您所需要了解的有关WiFi热点的内容



在如今这个可携式科技的年代,无线接入使您的计算机设备真正能够做到便携化。当您在旅途中的时候,您既可以选择使用您的无线数据时间,也可以选择使用被称为无线热点的可用无线装置。

什么是WiFi热点



WiFi热点指的是一个向用户提供的物理地址,用户凭此能够在住宅之外的空间使用他们的设备。在过去10年间,这些热点在餐饮行业变得非常流行,如咖啡厅,而如今几乎遍布人们聚集的任何地方(商场,机场,酒店等等)。在某些城市,人们甚至在公共建筑或公园里也可以使用热点。这使得无线接入变得十分便利,只要您能找到为您提供足够强的连接信号的安全热点。

从理论上讲,找到一个优质热点就如同网页搜索那般简单,因为快速搜索应当能够找到具备WiFi的位置。此外,您的无线供应商或您的互联网供应商可能在您的社区周围布置了热点。例如, Xfinity WiFi 热点对其订阅用户是开放的。

哪些类型的WiFi热点是可用的?让我们来看一下。

免费的WiFi热点



您可以通过一些方法来获取免费WiFi。第一种是在购买某些其他服务的同时商家免费赠送的WiFi,如俱乐部会员资格或酒店预订。当然,从本质上而言,这种未必是完全免费的。此外,这些供应商可能会限制每一位用户的带宽,这将降低您的接入速度。

另一种获取免费WiFi的方法是借用其他人的非安全网络。相比之下这种方法更为便宜,但同时也高度依赖由路由器主人所决定的路由器的使用状态。大多数人之后会对其WiFi网络进行加密,那时您将不得不搜索其他“免费的”提供者。

免费WiFi热点的替代方式是商业网站。商业网站可以通过信用卡接入或密码权限进行设立。部分此类网站同样限定一小部分相关页面的接入。

便携式WiFi热点


如果您希望无论在任何位置都能有一个热点可以使用,那么您可以使用便携式WiFi热点。便携式WiFi热点会将互联网带到您的面前,而无需进行热点搜索。该装置内有一个移动路由器,可用于同时连接若干设备,无需下载任何附加软件到设备上。但是,您现在需要携带一个额外的需要充电的设备(降低了作为便携式装置的便捷性)。此外,您的互联网连接可能相比您之前所使用的要慢一些。尽管如此,便携式WiFi将确保您在公共热点无法普及的地方获得网络连接。

WiFi热点装置


您可以购买一个与大多数无线连网设备兼容的移动热点装置。这些基础版装置的定价低至$20。它们是4G LTE,所以您即便在途中也不会牺牲速度。热点可以用于距离热点装置30-40英尺内的设备上。根据您选择的移动热点的不同,同一热点可能会支持连接多部便携式设备。想要使热点正常运作,当然,您将需要购买无线套餐。您在无线套餐内可以正常连接,但是,无论何种方式您都需要支付一定的费用。数据套餐的费率将会予以适用,超出限额时还需支付额外的费用。

热点的安全性


如果您正在使用一个WiFi热点,那么您需要注意它的安全性。热点供应商知道其用户想要尽快获得服务,所以他们可能会牺牲服务的安全性。 加密是无线安全的关键。没有它,黑客便能够轻松捕获您的数据。但是,数据在从热点WiFi流向您的计算机时可能并未加密。另一位问题是虚假热点地址,黑客会将此类地址伪造成公共热点,然后窃取中招用户的信息。

保持安全的关键是在面对热点互联网连接时正确对待您的任何有价值的信息。确保您不会访问您想要确保安全的任何网站,如您的银行网站。确保您使用多个密码和用户名来保证您的大多数保密信息是安全的。简单的解决方案将保证您的网络安全。

对于便携式热点而言,其安全性问题是由试图“借用”您的服务的不速之客所引起的。在您的家庭WiFi上,这可能是非常讨厌的,但这通常不会产生费用。然而,当您的数据套餐处于计量过程中时,这类活动可能会快速用光您的余额。关键是要有一台安全的便携式设备。最好的办法是购买一台具备相应的安全功能的设备,包括数据加密。同时,谨防黑客。确保您的设备名称和密码足够复杂以防止黑客的侵入

NetSpot来拯救


获取优质的WiFi热点的目标在于找到强大,安全,且价格实惠的网络连接。解决方案在于找到一个符合这些标准的WiFi热点。如何才能找到这样的WiFi热点呢?您可以听取其他人的推荐,如果他们有此类信息的话(毕竟,这与获取餐厅推荐截然不同)。您可以寻找附加硬件。或者您可以寻找一款聚焦于信号强度提升的软件。幸运的是,确实存在此类软件,也即NetSpot。

