飞行(Inflight)WiFi及其工作原理

我们已经习惯了随时随地保持联网状态 - 无论是早上在咖啡店喝咖啡的时候,还是日间在办公室办公的时候,甚至在公交和火车上也可以使用WiFi。鉴于WiFi连接是我们日常生活的重要组成部分,我们将详细了解一下飞行Wi-Fi - 这对于乘坐航班的商务人士而言可是另一大必需品。

首先了解一下飞行WiFi的类型


ATG(空对地)

飞机上的这种WiFi类型是为国内航班开发的。ATG系统需要在飞机底部安装两根天线,用来接收来自于地面基地蜂窝塔的信号。ATG系统有一个开关,空中乘务员将开关调至开启状态时即可接收蜂窝信号,为飞机上的用户提供飞行网络。

在飞机飞行过程中,其天线可以自动定位信号位置并连接到距离最近的可用信号塔,所以理论上来说,此类互联网连接是不会中断的。但是,当飞机处于大型水域或偏远地区上空时,它的网络连接的顺畅程度可能会大受影响。

ATG服务目前可以为其用户提供大约3Mbps的网速。这是完全可以满足用户的电邮,社交等需求的。Gogo inflight WiFi ATG-4系统能够提供高达10Mbps的网速,但是相比速度较慢的ATG-3而言,其应用范围要小很多。


Ku-Band

Ku-Band是Gogo, Panasonic and Row 44所采用的以卫星为基础的服务。依赖于卫星,此服务能够覆盖的区域广大,甚至在信号塔信号无法抵达的时候也能够保持连接,例如在海洋上空飞行的时候。Ku-Band天线位于飞机顶部一个巨大的拱顶形“托盘”内,在飞行过程中根据传送卫星的方位不断调整自己的位置。

一旦天线接收到信号,飞行途中的WiFi用户即可开始使用速度高达30-40 Mbps.的网络连接。Ku-Band服务的速度相比ATG要快得多,但是速度根据当前连接到卫星的飞机的数量以及信号传送速度的不同而有所差异,这可能导致部分网页元素的加载相比其他元素要慢一些。但无论如何,它都要比整体的连接快很多。


Ka-Band

Ka-Band服务同样以卫星为基础,是目前最快的飞行WiFi服务之一。捷蓝航空WiFi依赖于Ka-Band以及维珍美国航空和部分联合737。Ka-Band使用的是新型ViaSat-1卫星,它比Ku-Band所使用的那些卫星要强大得多,对于每一航空器承诺传递高达70 Mbps的网络连接速度。

这种网速与您在家中所使用的网速类似,能够满足您观看高清电影,上传照片,等等的需求。 目前,Ka-Band供应商共计拥有三部卫星,它们的信号覆盖范围几乎接近整个地球,而且很快将增添第四部卫星。然而,覆盖整个地球的四部卫星仍然无法满足空中运输通道的高流量需求。另一家供应商正在计划在2020年之前实现Ka-Band覆盖范围的扩展,从目前仅有的位于北美上空的一部卫星扩展至五部卫星。

鉴于Ka并非在任何地方都可以使用,维珍美国航空决定使用Ka/Ku混合接收器,它使得用户能够根据可用的最佳信号强度在Ku-和Ka-Bands之间进行切换。


Exede

12 Mbps的Exede服务也是由ViaSat-1卫星提供的。Exede为商务航班提供了快速,稳定的网络连接,包括捷蓝航空和联合航空。由于亚马逊和捷蓝建立起了合作关系,作为亚马逊金牌会员的乘客将能够通过Fly-Fi在捷蓝航班上浏览网络内容,无需支付额外的费用。JetBlue Inflight Wi-Fi在其所有的A320班机上都是可以使用的,但是只有2%的新E190可以使用。

飞行Wi-Fi限制


飞行Wi-Fi有很多潜力,而且速度可能非常快,但是,它在飞机上一直处于“自动节流”模式,这样一来数据在全部乘客用户中间是平等分配的。理论上来说,飞行互联网连接在只有三位乘客使用的情况下要比有33位乘客的情况快得多。

除了速度限制之前,飞行Wi-Fi还有硬件限制。例如,ATG服务只有面向前后的天线,而Ku卫星接收器每次只能连接一部卫星。这意味着可用信号塔和卫星之间的连接将会出现短时间的崩溃。

连接质量同时还将取决于您的航向。尽管美国的信号塔覆盖非常密集,但是当您在面积较大,人口较为稀少的州的上空飞行时,您很可能会经历网络连接断开的情形。

而且在那些由于政治政策而对WiFi进行限制的国家,乘客用户也将遭遇无正确连接的情形。通常来说,您的机组成员知道网络连接在哪里会发生丢失,而且他们在航班开始的时候会为您透露这些信息。

飞行WiFi可能会发生中断,而且哪怕一些细枝末节的问题可能也会导致这种情况的发生,而且其修复起来可能会花费很多的时间。非功能性Wi-Fi并不是飞行安全的关键因素,所以除非发生重大问题,它通常不会成为航班延误的原因。

飞行网络为什么速度比较慢?


