络。使用勘测模式来选择安置您的安全摄像头和其他设备的最适宜位置。

注意:所提到的全部商标均是其各自所有人的财产。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
适用于Windows的最佳wifi分析器应用

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot帮助您分析,优化并解决您的WiFi网络问题。
获取免费的WiFi分析仪应用

接下来,在无线网络规划


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于使用标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac
无线网络适配器 (兼容AirPort)的MacBook。

Wireless Internet Access Everywhere with Xfinity® WiFi and NetSpot

Xfinity®, a subsidiary of Comcast®, has been developing a network of hotspots intended for use by Comcast® customers. Called Xfinity® WiFi, this innovative wireless system is comprised of millions of WiFi hotspots broadcasted by home routers of Comcast’s existing customers.

In this article, we’re taking a closer look at how the Xfinity® WiFi network works and how you can make the best of it using NetSpot, a professional Windows and Mac OS X app for wireless site surveys and in-depth WiFi analysis.

How Does the Xfinity® Router Creates a Hotspot?


Each Xfinity® router is equipped with two antennas. One antenna is used to broadcast a private home network based on the plan selected by the customer. The other antenna broadcasts a separate public network called xfinitywifi.

This allows businesses and homeowners to provide their clients and guests with an internet access without sharing their WiFi passwords. Because the private network can’t be accessed from the public network, opportunistic hackers have no way how to gain access to the information broadcasted on the private network. To keep the private connection unaffected, Comcast® allows only 5 people to be connected to a single Xfinity® hotspot at a time.

Any Comcast® customer who has signed up for XFINITY® Internet can access all Xfinity® WiFi hotspots free of charge. Comcast® also sells Xfinity® WiFi Access Passes, starting at $2.95 for 2 hours and going all the way up to $54.95 for a single month of access.

In theory, one could travel across the country and get by without a cellular data connection, hopping from one Xfinity® hotspot to another. Because the location of the hotspots is publicly available, businesses have an incentive to make Xfinity® Wifi available to their customers and passers-by.

Comcast® has released a Xfinity® WiFi app for Android and iOS to help customers locate all Xfinity® hotspots within range and automatically connect to Xfinity® WiFi around town. If you happen to stumble upon a Xfinity® WiFi that’s not working, you can use the app to find the closest suitable alternative quickly.

Make the Most of Your Xfinity® WiFi Hotspot: Xfinity® Speed Test and Optimization


Comcast® has over 23 million internet customers, with most using the Xfinity® router to broadcast public WiFi for others to connect to. With so many people broadcasting at the same time, the 2.4GHz range can become very crowded, and the download and upload speeds can come to crawl.

Fortunately, you can easily optimize your Xfinity® internet speed using NetSpot, a professional wireless site surveys, WiFi analysis, and troubleshooting app for Windows and Mac OS X. NetSpot can help you discover WiFi networks around you and create detailed WiFi strength heatmaps. To use the tool, all you need is a laptop or desktop computer running Windows 7 or higher or Mac OS X 10.10 or higher.

Perform a Simple Xfinity® Signal Strength Test


If you’re experiencing slowdowns with your Xfinity® home connection or your Xfinity® WiFi hotspot, you should find out how strong the signal is and how many other WiFi networks are broadcasting on the same channel. NetSpot features two ways how to measure your WiFi signal strength: one quick and one detailed.

The quick method can be accessed by activating the Discover mode:

  1. Click on the Discover/Survey slider at the top of the main screen to highlight the Discover option.
  2. NetSpot will instantly create a concise report of all WiFi networks in your surrounding area, coupled with a lot of useful information such as the WiFi band, the average signal strength, the amount of noise, the encryption method, and more.
  3. Use the information to access the status of your WiFi connection.

With the Discover mode, you can find out how strong or weak your WiFi signal is to verify the cause of your sluggish internet speeds. If the signal is strong, you know that the problem is most likely elsewhere.

But if the signal is weak, you need to take some actions to fix it. For that, you’ll need more information, which is exactly what the Survey mode is for:

  1. Click on the Discover/Survey slider at the top of the main screen to highlight the Survey option.
  2. Upload a map of your area or draw one from scratch using NetSpot’s map-drawing tools.
  3. At the bottom of the Survey screen, use the heatmap popup menu to switch between several available heatmap visualizations.

    1. The Signal level heatmap visualization displays the WiFi signal strength throughout the surveyed area.
    2. The Signal-to-noise ratio visualization helps you pinpoints sources of signal noise and get rid of them. These often include home appliances, radio equipment, or lights.
    3. The Signal-to-interference ratio shows the interference from other wireless networks.

Once you’re done, you can use the gathered information to decide which areas should be strengthened using WiFi boosters and repeaters, and you can also determine whether it wouldn’t be beneficial to move your Xfinity® router elsewhere.

Give NetSpot a try and discover how easy it is to optimize your home WiFi network and improve your internet speeds. Even though NetSpot offers professional features, its approachable, modern user interface makes it suitable even for casual computer users.

Reliable Home Security with Xfinity® Home


Fast and reliable internet speeds are essential for all users of Xfinity® Home, Comcast’s home security system with around-the-clock monitoring, remote control, real-time alert, and voice control. Xfinity® Home equipment, including window sensors, motion sensors, cameras, and water sensors, transmit data over WiFi, freeing users from messy cables.

As such, Xfinity® Home is a subject to signal interference and potential signal dropouts. With NetSpot, you can quickly and easily ensure that all security devices connected to your Xfinity® Home security system are covered by your home WiFi network. Use the Survey mode to select the optimal places for your security cameras and other equipment.

Note: All trademarks mentioned are property of their respective owners.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot helps you analyze, optimize and troubleshoot your WiFi network.
Get the free WiFi analyzer app

Next in WiFi Planning


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.