NetSpot是一款旨在勘测 WiFi信号强度的软件。但是信号强度并不是决定无线连接状况的唯一因素,所以NetSpot还提供了更多的功能。来自于其他设备的信号噪声与来自于其他网络的干扰同样也是问题的所在。NetSpot将对周边区域作出评估,为您就这三类关键问题出具报告。而且,尽管NetSpot可完美用于勘测您的家庭或办公WiFi网络,但是其功能同时也可以用于评估WiFi热点。

NetSpot (www.netspotapp.com)是一款可以轻松下载至您的Mac OS X或Microsoft Windows系统的软件程序。一旦您加载成功,您即可立即使用它。如果您想要进行快速检查,打开程序并将页面顶部的滑块切换至“发现”。这将使您能够在单一区域检查您的信号强度。这不仅可用于家庭使用,同时也是您在旅途中想要寻找热点时的必备之选。

勘测模式可用于对周边信号强度进行更为全面的核算。您将做的第一件事是上传一张地图,这样系统便能参考单一区域中的要点。在NetSpot完成其勘测时,它将为您显示信号强度薄弱的地方。如果在家中和办公室内,您可以进行调整以增强整体的信号强度,如放入 WiFi 中继器。如果您在经常访问的热点位置,您可以找到自己应处的最佳位置。

其他功能将解决一些经常困扰无线用户的问题。信噪比热度图将通过彩色编码标识符(蓝色和紫色代表高噪音区域)来为您显示有问题的地方。干扰区域也以蓝色和紫色标识符予以识别,可以通过信号增强装置予以调整。如果您正在将NetSpot用于某WiFi热点,您可以确保充分利用了可用WiFi信号。有了NetSpot和适当的热点,您在旅途中依然可享家庭系统的全部优势。

WiFi科技不断进步,同时WiFi用户无论是在家中还是在户外也都需要更高品质的信号。我们一路走来,这已经是第25个年头,那时候拨号上网还是唯一的选择。正是由于WiFi热点和像NetSpot这样的工具的出现,我们的前进之路才会更为顺畅。


还有更多问题吗? 提交请求.
nsWinImageWhite

Windows版本就在这里!

NetSpot帮助您分析,优化并解决您的WiFi网络问题。
获取免费的WiFi分析仪应用

NetSpot作为无线分析仪


其他文章

立即使用NetSpot
运行于使用标准802.11a/b/g/n/ac
无线网络适配器 (兼容AirPort)的MacBook。
★★★★
4.8 rank, based on 957 user reviews
Version 2.10 • 提交您的评论

What you need to know about WiFi Hotspot

In this age of portable technology, wireless access makes your computer devices truly portable. When you are on the go, you can either consume your wireless data minutes or use an available wireless device, called a wireless hotspot.

What is WiFi Hotspot


A WiFi hotspot is a physical location that has been provided to give users the ability to use their devices away from home. These hotspots became popular over a decade ago at eating establishments such as coffee houses and are now found anywhere people congregate (malls, airports, hotels, etc.). In some cities, hotspots are even available in public building or public parks. This makes access convenient, if you find a secure hotspot that gives you a strong enough connection.

Theoretically, finding a good hotspot is as easy as searching the web, since a quick search should identify places that have WiFi. Furthermore, your wireless provider or your internet provider may have hot spots around your community. For example, Xfinity WiFi hotspots are available to their subscribers.

What type of WiFi hotspots are available? Let us take a look.

Free WiFi Hotspot


There are a few ways to get free WiFi. The first is complimentary WiFi that comes with some other service, such as a club membership or a hotel reservation. Of course, this is not necessarily free in that you are expected to pay for something else. Furthermore, these providers may limit bandwidth for each user, which will slow down your access.

Another way to get free WiFi is to piggy back off some else’s unsecured network. This is less expensive, of course, but also highly inconsistent in that you are relying on the router’s owner to keep the access available. Most people will secure their WiFi networks sooner or later and you will be searching for another “free” provider.

The alternative to a free WiFi Hotspot is a commercial site. The commercial sites can be set up with a credit card access or a password permission. Some of these sites also limit access to a small cadre of relevant pages.