飞行WiFi技术有着极大的需求,因此发展也十分迅猛。但是它始终是远远落后于WiFi设备的进化及其数量的日益增长的。

卫星连接可以提供可观的网速,但是卫星的维护和发射成本十分高昂,所以这项技术也有一定的滞后性。

Gogo,作为领先的飞行网络和娱乐供应商,目前已经通过覆盖全国的网络垄断了美国的飞行Wi-Fi,而且主要集中在Ku卫星上,原因在于它们的数量以及密度覆盖率。轨道中覆盖整个地球的Ku波段卫星的数量有几百个。

Gogo凭借领先的卫星数量覆盖了98%以上的全球航班时间。他们的新型2Ku服务承诺更好的天线和卫星服务,承诺传递高达70 Mbps的网络连接速度 - 这比陆地上的平均连接速度要快得多。

顺便提一下,对于那些在陆地上需要更好的WiFI连接的用户而言,有一种工具可以帮助构建实现信号均匀,稳定分布的完美WiFI网络。NetSpot在过去7年多的时间里一直服务于专业人士和家庭WiFi爱好者,是用于无线网络评估,扫描,和勘测,分析Wi-Fi覆盖和表现的最受欢迎,最有价值的工具。

飞行Wi-Fi的平均成本是多少?


通常来说,其成本取决于航空公司,而且据说成本有时候取决于您的设备的大小 - 手机,平板电脑或笔记本电脑。设备越小,通常消耗的流量越少,所以对此类设备而言,无线网络的成本也相对较为便宜。

但是,这可能只是一种市场行为,因为商务乘客需要在他们的笔记本电脑上工作,从而将需支付更大的费用。据说现在有一些方法能够将您的笔记本电脑“伪装成”移动设备,从而减少所需支付的费用。

如果有这样的选项,您可能会希望提前以较低的费率预订您的飞行WiFi。

举例来说,Gogo服务供应商每月会向那些经常进行往返飞行的乘客提供套餐服务。此类套餐不仅允许他们在其各自的航班上使用WiFI,同时还包括其他参与的航空公司。

如果您需要使用飞行网络,请查看一下您的航空公司是否根据您的飞行里程数提供相关的优惠。

支付不菲的费用显然不会保证您享有最快速的网络连接,但是技术是在不断进步的,其中有很多值得期待的元素。随着航空公司对旗下航空器的不断升级,飞行Wi-Fi的速度和稳定性正在稳步提升,而且适用于越来越多的不同方向的航班,无论是国内还是国际航班。

随着飞行网络的普及,这个领域势必将会出现竞争,价格很可能也会变得更有竞争力。尽管目前的情形并非如此:Gogo inflight WiFi在这个领域具有相当的垄断性,价格目前而言可谓是只增不减。

飞行Wi-Fi的未来


当然,飞行WiFi的提供是提升空中乘客旅行体验的重要步骤。增加航班的无线连接只是开始 - 我们希望现在拥有飞行WiFi的航空公司能够努力将其做的更好,使它的速度更快,价格更加便宜。

据伦敦政治经济学院联合英国卫星电讯公司Inmarsat在几年前发布的报告称,截至2035年,高品质的飞行Wi-Fi将很可能得到充分的普及,而且它的利润空间非常大,有可能生成1300亿美元的全球市场,为世界范围内的航空公司快速带来300亿美元的辅助收入。

有关航空公司及其网络连接还会发生很多事情:现在拥有飞行网络的航空公司有82家,相比2016年提供此类服务的70家航空公司增加了17%。2018预测显示航空公司将获得与宽带有关的10亿美元的辅助收入,而由像仓位升级或行李托运这类“传统”的辅助收入是600亿美元。

随着新型卫星的加入,这个领域的发展一定会十分迅猛,宽带质量将会提升,同时大多数区域都会覆盖有飞行网络连接。

您在飞机上使用WiFi的目的是什么?是与朋友和家人互动还是购物呢?还是您希望在重要会议前做一些准备工作?还是您更想要在飞机上睡一会,而不是一直保持连接状态?无论哪种情况,我们都希望您能有一段愉快的旅程!

了解一下Mac版NetSpot应用 - 一款面向Wi-Fi网络的勘测工具。您可以扫描和评估WiFi接入点的最佳安放位置,从而为您的家庭或办公空间实现最佳信号覆盖,无论其面积如何。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot是一款简单易用的无线网络探测器,能够对您周围的WiFi网络进行深度勘测。
获取免费的WiFi扫描仪应用

接下来全部有关Wi-Fi


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于MacBook (macOS 10.10+)或
具有标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac无线网络适配器的任意笔记本电脑(Windows 7/8/10).
★★★★
4.8分,957位用户参与评分
版本2.10 • 提交您的评论

Inflight WiFi and how it works

We are so used to be connected no matter the location - coffee shop in the morning, office space during the day, even bus stops and trains have WiFi on board. Since WiFi connection is an important part of our everyday routine, we'll take a closer look at the inflight Wi-Fi - another necessity for people on the go.

Let’s start with the types of inflight WiFi


ATG (Air To Ground)

This type of WiFi on planes was created for domestic flights over land. The ATG system requires two antennas installed on the underside of an aircraft that pick up signals from land-based cell towers. The ATG system has a switch that a flight attendant flips to ON position in order to start picking up the cell signal and providing users on the plane with inflight Internet.

As the plane moves, its antennas automatically locate next signal and connect to the nearest available tower, so theoretically there is no interruption to the Internet connection. However over the large bodies of water or a remote terrain, connection may be not as smooth if present at all.

Currently ATG services can provide their users with the speed of 3Mbps approximately. This allows for emails, social networks, and such. Gogo inflight WiFi ATG-4 system can offer up to 10 Mbps, but is not available as widely as the slower ATG-3.


Ku-Band

Ku-Band is a satellite based service used by Gogo, Panasonic and Row 44. Relying on satellites this service covers a much greater area and keeps a connection even when cell towers cannot be reached, e.g. flying over the ocean. A Ku-Band antenna is located on top of a plane in a big dome-shaped “saucer” and is directed toward the transmitting satellite over the course of a flight.

As soon as antenna picks up the signal, users of WiFi on board start getting speeds of up to 30-40 Mbps. A Ku-Band service is much faster than ATG, but the speed will still vary depending on the number of planes connecting to the satellite at the moment as well as the travelling speed of the signal, which contributes to some web elements loading slower than others. Still - much faster overall connection.


Ka-Band

Ka-Band service is also satellite-based and is currently the fastest one available. JetBlue inflight WiFi relies on Ka-Band as well as Virgin America and some United 737s. Ka-Band uses the new ViaSat-1 satellite which is more powerful than those used by Ku-Band and promises an impressive up to 70 Mbps speed to each aircraft. This is the speed like you would've had at home, letting you stream movies, upload photos, etc. Currently, one Ka-Band provider has three satellites providing near global coverage and will soon add a fourth. At the same time four satellites covering the entire globe is not enough to serve the high air traffic corridors. Another provider is planning to expand the Ka-Band coverage by 2020 from just one over North America to a total of five satellites.

Since Ka is not available everywhere, Virgin America airlines decided to use a Ka/Ku hybrid receiver, which allows to switch between Ku- and Ka-Bands based on the best signal strength available.


Exede

The 12 Mbps Exede service is also offered by ViaSat-1 satellite. Exede provides a fast, reliable satellite connection on commercial airlines, including JetBlue and United. Thanks to a partnership between Amazon and JetBlue, passengers who are also Amazon Prime members will be able to stream content on JetBlue flights via Fly-Fi for no additional fee. JetBlue Inflight Wi-Fi is available on all of its A320 aircraft, but only on 2% of the new E190.

Inflight Wi-Fi limitations


Inflight Wi-Fi has a lot of potential and can be very fast, however on the planes it is kept in “auto-throttled” mode so that data is equally distributed among all passenger users. Logically, an inflight Internet connection will be much faster when three passengers are using it, than with 33 passengers connected.

Additionally to speed limitations inflight Wi-Fi has hardware limitations. For example, the ATG service has only front- and rear-facing antennas while the Ku satellite receiver will only connect to one satellite at a time. This means that there will be short breakdowns in connection in between available cell towers and satellites.