Portable WiFi Hotspot


If you are concerned about having a hotspot available at any location, you can use a portable WiFi hotspot. Rather than search for a hotspot, the portable WiFi hotspot brings the internet to you. The device has a mobile router within it and can be used to connect several devices at once without downloading any additional software to the devices. However, you are now adding another device that will have to be carried with you and charged (reducing the convenience of being portable). Furthermore, your internet connection may run a little slower than you are used to. Nonetheless, portable WiFi will ensure that you can get a connection in places where public hotspots are not consistently accessible.

WiFi Hotspot Device


You can buy a mobile hotspot device that is compatible with most WiFi-ready devices. These devices are priced as low as $20 for a basic device. They are 4G LTE so you are not going to sacrifice speed on the go. The hotspot can be used on devices within 30 to 40 feet of your hotspot. Depending on the mobile hotspot that you choose, you may be able to use multiple portable devices with the same hotspot. To make the hotspot work, of course, you will need a wireless plan. You may have access as part of your wireless plan, but, either way, this does not come cheap. Data plan rates will apply and you will be charged for overages.

Hotspot Security


If you are using a WiFi hotspot, you need to be aware of security. Hotspot providers know that their clients want to get service as quickly as possible, so they may sacrifice security for service. Encryption is a key to wireless security. Without it, hackers can capture your data. However, the data may not be encrypted as it flows from the hotspot WiFi to your computer. Another issue are dummy hotspot sites, where hackers mimic a public hotspot and take the information from unsuspecting users.

The key to keeping safe is to treat your hotspot internet access like you would any valuable. Make sure that you are not going to any sites that you want kept secured, such as your banking sites. Make sure that you use multiple passwords and user names to ensure that your most confidential information stays secure. Simple solutions that will ensure safety.

On a portable hotspot, the issue of security is caused by freeloaders who are trying to piggyback off your service. On your home WiFi, this can be annoying but usually not expensive. However, when the meter is running on your data plan, a piggy backer can quickly cost you money. The key is to have a secure portable device. The best way to do this is to buy a device with proper security including data encryption. Also, do not make it easy for hackers. Make sure that your device name and password will be difficult for them to break into.

NetSpot to the Rescue


The goal of getting a great WiFi spot is to find something that is powerful, secure, and inexpensive. The solution is to find a WiFi hotspot that fits these criteria. How would you do that? You could rely on recommendations from others if they have this information (After all, it’s not like getting a restaurant recommendation). You could look for additional hardware. Or you could find software that focuses on signal strength. Fortunately, there is such a program: NetSpot.

NetSpot is a program that is designed to survey WiFi signal strength. But it is not just signal strength that matters, so NetSpot does more. Signal noise from other devices is an issue as well as interference from other networks. NetSpot will assess the surrounding area and give you report on all three of these critical issues. And, although NetSpot is ideal for surveying your WiFi network in the home or office, its feature can also be used to evaluate a WiFi hotspot.

NetSpot (www.netspotapp.com) is a software program that can be easily downloaded to your Mac OS X or Microsoft Windows system. Once you have it loaded, you can put it into action. If you want to do a quick check, open the program and switch the slider at the top of page to “Discover.” This will allow to check your signal strength in a single area. Not only is this great for home use, but ideal for finding a hotspot when you are on the go.

The Survey mode can be used to get a more comprehensive accounting of surrounding signal strength. The first thing you will do is to upload a map so that the system can reference the points in the signal area. After NetSpot has completed its survey, it will show you where the weak signal strengths are. At your home or office, you can put do make modifications to improve overall signal strength, such as putting in WiFi repeaters. If you are at a hotspot place that you visit often, you can find the best place to position yourself.

The other features will remedy problems that often plague wireless users. The Signal-to-Noise heatmap will show you where the issues are with color-coded identifiers (Blue and purple indicate high noise areas). Interference areas are also identified in blue and purple and can rectified with signal boosting devices. If you are using NetSpot at a WiFi hotspot, you can make sure that you are getting the most from available WiFi signals. With NetSpot and the right hotspot, you can get all the advantages of a home system while on the road.

WiFi technology marches and WiFi users demand better quality signals at home or away. We have come a long way over the past 25 years when dial up was the only option. Thanks to WiFi hotspots and tools like NetSpot, we will keep moving forward.


Have more questions? Submit a request.

Windows version is here!

NetSpot helps you analyze, optimize and troubleshoot your WiFi network.
Get the free WiFi analyzer app

Next in Wi-Fi Analysis


Other Articles

Start now with NetSpot
Runs on a MacBook (macOS 10.10+) or any laptop (Windows 7/8/10)
with a standard 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless network adapter.