The quality of connection will also depend on the direction of your flight. Even though the US generally are covered with towers pretty densely, while flying over states with larger stretches and smaller population you are more likely to experience disconnections. And in the countries with WiFi restrictions due to political policies there will be more stretches without proper connection. Usually your flight crew knows where connection can be lost and they’ll reveal that information at the beginning of the flight.

Even WiFi on board can break, and even that happened due to a minor issue it is not always a quick fix. Non-functional Wi-Fi isn’t a safety-critical aspect of a flight, so unless there’s a major issue, it won't be a cause for delay.

Why is in flight Internet so slow?


WiFi on board technology is in high demand, thus developing fast. However it is no mean feat to keep up with the evolution of WiFi gobbling devices and their ever-growing number.

Satellite connection can offer great speeds, but maintaining and launching the satellites is very expensive, so the technology is lagging behind.

Gogo - the leading inflight Internet and entertainment provider - currently has a monopoly on US inflight Wi-Fi, with a network that covers the whole country and mainly concentrates on Ku satellites because of their number and therefore dense coverage. There are hundreds of Ku band satellites in orbit covering the globe. Gogo covers over 98% of global flight hours with a high level of satellite redundancy. Their new 2Ku service promises better antennas and satellite services, promising up to 70 Mbps – much faster than an average connection speed on land.

BTW, for those who need a better WiFi connection on land, there is a tool that helps building a pretty much perfect WiFi network with an even and stable signal. NetSpot has been serving professionals and home WiFi enthusiasts for over 7 years and is the most popular and highly valued tool for wireless network assessment, scanning, and surveys, analyzing Wi-Fi coverage and performance.

What's the average cost of Wi-Fi on board?


Generally the cost depends on the airline and they say sometimes it may depend on the size of your device - phone, tablet or a laptop. Smaller devices usually consume less traffic, so wireless Internet for them tends to be less expensive. However it might just be a marketing move, where business travelers need to work on their laptops and will pay a bigger buck anyway. It is said that some ways exist letting you trick your laptop into being a mobile device in order to get those lower fees.

If such an option is available you might want to book your inflight WiFi ahead of time at a lower rate.

Gogo service provider, for example, offers monthly packages to those who travel back and forth a lot. Such packages allow not only use WiFi on their respective airline, but also on other participating airlines.

If you are going to inflight Internet check if your airline will take payment with your miles in case you have some unused ones.

Clearly paying a lot of money will not guarantee you the fastest connection, however the technology is constantly evolving and there are things to look forward to. As airlines are upgrading their planes, inflight Wi-Fi is becoming faster and steadier and is available on more and more directions - domestic and international. As Internet on board becomes a more common thing and there will be some competition, prices are more likely to become more competitive as well. Although for now it is quite the opposite: Gogo inflight WiFi is quite monopolistic and the prices have only been going up, not down so far.

Future of the inflight Wi-Fi


Of course offering inflight WiFi is a logical next step in elevating customers experience on board. Adding wireless connection on flights is just the start – airlines that now have onboard WiFi are striving to make it better, faster, and more affordable, we hope.

A report released a few years ago by a the London School of Economics and Political Science in collaboration with British satellite telecom company Inmarsat said that by 2035, high-quality inflight Wi-Fi will likely be omnipresent and profitable potentially generating a $130 billion global market and rake in $30 billion in ancillary revenue for airlines around the world.

There has been a lot going on in terms of airlines and their Internet connectivity: 82 airlines now have some sort of in-flight Internet, a 17% increase from the 70 that offered the service in 2016. The 2018 forecasts show airlines receiving $1 billion in revenue related to broadband, compared to the $60 billion derived “traditionally”, like seat upgrades or baggage fees.

With new satellites being added, this should all change fast, as the broadband quality will increase, and there will be less zones not covered by in-flight Internet connection.

What are you using WiFi on planes for? Is it to connect with friends and family or to finally do some shopping that you've been putting aside? Or are you hoping to do some extra work before an important meeting? Or do you think it is better to get some sleep on flight instead of staying constantly connected? In any case we hope you enjoy your flight!

Check out NetSpot app for Mac - a survey tool for a Wi-Fi network. You can scan and assess the best positioning of WiFi access points to create the best possible coverage in your home or office space, no matter the size.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot is an easy-to-use wireless network detector for in-depth surveying of WiFi networks around you.
Get the free WiFi scanner app

Next in All about Wi-Fi


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.